Yeah, I think this is why an argument broke out between the store assistant and that supposingly S-Pass holder because there's no mention in T&C.
Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)
Sep 26 2012, 03:37 PM
189 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Yeah, I think this is why an argument broke out between the store assistant and that supposingly S-Pass holder because there's no mention in T&C. |
Sep 27 2012, 01:48 AM
96 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Got a job offer (F&B) from Singapore 5* hotel, but the salary very low, only 1500SGD...
Is it possible to survive wt 1500SGD (exclude rentals, meals and transport).. of course, i wish to save some money too! >.< |
Sep 27 2012, 03:12 AM
5,859 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: KL in JB/SG : |
QUOTE(mou yok @ Sep 27 2012, 01:48 AM) Got a job offer (F&B) from Singapore 5* hotel, but the salary very low, only 1500SGD... after excluded rentals, meals & transports, what else is there that you need to pay? Entertainment ? The way I see it, you can even survive with $500 Is it possible to survive wt 1500SGD (exclude rentals, meals and transport).. of course, i wish to save some money too! >.< |
Sep 27 2012, 08:10 AM
6,624 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: singapore & ipoh |
Sep 27 2012, 09:41 AM
846 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(mou yok @ Sep 27 2012, 01:48 AM) Got a job offer (F&B) from Singapore 5* hotel, but the salary very low, only 1500SGD... Exlude those expenses that take out the most part of your salary? basically you can save all.Is it possible to survive wt 1500SGD (exclude rentals, meals and transport).. of course, i wish to save some money too! >.< |
Sep 27 2012, 10:32 AM
4,349 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Johor Bahru, Malaysia |
Sep 27 2012, 11:21 AM
517 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(mou yok @ Sep 27 2012, 01:48 AM) Got a job offer (F&B) from Singapore 5* hotel, but the salary very low, only 1500SGD... Hey bro what position you got?Captain?? I'm also in the Hotel line here and my salary is low too. Means the hotel give you place to stay also? Is it a nice place they gave you or izzit 1 room few people living in?Is it possible to survive wt 1500SGD (exclude rentals, meals and transport).. of course, i wish to save some money too! >.< |
Sep 27 2012, 02:54 PM
378 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(mou yok @ Sep 27 2012, 01:48 AM) Got a job offer (F&B) from Singapore 5* hotel, but the salary very low, only 1500SGD... my pay here is sgd 1200 per month still ok Is it possible to survive wt 1500SGD (exclude rentals, meals and transport).. of course, i wish to save some money too! >.< rent = 450 phone bill + transport = 70 makan = 280 saving= 400 urs i think more than enough lo |
Sep 27 2012, 03:41 PM
4,414 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Sep 24 2012, 09:38 AM) 20 only? you gotta be joking. please try harder. gambateh !! I wonder on average, how many job applications do you guys send before you get a confirmation on your application?Added on September 24, 2012, 9:39 am According to the thread is 6 October.i think you need to check the thread as they got mention need to buy ticket together or what, i not sure I usually dont go through jobstreet or monster. I have a relative who used to work for worldwideworker.com who helped me in the processing of my application but now that the company has be acquired by rigzone, the opportunities for employment has expanded since rigzone is a fairly popular site. I noticed that its way easier to get a job if you have some "contacts" within a company or specific industry who can vouch for you or recommend you. That was how i got my previous 2 jobs. The last job i had hardly required me to have a lengthy interview with the recruitment officer since i knew both her as well as my future superior who was the one who recommended me for the position. This post has been edited by crapp0: Sep 27 2012, 03:46 PM |
Sep 27 2012, 04:12 PM
846 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Sep 27 2012, 03:41 PM) I wonder on average, how many job applications do you guys send before you get a confirmation on your application? You mean like Social Network is very important to change job? I do agree that with better Social Network, it helped a lot and comparing with friend helped you forward your resume to HR is way much more easier. But some time luck and company requirement do play some roles in job hunting, some can find it after send >20 application, some send >100 application also cant get one.I usually dont go through jobstreet or monster. I have a relative who used to work for worldwideworker.com who helped me in the processing of my application but now that the company has be acquired by rigzone, the opportunities for employment has expanded since rigzone is a fairly popular site. I noticed that its way easier to get a job if you have some "contacts" within a company or specific industry who can vouch for you or recommend you. That was how i got my previous 2 jobs. The last job i had hardly required me to have a lengthy interview with the recruitment officer since i knew both her as well as my future superior who was the one who recommended me for the position. This post has been edited by yhoong12: Sep 27 2012, 04:14 PM |
Sep 27 2012, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Sep 27 2012, 03:41 PM) I noticed that its way easier to get a job if you have some "contacts" within a company or specific industry who can vouch for you or recommend you. That was how i got my previous 2 jobs. The last job i had hardly required me to have a lengthy interview with the recruitment officer since i knew both her as well as my future superior who was the one who recommended me for the position. I don't know how true is for other industries but for OnG I'm currently in, we know most of the people in this circle and most move around this circle as well. so contacts play a large part in 'getting in'This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Sep 27 2012, 04:59 PM |
Sep 27 2012, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Sep 27 2012, 04:12 PM) You mean like Social Network is very important to change job? I do agree that with better Social Network, it helped a lot and comparing with friend helped you forward your resume to HR is way much more easier. But some time luck and company requirement do play some roles in job hunting, some can find it after send >20 application, some send >100 application also cant get one. In my field it is.QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 27 2012, 04:58 PM) I don't know how true is for other industries but for OnG I'm currently in, we know most of the people in this circle and most move around this circle as well. so contacts play a large part in 'getting in' Welcome to the club. I didnt know keppel is considered as an OnG player? More in the marine line.This post has been edited by crapp0: Sep 27 2012, 06:03 PM |
Sep 27 2012, 07:01 PM
Sep 27 2012, 07:36 PM
62 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
sifu ... help !
have attended interview 3 weeks ago and yet no reply ... arrggg ... why take so long ? IS it normal ? |
Sep 27 2012, 07:41 PM
47 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
anyone here working at singapore power?
Sep 27 2012, 07:51 PM
2,703 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Sep 27 2012, 02:54 PM) my pay here is sgd 1200 per month still ok Actually i have the utmost respect for you.rent = 450 phone bill + transport = 70 makan = 280 saving= 400 urs i think more than enough lo how do you manage to makan on $280 a month? I can barely do it with $800 a month (i only eat economy rice almost everyday)? Are you sure it can be done? |
Sep 27 2012, 08:03 PM
1,564 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: working@SG, hometown in Kay L |
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Sep 27 2012, 07:51 PM) Actually i have the utmost respect for you. 800 a month on food...800/30 days then divide by 3 meals a day..that's close to SGD9 per meal...what kind of economy rice you eat ler?how do you manage to makan on $280 a month? I can barely do it with $800 a month (i only eat economy rice almost everyday)? Are you sure it can be done? SGD280/30 then divide by 3 meals a day == SGD3.1..this is possible...just food..no drinks!! |
Sep 27 2012, 09:52 PM
700 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Hi guys, anyone here work as service engineer? Or anyone know around how much a service engineer basic salary in Singapore? In robotic or semiconductor field. Thanks.
Sep 27 2012, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 27 2012, 07:01 PM) But you do work for keppel...So i guess you in the downstream side of the business. Added on September 27, 2012, 10:09 pm QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Sep 27 2012, 07:51 PM) Actually i have the utmost respect for you. Those burmese, indian and bangla usually survive around $200 dollars. They cook all their meals to keep the cost down and they buy their produce in bulk to enjoy near to wholesale price when purchasing goods in places like little india.how do you manage to makan on $280 a month? I can barely do it with $800 a month (i only eat economy rice almost everyday)? Are you sure it can be done? I knew one guy who did his shopping once a week or every fortnightly for the whole household. It also helps if your meals mainly consist of vegetables. This post has been edited by crapp0: Sep 27 2012, 10:09 PM |
Sep 27 2012, 11:37 PM
96 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Sep 27 2012, 11:21 AM) Hey bro what position you got?Captain?? I'm also in the Hotel line here and my salary is low too. Means the hotel give you place to stay also? Is it a nice place they gave you or izzit 1 room few people living in? no, only Waiter ! >.< if captain can get 2000SGD per month. mine 1500SGD per month, and they DO NOT PROVIDE ACCOMMODATION, only one meals when you are on duty. so, i guess: rental = 500-600 (for single) transport = 100 eat = 300 misc = 100 so, basically i thk i am able to save 500SGD per month but wt no entertainment at all and makan roti everyday? in the end i rejected the offer Added on September 27, 2012, 11:39 pm QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Sep 27 2012, 02:54 PM) my pay here is sgd 1200 per month still ok ohh u work in singapore now?rent = 450 phone bill + transport = 70 makan = 280 saving= 400 urs i think more than enough lo may i knw which industry you are in? and, how to find accommodation in singapore? via website? Added on September 27, 2012, 11:40 pm QUOTE(megadisc @ Sep 27 2012, 10:32 AM) but the expenses in singapore also very high...especially the rentals...can get higher salary n better employee benefits in macau! This post has been edited by mou yok: Sep 27 2012, 11:40 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0294sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:42 AM |