PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V5, Comparison and Advice

Emiya Shirou
post Jan 23 2013, 12:44 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(bulibulizaimon @ Sep 11 2012, 04:49 PM)
Budget ~RM1900
Epoz AktiMate Mini (music)
hi, just wondering where i can find this speaker?
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 16 2013, 11:41 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 16 2013, 02:58 PM)

p/s: There was one fella online who mentioned the M200 Mk II sounded better than a RM1.5k Audio Engine A5 thumbup.gif

not sure bout the old Audioengine A5 but my personal opinion that the newer A5+ transparency and midrange is better than mk2.

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 16 2013, 02:50 PM)
Mostly music, anime, movie. I do gaming though. But spending more times on music and anime. smile.gif

I'm wondering, between s2700 and s2800, do both of them make so much diff? ( cause is around Rm140 diff )
Since ur old gear is 2.1, here is some experiences regarding 2.1 and 2.0. For music listening purpose, getting a good DAC and a 2.0 speaker will make ur music very enjoying and relaxing. But when it come to gaming and movies especially DTS movies, u will really feel the lack of bass in 2.0 speaker set. Those explosion scenes, booming sound effect will sound less impact without a subwoofer. But for animes, these lack of bass may not be so significant but it still depend on personal tastes. Such as the ongoing anime "Attack on the titan", u will still feel better with a subwoofer than a 2.0 speaker for those sound effect. At last, u will still need to listen for urself and make a choice.

It's actually choosing between home theater vs hifi. Subwoofer is a home theater gear.
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 17 2013, 07:41 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 17 2013, 12:05 AM)
Guess its all about personal taste ya. I understand. Not everyone has same ears. As long you found the one you prefer. That is fine. smile.gif

Yeah, actually my first speaker is 5.1. Then realize how messy is the 5.1 setup on a table. Decided to change to 2.1 after 5.1 was spoilt. S330 indeed produce a deep bass and it does provide a good feeling when watching movie. R2800 is still a 2.0 speaker, so cannot expect a deep bass compare to those with standalone subwoofer. But anyhow I feel like wanna go and hear the quality of the sound produced. May pay a visit on those speaker.

At first my first target is S530, but realize that R2800 just released, and some forumer recommend the HiVi Swan speaker. Actually i nvr heard of the sound quality from Hivi, but review is showed that they are indeed producing some qualities there. So I would like to justify it by listen by myself.

I will hear S530, HiVi Swan M200Markii and S2800 first and decide. Hope I can get a clean cut on which one i prefer.  laugh.gif
yup, best way is to try urself. bring ur own laptop and DAC to the shop and test out those speaker with the same song. the sound of 2.0 speaker setup has more variety when playing song compare to 2.1. Just take the Andioengine & Aktimate to compare, they both produced totally different types of sound. The Audioengine has very good transparency and the vocal has an airy and good dynamic expression on it. Meanwhile, the Aktimate is a more balanced speaker. If u enjoy a little laid back and relaxing feel, Audioengine maybe better. If u wan some party rocking feel with the bass, Aktimate maybe better.

Anyway, speaker positioning and speaker isolation are also very important. If u have the budget, get an intermediate speaker cable will also improve ur sound by a lot. U can also try stuff like kernel streaming, reclock, jplay that i stated in my blog (click my sig if u r interested) if u haven't tried them yet.

This post has been edited by Emiya Shirou: Jun 17 2013, 07:44 AM
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 17 2013, 11:25 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 17 2013, 09:45 AM)
Agree to test on spot.

But in practical it's kinda awkward to do all those listening setup though, especially when there are customers there. I suggest to pick few best source tracks to test, especially those not too subjective to yourself (maybe you hear it too often, and become no feel ady).
I personally own 2 HiVi Swans, i.e. M50W and M200MKII, generally they sound good and the main thing is tight control, everything under almost full control with almost distortion free.

After few months listening of M200MKII, I found that I do not prefer the bass and treble layer knobs on the speakers, indeed I turn it to zero, instead I tweak using player equalizer, set it to soft treble, sound clean and less messy to me, once again I have to say you will be impress with the tight control and sweet soundstage of M200MKII.

For the gaming/movie speakers M50W, I send it for repair doh.gif , this model got bit problem in power and generating a lot of heat, but in terms of bass layer (I mean color bass, those bass layers you intentionally added to make more punchies to your tracks), it's strong. My advice is off this speakers if not in use.
well, mayb i am jz lucky o mayb i m jz too free XD (well, i m a coll student so my time is not bound by those office working hour, can always head over anywhere whn i m free ^^) well, if ur DAC is up to the task and the speaker is choosen according to ur taste, there is no use at all for the treble n bass or even eq in the pc ^^ last time b4 i gt a DAC for my C3, i always set 4 for treble 3 for bass. after getting a DAC for it, the setting is 0 for treble and -3 for bass. it's negative for the bass because the subwoofer of C3 is overwhelming when listening to song ^^
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 17 2013, 11:34 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 17 2013, 11:28 AM)
icon_rolleyes.gif yay, pleasant bass signature, some bass layers just bounce back and just woom woom woom, and not as solid when generated for listen sweat.gif
err, if u got the DAC, speaker position and speaker isolation right. there won't be any woom woom woom of bass. jz tat for 2.1 speaker setup like C3 u will feel that the quality is unbalanced. the subwoofer is way better than the satellites. and u jz hav to turn down the bass of C3 when listening to music to get bac the suppose feel of the song. and for my setup of C3, i like negative 3 for the bass when listening to song ^^
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 17 2013, 11:47 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 17 2013, 11:37 AM)
-3 is because your tracks too much bass? Or the song genre? Or C3 bass initially is too strong and cannot be up again? This same happen to HiVi Swans M50W, the subwoofer gain volume knob cannot be abused.
can said that the bass is initially too strong because in 2.1 speaker most of ur money actually go into the subwoofer. u will know this if u try some over grade DAC for these 2.1 speaker. i tried a 3k DAC with the C3, the bass is so solid and accurate but the satellites already started to crack like unable to produce those high pitch and so. i tried on altec langsing 4121 also, and altec satellites is way worst...

but if u read my post earlier b4 i get a DAC and speaker isolation, i used 4 for treble and 3 for bass. only after i get a DAC and speaker isolation, i set 0 for treble and negative 3 for bass. speaker isolation is very important. if u r free, u can go over to my blog and hear those recording out urself. all the recording regarding C3 in my blog is made by setting up bass to negative 3, treble 0 and equalizer off in the music player. do tell me ur feeling after listening to those recording. and do listen to the recording b4 n after setting up speaker isolation and u will be amazed by how much something below rm10 can improve ur audio quality.
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 17 2013, 12:52 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 17 2013, 12:10 PM)
Speakers isolation seems too complicated to me  tongue.gif
BTW, I try playing music using the foobar and wasapi, but din find any difference in noise/hiss reduce in live performance, this is it?
it is to reduce the noise produced by the pc transfer, if ur live recording is bad then definitely it won't do anything to it. as i said all these stuffs is to make ur stuffs to reproduce the sound as how it is recorded but not to smoothen it or other way around. anyway, the foobar is to use kernel streaming while the reclock is to use wasapi-exclusive. and make sure ur DAC support these features
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 17 2013, 01:31 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 17 2013, 01:17 PM)
If like this, that could be my cheap mini USB DAC not support those features, I prefer mostly live tracks, they resemble what music true form is, sadly most best live performance result in bad recording, which DACs you use support those features?
hmm, i think many support these features, even the UD100 that cost Rm140 also support them. i like live recordings as well ^^ i gt lots of dvd and bd iso of live recording especially AKB48 XD but quite a disappointment that AKB dun use DTS for their recording and when comparing to those western live that encode using DTS, the audio quality still fall behind a lot...
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 18 2013, 07:11 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Jun 18 2013, 06:42 PM)
the M3500 costs around RM329

good stuff

but if you can spend 100 more you can get Edifier R501 which is so much better

I doubt both had spdif though
i think normal pc speaker won't be having spdif in as they don't have DTS certified XD try find some DTS certified speaker thn mayb will find a spdif in on them
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 18 2013, 09:10 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 18 2013, 07:53 PM)
I just tried the demo unit of hivi swan200markii and iii. I have to say honestly. the clarity of the sound is awesome. even I try push the volume to the highest it still retain the clarity of the sound.

This speaker is really good for songs and movie. but I do agree that purchasing 2.0 speaker cannot expect too much on woofer. even though is big. yet is not strong enough to win those heavy woofer like edifier s530.

I'm in dilemma. I maybe not get used to the 2.0 sound as all the while I've been using 2.1. but I really love the sound quality from markii...... what to do.......
that is exactly wat i told u as i faced that problem too last time XD u hav to choose between hifi and home theater XD there is no way out

u can tried my hybrid setup but tat sure will be out of ur budget for now:
buy a second hand stereo amp and 2.0 speaker, thn get a not so exp sub but still nice sound like jbl (sub harder to find second hand).
thn power up the sub whn watching movie or playing games XD

This post has been edited by Emiya Shirou: Jun 18 2013, 09:11 PM
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 18 2013, 10:50 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 18 2013, 10:23 PM)
I doubt the price will be  sweat.gif
I need a review regarding R2800. Not much info regarding this speaker.
I'm very poor. XD
i know u hav tight budget, tat's y i said get a second hand stereo amp and second hand 2.0 speaker

QUOTE(power911 @ Jun 18 2013, 10:33 PM)
tried lawl...

as mentioned on previous posts... the mids are not thick and meaty enough for my preference

tested the m200mkiii,t200b and the m50w.

yes the clarity is there but it ain't thick and meaty for me lol.

it's probably because I'm using Sony SS-D201 bookshelves and NAD302 amp which... isn't a multimedia speaker no more lol
tat's a given cause nad midrange is consider warm. but i think nad is a little laid bac like cambridge audio and do not perform so well when it come to those heart pumping pop hmm.gif
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 19 2013, 07:30 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Jun 19 2013, 12:38 AM)
i'd think it's the limitation of the speaker driver size.
never have I ever enjoyed NAD warmth with speakers like wharfedale bookshelves with some 4" woofers which I couldn't remember...it's just plain bright and fake..

no need to talk about pairing edifier s530d satellites... it may sound great at times but the mids to treble is messed up without a highpass filter

so far with my sony bookshelves and some classic retro pioneer floorstander bookshelves like the pic below works marvelous with 'legit' midranges...

jz my taste maybe... last time whn i tried my j-pop on nad and cambridge audio, the rhythm seem to be a bit mess up when compare to marantz.
tat is personal taste though.

i said tis before, whn buying a 2.1 speaker, don't expect much from the satellites as most of the money actually went to the subwoofer rclxms.gif

wow, so many gears u hav there rclxub.gif almost like a shop notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jun 19 2013, 02:32 AM)
I am still not sure whether to get a good design and decent sound 2.1 Edifier C3 or a not so cool design but it's 5.1 Edifier R501 MkII  cry.gif Main usage is gaming, movies and musics....all my latest movies support 5.1 channel hmm.gif
to get the surround effect right, speaker positioning is important. for 5.1 pc speaker that is nearfield, i did say the speaker setup is gonna look very messy. and some of those higher budget movies have 7.1, and u still need to down mix them to 5.1 whistling.gif

and 1 more thing, since DAC is important no matter playing game, watching movie or listening to music, u have to choose it to match wif ur preference as well. if for playing game, creative is doing better with those extra features and having surround support but when coming down to music and movie, it's not doing so well. for listening to music, a stereo DAC like the UD100 is better but don't have those fancy features and don't support surround. for watching movies, there is no better than having an av receiver that support DTS, none of the DAC support DTS iirc... so u will hav to decode the dts on ur pc and sent as pcm. the best decoder i found so far is from ArcSoft. u can always go to my blog if u hav interest to know more...
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 19 2013, 12:30 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 19 2013, 10:38 AM)
In fact I have an idea. I will try to get my Edifier S330 fixed first. Then I will get the HiVi Swan Markii. Then next thing i need to get is the DAC ( or maybe sound card ). But i'm not sure how to combine two types of speaker set together..... Can anyone guide me on this?  notworthy.gif
well, tat's a bad idea... whn i said go for hybrid, i recommend to get a stereo amp instead of recommending u get a sub for those active 2.0 speaker... tat's because the matching and the sound quality will be a little let down... it's ok to get an active 2.0 or 2.1 speaker. but getting a sub for active 2.0 even like Audioengine A5+ with their own matching sub, the sound quality dun really get through me... but well, it's up to ur ear to do the testing...

for ur case now, since s330 n mk2 is both active, the cheapest and easiest way is to get a y splitter like http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005IXK6WQ if ur DAC is using 3.5mm type wire. then connect both speaker to it. thn throw the satellite of S330 away. thn on the mk2 all the time. and jz on the s330 whn u wan the sub.

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jun 19 2013, 10:50 AM)
Hmm what's the correct positioning for 5.1 speaker for a pc table? Need to hang the speaker on the wall since the room space is limited? hmm.gif
the positioning vary according to ur height, room condition and other factor. u need to adjust urself by repeating the position and listen for urself

but for pc speaker tat is nearfield mean tat their listening range is best around 0.5m to 1m will really feel messy with those speaker surrounding u
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 19 2013, 01:48 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 19 2013, 12:55 PM)
I get your point, remain the subwoofer of the s330 and throw away the satellite. But no promise on the sound quality right. Hmmm.... If getting stereo amp. Any recommendation? Or can I just use the DAC should be fine? notworthy.gif
yup, use the sub of s330 wif the mk2.

since second hand hav to really depend on the availability. and i dun get wat u mean by "can i jz use the DAC should be fine?"
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 19 2013, 04:50 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 19 2013, 04:24 PM)
Good advice. This seems like resolve my trouble. I will proceed to get the M200MKII. I saw the price in Singapore. Its around $388.... After convert is around RM900+  shocking.gif .

Plan to get this by ordering online and delivery. There are few vendor here. Anyone can suggest which vendor I should go through? Thanks!!!!
gud to see tat u finally came to a decision after so long biggrin.gif anyway do tell me how u feel after u set the sub with the mk2 rclxms.gif
and try to do speaker positioning and isolation. with the right setup, it totally bring ur speaker next to another level at very low budget.
tis is wat once an experienced audiophile told me, most of the user can only bring out 30% of their speaker potential. because most user are jz too ignorant of stuff like DAC, position & isolation. smile.gif
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 19 2013, 08:01 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 19 2013, 05:52 PM)
He has the online ordering right in Lowyat forum?
Yeah... Took a while.... Cause usually when i buy things. I need to make sure i do enough research. haha. Sure no problem, will let u know the soonest. I might have problem positioning though. But i know i can figure this out somewhere. I will need to get DAC though. Any cheap DAC recommend??? notworthy.gif
QUOTE(fact3 @ Jun 19 2013, 07:49 PM)
So fast reply, tq tq.

But i tot you said somewhere C3 could not perform without good soundcard?

My laptop 2011 Asus rog G5 good enough for C3?
for rm400, C3 hav my vote as well. a gud soundcard/DAC is jz to make things better. it's the same for all speaker.
but C3 do hav a flaw. with its external amp having low power, if u put the volume to low level, the bass wont reach u.
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 20 2013, 07:21 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 19 2013, 10:25 PM)
I am sick of my Bllue Thunder I SQ sweat.gif , my Swans M50W not yet done repair zzz doh.gif

You all got use of the Bose 5 2.1?
tested bose b4 and their SQ is quite bad for me. then google around and see why bose is so highly regard. then found tis answer:
Bose main design is to let u hear the sound coming from everywhere. So it's totally different sound from normal hifi sound rclxub.gif

QUOTE(AaronFPS @ Jun 19 2013, 10:40 PM)
budget under rm100
usage: movies and music
if under RM100, go for Edifier M1360. U won't find deep bass or solid bass cause tat subwoofer is kinda weak. But the overall presentation is nice at mid volume. But if u turn the volume to MAX, thn everything is falling apart.

If u want something that hav deep bass and can use for years, get something around RM200.
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 20 2013, 09:15 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 20 2013, 08:07 AM)
Seem like this is not real good speakers. hmm Another speakers I have rarely heard review here is Klipsch Promedia 2.1, it's high rated and high price too hmm.gif
for klipsch promedia 2.1, the old model which sold for RM500 last time do had good SQ but with some issue of faulty at asia.

for the new model tat had their price raised, i went and test them, and are really disappointing
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 20 2013, 09:25 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Jun 20 2013, 09:19 AM)
it's basically logitech z623... but with more bass lol
wow, if u said like tat, mean u feel even more disappointing with the new promedia 2.1 thn me
cause last time when i went and test the new promedia the best price i can get is RM7XX. but u compare it to a Rm500 logitech notworthy.gif
u make even harsher comment
Emiya Shirou
post Jun 20 2013, 10:47 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 20 2013, 10:20 AM)
haha, if rich nevermind, but as a long term pleasure, should go for more toys on the table, especially "wood class style" stuff, they are crazy expensive but classy, basically I got 3 woody feel audio stuff: 2 speakers + 1 headphones, now I just need more woody tables/stands maybe thumbup.gif , and prefer some woody casing tube amp/DAC?
QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 20 2013, 10:33 AM)
hmm, that mean they are not worthy of that price, even Harmon Kardon Soundsticks better?
woody casing amp, nice stuffs, nice looks and light weight nod.gif at least it will be easy to move around than my stupid steel casing amp tat weight 20kg++

yup, the new promedia 2.1 definitely not worth the money imo. soundsticks is better, but u should really go and try out all these for urself. i always jz went and try all those pc speaker whn i m free or on the weekend. it's at least easier to try out compare to hifi gear tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Emiya Shirou: Jun 20 2013, 10:48 AM

0.0273sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:31 AM