[WTA] ICE noob here, Q & A time

TSWaCKy-Angel
post Feb 13 2006, 09:41 PM, updated 20y ago

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

Im noob in ICE...

So i just installed CD player and AMP + sub woofer + 3 small speaker.
Excluding the CD player, costs RM600 for all those stuffs include installing.
But too bad i think got "potong" already coz the AMP is just 2 channel.
I think its 250w or something...Cant see clearly coz the AMP is installed underneath the front passenger seat.

The question is........
I complain the front small speaker is not good coz the sound "pecah" if turn volume loud..and the guy said need to install PRE-AMP for it..
So is it necessarily to install pre-amp or just buy a better speaker?
Also...the back speaker also has some "pecah" sound...
And i was told that the AMP only supports the sub woffer..

So what actually do i need now?
Btw what is a crossover?

I went to Brothers last week and ask the salesguy what difference is 4 channel and 2 channel amp..he reply 4 channel can play more sounds..only that nothing special...correct?
And i ask difference of Pre amp and Amp...he said Pre amp has controls and amp is usually big and put somewhere hard to control the settings..correct?
iZuDeeN
post Feb 13 2006, 10:01 PM

3,466 posts

Confuse lah ur question..

Anyway setup is like this

1xHead Unit -> 1xPreAmp -> 2xAmp -> 2xCrossover -> 1xSub 2xMidrange 2xTweeter

That is the 'ideal' setup

Pre Amp is to control/adjust the Freq of the music that come out from your head unit before passing it to amp

Amp just to amplify the sound, it should not mess the bass/treble although most amp has the function

Crossover is to SEPERATE the sound channel for each specified speaker, so you dont get 'PECAH SOUND' when put at loud volume

The diff with 2 or 4 channel is that it has more output to power up speaker..

I reckon you get 2x 2channel rather than 1x 4 channel

phunkydude
post Feb 13 2006, 10:03 PM

2,402 posts

So i just installed CD player and AMP + sub woofer + 3 small speaker.
Excluding the CD player, costs RM600 for all those stuffs include installing.
But too bad i think got "potong" already coz the AMP is just 2 channel.
I think its 250w or something...Cant see clearly coz the AMP is installed underneath the front passenger seat.
you can't expect much for rm600 ler...
the amp if rated at 250w RMS then ok lar.. but if 250w pmpo.. then it suk to the max..

The question is........
I complain the front small speaker is not good coz the sound "pecah" if turn volume loud..and the guy said need to install PRE-AMP for it..
So is it necessarily to install pre-amp or just buy a better speaker?
Also...the back speaker also has some "pecah" sound...
And i was told that the AMP only supports the sub woffer..
most probably the speakers are lousy ones..
the pre-amp is to tune those audio output such as bass.. , & bla bla..

I went to Brothers last week and ask the salesguy what difference is 4 channel and 2 channel amp..he reply 4 channel can play more sounds..only that nothing special...correct?
And i ask difference of Pre amp and Amp...he said Pre amp has controls and amp is usually big and put somewhere hard to control the settings..correct?
the channel thingy... not more channel, play more sound lar..
the channel is the output.. , example 4 channel amp... each channel power up each speaker..
or example, 2 channel amp... you bridge up the 2 channel to power up your woofer..
driftmeister
post Feb 13 2006, 10:07 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

sound pecah ? means ur speaker pecah already lor
to be specify means the speaker cone can't withstand the movement
time for a new speaker ...and new installer as well
pre-amp to cure this is plain bullshyt

crossover is a frequency cut off module to control the freq of ur speakers

4channel got 4 output and 2 channel got 2 output
basically it's the same thing
and about the brother's sales man quoted for *play more sound*
he's another bullshyter as well

difference of amp and preamp....
amp - amplify sound signal
pre-amp - control the sound freq as well (less function than a active crossover)

TSWaCKy-Angel
post Feb 13 2006, 10:21 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

So my question is...the installer said the Amp only support for the subwoofer.
So i should get another Amp for other speakers (front and back) ?
But anyway...RM600 for my setup are definately kena "potong" already.
I think its cheap Amp and sub.
soulfly
post Feb 13 2006, 10:55 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 13 2006, 10:21 PM)
how much more are you willing to spend?

if you have enough budget, i would say get a 4 channel amp with enough watts

2 channel for component sets
another 2 channel bridge to mono, to power your subs

for rear speaker, you can just wire direct from the head unit

your old amp just lelong cheap cheap .... nothing much u can do with 250w pmpo

daniel31
post Feb 13 2006, 10:58 PM

1,387 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 13 2006, 10:21 PM)
Erm....not to say kena potong lar. But you can't expect to get top range products with so little amount right?

For me, l would prefer 4 channels amp to pump the front component and rear speaker. Then another amp for the sub. thumbup.gif
TSWaCKy-Angel
post Feb 13 2006, 11:14 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 13 2006, 10:55 PM)
how much more are you willing to spend?

if you have enough budget, i would say get a 4 channel amp with enough watts

2 channel for component sets
another 2 channel bridge to mono, to power your subs

for rear speaker, you can just wire direct from the head unit

your old amp just lelong cheap cheap .... nothing much u can do with 250w pmpo
Not sure what amp it is..
your recomend setup is 4 channel + 2x 2 channel?

QUOTE(daniel31 @ Feb 13 2006, 10:58 PM)
Erm....not to say kena potong lar. But you can't expect to get top range products with so little amount right?

For me, l would prefer 4 channels amp to pump the front component and rear speaker. Then another amp for the sub.  thumbup.gif
Hmm RM600 for lousy 2 channel and lousy amp and 2 mid and wiring and a voltage (stabilizer/fuse not sure wat it is) not expensive ah?
Normally wiring and installing how much?
2 channel amp around RM100+
cheap speaker RM20 ?
soulfly
post Feb 14 2006, 12:35 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 13 2006, 11:14 PM)
Not sure what amp it is..
your recomend setup is 4 channel + 2x 2 channel?
Firstly, the Brother guy who said 4-channel plays more sound is bullshit, or rather interpret the channels in the wrong way.

If you read my previous reply properly, I never mentioned about using 3 amplifiers at once.

I recommend using only one 4-channel amp (with sufficient watts of course). Since it has four channels, you can use two channels for the front component speakers. Another two channels can be bridged to mono and use it to power your single subwoofer.

For your car rear speakers, it is better just connect it direct to the head unit. Rear speakers are best to keep low so that it does not interfere with your front components.
TSWaCKy-Angel
post Feb 14 2006, 01:00 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 14 2006, 12:35 AM)
Firstly, the Brother guy who said 4-channel plays more sound is bullshit, or rather interpret the channels in the wrong way.

If you read my previous reply properly, I never mentioned about using 3 amplifiers at once.

I recommend using only one 4-channel amp (with sufficient watts of course). Since it has four channels, you can use two channels for the front component speakers. Another two channels can be bridged to mono and use it to power your single subwoofer.

For your car rear speakers, it is better just connect it direct to the head unit. Rear speakers are best to keep low so that it does not interfere with your front components.
Oh..so i can either get another 2 channel or sell mine and get a 4 channel.
How much watts is sufficient? have to depends on the speaker limit rite?
iZuDeeN
post Feb 14 2006, 09:48 AM

3,466 posts

Actually RM600 is CHEAP...

Remember..

Chapalang 250Watt amp - RM200
Fuse box - RM50
Cable - RM20/meter or RM3/meter
RCA Cable - RM30 x 2
Chapalang Speaker (Mid) - RM50
Woofer - RM100
Woofer box - RM50
Labor - RM40

Those price I quoted is CHAPALANG type, which work out as your budget...

so RM600 is reallly not expensive at all...

driftmeister
post Feb 14 2006, 11:22 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Feb 13 2006, 10:01 PM)
Confuse lah ur question..

Anyway setup is like this

1xHead Unit -> 1xPreAmp -> 2xAmp -> 2xCrossover -> 1xSub 2xMidrange 2xTweeter

That is the 'ideal' setup

Pre Amp is to control/adjust the Freq of the music that come out from your head unit before passing it to amp

Amp just to amplify the sound, it should not mess the bass/treble although most amp has the function

Crossover is to SEPERATE the sound channel for each specified speaker, so you dont get 'PECAH SOUND' when put at loud volume

The diff with 2 or 4 channel is that it has more output to power up speaker..

I reckon you get 2x 2channel rather than 1x 4 channel
u dun need a pre-amp in that case anyway
because active crossover is already a pre-amp and serve the same purpose
daniel31
post Feb 14 2006, 11:41 AM

1,387 posts

Hm....l got 1 question here too. Nowadays still got lot of ppl using pre-amp?

l though high end HU can act like a pre-amp already.
driftmeister
post Feb 14 2006, 12:04 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

cos if install pre-amp
the shop will earn more ma
iZuDeeN
post Feb 14 2006, 02:35 PM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Feb 14 2006, 11:22 AM)
u dun need a pre-amp in that case anyway
because active crossover is already a pre-amp and serve the same purpose
Nope.... you are wrong

Unless you have 1 amp control 1 type of speaker then only cross over is not needed...

Since most people would use 1 amp to power both tweeter and mid range at the same time, without crossover your sound will become muzzled and you can still hear 'suara pecah' at loud volume...

crossover is placed AFTER the amp whereby pre amp is placed BEFORE the amp.

QUOTE(daniel31 @ Feb 14 2006, 11:41 AM)
Hm....l got 1 question here too. Nowadays still got lot of ppl using pre-amp?

l though high end HU can act like a pre-amp already.
Nope...

I have not seen any HU with built-in preamp. Coz if it does, it will not work with a normal setup.

What you see in the HU is EQUALIZER which can control freq from 20Hz to 200Hz. Note that EQUALIZER is used if there is no amp in the setup. If there is amp and you use equalizer instead of pre-amp, you gonna haywire the whole sound system and perhaps damage the amp too (too much gain).

driftmeister
post Feb 14 2006, 04:13 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

dude,

EQ, EQ pre-amp and active crossover are ALL call pre-amps because it's install before the amp
dats why it's call PRE-amp

the crossover u mention which install after amp is call passive crossover module

and about the muzzle ..i shud call it muffle
it's because of the amp or the driver itself
and sometimes it's cause of the wrong cut off frequency

edited:typo

This post has been edited by driftmeister: Feb 14 2006, 04:14 PM
daniel31
post Feb 14 2006, 05:43 PM

1,387 posts

Erm.....some HU got high pass filter fuction which used to cut off frequency from the front or rear speaker. Or should l call it a build in crossover?
vickyrao
post Feb 14 2006, 06:07 PM

1,531 posts

haiyo...y confusing the user....since he already buy...he cant do anything about it...

wacky....now all u need is a 4channel amp to power up ur front n rear speakers. n get a preamp to control the bass and the treble for the speakers. so that u wont get pecah sound...everything is about tuning...

since u on low budget....jz get a 4chan amp n a preamp...enuf liao...no need anything else ady....trust me....it will sound good....n loud n head banging.....that is if ur sub is good la...kekeke...

it all depends on money...money is everything...kekeke...

TSWaCKy-Angel
post Feb 14 2006, 07:30 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Feb 14 2006, 02:35 PM)
What you see in the HU is EQUALIZER which can control freq from 20Hz to 200Hz. Note that EQUALIZER is used if there is no amp in the setup. If there is amp and you use equalizer instead of pre-amp, you gonna haywire the whole sound system and perhaps damage the amp too (too much gain).
So should disable the EQ?
How about the setting for bass and treble?
And the preset flat,super bass, etc etc?
iZuDeeN
post Feb 17 2006, 01:09 PM

3,466 posts

If you dont have the pre-amp, you control the tone from the EQ..

but if you have pre amp, set your HU to flat and adjust from the EQ..

and do not switch on what ever boost/loudness from the HU... since you already have the amp

0.0168sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:37 AM