4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)

momijigari
post Oct 3 2012, 10:32 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Oct 3 2012, 10:28 AM)
Hi guys, that $500 not included parking, ERP and petrol. All these 3 company do provide another $240 which claim by receipt. I do calculate the VEP and that is why I still not yet accept the offer.

This company will apply my S-Pass than once it approve then I will nego the offer again.

May I know do I need to pass any ERP from causeway to Ubi View area if I driving? I will drive along BKE then PIE where uncle google show me.

Why are you negotiating only after your work pass has approved??

I was doing sales and the company provided car(petrol, parking and ERP all claimable) to drive to customers' place. Of course I was too chicken to drive, so I took taxi instead. These are expenses incurred for WORK, why do you have to pay for it?

momijigari
post Oct 3 2012, 11:05 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Oct 3 2012, 10:53 AM)
I am negotiate which the company but the HR said ever both partise agree the offer but S-Pass not approve also no point (this are the meaning what they said) but they know I not accept the current offer and they insist want to apply the S-Pass for me so I feel once the pass approve, I still can negotiate on the benefit and salary ( this is what I feel) as I still not yet sign the offer letter yet.

Bro, may I know what is your benefit your company provided if you drive your own car? I can compare and talk with the company. Thanks
I am no bro.
I'd put it to the HR, even if S-PASS is approved, both parties do not agree with the offer tabled still result in "NO POINT".

The people in my previous company driving their own cars get allowance, petrol, ERP and parking to be paid by company separately. I don't know why you want to compare with people driving their own cars in Singapore.
1. They live here.
2. They need the car to fetch their family around (mostly got children one)

momijigari
post Oct 3 2012, 11:49 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Oct 3 2012, 11:13 AM)
Thanks, I also check and I might need to go through 2 ro 3 ERP where above mention area ERP cost was $3.50 and $2. This 2 area only collect ERP during morning? How about after office hours? Thanks

Added on October 3, 2012, 11:16 am
Sorry sis, doh.gif  what I feel the company still insist want to apply my pass mean they might adjust my offer once the pass is approve that is why now I try to collect advise from all the good bro and sis advise and compare.

I just want to compare did my company provede me good allowance or not.... brows.gif
I am afraid the company(HR) still insist on applying your pass has nothing to do with their willingness to counter a better offer.
HR is not the one who determines your salary. And there's really no point in comparing the allowance given to my ex-superiors as they probably earn much more.

Usually the company will provide car lah!
momijigari
post Oct 3 2012, 03:17 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Oct 3 2012, 02:43 PM)
Are you sure HR not the one who determine the employee salary?

Why I said I might still can negotiate the salary as when I ask about employer CPF converted to cash and they said this can be work out brows.gif  brows.gif ......Another is the manager prefer me to stay in Singapore and I told him is not cheap to stay and he said company might can subsidise some thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif .....That what I feel I still got chance to nego.

Hope it really can be work out
Since when HR is the one who determines one's salary? Maybe I live in a cave.
So, the manager prefers you to stay in Singapore, does this solve your car issue?

momijigari
post Oct 3 2012, 03:46 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Oct 3 2012, 03:31 PM)
Sure not HR determine salary? B'cos all the time they are the one talk salary with the employee......

Nope, b'cos I driving Malaysia registered car where max my car can stay in Singapore was 16hr/day......So I unable to stay in Singapore with my car with me. Cant afford to purchase SIngapore registered car
If you're not tired by asking the same question because I am tired of answering the same question. I could be wrong because not once in my life that HR person decided my salary(of course, exclude those who reported to HR).

You're very hopeful and I wonder how much adjustment they are willing to make.

momijigari
post Oct 10 2012, 05:33 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(andydavids @ Oct 10 2012, 05:16 PM)
Yeah, I did found jobsdb and jobstreet are quite helpful..
but besides this, are there any other sources to it?

Saturdays Straits Times.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Anyway working in a Hospital?
momijigari
post Oct 12 2012, 10:33 AM

189 posts

Athrun300,

Will your company withheld your last salary for tax purposes?
momijigari
post Nov 7 2012, 12:14 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Nov 7 2012, 10:45 AM)
I'm waiting for 1 1/2hours at Acumed for medical check up.. Forgot to shave my balls.. Damn...
If it's a requirement they probably have ways to wax it there for you biggrin.gif
momijigari
post Nov 15 2012, 10:29 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Nov 15 2012, 09:44 AM)
Sure, anyone one can live a luxurious life by leaching their parents, you don’t have to grow up to be an independent man and you actually don’t need to work so that you have more time to play, eat, sleep!

Then make sure you get the major share of the will so that you can continue to live a luxurious life from parent's money for years to come. What a good life.

Starting pay is not the end, it is just the begining. One can build their career faster in SG with all else being equal.  S$500 annual increment vs RM$500 increment, 4 months bonus in SGD vs RM? Those short sighted people seriously need to reconsider.
How many rich parents are there?
The culture is much more different here compared to the West. Parents will not say a word (at least mine) even if i am jobless, penniless and staying idle at home. They pay for all the bills, buy me my 3 meals and snacks. And my parents are not even rich to begin with. But anyone who is shameless and not feel shy about leeching off parents can continue to do so. They will not say a word. The clock is ticking and imagine when the time is up.

I am not career minded but I can attest that in certain fields you get promotion with increment relatively easy; of course you must be dedicated, hardworking and responsible lah. I am saying not only white collars get to climb the ladder here.

Everyone knows the formula of how much in order to sustain their lifestyle
income vs expenses

momijigari
post Nov 18 2012, 01:27 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 18 2012, 01:13 PM)
wow. hard to find single Malaysian wanna rent a master bedroom. $900  rclxub.gif  exclude utilities . but Bkt Batok is a nice place, lots of food
When you are eating the same food for days continuously it will still end up tasteless. But 900 is abit steep.
momijigari
post Nov 22 2012, 08:14 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(evilnickwong @ Nov 21 2012, 10:35 PM)
Are you suggesting using remittance services? I didn't particularly like those since the exchange rate is lower than the physical money changer.
Actually the reason I change in KL is because it's easier (physically) to manage and bring back 5-10 pieces of $1000 notes rather than a huge bundle of RM50 or RM100. Remittance, as mentioned above, the rates aren't great no?
FYI, the remittance rate (via raffles money changer) is higher than the exchange rate.
The only downside is that you need to pay the S$10 for processing/admin charge.
Save you lots of trouble and do not have to worry getting robbed midway.

momijigari
post Nov 28 2012, 09:12 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Dendroid_King @ Nov 28 2012, 08:49 AM)
Actually it's not really good if I tell u what my company is.

But I can tell you it's a construction company. It's a small local chinaman company. If I were to let u know, my company will die even faster.

So is it familiar to u? Haha......
Construction companies might face alot of cash flow problem because of those progressive claims by sub-cons.

I think your working hours is LONG but many people have worked/are working longer hours. There's no point telling on your employer now afterall you've agreed on the working hours before.

Look elsewhere lah if not happy. Try to leave things amicably if possible biggrin.gif
momijigari
post Nov 28 2012, 09:54 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Dendroid_King @ Nov 28 2012, 09:38 AM)
If it is just the sub con, it would be alright.

I have workers starving becoz nvr pay wages overdue for 2 months. And rental of the land for their operation. The thing about construction company is once you don't have the funds to complete the Project on time, the revenue would not come in and will be delayed. Anyway they are not making money also.

Now my boss is ignoring me whenever I request for any payment. He is hiding in overseas and it's hard to contact him. I feel abandoned. But partly is my fault. Becoz I told him how much debts we have and it is impossible to sustain the company.

Anyway you guys are right. The company is dying a slow death. And I have to get a new job.

The bad thing is I have only work there for a few months. So my resume would be very bad. Sigh. The interviewers might not believe me. I guess this is what happens when u sign the contract out of job desperation.
What are you going to say to the potential employers if you were called up for interviews? And why do you think they might not believe you?

I think you need to be focus now and stop being negative. Resign if you wish and then send out your resume for job applications. The more bickering the more miserable your life would become.

There's no point frowning on your past decisions; ie accepting a job out of desperation. This is a life lesson.

momijigari
post Nov 28 2012, 11:17 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Nov 28 2012, 11:09 AM)
Work for big 4 in KL 2 yrs already 5k mang.why join small sg construction firm? The accounts are messy somemore.
Boss, me reckons everyone has their own reasons to work wherever they want.

Afterall, this is "Working n Singapore" not "Why Working in Singapore" thread.
momijigari
post Dec 4 2012, 08:25 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Dec 3 2012, 11:49 PM)
I think i did not say clearly yet
I wanted to apply for sg poly march next year
However now im already in sg using travel pass, still looking for job.

But i only able to work til march 2013 which isess than 183 days, mean will kena tax right ?

But i stop working is bcz i wanna start studying at sg poly(as student pass cannot work), so will i kena tax also ?

Added on December 3, 2012, 11:52 pm
Not really understand the statement

Yes i wi be stay over 183 days +++ since im going to study in sg poly, however i am only able to workess than 183 day during the time when i hold a work permit.

Does it mean i wont kena 15% tax ?
Chances of you getting tax is high, when you leave your job you/your HR will need to seek tax clearance.
That means the HR will inform the MOM/taxation office your last day of service and they would instruct the HR to withold your last salary for tax clearance.

If you work more than 183 days but earn less than S$20K, you do not need to pay tax. - this does not apply to you.

Everything goes by the book; imagine every tom, d*** and harry giving excuses to IRAS to get tax exempted shakehead.gif

momijigari
post Dec 11 2012, 02:07 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 11 2012, 01:02 PM)
but that's not a cap on how many days you could MC, it's just a agreement/contract on what's your pay when you on MC.

Added on December 11, 2012, 1:03 pm

but there's no cap on MC, just that you do not receive any pay for prolong MCs
capped at 14 days a year, these are entitlement, paid leave. on the 15th days - it's considered as UNPAID LEAVE and not unpaid medical leave.

but then again who would retain a service of someone who takes full 14 days of medical leave a year?

momijigari
post Dec 14 2012, 11:25 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(shinnyx @ Dec 14 2012, 10:52 AM)
Hi guys, if I want to make calls back to Msia, what's the best choice? Skype credit or typical mobile line?

And btw, have anyone been issued a WP/SP/EP with only one year validity? What's probably the reason?
Your passport expiry date?
momijigari
post Dec 18 2012, 11:51 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Dec 18 2012, 11:38 AM)
I've turned 30 this year already....still in SG for now....
You're only 30 sweat.gif
Anyway, have you got any plan after 31/12/12?
momijigari
post Dec 19 2012, 08:30 AM

189 posts

Agent fee was steep, I heard it was S$8K. And not refundable.
Seen some bogus agents as my housemate was working for one, got mistresses, spent like a boss and yet cheating days in days out.

Ironically, most of the time, they were/are cheated by their own countrymen.

momijigari
post Dec 26 2012, 11:11 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Dec 26 2012, 10:55 AM)
Malaysia dun allow dual citizenship.
Same goes Singapore doesn't recognize dual citizenship.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0608sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:15 AM