Basic Intake and Exhaust Modification Guide, for normal aspirated cars v1.0

pacer
post Aug 24 2006, 12:05 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(MangKoK^ayon @ Aug 23 2006, 06:59 PM)
just wanna ask : these modifications will increase fuel consumption or not? smile.gif
if done correctly with proper piping size and design, it will not have a significant increase in fuel comsumption,
but of course the car will increase in power or torque

a cat back system usually ment for high revving engines such as cars with vaiable timing. turbo cars on the other hand can have them as the do not depend much on the pressures that happen through the whole exhaust system.

for those who dont do high revving and prefer a relaxing drive Below (4000rpm), an ideal setup for me (if u are driving in town) and on most cars will be a 4-2-1 extractor, a mid box just after the flex joint and then a rear muffler. (depending on auto or manual, use an S-type for auto).... this setup will help improve low end torque that is needed for town driving.

if u like to high rev the engine,there are 3 ways.
1. i suggest u go for a 4-2-1, a midbox slightly in the middle of the car (abt 1-2 feet away for the flex joint) and a rear muffler (again s-type for auto). this will help ur high end and top speed but not make it undrivable in town.

2. the second is using a 4-1 extractor, a midbox placed right at the back just before the fuel tank, and a rear muffle. i would say that this is best done ONLY ON MANUAL CARS. this setup will work wonders in high end but will be really bad in the low end torque.

3 the third of course is the extractor and a rear muffle only, (but will be really noisy) most of the time....

pacer
post Aug 28 2006, 01:39 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(MangKoK^ayon @ Aug 27 2006, 10:40 PM)
does this settings applies for kancil?i modified my muffler already...but not extractor... thumbup.gif
actually it differs from car to car... but generally it works, exhaust tuning also depents on what the driver wants. for a k-kar, the most important thing is not getting the pipes too big in diameter...
pacer
post Aug 28 2006, 09:36 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Aug 28 2006, 06:39 AM)
hmm, jaafar at jfa sunway made this setup for me, as i was wondering on why he installed a bullet few inches away from the flex joint. now i get the idea.
however im thinking to reduce the noise level as im using 2" pipe, 1bullet n a tanabe non-jasma approved (ori, oval n-type).. aside from custom made a silencer or sell the tanabe n get twinLoop, is there any other way?
i doubt i can install another bullet as the 1st one already at the center of the car

*car is civic eg sohc non vtec 1.6
**car is happy rev.  tongue.gif
already a good setup, and from a reputable shop some more... i think u should look for a better rear end, if in doubt then go for one with a jasma tag. at least they are proven in terms of how loud will the sound be.... hehehe

0.0369sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:58 PM