Feb 14 2006, 09:04 AM, updated 20y ago
543 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Sungai Petani, Kedah |
Dear all,
I've just bought the above notebook. The keyboard heats up quite fast. Is this normal? How do you check if the fan is working? regards, |
Feb 19 2006, 11:53 AM
Thanks bro.
BTW, i had my IT dept check it out and the back fan wasn't blowing. The fan which blows the heat out. Got it fixed at the service centre. Currently it has shown tremendous improvement although it does heat up compared to Intel's processors. Are there any gadgets which can cool down my laptop? Heard that there is but i haven't been able to go to lowyat to check up on it. |
Feb 24 2006, 08:41 AM
Sorry guys for the late reply.
Currently, I am extremely satisfied with my laptop. 15inches 512 ram 80gb hdd 1.8ghz 128mb shared graphics card (will reduce you ram to 384) The response is quite good. Not that heavy (for me). Some say it is 2.9kg while others say it is 2.6kg. I dun know coz it's light for me. I have tried 2 of my company's Compaq Presario B series. Can't remember what model but they cost about rm6k (Using intel 1.86ghz). The only difference i can roughly make out is the graphics card as it doesn't use shared ram. And also the processor of course. I didn't fully test the 2 laptops but my 2251 can easily match the 2 b series. And i got mine for half the price with almost the same resources. Only 1 thing which is a slack. the heat of the laptop. This is from the high consumption of power from the amd's processor. Therefore battery life is short... about 3 hrs. It is not really a mobile laptop where you can open at any destination for a long period (coz of the huge size and battery). But for me, i use it in office and home only. So it fits my purpose. The screen is 15 inch so i also use it as a portable mini tv at home in the dining room. Also to share with you my heat problem the other day. When the laptop gets hot, a fan will automatically switch on and blow the heat out. Mine previously didn't blow out the heat until i took it to hp-compaq. Even my first PC's fan gave up on me after a couple of days (back in 1998). Also, my IT told me to just get the laptop and change the processor. muahahahaha Overall, i do not wish to encourage or discourage people from buying this laptop as i am not too sure about the life span of the laptop with AMD processor. But at this point in time, for me, this is a real bargain. And when i bought this laptop, i took a risk. And i am not saying it paid off but i am saying that i am personally satisfied. Others may not have the same satisfaction as me in the end. |
Feb 24 2006, 06:12 PM
I can deduce from all the comments that i've read that the heat causes electrical parts of the notebook to go faulty. These were made by a couple of people.
However, i have enquired from my IT dept and they say that many of the their laptops are using AMD. And they are not facing such problems. But theoretically they say that is is possible as the processor does heat up. And office environment is air conditioned. So to conclude it, i cannot say that it is because of the heat or because some people are unlucky that it happens. My theory is that after using ur laptop, leave it open to cool down first before closing it. |
| Change to: | 0.0994sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:26 AM |