Nokia Pureview 808 vs N8, Significant Or Small Difference

TSryder_78
post Sep 13 2012, 10:35 AM, updated 12y ago

1,558 posts

For casual snapshots in Auto mode without fiddling with any of the advanced settings ie. taking out the phone from the pocket, switch on the camera function and start snapping pictures, is the Pureview 808 a significant improvement over the N8 in areas of accuracy, detail, colour and low light performance?

In bright sunny conditions, the N8 takes great pictures. Only in low light conditions the N8 fails by producing pictures with grainy quality. In sunny bright conditions, is the difference between the Pureview 808 and N8 big or small? I guess small? In low light conditions, will the difference be significant or at least appreciable?

Would appreciate thoughts from those who own or have compared both. Thanks.

Added on September 13, 2012, 10:45 amContemplating another (outdated) Symbian device due to the much touted 41MP camera on the 808 although the Sony Xperias are tempting.

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Sep 13 2012, 10:45 AM
pikacu
post Sep 27 2012, 01:34 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

In not related to title, i really wish 808 have OIS as in L920 D:
ulwan25
post Sep 28 2012, 06:01 AM

2,054 posts

bro, based on my experience with N8 about 1 year and half is that N8 is very easy to use. You have like what, ISO / EV / WB / Contrast just like that and you are ready to shoot with any angles that you wanted. It will produce one of the most finest quality comparing to any camera phone (except 808) without a problem, inshaAllah! smile.gif

but with 808 PV, it is a bit pain on the ass to snap out pix with it plus the annoying ISO, banding issue that was unfixed until now. with 808 PV, you cannot pull out angle much, it will produce weird kind of picture (due to its 26mm wide angle which I think was too wide, should have stayed with 28mm instead). but if someone was keen with photography, I think they would truly love how 808 PV works with just the correct settings.
pikacu
post Oct 3 2012, 01:34 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ Sep 28 2012, 06:01 AM)
bro, based on my experience with N8 about 1 year and half is that N8 is very easy to use. You have like what, ISO / EV / WB / Contrast just like that and you are ready to shoot with any angles that you wanted. It will produce one of the most finest quality comparing to any camera phone (except 808) without a problem, inshaAllah! smile.gif

but with 808 PV, it is a bit pain on the ass to snap out pix with it plus the annoying ISO, banding issue that was unfixed until now. with 808 PV, you cannot pull out angle much, it will produce weird kind of picture (due to its 26mm wide angle which I think was too wide, should have stayed with 28mm instead). but if someone was keen with photography, I think they would truly love how 808 PV works with just the correct settings.
aka fisheye distortion, no?

if its hardware, not sure if it can be fix sweat.gif
ulwan25
post Oct 5 2012, 04:34 AM

2,054 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 3 2012, 02:34 PM)
aka fisheye distortion, no?

if its hardware, not sure if it can be fix sweat.gif
It is hardware. not that I am against wider angle but at least they could have tweak it to make it a little bit more natural pictures rather than producing a balloon/oval/stretched pictures shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
aspire2oo6
post Oct 6 2012, 09:21 PM

Banned
34,712 posts

i see ppl compare this i laugh hahahahahahahaahhaha.

Cant tell the difference i recommend u get an iphone
little ice
post Oct 6 2012, 10:05 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

yer i can see someone's nose hair... sweat.gif
JJKTP
post Nov 11 2012, 01:41 PM

4,155 posts

This section seems so slow moving. Wonder why because to me 808 is the best cameraphone so far.
ForCe
post Nov 12 2012, 12:09 AM

260 posts

my nokia n8 camera just die...shutter problem..
JJKTP
post Nov 12 2012, 11:36 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(ForCe @ Nov 12 2012, 12:09 AM)
my nokia n8 camera just die...shutter problem..
Was it because of a drop or something?
ForCe
post Nov 12 2012, 11:59 PM

260 posts

not really, i think the problem started half year back, where i need to keep restart the cam or phone to get the camera working..
JJKTP
post Nov 13 2012, 11:36 AM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(ForCe @ Nov 12 2012, 11:59 PM)
not really, i think the problem started half year back, where i need to keep restart the cam or phone to get the camera working..
How old was the phone when the problem 1st arised?
ForCe
post Nov 13 2012, 06:30 PM

260 posts

1 years old
kinabalu
post Nov 16 2012, 12:42 PM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

there are 1001 reason why 808 is better than n8.

dunno why people still cant spot the difference sweat.gif
JJKTP
post Nov 20 2012, 12:10 AM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(ForCe @ Nov 13 2012, 06:30 PM)
1 years old
Too bad it happened just after 1 year.
kinabalu
post Nov 21 2012, 10:30 AM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

N8 was announced on 2010, 808 is on 2012.

More than 1 yrs hehe.
JJKTP
post Nov 21 2012, 08:11 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Nov 21 2012, 10:30 AM)
N8 was announced on 2010, 808 is on 2012.

More than 1 yrs hehe.
We are actually talking about the issues with the phone that happened 1 year after the owner bought it.
kinabalu
post Dec 1 2012, 10:09 AM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Nov 21 2012, 08:11 PM)
We are actually talking about the issues with the phone that happened 1 year after the owner bought it.
haha paiseh... blush.gif
darrennpy
post Dec 8 2012, 01:47 PM

For a person who owned and still owns both the n8 and the 808 pureview, i find the 808 miles above of improvement over the n8.

The interface is easy to use and camera is much more responsive(eg, launching camera app with press of shutter button even at lock screen, having dedicated "green and red" buttons to easily close apps).

As for the picture quality, we don't have to go there lol
aspire2oo6
post Dec 8 2012, 05:08 PM

Banned
34,712 posts

QUOTE(darrennpy @ Dec 8 2012, 01:47 PM)
For a person who owned and still owns both the n8 and the 808 pureview, i find the 808 miles above of improvement over the n8.

The interface is easy to use and camera is much more responsive(eg, launching camera app with press of shutter button even at lock screen, having dedicated "green and red" buttons to easily close apps).

As for the picture quality, we don't have to go there lol
time to try Nokia Lumia 920 it low light this monster blows those two away.

Day time 808 pureview wins

Close up Nokia N8 wins

0.0170sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 05:21 PM