44 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 >Bottom

Maxis Maxis 3G/HS 3G Thread V6 (Not WBB), Don't Envy at Our Super Fast Speed! :D

chuahcs79
post Nov 9 2012, 01:20 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 9 2012, 01:03 PM)
Mf680 plug into HW550 ( disable WiFi ) , using LAN cable (Cat6e) Only.

If i wan to use WiFi i will LAN out from HW550 into MR3420 WAN port. ( MR3420 . enable WiFi ) , this way my WiFi will have enough power as the MR3420 wont have to power the USB modem as it receive signal via Cat6e which is very efficient and it will have the full power to WiFi out the signal.

Morale of my story is use 2 routers, one to solely power the USB modem, another to solely power WiFi.

Mind you these Router output is only 1A  doh.gif  doh.gif
V2 router power = 1.58A brows.gif
chuahcs79
post Nov 9 2012, 01:45 PM

6,931 posts

SPeed today afternoon:

my ping response is good too rclxms.gif

[attachmentid=3146925]

IDM speed between 1.55~1.65MB/s

[attachmentid=3146934]

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 9 2012, 01:48 PM
chuahcs79
post Nov 9 2012, 02:06 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 9 2012, 01:59 PM)
this is my MR3420 V2 adaptor

[attachmentid=3146952]

btw, your place sure get Top Notch reception , including Radiation too, i advice to borrow Blacktubi's  Radiation meter to do a test.  icon_idea.gif
using nokia phone is what u called Radiation,.. usb modem, wifi router not really

the websites mention it come with 1.58A power adapter,.. sweat.gif

and u only get 1.0A adapter ? doh.gif

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 9 2012, 02:08 PM
chuahcs79
post Nov 9 2012, 02:17 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 9 2012, 02:15 PM)
Limit your wifi power on your MR3420

Since you live in apartment won't need such strong WiFi
i turn off wifi of my router since day 1,..

only pure lan cable,..

to prevent not enough power for usb modem and people hacking my wifi biggrin.gif
chuahcs79
post Nov 9 2012, 02:33 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 9 2012, 02:30 PM)
When you dun Note2-ing, turn WiFi off , or use your HW550 + mR3420.  like me,  to supply enough POWER to USB modem and WiFi  biggrin.gif
oh one more thing,

turn on/off wifi in TP LINK Stock firmware need to reboot ( after reboot u might lost the good IP )

turn on/off wifi in Openwrt dont need any reboot biggrin.gif ( just on or off how many times also dont need reboot to keep your good IP )

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 9 2012, 02:34 PM
chuahcs79
post Nov 9 2012, 02:42 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 9 2012, 02:41 PM)
No need la, just click disable je........

Same thing in HW550 too  smile.gif
V1 and V1.3 need to reboot if u want to turn off wifi, nod.gif
chuahcs79
post Nov 9 2012, 06:03 PM

6,931 posts

in my area using V1 is enough,. dont need V2,

speed is rclxms.gif

whistling.gif

Added on November 9, 2012, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(owc @ Nov 9 2012, 06:00 PM)
lols if normal end user had 42mbps modem, then we all must have powerful antenna to aim for the maxis tower for rebut bandwidth.
External antenna usages is for :

- improve signal RSSI
- improve your consistency in your connection
- reduce up down ding dong
- keeping the connection stable even during bad weather

External Antenna is not for :
- Improve speed

your Speed is mainly base on the base station/ tower you connected,
even your signal can be lame -95 ~ 101dBm, if the tower not congested, you will still get superb speed notworthy.gif
concept is like: your wireless router, more people share the router : less speed you are getting notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 9 2012, 06:07 PM
chuahcs79
post Nov 9 2012, 06:15 PM

6,931 posts

HONG KONG Server

[attachmentid=3147619]

TAIWAN Server

[attachmentid=3147620]

Added on November 9, 2012, 6:23 pm
QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 9 2012, 05:50 PM)
Fruitie place is Over Congested now.

Maxis will reply, Best Speed Effort and UP TO 42Mbps  doh.gif

You wan 42Mbps, go to Chuah's place and speedtest @ 5am, as those pipu there dun use Maxis as they hate Maxis for erecting the Tower there. You sure can get gooding speedo wei..........

But then again now latency have improved  thumbup.gif
no need 5am,

day time anytime also above 10Mbps brows.gif

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 9 2012, 06:23 PM
chuahcs79
post Nov 9 2012, 08:24 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(lee1234 @ Nov 9 2012, 07:56 PM)
but signal RSSI should indirectly related to the speed right?? less signal loss... tongue.gif
not really,

signal gain doesn't mean speed gain

speed gain doesnt mea signal gain

even you are next to the base station/tower which super congested / busy, or capacity is lower , u will get FULL RSSI but speed still sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 9 2012, 08:25 PM
chuahcs79
post Nov 9 2012, 10:03 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Nov 9 2012, 09:45 PM)
speed of loading fb is slow, others are normal.. weird
loading any website is fibre like connection now with panel antenna.
chuahcs79
post Nov 9 2012, 10:36 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(taaron @ Nov 9 2012, 10:31 PM)
Did some modifications today..addon fan, strip MR3420 naked and modify LCD monitor power supply adapter to power up the fan  biggrin.gif

nice modification rclxms.gif

speed should be stable now,right ? brows.gif
chuahcs79
post Nov 9 2012, 10:49 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 9 2012, 10:40 PM)
Looks like Chuah setup  laugh.gif
Next is add an antenna tongue.gif
my setup is like this

chuahcs79
post Nov 9 2012, 11:12 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(taaron @ Nov 9 2012, 10:53 PM)
speed quite stable on my no star IP, as usual hovering around 7 to 9Mbps for DL speed..I noticed that my UL speed is very consistent, always around 3.5Mbps..as for Ping quality, no change..now the modem's heat reduced substantially, while the MR3420 chipset heatsink no heat at all..nice..now i no need to turn off and leave it 24/7..

Added on November 9, 2012, 10:57 pm

yea..i actually used his previous setup idea..hehe  drool.gif

btw bro, u already tested your Panel antenna with your MF680? if working, then let me know on the deal..besides that, i not yet receive your PM reply, my friend confirmed on the deal, his simcard will be ready soon.
oh it is work well with ZTE MF680 brows.gif

i already order and waiting for the TS-9 convertor so i can use the panel with my ZTE MF680

after it arrive i will post full review about ZTE MF680

glad you actually did experiment and prove that cooler fan method does really work
chuahcs79
post Nov 9 2012, 11:21 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 9 2012, 11:15 PM)
MF680 working prefect with panel antenna

Using it as my main modem now, jump ship from Huawei  laugh.gif
Blacktubi, let us post the consistency and effect with ZTE MF680,. poision everyone here brows.gif

realise that monday is public holidays, doh.gif

so only will get it on tuesday cry.gif

then will post ull review with it,

before & after review brows.gif
chuahcs79
post Nov 10 2012, 12:46 AM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 10 2012, 12:01 AM)
Haven't free yet to fully review MF680 laugh.gif

And haven't fine tune my MF680, only knew it is left plugged in until now rclxms.gif

Added a RM5 PC Expo USB mini fan to tame the heat beast
oh, the RM5 usb fan can do the job well ? hmm.gif

Added on November 10, 2012, 12:47 am
QUOTE(akping_1 @ Nov 10 2012, 12:04 AM)
Bro Chuah, Mon is not holiday la...Tues just is PH....
oh ? so monday there is post service, Woohoo, rclxm9.gif

excited now rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 10 2012, 12:47 AM
chuahcs79
post Nov 10 2012, 02:57 AM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(taaron @ Nov 10 2012, 02:05 AM)
midnight speed..and for the first time my MF680 is so consistent to produce double digit Mbps DL speed multiple times due to the cooling fan mod  thumbup.gif ..previously without cooling fan mod, double digit results during midnight were infrequent..
you can still doing a bit of fine tweak, tiny bit of left or right or little movement, will fine tweak the perfect spot "Feng Shui" notworthy.gif
chuahcs79
post Nov 10 2012, 12:12 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 10 2012, 11:10 AM)
Very fast and stable here

No drops since I using at 8AM
no porblemo with the speed and super stable of course,

thanks to -> Huawei E372 + Panel antenna + TL-MR3420

Added on November 10, 2012, 12:13 pm
QUOTE(winyap991 @ Nov 10 2012, 10:27 AM)
Can use HomePlug HL115EP LAN out to my bedroom PC?
yes u can use as long as the power plug in your bedroom it is same phase, notworthy.gif

Added on November 10, 2012, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 10 2012, 09:19 AM)
I guess you should continue as you did a fine job.

Just do it in your spare time.

notworthy.gif

Btw, i have find a very constant connection after trying various combo.

MF680/E372 direct plug into Router, MR3420 V2, ( no need fan as its not hot at all )

Disable WiFi and use LAN Cat6e ( dun use default TP Link LAN (Cat5) ) to connect to PC via LAN.

If i need WiFi, i will LAN out from MR3420 V2 > MR3420 V1 , then enable V1's WiFi .

Both V! and V2 dun need Fan as they are not that hot (esp V2 )

Why i do this setup?

1) Fans are noisy. Disturb the serenity of my room. sad.gif

2) The magnetic fields generated from the fan did interfere with the signal, thus making it inconsistent.

3) Using Fan, after one week makes the setup dusty, worst if you stripped the modem or router as dust accumulates and thereby, "choking" the capacitor/ic making it lagi HOT and slow down the connection.

4) If the router only power the modem on LAN it will give you very good connection ( dun compare with commercial router la ) Likewise, if the Router gets the connection LAN only ( no usb modem ) it also deliver VERY strong WiFi. The makers have a reason why they used a 1A adaptor, to minimise heat. But we are too  "clever" use a Power Hungry Modem and yet we wan strong WiFi  doh.gif  doh.gif

5) So using 2 Consumer (home user) Router will give you Optimum Connection with direct plug-in (modem) and if you need WiFi, LAN out from Router 1 > Router 2 and enable Router's 2 WiFi.

Setup cost 2# Mr3420 = rm170.00

No need to sweat/headache over OpenWRT/DDWRT ( for a noob like me , if your are Expert/Pro like Chua, go ahead )

My next Project is try a Commercial Router.  brows.gif  brows.gif
actually there is some point i dont agree

fan caught dust = yes of course

but fan have silent version, and also depends on how much V power u connect to it,

if u want silent , should connect 6V enough, then it will be silent

and the router V1, didnt caught any dust at all even i use it with fan for so long

V2 is not hot = yes correct, but your E372 and ZTE MF680 is actually boiling hot inside ( if u open the modem cover you will feel it, burning hot inside )

flashing openwrt , everyone can do it, dont need to be super PRO, as there is very crystal clear video tutor, just follow only

i am using Cat5 cable 7.5Meter direct from router to my pc, no problem whatsoever still

for fan to generate magnetic field, sorry i dont really agree, as i have TONS of fan , PC have 4 server fan, router + modem have 1 server fans, and my signal is super consistent never an issue with tons of fan tongue.gif

i personally dont mind about serenity at all as long as all my gadget temperature is cool and controlled and happy

well u dont need 2 router, u can use V1 and lan cable to your pc/laptop, install Connectify software and wifi out from your pc/laptop, this way also very stable too

for using it with stock firmware, buying a commercial router is a waste

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 10 2012, 12:23 PM
chuahcs79
post Nov 10 2012, 03:48 PM

6,931 posts

current on 253 IP, but the route is back to KL hmm.gif

speed

chuahcs79
post Nov 10 2012, 07:58 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(psjjl @ Nov 10 2012, 06:20 PM)
with antenna boost

this is his before antenna speed

chuahcs79
post Nov 10 2012, 09:04 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 10 2012, 08:49 PM)
Already sent, still outside on mobile so can't update tracking code sad.gif

Sorry for that
i will do a full review of zte mf680 + panel + ts-9 when it arrive on monday. brows.gif

Added on November 10, 2012, 9:46 pmMaxis is fine tonight though

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 10 2012, 09:46 PM

44 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 >Top

0.0497sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:16 AM