The Official iPhone 5 Discussion Thread v1, 18% Thinner, 20% Lighter, 4" Retina

underGr0und_8
post Sep 18 2012, 10:53 AM

2,236 posts

No solid announcement from APR regarding the sales of iPhone 5 outright. and if they do, their price, are marked up.

Example, iPhone 4S @ 988sgd instead 948sgd
underGr0und_8
post Sep 18 2012, 11:03 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(BrokenOne @ Sep 18 2012, 10:54 AM)
will they be selling in sg outright or only with  contract this friday??
mostly with telcos. Same thing happen to Malaysia where APR are not selling it outright before/same day with Telcos. Telcos always have priority. Correct me if i am wrong.

Added on September 18, 2012, 11:08 am
QUOTE(wozniack @ Sep 18 2012, 10:59 AM)
u guys are pathetic. Malaysia got no LTE network, no telco selling nano SIM unlike in Singapore, and u still want to rush to get it on Sep 21??
U want to enjoy the full specs of iPhone 5, better move house to Singapore lah. Your highly advanced country will get LTE and nano SIM when? hahahaha...
The reason why potential iPhone 5/4S/4 buyer would like to get the phone earliest as they can is because, the value are there throughout the cycle. Apple never adjust the RRP since launch until the next one coming. The price is the same for new unit when you get it on first day, or 6months after launch. Hence getting it earlier make your money well-worth.

So as the 1-1 exchange policy. Which help all the iPhone have their best value until the last day of it waranty period.

This post has been edited by underGr0und_8: Sep 18 2012, 11:08 AM
underGr0und_8
post Sep 19 2012, 09:34 AM

2,236 posts

Transform Your iPhone 4 Into The iPhone 5 With This Magical Sticker
Read more at http://www.cultofmac.com/190809/transform-...mppQAG285uuy.99

good idea

This post has been edited by underGr0und_8: Sep 19 2012, 09:35 AM
underGr0und_8
post Sep 19 2012, 12:23 PM

2,236 posts

Review from CNET

if you need some reviews before getting it

This post has been edited by underGr0und_8: Sep 19 2012, 12:23 PM
underGr0und_8
post Sep 19 2012, 01:55 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Sep 19 2012, 01:53 PM)
so reseller not selling same price as apple online store?huhu
The "reseller" in his post mean people buy and resell, and it is not Epicentre, Nubox, etc

anyway, Epicentre also not selling at RRP, usually they do mark up the price.

you can only get it outright at RRP at Apple Store, which the nearest is at Shanghai/Hong Kong
underGr0und_8
post Sep 19 2012, 02:16 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Sep 19 2012, 02:01 PM)
oh. i thought authorized reseller. any idea how much they mark up?around 100 SGD?

the best right now to buy via apple online store. we need SG credit card or can use MY credit card?
for 4S, epicentre selling 988 instead of 948. Slightly mark up by 40sgd
underGr0und_8
post Sep 19 2012, 02:37 PM

2,236 posts

no worries la sure have alot after market backplate or solution
underGr0und_8
post Sep 19 2012, 03:22 PM

2,236 posts

just have some information from another forum. Nubox will be selling it outright with no mark up. But limited to 1unit/person.
underGr0und_8
post Sep 20 2012, 09:14 PM

2,236 posts

Some who receive the iphone few hours ago manage to activate it by either nanosim from singtel or self-cut microsim.
underGr0und_8
post Sep 20 2012, 10:14 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Sep 20 2012, 09:28 PM)
nop tomolo only can collect from singtel?really can self cut ?
Those in charged by ta-q-bin, some are delivered
underGr0und_8
post Sep 20 2012, 11:05 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 20 2012, 10:29 PM)
really got people received today? I'll be getting mine tomorrow. but dunno wanna sell or keep.
shld sell it. Exporter are taking it at 1160sgd until tmrw 5pm for 16gb. A great 210sgd profit for each unit

*edited* latest is taking in at 1190, 240sgd profit for each smile.gif

This post has been edited by underGr0und_8: Sep 20 2012, 11:08 PM
underGr0und_8
post Sep 21 2012, 02:25 PM

2,236 posts

iFixit already have a iPhone 5 teardown. Their test unit of teardown, a black one, not really scratch proof on the coating surface
underGr0und_8
post Sep 21 2012, 03:27 PM

2,236 posts

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/iphone-c...ks-3904626.html

beware of the scuff marks/scratchs.
underGr0und_8
post Sep 25 2012, 11:52 AM

2,236 posts

http://www.bgr.com/2012/09/24/iphone-5-lig...k-apple-defect/

not sure this has been mentioned before or not

Light leak like iPad
underGr0und_8
post Sep 26 2012, 09:42 AM

2,236 posts

Just got my hands on 4 unit of iPhone 5 yesterday. 2 was sold at the night and 2 of it, i will be using it myself

It is a no way back once you try it biggrin.gif

Will come up with a little review of a heavy user like me laugh.gif

This post has been edited by underGr0und_8: Sep 26 2012, 09:47 AM
underGr0und_8
post Sep 26 2012, 01:06 PM

2,236 posts

sample LTE & 3G Speed different. Same area. LTE can give instant download from cloud-based storage. Tested with skydrive and google drive. Hence if you are running on LTE, you can store large file over the cloud

3G

LTE
underGr0und_8
post Sep 26 2012, 04:02 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 26 2012, 03:51 PM)
You must be joking . Drastically poor I would say
My Maxis on 3g easily 3000 kbps n maximum up to 9000+ kbps. His test only 1k+ on so called LTE is drastically lousy n poor
hi ben, it is kBps not kbps

below is a weak result of kbps, speedtest inside a close room

0.0196sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:20 AM