Barbarian Discussion v2, Share your builds, opinions, guides

wlcling
post Dec 22 2012, 09:29 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Dec 22 2012, 09:24 AM)
hello morning sifu.. if i have limited budget like around 20mil, which item should i upgrade? thank you...

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/WVVW-6299/hero/2024866
need more str... ik chests would be good.. also pants can get more str
wlcling
post Dec 24 2012, 10:35 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(morningstar5770 @ Dec 24 2012, 01:15 AM)
i m new to barbarian ==
i m having trouble keeping berserker up the whole map at mp3 ==
anyone free to guide me in game ?

here's my gear
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/Morning...2/hero/22213013
http://d3up.com/b/212370#gear
low mp don't use wotb but rather rely on weapon throw lo....
wlcling
post Dec 24 2012, 12:24 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(tygoh @ Dec 24 2012, 11:46 AM)
My question may be silly to others but need some pro barb to educate. Hope there are kindest replies.

"Difference between main-hand weapon vs off-hand weapon for a WW barb"

1. Higher dps weapon. Which hand.?
2. Higher atk speed weapon. Which hand.?
3. More crit dmg weapon. Which hand.?

I swap both weapons and doesn't notice any changes in overall dps. Why.?

Now curiosity lies on Runlikewind. Is the number of tornadoes generated based on atk speed, and the damage done by tornadoes based on main hand or off hand.?

Thanks!
tornado dmg based on main hand... if not wrong need to get black weapon for full dmg (not holy, poison etc)
tornado dmg speed based on last hand swung attk speed
number of tornadoes based on move speed that's why ww rune must be hurricane.

so usually main hand go for high dps and off hand go for stats like str, loh/ls, crit dmg. of course main hand go for crit dmg and other stats too if budget permitstl...but the base dps here is the priority.

This post has been edited by wlcling: Dec 24 2012, 12:26 PM
wlcling
post Dec 24 2012, 04:38 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Dec 24 2012, 03:51 PM)
Yes, EF (mace) on mainhand will grant 10%CC on weapon master passive, you will surely need this on WWing to keep up the fury generation upon crit on Battle Rage.

Added on December 24, 2012, 3:51 pmNow I wonder use Mace/axe combo faster generate fury or Mighty weapon faster... Any sifu can shed some light?
apart from losing 10% crit..I didn't find using mighty weapon generating fury noticeable on low mp farming.
wlcling
post Dec 24 2012, 04:39 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(cheer83 @ Dec 24 2012, 04:34 PM)
Finally got decent glove today at Keep 2
[attachmentid=3223989]

any barb interested?
can pm me asking price wink.gif
wlcling
post Dec 26 2012, 11:29 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

having a tough time deciding if ik helm or mempo (without crit)

ik helm - got 5cc and 5% melee reduction
mempo - got 9ias and 70+ AR

ik helm gives me +2k dps and 9% melee dmg reduction (part of 3 set ik)

mempo would increase my AR from 500 to 570 without warcry

with either, cc still above 50% and attk speed above 2.

which would you chose for better survivability
wlcling
post Dec 27 2012, 07:51 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Dec 26 2012, 11:43 PM)
Mempo gives you IAS, AR and VIT.

What is your build? If it's HOTA, IAS is good.
What's your current AR and VIT (without the helm)? We need to know if you need more AR and VIT.
QUOTE(cheer83 @ Dec 26 2012, 11:51 PM)
Buy ik helm came with AR >40  , should be affordable  icon_rolleyes.gif
ww for low mp farming
hota on higher mp

currently my ik is a str+vit roll... not sure if can get AR on it? without helm my base AR is about 500.
wlcling
post Dec 27 2012, 01:23 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Dec 27 2012, 01:06 PM)
I think you can go for the IK helm.
500AR should be enough as long as you keep at least 55K HP and overpower/CA (as your skill).
thks I wasn't sure if for better survivavility get the mempo for more AR but lose on the affix melee dmg reduction as I still die on certain elites since sometimes overwhelmed with creeps on hota
wlcling
post Dec 27 2012, 02:57 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(amiranna @ Dec 27 2012, 01:30 PM)
use shield like me and agent47  tongue.gif, its ok to die.. respawn and kill them..  laugh.gif
lol... I can't bear with that huge 20k dps loss... Hehe

QUOTE(Sabenarian @ Dec 27 2012, 02:00 PM)
HoTA require good defensive because u need to stand still during 'HoTA'ing.. the reason im not play HoTA on high MPs.. Btw u use WW/HoTA setup?
how to wwhota? because my skill slots taken up by wotb, battle fury, bash, hota, overload I find there is no space for both sprint and ww.. unless ww without sprint ah?
wlcling
post Dec 27 2012, 06:29 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(MOBAJOBG @ Dec 27 2012, 03:04 PM)
My barb WwHOTA skills for your considerations however such a setup requires high grade gears.

[Edited a few minutes later]
Goto 6 mins and then, watch the WwHOTA build in action after having gathered 5 packs of elites together for the kill in Act 3 mp10 solo key run!

thanks.. I've also tried going full ik for fury regen so that I can remove bash but it doesn't work well...

but curious... why are you spamming - into the fray?
wlcling
post Dec 27 2012, 06:34 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(MOBAJOBG @ Dec 27 2012, 06:30 PM)
Hmm, bad habit I guess.
your barb showing naked profile lol... what's your AR without buffs?
wlcling
post Dec 28 2012, 10:14 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

changed to from ik helm to mempo.. now base AR at 580... would say its much more comfortable now.. but lost some life.. so only 43k life thereabouts.. hope can one day loot ik chest with 250+ vit smile.gif
wlcling
post Dec 31 2012, 04:15 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(Riki1 @ Dec 31 2012, 04:02 PM)
i'm a newbie, i saw a sword in AH, 800+ DPS with IAS + CD 70% to 80% + socketed, 7m buyout, is it worth to buy ?
hmm why so expensive... its ok maybe if got lifesteal or good roll on str..
wlcling
post Jan 2 2013, 01:38 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(morningstar5770 @ Jan 2 2013, 12:54 AM)
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/Morning...2/hero/22213013

if i want to farm mp5, 6, how high total dmg reduction i need?  my current one is at 91.08% according to d3up ...
currently 600 ressit 5k armor 30k health == hp down a bit fast in mp6 ==
more health... and get at least 2 gear with lifesteal. imho..never use bloodthirst... superstition is the way
wlcling
post Jan 4 2013, 04:55 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jan 4 2013, 12:23 PM)
For typical WW build, people use bash.

Are you going to build a barb?

If yes, go hybrid... go hybrid is the best.
I tried pure WW the other day. I was like orang cacat. I couldn't hold my WoTB long when I 1v1 with the yellow boss (after I killed all the blue elites/white mobs).
I tried pure HOTA the other day. I was like old man. Damage reflection hurts.
I tried pure WT the other day. I found I couldn't kill fast enough. And my motion will be halted whenever I surrounded by mobs & the fast moving mobs hit me.

Each build has its pros and cons.
The best is combined them all together.
WW/WT/HOTA build is the best.
So versatile and so much fun to play.
You can spin. You can stun. You can do ranged attack. You can dish out high damage.

The cons of hybrid build is, you need to drop war cry/overpower.
Based on my experience, you can survive perfectly well without war cry/overpower.
So, you need to have adequate HP/AR/Armor/Life regen.

In hybrid build, we drop bash. Don't use bash for fury generation.
Use WT instead as it has much faster generation rate and it can be done in distance (you need a passive skill + some -fury gears to have fast fury generation through WT).
I tries but I just couldn't get my initial fury up for this build.... any specific passive needed?
wlcling
post Jan 5 2013, 10:50 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jan 4 2013, 05:17 PM)
Are you using WT to generate fury?
Passive skill, no escape, is a must.

P/S Make sure you are equipped with WT -fury gears too.
-5 fury is doable. Just a bit slow in fury generation.
-7 fury and above, you get to generate full fury in 2-3 hits.
hmm.. so apart from no escape passive.. which other 2 skills should be maintained? I'm using the two passives which increases cc/cd plus superstition...hard to think which to swap.
wlcling
post Jan 5 2013, 02:07 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

I find superstition very useful for defense and also attk.. for example if standing on molten etc.. it gives fury regen which enables me to HOTA almost non stop
wlcling
post Jan 5 2013, 10:46 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ Jan 5 2013, 07:14 PM)
gimme suggestion on weapon cos need change the EF

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/duabiji...85/hero/4131569
butchers sickle... although the stats or dps may not be that high for the price but it has lifesteal and chance to hook... the hook stuns bosses and elites for whichever skill you use so that's really nice to have. and I think It will be good for pvp. my 2 cents
wlcling
post Jan 6 2013, 10:51 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(alphaz @ Jan 6 2013, 07:40 PM)
is this hammer worth it for 15m?

nope.. seems overpriced... try get a weapon with faster attk speed.. at least above 1.30
wlcling
post Jan 8 2013, 08:55 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(manzelina @ Jan 8 2013, 12:53 PM)
finally, after 6 times crafting HF ring..i get this roll. Not so good. but ok la.. can use for playing..
fuuu. ... wish I can craft that.. almost perfect what I need

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:30 PM