Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)
athrun300
Oct 15 2012, 04:16 PM

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Oct 15 2012, 02:48 PM) (got rejected because I'm unable to provide my degree cert because fresh graduate).Why unable to provide degree cert? just graduate and waiting for convocation? just provide all semester transcript and completion of study letter is not enough? for my case, i am able to get ep with just 7 semester transcript.
athrun300
Nov 4 2012, 11:33 AM

Hi, anyone know about interview for engineer post in SP PowerGrid Ltd? How many interview and question etc. Any info will be helpful. Thanks
athrun300
Nov 5 2012, 09:32 AM

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Nov 5 2012, 09:27 AM) So fast get another job offer? nice...  just an interview only. To get the offer itself is another.
athrun300
Dec 19 2012, 03:23 PM

QUOTE(stevenlee1989 @ Dec 19 2012, 02:42 PM) Hi, I'm looking for a position in Singapore, would you mind recommend some? I hereby attached my CV for your kind perusal. The job position i mention earlier already been filled. Refer to first page for how to look for a job in Singapore. Polish your resume and keep sending them. Job portal such as Jobstreet/Jobcentral/Jobsdb really help. Anyway, you should really remove your resume from such a public forum.
athrun300
Dec 21 2012, 10:07 AM

Hi, currently i have been offered Engineer position in a LCD Manufacturer as well as another position as Electrical Engineer in an oil refinery. Both are in Singapore. However, what's holding me back is that the Electrical Engineer position is contract and renewable every year. I would like to know how's the prospect of both industry in sg. Thanks
athrun300
Dec 21 2012, 12:12 PM

QUOTE(Calcool77 @ Dec 21 2012, 10:10 AM) In my opinion, I will definately opt for oil refinery as singapore provide one of the best refinery facilities and services in SEA region so this industry won't downturn atleast anytime soon. While for LED manufacturer, no doubt lighting industry is getting more momentum and demand but still it is within electronics industry and for any expert here will know Singapore hardly can afford any low skill manufacturer to sustain or survive due to expensive cost and high levy. Unless the lighting company you are joining is doing for some niche market. Just my opinion by the way in term of prospect and for your reference only.  I see. Actually i myself also more inclined to oil refinery position as it's oil and gas industry. And some would say semicon is a sunset industry in Sg. Btw it's LCD manufacturer and i thinks it's quite a niche market in Sg.
athrun300
Jan 3 2013, 04:02 PM

QUOTE(Soralicious @ Jan 3 2013, 12:39 PM) engineering. shipyard. btw interview is more behavioural question oriented or academic or 50-50? Keppel or Jurong ?
athrun300
Jan 11 2013, 10:18 PM

QUOTE(pennyBBT @ Jan 11 2013, 09:51 PM) I graduated in May 2012.. just started looking for a job in December... due to some family issues... I got a call from a recruitment firm before, asking whether I was interested in Shell, the position is Electrical Project Engineer and I will need to work in Pulau Bukom... and they would send my resume to Shell.. but after two weeks, they emailed me saying Shell just hired a fresh graduate and they want someone experienced to fill this position...  I think that fresh graduate is me
athrun300
Jan 12 2013, 02:12 PM

QUOTE(pennyBBT @ Jan 12 2013, 11:14 AM) Congratz! What position did you get? Electrical Project Engineer. Pay is not that great but i have choose to reject another offer with better pay over this. Crossing my finger that i did not make the wrong choice
athrun300
Jan 13 2013, 11:17 PM

QUOTE(pennyBBT @ Jan 13 2013, 09:10 PM) May I know what is the other position that you have rejected? Looking for jobs in sg is soooooo hard..................... Manufacturing Engineer from a fab in Tampiness. It's a permanent post. Securing a job in Sg is actually not that hard. All you need is a polished resume plus some hard work sending them  The rest depends on your interview skills. Don't give up and keep trying. This post has been edited by athrun300: Jan 13 2013, 11:17 PM
athrun300
Jan 17 2013, 12:53 PM

I have been trying to find single room (not utility room) at Telok Blangah area and all of them priced around $550-600. Btw: just want to ask you guys if it is feasible to cycle to work if the distance is only 2km+ ? How long the journey will take?
athrun300
Jan 17 2013, 02:16 PM

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jan 17 2013, 02:01 PM) Cycle? 2km++ i think very fast can reach la, within 10 mins. because 2km++ is walkable distance, so wont take so much time la. Actually the distance is 1.5km+ only according to Mr Google  . The best part of cycling is no need to wait for bus/mrt.
athrun300
Jan 26 2013, 10:37 AM

Just a dilemma. I have just done my Ep but have yet to collect the card. Then another potential employer has called me for an interview. It's a company that will offer me far better remuration as this is a permanent post (vendor) vs contract position (client) for oil and gas industry. I am wondering if I should go attend the interview. Hope all sifu can give me some advice. Thanks.
athrun300
Jan 26 2013, 11:25 AM

Yes. I want it. No doubt about that. Both of the company is in SG. I just concern of the implication to my profile.
This post has been edited by athrun300: Jan 26 2013, 11:27 AM
athrun300
Jan 30 2013, 06:07 PM

Hi, i attended an interview with a company specializing in power product this morning and i have just got verbal confirmation from HR that they want me. The problem is that the early salary package they have given is slightly lower than what i anticipated. I know the salary scale inside the company as 1 of my friend just join them with higher salary package although we have similar qualification and experience. There is a next interview to finalize on the salary package with HR. Please advise on how i can bargain with them. Taiko please don't bash me.
athrun300
Feb 5 2013, 06:10 PM

Raining non stop...
athrun300
Feb 8 2013, 12:23 PM

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Feb 8 2013, 10:52 AM) For those travelling through causeway and 2nd link: Live car traffic image but only show the beginning and end of checkpoint. http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem.../woodlands.htmlFatt Choi ah!!!  Thanks for the update
athrun300
Feb 17 2013, 01:35 PM

QUOTE(WallChecker @ Feb 17 2013, 02:53 AM) Hi All, Jus wondering is anyone here familiar/heard of Straits Construction Singapore Pte Ltd? Wanted to know about the company working life such as environment, cultures, politics, etc. Been looking into Banking/Financial industry in SG but still yet to see any good offer. Thanks. *Edit* Btw, since not I am not familiar with SG market, how much is average salary for people with 2 years working experience? (I know I dont have much experience, just want to understand the market). Have a chance to join them last time.  What is your position?
athrun300
Feb 17 2013, 06:19 PM

QUOTE(nicknick @ Feb 17 2013, 05:46 PM) Hi guys, Just gotten my offer letter from one of the Big 4 prior to CNY break. Was just wondering normally how long would it take for epass application to be approved from date of submission? It's CNY. Should take more than 1 week.