126 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)

lolipoppers
post Jan 30 2013, 07:44 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 30 2013, 02:01 AM)
As a fresh grad, maybe not. As a degree holder with FIVE years experience like yourself, you should be looking at way higher than 3k which is like ... fresh grad pay hmm.gif
Half the taikors posting here like seantang, mackiddo, keelim, mercury are elites earning 15-25k+++ monthly. Don't assume that Malaysians are universally low paid in SG because of your ONE friend. Although I understand how you feel cos I am low paid bank clerk as well.
QUOTE(T3N5AI @ Jan 30 2013, 01:54 PM)
Wah. U ppl really taiko standard. I dun think these ppl are actually from the engineering sector though. Probably finance or oil and gas.
my best guess would be those top bankers with a top foreign bank. That kind of pay is no easy feat. Heard there is a top banker here in this thread itself. StandChart ?

This post has been edited by lolipoppers: Jan 30 2013, 07:44 PM
newaisa
post Jan 30 2013, 09:36 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 30 2013, 02:01 AM)
Yes and no, I suppose. The company applies for a specific type of pass (WP, SPass, EP). In the application, the company can opt to tell MOM to "grant the lower pass if higher pass unsuccessful." Example the company could try to apply EP for employee, MOM might say eh EP cannot but I give SPass lah. But the company needs to initiate in the first place.
As a fresh grad, maybe not. As a degree holder with FIVE years experience like yourself, you should be looking at way higher than 3k which is like ... fresh grad pay hmm.gif
Half the taikors posting here like seantang, mackiddo, keelim, mercury are elites earning 15-25k+++ monthly. Don't assume that Malaysians are universally low paid in SG because of your ONE friend. Although I understand how you feel cos I am low paid bank clerk as well.
NOW you really got me curious? 15-25k SGD??? my eyes almost POP OUT shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
pltan
post Jan 30 2013, 09:59 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(lolipoppers @ Jan 30 2013, 07:44 PM)
my best guess would be those top bankers with a top foreign bank. That kind of pay is no easy feat. Heard there is a top banker here in this thread itself. StandChart ?
Depends what kind of banking you go into, but investment banking generally pays very well. Fresh grads in a bulge bracket firm were getting 55K US$ base , 25K bonus back in 2000., not hard to find out the range for first year analysts today.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 30 2013, 10:50 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(T3N5AI @ Jan 30 2013, 01:54 PM)
Wah. U ppl really taiko standard. I dun think these ppl are actually from the engineering sector though. Probably finance or oil and gas.
u got both sectors right... and u miss our aviation too... 15k/month, work 6 days a month.. drives 5 series sweat.gif

QUOTE(lolipoppers @ Jan 30 2013, 07:44 PM)
not 'a' top banker... but a 'couple' of top banker... as in they are a couple... as in attached

QUOTE(newaisa @ Jan 30 2013, 09:36 PM)
NOW you really got me curious? 15-25k SGD??? my eyes almost POP OUT shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
we got a lot of elites here... 1 just collect royalty and dota every night, 1 just sell petrol, 1 count $$$ and with wife bake cookies, one buy big bangalow 2 cars and 12 months bonus, 1 brewer and bbq food, IT expert 8k fresh grad, pilot... a lot of amazing people if u get to know them... now all around 10-25k/month... known as the 8 pillars of msian hardwork

of course there're some failed ones like me... sweat.gif kuli...

singapore is a place of opportunities... if you work hard you can join the elites.... or not, u will end up like me... work for sakai sushi
mercury8400
post Jan 30 2013, 11:00 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 30 2013, 11:18 AM)
To be honest, sometimes... they need a smack in the face.

They want fewer foreigners working there, but they don't want to do the work themselves.

They want employers to hire more Singaporeans by offering higher pay, but don't want to pay more for goods and services.

They say foreign talent are taking away their high paying PMET jobs, but they don't want to realise that if these foreigner weren't here, neither will the jobs. It is not Singaporeans who are drawing those companies to base the high level jobs in Singapore, but it is Singapore itself... its laws, its policies and its foreigner friendly environment. You don't see MNCs clamouring to set up their HQs in Malaysia or Indonesia.

They want development, prosperity and higher standard of living. But they don't see a problem if senior citizens > working adults by 20xx.

They want more benefits to get married, buy HDB and have kids. But they don't see a problem when there are fewer working adults to pay tax or the fact that they are chasing away their singles with their discriminatory policies, and it's these folks who by default pay much more tax per head than non-singles.
Don't they sound like the malays in malaysia to you?
They want malays to dominate the economy but they don't want to work hard for it.
They complain the malaysian chinese are racist in employment opportunities but they don't realise they lack even basic communication skills.
They want more money but they don't want to work for it.
They want others to talk in languages they can understand but they don't want to learn another language.
Basically they just want to sit down, do nothing and wait for the money, lots of money to drop from the sky.
When they don't get it, they blame the gov who is currently bending backwards to their every whim and fancy

samual8833
post Jan 31 2013, 01:08 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 30 2013, 12:06 AM)
Actually... I think it is as well. I don't think any MNC is hiring freshies for less than 3K these days. My company is paying fresh execs 4K this year. But then in Singapore,.. you don't get an exec's salary just because you have a degree. You have to actually have an exec role as well. For instance, my secretary has a degree in business from NTU but she is not paid an exec's salary.

QUOTE(samual8833)
My friend who is working as IT engineer/ Programming. She hold 1st class honours bachelor degree from M'sia private Uni (Vr famous with IT course) her salary is below 3K!
M'sia private uni... Aha! Therein lies the issue.

QUOTE(samual8833)
With her qualification can enter Microsoft Company and not SME. But, SG companies are very straight in selecting candidates!
As above. There's an abundance of stronger candidates in SG that Microsoft can attract.
What company u work with? My experience fit to my role. What a wasted? Degree in Business work as secretary? Usually, secretary and HR fields kwons as low paid compared to others jobs. That's truth... She is very smart girl only manage to get a low paid for her job in sg!...
samual8833
post Jan 31 2013, 01:43 AM

98 posts

[/quote]

I hope I can get!... But, that's not under my control... As u said, the 3k and above salary requested by freshgraduated should be those graduands from Singapore University. Others countries degrees seems like low paid.. I've 2 case to share with you.
1. My friend hold Master of Engineering and Bachelor Degree of Engineering from UK! He got 2 years plus experiences in engineering field at KL. He got an offer as engineer from MNC in SG!... His salary is below 3K SGD with EP!... He feels happy with the offered coz the engineering job that he worked in KL is much more low piad in MYR compared to his current job in SG!... He is working in SG 2year alerady!...
2. Another friend hold bachelor degree from public university M'sia with 10 years experiences at KL (5 years relevant experiences to the job she applied and another 5 years from others industries)! She only got below 2K SGD job offered in SG!... She rejected the offer and continue to work in KL!...

Is that all the Oils and Gas jobs in SG is very high pay, high bonuses and good remunerations packages?
Oh... I worked in Banking before!... I dislike the job!... I found out General banking experiences is only applicable to jump within the same banking line! Because banking skills really cannot apply to others jobs! Unless, yours from investment banking/ forex/ financial consultant/ banking sales jobs! That's why I jump out from banking and do not want to apply banking job anymore!...
momijigari
post Jan 31 2013, 07:54 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 30 2013, 11:00 PM)
Don't they sound like the malays in malaysia to you?
They want malays to dominate the economy but they don't want to work hard for it.
They complain the malaysian chinese are racist in employment opportunities but they don't realise they lack even basic communication skills.
They want more money but they don't want to work for it.
They want others to talk in languages they can understand but they don't want to learn another language.
Basically they just want to sit down, do nothing and wait for the money, lots of money to drop from the sky.
When they don't get it, they blame the gov who is currently bending backwards to their every whim and fancy
Everywhere is the same.
Therein lies the problem when the sense of entitlement is off the charts. Everyone is looking for the best bargain. They want the best quality with a little to pay. When they didn't get what they want, it's just convenient to point finger.

I am also sick of SPRs saying if the population were to increase to the projected figure, they might have to take the train like in India (sardine in a can). Sharing crowded facilities with other races (yes specified race & nationality).. shakehead.gif
toughnut
post Jan 31 2013, 09:08 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 30 2013, 10:50 PM)
u got both sectors right... and u miss our aviation too... 15k/month, work 6 days a month.. drives 5 series  sweat.gif
not 'a' top banker... but a 'couple' of top banker... as in they are a couple... as in attached
we got a lot of elites here... 1 just collect royalty and dota every night, 1 just sell petrol, 1 count $$$ and with wife bake cookies, one buy big bangalow 2 cars and 12 months bonus, 1 brewer and bbq food, IT expert 8k fresh grad, pilot... a lot of amazing people if u get to know them... now all around 10-25k/month... known as the 8 pillars of msian hardwork

of course there're some failed ones like me...  sweat.gif  kuli...

singapore is a place of opportunities... if you work hard you can join the elites.... or not, u will end up like me... work for sakai sushi
how many of those actually really earn that >10k? (like 120k+ per annum sweat.gif )

i only can hit that if i go fishing at sea

boss, which sakae sushi branch belongs to you?

This post has been edited by toughnut: Jan 31 2013, 09:11 AM
crazy25kid
post Jan 31 2013, 10:01 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ Jan 31 2013, 01:43 AM)
I hope I can get!... But, that's not under my control... As u said, the 3k and above salary requested by freshgraduated should be those graduands from Singapore University. Others countries degrees seems like low paid.. I've 2 case to share with you.
1. My friend hold Master of Engineering and Bachelor Degree of Engineering from UK! He got 2 years plus experiences in engineering field at KL. He got an offer as engineer from MNC in SG!... His salary is below 3K SGD with EP!... He feels happy with the offered coz the engineering job that he worked in KL is much more low piad in MYR compared to his current job in SG!... He is working in SG 2year alerady!...
2. Another friend hold bachelor degree from public university M'sia with 10 years experiences at KL (5 years relevant experiences to the job she applied and another 5 years from others industries)! She only got below 2K SGD job offered in SG!...  She rejected the offer and continue to work in KL!...

Is that all the Oils and Gas jobs in SG is very high pay, high bonuses and good remunerations packages?
Oh... I worked in Banking before!... I dislike the job!... I found out General banking experiences is only applicable to jump within the same banking line! Because banking skills really cannot apply to others jobs! Unless, yours from investment banking/ forex/ financial consultant/ banking sales jobs! That's why I jump out from banking and do not want to apply banking job anymore!...
if ur frens wanna shortchange themselves, it is up to them.
master with 2 years exp, below 3k....degree with 10 years exp albeit 5 years relevant with a less than 2k job....this is what we call market spoiler.
u are killing your own market.
how the hell do you justify 10 years...heck, lets say 5 years exp with less than 2k salary
even if a starting pay of 1.6k (for fresh grad) and 100 bux increment for 5 years...one would have exceeded 2k and heck, that can already be considered a worst case scenario.
i am sorry to say this, but your fren(s) is/are dumb and do not how to value themselves or they are not very good frens who are lying to you.
TSdeodorant
post Jan 31 2013, 10:05 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

1. My friend hold Master of Engineering and Bachelor Degree of Engineering from UK! He got 2 years plus experiences in engineering field at KL. He got an offer as engineer from MNC in SG!... His salary is below 3K SGD with EP!

2. Another friend hold bachelor degree from public university M'sia with 10 years experiences at KL (5 years relevant experiences to the job she applied and another 5 years from others industries)! She only got below 2K SGD job offered in SG!... 

What's happening here is that you've somehow only been meeting the bottom feeders (of receiving SG job offers) and assuming everyone else is also getting that same low pay. Go check out some salary surveys to get a better idea of what Singapore salaries should be like.

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jan 31 2013, 09:08 AM)
how many of those actually really earn that >10k?  (like 120k+ per annum sweat.gif )

seantang has a secretary. anyone high rank enough to have a secretary would be earning big bucks.
keelim is in IB, and they get paid craploads of cash.
mackiddo is senior guy in O&G.

So yes, I'm sure they all earn at least 10k per month icon_idea.gif
abgkik
post Jan 31 2013, 10:44 AM

2,142 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Jan 30 2013, 09:36 PM)
NOW you really got me curious? 15-25k SGD??? my eyes almost POP OUT shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
no need to pop out la.. you think Malaysian cannot be expat mehh??

This post has been edited by abgkik: Jan 31 2013, 10:45 AM
LiangZhuge
post Jan 31 2013, 10:47 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 30 2013, 10:50 PM)
u got both sectors right... and u miss our aviation too... 15k/month, work 6 days a month.. drives 5 series  sweat.gif

of course there're some failed ones like me...  sweat.gif  kuli...

Sakai Suhsi get 3k for dish washer right ? tongue.gif hehehe
r1v3r
post Jan 31 2013, 11:10 AM

1,305 posts

other than suryer from private company, take a look at the followingGov Data.

ivanswk
post Jan 31 2013, 11:41 AM

+J
2,110 posts

Went to TT some sgd back home, rate is good 2.49
But heard shortage of ringgit.
Change early bro.
janice17
post Jan 31 2013, 11:44 AM

147 posts

Then what field are u in right now?

I just finished degree in accounting and finance, thinking to apply jobs in sg but not sure what kind of jobs yet.. some seniors told me that if i got a job which is too specialized in banking line, it would be very hard to apply for some other jobs in the future, like what u said in your post.

aih, i need some advice please.
yhoong12
post Jan 31 2013, 02:04 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jan 31 2013, 11:41 AM)
Went to TT some sgd back home, rate is good 2.49
But heard shortage of ringgit.
Change early bro.
2.49? where? drool.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 31 2013, 02:07 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jan 31 2013, 02:04 PM)
2.49? where? drool.gif
ok wrong calculation is 2.47 sweat.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 31 2013, 02:18 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(janice17 @ Jan 31 2013, 11:44 AM)
Then what field are u in right now?

I just finished degree in accounting and finance, thinking to apply jobs in sg but not sure what kind of jobs yet.. some seniors told me that if i got a job which is too specialized in banking line, it would be very hard to apply for some other jobs in the future, like what u said in your post.

aih, i need some advice please.
guess your snr not doing very well sweat.gif
yhoong12
post Jan 31 2013, 02:24 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jan 31 2013, 02:07 PM)
ok wrong calculation is 2.47  sweat.gif
Oo..2.47 also not bad, but i heard that CNY is coming, so the rate is dropping, is that true? and where is the location you get 2.47? notworthy.gif

126 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:31 PM