RPG Pillars of Eternity, PS:T + BG + IWD combined?

TSkhelben
post Sep 16 2012, 02:23 AM, updated 11y ago

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

This sounds pretty tight.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/obsidi...onster=category

Project Eternity will take the central hero, memorable companions and the epic exploration of Baldur’s Gate, add in the fun, intense combat and dungeon diving of Icewind Dale, and tie it all together with the emotional writing and mature thematic exploration of Planescape: Torment.

Combat uses a tactical real-time with pause system - positioning your party and coordinating attacks and abilities is one of the keys to success. The world map is dotted with unique locations and wilderness ripe for exploration and questing. You’ll create your own character and collect companions along the way – taking him or her not just through this story, but, with your continued support, through future adventures. You will engage in dialogues that are deep, and offer many choices to determine the fate of you and your party. …and you'll experience a story that explores mature themes and presents you with complex, difficult choices to shape how your story plays out.
We have wanted to go back to our roots and create an epic PC role-playing game adventure for years. But, it's been almost impossible to get funding through traditional methods for a game like this. The great thing about Kickstarter is that we can go directly to the people who love to play RPGs as much as we love to make them. Plus, we don’t have to make compromises with a publisher. We make the development decisions, we market the game, and we don't have to answer to anyone but you – our fans.
We need to raise $1.1 million to fund an experienced team to do this right. We are asking for more than a lot of the other Kickstarter projects and that’s because we are not only making a game, we are creating a whole new world. That means a new RPG system, entirely new art, new characters and animation and whole lot of lore and dialogue. We’ve also designed the game to have a flexible budget and scope, so if we reach our target budget goal, we have a list great stuff we can add into the mix through stretch goals. And, additional money we raise will go straight into the game to add new levels, companions, NPCs, features, and even entirely new parts of the world which will add hours and hours to the adventure.
The reason why I like OBSIDIAN is because they were the people behind Fallout series and Planescape: Torment, and also I like NWN2 and KOTOR2 quite a bit.

Seems like they've already managed to raise $1,046,001 out of their $1,100,000 target.

Watch the video in that site smile.gif

This post has been edited by memphiz_zero88: Aug 26 2015, 07:55 AM
RangerKarl
post Sep 16 2012, 04:09 AM

230 posts

Damn hardcore man, 1 million in a day.
kof91
post Sep 16 2012, 10:36 AM

82 posts

Got to wait for their paypal option to be up.. I guess caught them by surprise.. next 29 days will probably be announcing stretch goals
/edit
stretch goals here http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/obsidi...ty/posts/309364

Can I use PayPal?
Yes! We will have a PayPal account set up shortly. Please be patient, and check back soon for an update on how to contribute through PayPal.

This post has been edited by kof91: Sep 16 2012, 10:53 AM
JinXXX
post Sep 16 2012, 10:43 AM

2,516 posts

im sold.. getting the 35 one...

paypal faster come and take my money
Hornet
post Sep 16 2012, 04:12 PM

What?
4,251 posts

Interesting. I hope they can reach 2.2 million. Extra region to explore is always good biggrin.gif

QUOTE(RangerKarl @ Sep 16 2012, 04:09 AM)
Damn hardcore man, 1 million in a day.
Isometric RPG have long been forgotten for some reason. sad.gif
It wasn't until Wasteland 2 that finally brought it back to attention.

Wasteland 2 is a post-apocalyptic isometric RPG. This will be fantasy isometric RPG. Fun times ahead for RPG fans. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Hornet: Sep 16 2012, 04:16 PM
TSkhelben
post Sep 20 2012, 11:09 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

Updates:

http://eternity.obsidian.net/

Update 4: Digital Tiers, DRM, and Add-Ons Update

Well you all did it, you helped us get to $1.6M and we now have a Mac version and are adding more story into the world.

We have also been listening and reading your feedback on Kickstarter and have some changes that are happening as soon as this update is posted. One thing, we are not updating just yet are the stretch goals, but don’t worry those are going to get updated very soon. Oh, and we are putting a schedule together for updates that will include guest stars almost every day – Josh will be talking more about the design tomorrow (Sep 20), our unflappable CTO Chris Jones (architect of the Fallout and Arcanum engines) on Friday (Sep 21), and I think we will be able to squeeze one in from Mr. Tim Cain over the weekend.

So, what are those changes?!?

DRM Free Option
You asked and we are delivering. In conjunction with GOG, we are going to offer a DRM-free version of the game for our Kickstarter Backers. When the campaign ends, you will be able to choose whether you would like a key from GOG or Steam. For our Mac friends, we are still working on a DRM free option, since GOG does not currently support the Mac. Oh, and the great guys at GOG are having a special right now on all of the great Infinity Engine games (ends Friday, September 21!), so check that out as well.

New Digital Tiers
We are adding a $50 and an $80 digital tier. The $50 tier will get you the digital version of the game, the soundtrack, the digital version of the Collector’s Book, a collection of wallpapers made for multiple resolutions and multiple monitors, high resolution concept art, a high resolution version of the map, and ringtones. For the $80 tier, you will get all of that plus a digital copy of the strategy guide, and a second digital download of the game.

Add-Ons
This is a short list for right now, but we will be adding more as the days pass including some pretty swank Obsidian-wear.

Add a Digital Download of the Game +$25
Add Three Digital Downloads of the Game +$60
As a quick tutorial on how to add add-ons, goto the Project Eternity site on Kickstarter and then hit the Manage Your Pledge button. The reward tier you had already selected will still be selected and the amount will be in the big box at the top. All you need to do is add the dollar amount that covers the add-ons you would like to your pledge and enter the new total number. For instance, if you are at the $35 Pledge level and want to add one Digital Download, you would enter $60 as your total pledge.

New for our Collector's Edition Box Level ($140)
Lastly we want to announce that we are going to give our backers at the Collector’s Edition Box Level ($140) a little extra today and that is Beta access to the game! That’s just a little taste of what we will be adding into tiers in the coming days and weeks through stretch goals and the occasional random act.
cracksys
post Sep 20 2012, 02:40 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

damn, my cock is tingling from the excitement.

God bless kickstart program.
Hornet
post Sep 20 2012, 11:50 PM

What?
4,251 posts

I believe they will be creating their own rule set rather than using AD&D like older games (Baldur's Gate, Icewind Dale, etc) uses. Hopefully it will be as good. I would really love a complex RPG system.
TSkhelben
post Sep 21 2012, 09:40 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

Hehe was asking about the box laugh.gif

kof91
post Sep 21 2012, 09:58 AM

82 posts

Still waiting for paypal option sad.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Sep 21 2012, 10:58 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

whoah this is awesome !!!

me buys !!!

TSkhelben
post Sep 21 2012, 01:26 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

Added video on first post hehe.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Sep 21 2012, 01:30 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Sep 21 2012, 01:26 PM)
Added video on first post hehe.
aye the video just them talking.
can anyone summarize what they said ar?
TSkhelben
post Sep 21 2012, 01:44 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Sep 21 2012, 01:30 PM)
aye the video just them talking.
can anyone summarize what they said ar?
Basically asking for people to pledge.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Sep 21 2012, 01:49 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Sep 21 2012, 01:44 PM)
Basically asking for people to pledge.

well they already gotten my attention by stating what games they produced.

- baldurs gate series
- icewind dale series
- planescape torment
- fallout 1, 2, new vegas
- star wars knights of the old republic 2
- temple of elemental evil (tim cain)

TSkhelben
post Sep 21 2012, 01:51 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Sep 21 2012, 01:49 PM)
well they already gotten my attention by stating what games they produced.

- baldurs gate series
- icewind dale series
- planescape torment
- fallout 1, 2, new vegas
- star wars knights of the old republic 2
- temple of elemental evil (tim cain)
Baldur's Gate is not from them though, nor did they say they made it biggrin.gif

BG series is all BioWare.
Currylaksa
post Sep 21 2012, 02:00 PM

1,616 posts

Nostalgia is such a powerful salesman huh.gif
Hornet
post Sep 21 2012, 02:05 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Sep 21 2012, 02:00 PM)
Nostalgia is such a powerful salesman huh.gif
I guess people are just tired of playing the same old game from 10 years ago, and there isn't any choice because no publishers want to make isometric RPG these days. It was a long forgotten genre until Wasteland 2 project came along.

Deimos Tel`Arin
post Sep 21 2012, 02:08 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Sep 21 2012, 01:51 PM)
Baldur's Gate is not from them though, nor did they say they made it biggrin.gif

BG series is all BioWare.
i thought black isle developed baldurs gate series while bioware made the engine?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_Isle_Studios

bah they published it. bioware developed it. rest in pieces bioware.
Currylaksa
post Sep 21 2012, 02:15 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Sep 21 2012, 02:08 PM)
i thought black isle developed baldurs gate series while bioware made the engine?

co-development huh.gif

but you give them full credit for planescape biggrin.gif
TSkhelben
post Sep 21 2012, 02:19 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

Hehe it's all BioWare, I think they needed Black Isle for the licensing and names or something smile.gif

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Sep 21 2012, 02:15 PM)
co-development huh.gif

but you give them full credit for planescape biggrin.gif
Nah man no co-development or anything like that. See the credits, all BioWare.

But yeah Black Isle's great for their PST and Fallout. And also NWN2, not the greatest but definitely better than the first.
Currylaksa
post Sep 21 2012, 05:42 PM

1,616 posts

ow you are right huh.gif

I just read that they won't use D&D ruleset, dang wizards are such jerks tongue.gif
TSkhelben
post Sep 24 2012, 02:33 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

100k more to 2 million laugh.gif
RangerKarl
post Sep 24 2012, 04:28 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Sep 21 2012, 05:42 PM)
ow you are right huh.gif

I just read that they won't use D&D ruleset, dang wizards are such jerks tongue.gif
It's cool, we get to shoot wizards in the chest with flintlock pistols now! :neat:
Currylaksa
post Sep 24 2012, 04:48 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(RangerKarl @ Sep 24 2012, 04:28 PM)
It's cool, we get to shoot wizards in the chest with flintlock pistols now! :neat:
reminds me of that Arcanum game huh.gif

tech vs magic
Hornet
post Oct 3 2012, 11:55 PM

What?
4,251 posts

Paypal payment option is now up at their website. biggrin.gif

Those who are interested in its official strategy guide (they will be working with one of those strategy guide company) can add $7 at the bottom.
dishwasher
post Oct 4 2012, 06:00 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Sep 24 2012, 04:48 PM)
reminds me of that Arcanum game huh.gif

tech vs magic
Not surprising, since part of the team made Arcanum.
Cyrus2k
post Oct 4 2012, 10:07 PM

474 posts

oh, they made Alpha Protocol?

I riked biggrin.gif
cracksys
post Oct 4 2012, 11:50 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Oct 4 2012, 10:07 PM)
oh, they made Alpha Protocol?

I riked biggrin.gif
i don't think people are chiming in because they made alpha protocol.

but whatever, pledge.
Cyrus2k
post Oct 5 2012, 12:38 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Oct 4 2012, 11:50 PM)
i don't think people are chiming in because they made alpha protocol.

but whatever, pledge.
Of course I know that la sweat.gif

I'm pledging because of that reason mah whistling.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Oct 10 2012, 11:19 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Sep 24 2012, 02:33 PM)
100k more to 2 million laugh.gif

its 2.5 mil now! O_O
http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/obsidi...roject-eternity

QUOTE(Hornet @ Oct 3 2012, 11:55 PM)
Paypal payment option is now up at their website.  biggrin.gif

Those who are interested in its official strategy guide (they will be working with one of those strategy guide company) can add $7 at the bottom.

yay! paypal time!

alex82
post Oct 10 2012, 12:08 PM

^_^
371 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Oct 10 2012, 11:19 AM)
fai fai go pledge 10k rclxm9.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Oct 10 2012, 12:15 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(alex82 @ Oct 10 2012, 12:08 PM)
fai fai go pledge 10k  rclxm9.gif
durrr i poorfag
gaeria84
post Oct 10 2012, 03:30 PM

837 posts

But, but they made some of my favorite RPGs of all time. sad.gif

NWN 1, Jade Empire, KOTOR 1, Mass Effect series, Dragon Age series...

Obsidian made NWN2 and KOTOR 2 but I wasn't too fond of them doh.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Oct 10 2012, 03:45 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Oct 10 2012, 03:30 PM)
But, but they made some of my favorite RPGs of all time.  sad.gif

NWN 1, Jade Empire, KOTOR 1, Mass Effect series, Dragon Age series...

Obsidian made NWN2 and KOTOR 2 but I wasn't too fond of them  doh.gif

well them bioware kena bungkus by ea liao anyway.

hmmm i like nwn2 better though. not too fond of nwn1.
kotor 2 story kinda dafuq for me.
kotor 1 story is really nice and epic for me! rclxm9.gif

too bad no one bothers to remake kotor 1 with mass effect 1 2 3 graphics though. sad.gif
but then again it still look goods by todays standard.
gaeria84
post Oct 10 2012, 03:50 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Oct 10 2012, 03:45 PM)
well them bioware kena bungkus by ea liao anyway.

hmmm i like nwn2 better though. not too fond of nwn1.
kotor 2 story kinda dafuq for me.
kotor 1 story is really nice and epic for me!  rclxm9.gif

too bad no one bothers to remake kotor 1 with mass effect 1 2 3 graphics though. sad.gif
but then again it still look goods by todays standard.
NWN 1 story was so good and remarkably epic drool.gif
Aribeth's betrayal, the old ones
yuhhaur
post Oct 10 2012, 03:54 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

Looking at all the names I consider myself sold.

APPROVED!
ik3da
post Oct 10 2012, 04:48 PM

Poisoned, broken, and definitely poorer.
545 posts

Obsidian? KotOR? IWD? NWN2? Arcanum? My favorite RPGs maker all in one team? Dumping in $25. $35 if my wife don't nag that I am still gaming in 2014 =D
TSkhelben
post Oct 10 2012, 07:20 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

I'm pledging $80 laugh.gif
shaff
post Oct 10 2012, 07:51 PM

127 posts

Pledging myself for 35$
Cheesenium
post Oct 10 2012, 08:07 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Gonna pledge $25.

Bioware is dead anyway, might as well pour some money to keep Obsidian afloat and away from publishers.
Hornet
post Oct 10 2012, 08:07 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Oct 10 2012, 03:54 PM)
Looking at all the names I consider myself sold.
APPROVED!
Hopefully can reach 2.8 million, and George Ziets will join hmm.gif
Archaven
post Oct 10 2012, 08:35 PM

It isn't Death you should be afraid of
1,201 posts

Hmm.. looks promising. But after the crap sh!t from DS3 i'm not sure if i wanna help them.
Cheesenium
post Oct 10 2012, 08:41 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Archaven @ Oct 10 2012, 08:35 PM)
Hmm.. looks promising. But after the crap sh!t from DS3 i'm not sure if i wanna help them.
Considering how good is their upcoming South Park game, i wont worry too much.

DS3 is just terrible, IMO.
cracksys
post Oct 10 2012, 08:50 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

keep in mind that in DS3 case, it was published (money poured) by Square Enix.

with that clear, i can only say one thing.

console-in-mind.

that's why they need this. to enable then to go back to the root without their every move being dictate by fuking publisher.
TSkhelben
post Oct 10 2012, 10:07 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Oct 10 2012, 08:50 PM)
keep in mind that in DS3 case, it was published (money poured) by Square Enix.

with that clear, i can only say one thing.

console-in-mind.

that's why they need this. to enable then to go back to the root without their every move being dictate by fuking publisher.
This.

Without a "boss", I'm sure they can do wonders. I mean like, Planescape: Torment! That alone is enough to convince me laugh.gif

Added on October 12, 2012, 10:10 amFirst screen shot

This post has been edited by khelben: Oct 12 2012, 10:10 AM
dishwasher
post Oct 16 2012, 04:13 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

Well, its the last day and this kickstarter has just hit $3,403,960 at the time of me writing this. That makes it the most successful game on kickstarter, overtaking Double Fine Adventure.

The amount of support for this has been amazing. Guess many people have very fond memories of the old Black Isle games.
TSkhelben
post Oct 16 2012, 04:22 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

Yeah, 100k more to reach their "Big big city" goal laugh.gif
Hornet
post Oct 16 2012, 05:22 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Oct 16 2012, 04:22 PM)
Yeah, 100k more to reach their "Big big city" goal laugh.gif
Actually they already reach that, because Paypal is about 106k already, so total more than 3.5M rclxm9.gif

They are now asking for any ideas for next stretch goal. But I think we're running out of time. sweat.gif
TSkhelben
post Oct 17 2012, 07:40 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

Hehe, 81 minutes left and it's close to 4 million laugh.gif

$80 pledged biggrin.gif
Sethmaster
post Oct 17 2012, 08:11 AM

301 posts

backing it too biggrin.gif
kof91
post Oct 17 2012, 08:44 AM

82 posts

23 mins left.. just backed the proj laugh.gif
think they reach 4M already with paypal
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Oct 17 2012, 08:48 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

whoah this is awesome !!!

4 million !!!
TSkhelben
post Oct 17 2012, 09:13 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

$4m Stretch Goal - Enhance the Whole Game
OK! After much team deliberation we have one final ultimate stretch goal. At $4.0m we will be enhancing the whole game. We will use live instrumentation for the soundtrack, add developer in-game commentary, and use every dollar between $3.5m and $4m to enhance the game.
So awesome biggrin.gif
kof91
post Oct 17 2012, 07:16 PM

82 posts

rps posted an article regarding Proj Eternity
source
They set the original estimated release date at April 2014, and Kickstarter rules suggest they should do their best to honour that. But with the vast amount of extra content, it seems likely it’ll take longer to make. So now the initial excitement is over, it’s obviously going to be one heck of a wait before we get our mitts on the thing. So, er, thumb-twiddling contests?

this part makes sense they promising extra content even with extra money doesn't mean they can buy extra time to develop those content.. as often development job adding double man power won't equate to double speed as there are dependencies for complex project. brace yourself for late deliveries guys/gals..
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Oct 18 2012, 02:12 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

i hope obsidian entertainment is smart enough to stay away from publishers.
TSkhelben
post Oct 18 2012, 02:37 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Oct 18 2012, 02:12 PM)
i hope obsidian entertainment is smart enough to stay away from publishers.
Umm, the whole point of asking for pledges is that so they do not need a publisher smile.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Oct 18 2012, 02:39 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Oct 18 2012, 02:37 PM)
Umm, the whole point of asking for pledges is that so they do not need a publisher smile.gif

yeah lets hope it stays that way.

kof91
post Oct 18 2012, 03:50 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Oct 18 2012, 02:37 PM)
actually there is no legal binding clause to stop kickstarted proj to get "bought" over by publisher right?
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Oct 18 2012, 03:53 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(kof91 @ Oct 18 2012, 03:50 PM)
actually there is no legal binding clause to stop kickstarted proj to get "bought" over by publisher right?
that, i dunno.
deswai i wrote "i hope obsidian entertainment is smart enough to stay away from publishers." since any time any publisher may offer them lots of monies to buy over them or something.

maybe "smart" is not appropriate for that sentence.

i.e. like how ea offered to buy valve and gabe said valve will disintegrate itself if bought over. i.e. ea go fxxk urself
kof91
post Oct 18 2012, 05:10 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Oct 18 2012, 03:53 PM)
that, i dunno.
deswai i wrote "i hope obsidian entertainment is smart enough to stay away from publishers." since any time any publisher may offer them lots of monies to buy over them or something.

maybe "smart" is not appropriate for that sentence.

i.e. like how ea offered to buy valve and gabe said valve will disintegrate itself if bought over. i.e. ea go fxxk urself
yeah but monies in large large quantities can be tempting.. lets hope they stick to.. but I think with all the kickstarter proj.. some bound to being bought over by publisher.. just matter of time.. or it had already happened?

funded a few proj.. so finger crossed and get deliveries in the end.. but all suppose to happen sometime q3 next near..

This post has been edited by kof91: Oct 18 2012, 05:11 PM
dishwasher
post Oct 19 2012, 09:47 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

I think they've been burned quite a few times by publishers. Did you know Bethesda actually had a clause that they'd only get a bonus for New Vegas if it scored above 85 (or 90, it was some number) on Metacritic? And because of the QA problems (which, ironically, Bethesda is in charge of), the game scored just a bit less than the required benchmark.

No bonus, gg no re.

Some of them in Obsidian were very bitter about it. I think it was Avellone? But... yeah...
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Oct 19 2012, 10:12 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Oct 19 2012, 09:47 AM)
I think they've been burned quite a few times by publishers. Did you know Bethesda actually had a clause that they'd only get a bonus for New Vegas if it scored above 85 (or 90, it was some number) on Metacritic? And because of the QA problems (which, ironically, Bethesda is in charge of), the game scored just a bit less than the required benchmark.

No bonus, gg no re.

Some of them in Obsidian were very bitter about it. I think it was Avellone? But... yeah...
dafuq that's really wtf man.
fallout new vegas is awesome!
kof91
post Oct 19 2012, 10:28 AM

82 posts

No bonus, gg no re.

yeah I read about it sometime back..
its really idiotic to use metacritic as a benchmark.. so unfair to dev..

TSkhelben
post Oct 19 2012, 01:35 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

No bonus, gg no re.

Never liked beth. Their oblivion is terribad. Didn't bother bout the latest one.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jan 23 2013, 02:03 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

hmmmm update

Hail, elves. It's been a while since we've had a mechanics update, so I'd like to cover a variety of topics today: the basics of our "non-core" classes, our cooldown system (or lack thereof), an update on how attacks are resolved, and another update on the evolution of our armor system. I'd also like to show you a dungeon tileset test render and some sweet shakycam of some of the combat basics running in engine.

Non-Core Classes
We've previously discussed the design of our "core four" classes: fighter, priest, rogue, and wizard. The non-core classes are the other seven: barbarian, paladin, ranger, druid, monk, chanter, and cipher. Like the core four classes, the non-core classes all start the game with two active or modal abilities and one passive ability.

When it comes to the balance of active/modal and passive options, the classes generally reflect their D&D counterparts, with spellcasters having more active use abilities and weapon-based classes being oriented toward more passive or modal abilities. Even so, it will be possible to push a spellcaster toward more passive talents and to optionally buy more active/modal abilities for traditionally low-maintenance characters. While all classes will have many more abilities as they advance, here are some basic elements for each of the seven classes.

Barbarians can use Wild Sprint a limited number of times per day, allowing them to rapidly rush across the battlefield to a distant target while ignoring hazards along the way.
Paladins have limited healing capabilities, but their Revive command allows them to instantly snap an unconscious ally awake with a large Stamina boost.
Rangers' animal companions are so closely bonded to their masters that they share Stamina and Health pools, which can be both a blessing and a curse.
Druids can Shapeshift into animal forms, gaining natural -- and some supernatural -- abilities associated with those creatures.
Monks absorb a portion of incoming damage and convert it into a Wounds resource they can use to power their soul-based abilities (such as Stunning Blows) through any weapons they use, including unarmed strikes.
Chanters begin the game with a number of phrases they can arrange to form songs with different effects. Aefyllath Ues Mith Fyr is a phrase that causes allies' weapons to emit magical flames.
Cipher powers often gain intensity as they maintain focus. Their basic Mind Jab starts as a minor irritant but can build to inflict devastating damage.
Cooldowns
Early on, some folks asked about cooldowns and both Tim and I agreed that we weren't opposed to using them in some form if it made sense for our mechanics. To be more explicit about it, the only way in which we are currently using anything cooldown-like is for per-encounter and per-rest abilities. Per-encounter abilities can be used a number of times in an encounter and are then disabled until combat ends. Per-rest abilities can be used a number of times after resting before you must rest to recover them. We've previously discussed grimoire-switching for wizards possibly invoking a cooldown. It's more likely that grimoire-switching will be limited through the inventory system and not by a cooldown.

We also have modal abilities that can be turned on and off at will, with some abilities being exclusive to others, meaning you can only have one active at a time.

Attack Resolution
I've talked about this a bunch on the forums, but not in an update. All attacks in Project Eternity compare the attacker's Accuracy value to one of four defenses: Deflection (direct melee and ranged attacks), Fortitude (body system attacks like poison and disease), Reflexes (area of effect damage attacks), and Willpower (mental attacks).

A number between 1 and 100 is generated to determine the attack rules. If the Accuracy and target defense are the same value, these are how the results break down:

01-05 = Miss
06-50 = Graze
51-95 = Hit
96-100 = Critical Hit
A Hit is the standard damage and duration effects, a Graze is 50% minimum damage or duration, a Critical Hit is 150% maximum damage or duration, and a Miss has no effect. In a balanced Attack and defense scenario, the majority of attacks wind up being Hits or Grazes. If the Accuracy and defense values are out of balance, the windows for each result shift accordingly, while always allowing for the possibility of a Graze or a Hit at the extreme ends of the spectrum.

Damage Type vs. Armor Type
We've previously talked about how different weapon damage types (Slash, Crush, and Pierce) fare against Damage Threshold (DT) in the game. We implemented that system and found that while it worked well on paper and scaled well, it was unintuitive when put into the game. It was not possible for players to make informed decisions about what weapons to use against a given armor type because doing so required making relative damage vs. DT calculations for all weapon types, i.e. having a spreadsheet open for comparison at all times.

In light of this, we are going to try a more explicit damage type vs. armor type model where armor, regardless of its DT, has a familiar weight classification: Light, Medium, and Heavy. Damage types are either good or bad against a given weight classification. When a damage type is "bad" against an armor type, it does half damage before DT is applied, making it very inefficient. Within the "good" types of damage, there's still an efficiency curve against DT for meticulous players to figure out, but it has less impact than avoiding "bad" damage types in the first place.

Energy-based attacks (like most spells) oppose a different characteristic of the armor, its substance type (Natural, Armor, or Spirit) and like damage types, have good and bad opposition characteristics. Weapon bonus damage that is energy-based is applied to the target separately, but at a fractional DT value matching the bonus damage. E.g. if a sword has a fire effect that does +15% the sword's damage, it is opposed by 15% of the target's Damage Threshold.

Tileset Trials and Tribulations

Environment artist Sean Dunny has been experimenting with building tilesets for our dungeons. "Tilesets?!" you may be saying (or thinking). It may be a surprise, but many Icewind Dale and Planescape: Torment levels started from a tileset or modular unit base. We use these tilesets to generate basic renders for testing layout, navigation, and combat. Once we like the basic layout, we refine it by adding additional "meta" (special) tiles, modifying the tiles individually in the layout, adding lights, and of course having an artist do a 2D touchup pass.

That's all for this week. Thanks for reading!

Update by Josh Sawyer
kof91
post Apr 11 2013, 08:36 AM

82 posts

Latest update! must see

drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

sos

This post has been edited by kof91: Apr 11 2013, 08:36 AM
s7ran9er
post Apr 11 2013, 10:22 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(kof91 @ Apr 11 2013, 08:36 AM)
Latest update! must see

drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif

sos
There's been a lot of news about this game and the kickstarter's success, too bad I was too late to back them up but heck I will get the game anyway.

This post has been edited by s7ran9er: Apr 11 2013, 10:22 AM
kof91
post Apr 11 2013, 11:05 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Apr 11 2013, 10:22 AM)
There's been a lot of news about this game and the kickstarter's success, too bad I was too late to back them up but heck I will get the game anyway.
actually after the kickstarter ended u can still fund on their website with the same perks for until around feb 2013
jus not many ppl is informed
/edit
can still fund now at http://eternity.obsidian.net/ but jus one tier

This post has been edited by kof91: Apr 11 2013, 11:07 AM
TSkhelben
post Apr 11 2013, 09:24 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(kof91 @ Apr 11 2013, 08:36 AM)
Latest update! must see

drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif

sos
Yeah saw that just before heading to work this morning. Who says games have to be in 3D to look amazing biggrin.gif
kof91
post Apr 12 2013, 08:26 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Apr 11 2013, 09:24 PM)
Yeah saw that just before heading to work this morning. Who says games have to be in 3D to look amazing biggrin.gif
technically they still using 3d.. unity is a 3d engine
just that they made 2 2d plane.. shown somewhere at end of video
TSkhelben
post Apr 12 2013, 08:27 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

Yeah was talking about the geometry
TSkhelben
post Dec 11 2013, 01:46 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

New teaser!

The next great fantasy role-playing sage...

Made Possible...

by you.

Fuiyo

Deimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 11 2013, 03:06 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

very nice!

so now the game name is finalized as "pillars of eternity" hor?

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Dec 11 2013, 03:06 PM
memphiz_zero88
post Aug 14 2014, 07:46 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

Gamescom 2014 gameplay

memphiz_zero88
post Aug 14 2014, 08:32 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

question: if buy from here, we'll get both Steam version and GOG version?
http://eternity.obsidian.net/buy
kianweic
post Aug 16 2014, 09:16 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Aug 14 2014, 08:32 PM)
question: if buy from here, we'll get both Steam version and GOG version?
http://eternity.obsidian.net/buy
"How will I get my digital copy of the game?
We now proudly support both GOG and Steam, so if you prefer DRM-free, you can choose the GOG option, and if you like Steam's integration, including achievements, and possibly cloud saves, you'll be able to choose that as well.

When you fill out your backer survey or pre-order the game, you will be able to select between these options.

If you buy additional copies as add-ons, you'll be able to tell us which one you want per key.

We do not yet have a DRM-free distribution partner for Linux, but we expect to have one available soon."

Extracted from FAQ in Buy Pillars of Eternity
Nam226
post Aug 16 2014, 10:27 AM

110 posts

Wow! Now I have two good old-fashioned isometric RPGs to look forward to: Project Eternity and Torment: Tides of Numenera! Way to go, nostalgia gamers! "By Gamers, For Gamers" - God, I missed this slogan, glad there keeping up the tradition rclxms.gif
Archaven
post Aug 16 2014, 11:58 AM

1,201 posts

Watched the latest preview and i would say i'm not impressed compared to Divinity Original Sins. This game gets $4M crowd-funded vs $1M on Divinity. The graphics really dated. Not only the graphics but the animations and stuff was equivalently bad. I think the first Baldur's Gate graphics look better. Hmm.. maybe is it the artist problem? Anyway hope this game will turn good because i'm gonna get a copy too.
memphiz_zero88
post Nov 12 2014, 06:01 AM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

now can preorder on Steam, RM85 for Hero Edition and RM105 for Champion Edition. comparing to US price, ours are almost 50% off shocking.gif
http://store.steampowered.com/app/291650/

got 10% discount until 25 November

This post has been edited by memphiz_zero88: Nov 12 2014, 07:11 AM
TSkhelben
post Jan 26 2015, 11:25 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

26th of March!

https://eternity.obsidian.net/
Archaven
post Mar 9 2015, 12:36 AM

1,201 posts

PAX East panel:

Looks gorgeous. Wondering if anyone bringing in retail physical?
TSkhelben
post Mar 9 2015, 12:51 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Archaven @ Mar 9 2015, 12:36 AM)
PAX East panel:

Looks gorgeous. Wondering if anyone bringing in retail physical?
Sweet. Can't wait. Hopefully Witcher 3 doesn't come out during the same time lol.

I pledged for the physical box tongue.gif
Archaven
post Mar 9 2015, 12:57 AM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Mar 9 2015, 12:51 AM)
Sweet. Can't wait. Hopefully Witcher 3 doesn't come out during the same time lol.

I pledged for the physical box tongue.gif
March 26 is the release date. Witcher 3 is in May. Dang guess i'll be grabbing the Royal Edition on Steam which cost RM149. Same price as GTAV. Yeah i rather dump money to these guys than the already filthy rich R* tongue.gif. If you watched the stream, game looks pretty gorgeous. I really can't wait to play.
Angel of Deth
post Mar 22 2015, 10:14 PM

1,242 posts

Physical version available here?
TSkhelben
post Mar 24 2015, 09:23 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Archaven @ Mar 9 2015, 12:57 AM)
March 26 is the release date. Witcher 3 is in May. Dang guess i'll be grabbing the Royal Edition on Steam which cost RM149. Same price as GTAV. Yeah i rather dump money to these guys than the already filthy rich R* tongue.gif. If you watched the stream, game looks pretty gorgeous. I really can't wait to play.
Yeah so far so good. I also backed Tides of Numenera biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Mar 22 2015, 10:14 PM)
Physical version available here?
I'm not sure if they are gonna produce physical copies other than for the backers. Gotta check.
TSkhelben
post Mar 25 2015, 01:34 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

http://kotaku.com/were-really-digging-pill...nity-1693310820

That first big town, it's worth noting, is nearly as big as the city of Baldur's Gate (from BG1). Defiance Bay, as it's called, has got five districts, a whole lot of buildings, tons of quests, an obligatory sewer/catacomb system, and like four different Kickstarter-backer-named inns. It's not quite as huge as Athkatla, the main city in BG2, but it's a substantial, interesting city, with tons and tons to see and do. And apparently there's another one that's just as big!

fucuk...
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Mar 26 2015, 12:58 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Mar 24 2015, 09:23 AM)
Yeah so far so good. I also backed Tides of Numenera biggrin.gif

the torment remake right?
i wonder when it will be ready.
how long they started development already ah?

QUOTE(khelben @ Mar 25 2015, 01:34 PM)
horry shito.
screw gw2.
time to pillars of eternity.
shaff
post Mar 26 2015, 01:30 PM

127 posts

allready get my backer key on gog, waiting for unlock time huhu
mukhlisz
post Mar 26 2015, 06:34 PM

373 posts

when is it unlocking? my mouse is itchy edi..
ben_panced
post Mar 26 2015, 08:25 PM

PC and MotorBicycle Enthusiast
962 posts

preloading it huehue
cant wait to play the game
Archaven
post Mar 27 2015, 12:25 AM

1,201 posts

preloading but sadly gonna play it on weekends. extremely tired.
dishwasher
post Mar 27 2015, 09:53 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

Played until 3am last night. Hauled my sorry Death Godlike Rogue ass to the first town, half dead. Can't tank for shit.

I'm liking the game so far. It's very polished, it's beautiful, and combat is fun. I hate to say this, but this is miles ahead of Wasteland 2. And the reviews mostly agree. 92 from PC Gamer, praises from RPS.

This game has been a long time coming.
shaff
post Mar 27 2015, 06:03 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Mar 27 2015, 09:53 AM)
Played until 3am last night. Hauled my sorry Death Godlike Rogue ass to the first town, half dead. Can't tank for shit.

I'm liking the game so far. It's very polished, it's beautiful, and combat is fun. I hate to say this, but this is miles ahead of Wasteland 2. And the reviews mostly agree. 92 from PC Gamer, praises from RPS.

This game has been a long time coming.
Lol, poor rogue to becum tanker
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Mar 27 2015, 10:38 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

17 hours and i am still in character creation

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/file...d=414761791#_=_

http://cloud-4.steamusercontent.com/ugc/53...68.resizedimage
Archaven
post Mar 28 2015, 12:01 PM

1,201 posts

I have no idea what class to play. Cipher seems like gain focus for casting spells, but need to be in melee. Has low defense and low HP. Heard Paladin is a pure support. Not much damage. Priest very squishy in defense and not like DnD priest. Much more like a support character. Well this is just based on my assumptions on Character creation tongue.gif
dishwasher
post Mar 28 2015, 12:35 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(Archaven @ Mar 28 2015, 12:01 PM)
I have no idea what class to play. Cipher seems like gain focus for casting spells, but need to be in melee. Has low defense and low HP. Heard Paladin is a pure support. Not much damage. Priest very squishy in defense and not like DnD priest. Much more like a support character. Well this is just based on my assumptions on Character creation tongue.gif
You can give your cipher a blunderbuss or any other ranged weapon. Not necessarily melee.
joe_kopitiam
post Mar 28 2015, 01:38 PM

50 posts

how do we automate our companions? especially the wizard & prists? i dowan to micro manage. rclxub.gif

gorgeous game. but i still don't quite follow the story and lore. it's hard too. keep getting my ass handed to me so i had to lower it to easy.

not sure how i feel about this health only returning after you rest thing. it's kinda annoying.

just found out that there's no AI script for your companions. but the game itself is not turn-based. damn! doh.gif

This post has been edited by joe_kopitiam: Mar 28 2015, 02:16 PM
Angel of Deth
post Mar 28 2015, 03:08 PM

1,242 posts

Easily pick this over Bloodborne and other action RPGs. GOTY contender.
cracksys
post Mar 29 2015, 12:25 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

iron trial mode is just to hardcore.

i have to wimpy out from that mode. died and had to restart twice already to the same trap in the first ruin.
Archaven
post Mar 29 2015, 10:04 PM

1,201 posts

There's a game breaking but i just get to know. Do not double click items/weapons in inventory screen to equip. Instead drag and drop. If you double click you will lose racial stats, abilities and stuff. And it's permanent. I have to restart the game due to this.

I'm restarting and playing on Hard now. It's nice.
ik3da
post Mar 30 2015, 01:03 AM

545 posts

Serious bout the bug??? Man, I think I double clicked for a few of the chars already...
soul_fly9900
post Mar 30 2015, 01:38 AM

148 posts

Oh god please be wrong about that bug or it can be fixed, also double click a few time if not mistaken, and I am playing on Path Of the Damned difficulty. The amount of tears and brain wrecking session I had spent to make a tactical move to win a fight lol and also lots of reloading haha
dishwasher
post Mar 30 2015, 10:03 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

Obsidian has a fix for the issue and they're trying to make it retroactive so it patches old save files. In the meantime, you can remove and re-add companions to fix them (make sure to strip their inventory before you do - another bug might cause them to lose everything). For your own character, you'll either have to use the console or just cross your fingers and hope for a retroactive fix.
ben_panced
post Mar 30 2015, 02:03 PM

962 posts

Currently playing as a cipher. It reminded me a lot about warlock class in nwn2.
mukhlisz
post Mar 30 2015, 04:38 PM

373 posts

the game gets more fun once u level up your party a bit (around level 6).

i really like sagani though. initially had thought aloth would be interesting but that doesn't seem to be the case.

and u can get pretty rich quick once u build up your keep! thumbup.gif

it's so unlike the keep in DAI where my Inquisitor looks rich but i just don't see the gold coins in my wallet. have to scrape the money to get those tier-3 schematics... doh.gif
ik3da
post Apr 5 2015, 11:48 PM

545 posts

Anyone decided on what faction to support? Tried checking all three out but none of them sounds good.

Jkc976
post Apr 6 2015, 08:54 AM

Validating
72 posts

This game's price at gog.com are damn high =.=" while steam just selling for RM 85.
slepth
post Apr 6 2015, 06:11 PM

188 posts

Patch notes v1.03:
https://forums.obsidian.net/blog/7/entry-17...atch-notes-103/
dishwasher
post Apr 8 2015, 12:09 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

Guess what just came in the mail?

TSkhelben
post Apr 8 2015, 12:11 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Apr 8 2015, 12:09 PM)
Guess what just came in the mail?

How much did you back?

Mine not here yet sad.gif
dishwasher
post Apr 8 2015, 12:19 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

I took the USD250 tier. Mine just arrived actually, so yours might make it today or tomorrow.
ben_panced
post Apr 9 2015, 12:38 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Apr 8 2015, 12:19 PM)
I took the USD250 tier. Mine just arrived actually, so yours might make it today or tomorrow.
Fuh respek man, that's like rm 1000
joe_kopitiam
post Apr 9 2015, 01:47 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Apr 8 2015, 12:19 PM)

what's inside the box?
dishwasher
post Apr 9 2015, 11:25 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

I only got home at midnight yesterday, so I didn't take any photos of the unboxing. Will grab some pics of what's inside when I have the time.

By the way, I heard from the official forums that non collectors editions of the game will only be sent out once the discs are ready. Reason being that if they sent out the exterior box only, without the box of discs to give it additional weight and support, the exterior box will get crushed.
joe_kopitiam
post Apr 11 2015, 10:55 AM

50 posts

i thought the ending and the reveal was a bit meh. but i guess it's the destination that counts not the ending.

hated that final boss so much underneath the Keep. die bitch!
memphiz_zero88
post Jun 17 2015, 09:25 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

memphiz_zero88
post Aug 26 2015, 07:56 AM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts