OVERCLOCKING THE A6-3420M AND 7670M, CHECKOUT MY NEW WEBSITE TO THE POST

fatalis26
post Feb 6 2013, 03:12 AM

Okay, first of all, your post is extremely helpful, since no one has ever post how to OC HD7670M as detailed as yours..

Now, my laptop spec,
i5-3317U 1.7 Ghz
4GB RAM
HD7670M of course tongue.gif

Anyway, since i'm using intel cpu, and I only want to OC my gpu, can I use your method above?
If I can, with amd driver 13.1 official, what is the good and stable core and memory clock? I think I don't want to go as high as 820mhz like you did.. LOL

This post has been edited by fatalis26: Feb 6 2013, 03:13 AM
fatalis26
post Feb 7 2013, 09:54 PM

QUOTE(frostbiteengine @ Feb 6 2013, 02:27 PM)
Sure bro  biggrin.gif  but u better use beta driver since it got alot of fixes but it up to you if u wanna update ur gpu driver or not ~   so , the stable core clock is 780MHz and memory clock is 1170MHz ~ smile.gif tht is wht i use b4 ~ stable n no crash ~ smile.gif

Another tips , if u wanna squeeze an extra performance u can grab another 4gb ram or use dual channel 8gb ram smile.gif which is helpful n ur laptop will be more smoother in doing task smile.gif
Long story short, I finally succeed to overclock my 7670M.. I set the core clock at 725mhz with memory at 1000mhz in msi afterburner.. Yes, it's a small value compare to yours cry.gif , however, now what i'm concern it's about the heat..

After I set the afterburner, I ran Furmark to test my setting.. Then. the temperature keep rising up.. 70....75...80...85... and then i shut down furmark.. LOL
My question is, is it okay to have 90 degrees gpu? Right now i'm using coolermaster notepal evo cooler, but the fan position isn't right under my gpu or cpu tongue.gif ..
Then, next question, if i continue the furmark test, it isn't gonna blow my laptop right? Or the temperature will keep rising?

Thx b4, again really helpful post !

Edit : one more question, what memory that your 7670M had? Is it ddr3 or ddr5? thanks !

This post has been edited by fatalis26: Feb 7 2013, 10:01 PM
fatalis26
post Feb 8 2013, 02:48 AM

QUOTE(frostbiteengine @ Feb 7 2013, 10:58 PM)
first of all , the heat ~ well , max temp for gpu is 100'c  ~  did u set the fan at auto or full speed ? mine set at full speed ~
since u r using intel cpu , it is goin to be hot like my dad dell laptop using i7 ~ even though already bought laptop cooler ~
then , it is important for the laptop cooling fan were set under the vent of ur laptop ~like mine , i had to remove the ram n the hdd cover for my laptop for proper air flow since most laptop doesnt hav a proper cooling even though it is cooled wif laptop cooler ~ mine using a custom cooler which is better cooling and high airflow smile.gif

i like ur question " it isn't gonna blow my laptop right? "  well , no ~ like urm ~ it's juz like boiling a water ~ nothing blow right ? juz a heat~ dun worry , when ur gpu reach 100'c , it will automatically shut down to prevent any error. my suggestion is , try to overclock at some place that not hot or airconditioned place and keep ur gpu temp under 98'c or 96'c  or 85'c for better~ what is important is proper cooling ~ post me a screenshot of urs settings in msi afterburner + cpuz + gpuz ~

mine gpu is 1gb gddr3 hd7670 ~  if u find the gddr5 version , u r lucky mate smile.gif
Now, I have found the problem ! Right now, i set the gpu to 725/1000.. Note that fan speed is set to 100, although i don't think it has any effect on the fan... After 10 mins running furmark, gpu is at 81 degrees which is good enough i think...

The reason why last time the temperature is rising up is because i force the cpu to always turbo (2.4 ghz).. However, if i let the cpu throttle down, apparently the gpu temperature decrease too.. Well, stupid intel CPU.. LOL
fatalis26
post Feb 9 2013, 08:40 PM

QUOTE(frostbiteengine @ Feb 8 2013, 10:16 AM)
haha ~ i already suspect at ur cpu tht causes the heat from the first smile.gif well done for ur fix smile.gif
Right now i'm at 750/1050..
Seems stable enough.. Running 3Dmark 11 performance give me 1452 gpu score..
That's pretty damn high! Even surpass the 7690M XT! Max temp after running the bench is around 78 degrees which still very good..

Thank you again! Cheers!

0.0186sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:25 PM