Sep 10 2013, 11:06 PM
5,608 posts Joined: May 2011 From: Here, There, Everywhere |
QUOTE(Vector88 @ Sep 10 2013, 10:14 PM) erm... methinks it depends.. on what its majority debt's currency is based onAVFan On the Rupiah vs SGD, methinks it's similar to the Q where a forumer was asking in REITs topic/thread, something like: "If i buy SG REITs, can i make more than MY REITs since SGD higher exchange than RM?" it doesn't matter the exchange rate coz DY% is based on cost paid thus if i paid SGD$1 and get 10% VS i paid MYR$1 and get 10% which higher profits? Similar to buying Indonesia REITs in SGD right? higher SGD buys more rupiahs, thus the "cost" is cheaper? huh? or rupiah so weak against SGD, worth it ar? hehe i'm no ForEx expert yar, just basing on common-sense where if one pays $x, get worthwhile y%, i dont care what currency as long as it's a usable currency. eg. SGD $10 to $1 DonkeyDollar (factitious) - weak right? well, if i buy REIT in DonkeyDollar and get 10%yield, convert back to SGD, do i still get 10%yield? should be, unless DonkeyDollar falls several points against SGD - ie. spiral of death again - i stand to be corrected & learn better yar This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 10 2013, 11:08 PM |
Nov 13 2013, 08:57 PM
Jun 23 2014, 07:22 AM
QUOTE(Brandon323 @ Jun 23 2014, 06:33 AM) Is it OK to use local firms like CIMB or Hlebroking to buy Sg REITs through their foreign share buying portal or better to open a separate stock and banking account in Singapore? The latter is of course more work. IMHO - if you're doing buy & zzz to collect DY, not rabid trading, it's worthwhile to use local firms.However if you're doing rabid trading OR yr holdings generate very low dividends, then worthwhile to go SG open one. Reason: Trading - commission charges are lower Small holdings generating small dividends - local charges some fees to process dividends (even re-invested via DRIPS). Thus, that "fee" make make a big % of the dividend received or reinvested. Just an opinion based on reasons above yar - not the only reality. |
Jul 25 2014, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 25 2014, 09:59 AM) nope, i think non-resi gets witholding tax or normal non-resi income tax.. even m-reits u kena tax For clarity of taxable, not taxable, withholding tax, blah blah... - to share findingsyea.. wanna go some into oue but it seems for dividend only.. not for trading.. px stuck at 0.895 for a long time heh... am with stanchart... 0.26% brokerage... no min charge... but u gotta buy cash... no margin NOTE: i'm not a tax expert ya - just reading & interpretation by common Joe. Bottom line: For individual investors - not taxable at recipient's end AND no withholding tax REIT's income is NOT taxable IF distributed within financial year The related references UNDERLINED for your easy review. REFERENCES http://www.kpmg.com/PL/en/IssuesAndInsight...ment_Trusts.pdf
Taxation_of_Real_Estate_Investment_Trusts.pdf ( 694.42k )
Number of downloads: 11a. Income tax • Not taxable if SREIT’s taxable income from Singapore properties is distributed within the financial year • Any taxable income not distributed within the financial year is subject to tax at the prevailing tax rate, currently 17% b. Withholding tax • Withholding tax at the prevailing corporate tax rate, currently 17%, is applicable on distributions made by SREITs, except where the distributions are made to: • Individuals who will receive the distributions free of withholding tax, unless these are received through a Singapore partnership • Qualifying unit holders (such as Singapore resident corporate unit holders, Singapore branches of foreign companies, bodies of persons, etc) who will receive the distributions free of withholding tax • Qualifying foreign non-individual unit holders who will receive distributions at the reduced rate of 10% for distributions made until 31 March 2015 c. Foreign Shareholders - Dividends • Subject to meeting qualifying conditions, foreign non-individual unit holders are subject to withholding tax at 10% for distributions receivable on or before 31 Mar 201510. This withholding tax is a final tax • For foreign individual unit holders, the distributions are exempt from tax, unless they are derived through a partnership in Singapore • Distributions made out of capital gains (except trading gains) are exempt from tax Additional resources (from Gov itself): http://www.moneysense.gov.sg/understanding...ent-trusts.aspx This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 25 2014, 11:03 AM |
Aug 26 2014, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(tigana @ Aug 25 2014, 10:57 PM) I was wondering , do we Malaysians get taxed for the dividends we receive for Singapore reits? Or do they withhold tax which we can claim back later? https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2504121/+623Good to read or search first in future |
Aug 26 2015, 05:18 PM
Aug 27 2015, 11:52 AM
Oct 19 2015, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 16 2015, 04:58 PM) So,...............not much chance to top-up for SG REITs anymore, not until all that talk about rate hike comes back into the picture. I am not able to top-up for my targeted REIT too today. Price is high to go in for,... I am making some profits (cap gain) now for the REITs that I have started to buy in the last few weeks... "Game plan" for the cursed investor (like me)However, unfortunately, am not able to buy more for now. I would prefer to buy more to start reaping the dividends to be paid out in November 2015... - who buys, then price goes down - who doesn't buy yet, then price goes up 1. Buy to purposely nuke the price - only use some $ (up to U la how many %) 2. Once down XX%, use the backup to buy more ("stock piling") 3. IF down even more XX% use the rest or whatever U've planned before (1.) of course before (1.) already done some home work lar on what is wanted at what max cost thus when (2.) and (3.) happens, bonus! <excludes Enron, WorldComm, etc.> Just sharing a possible "game plan" |
Nov 1 2015, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(Vector88 @ Oct 31 2015, 08:11 PM) http://singaporeanstocksinvestor.blogspot....tor+(ASSI))&m=1 Thanks for the heads-up Vector88Saizen being offered 3.4% premium to its NAV |
Nov 2 2015, 01:26 PM
Nov 2 2015, 01:35 PM
Nov 2 2015, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(gark @ Nov 2 2015, 02:33 PM) Creosus is Japanese mall reit.. quite good management and assets (assets from Aeon Japan).. "Technically" not REIT but a biz trust wor...I am invested. Hm.. still, holdings are "...CRT’s principal investment strategy is to invest in a diversified portfolio of predominantly retail real estate assets located in the Asia-Pacific region, with an initial focus on Japan. The initial property portfolio of CRT consists of four completed retail properties located across Japan, which includes Aeon Town Moriya, Aeon Town Suzuka, Luz Shinsaibashi and Mallage Shobu (collectively, the Initial Portfolio). Aeon Town Moriya consists of a shopping mall with approximately 135 retail units. Aeon Town Suzuka consists of a shopping center. In September 2014, the Company acquired 100% interest of Durian 2 TMK Holding Pte Ltd from Croesus Merchants International Pte. Ltd." Danke danke will dig in and see if it plays well with the rest of the midfielders i have heheh |
Nov 2 2015, 05:59 PM
Jan 26 2017, 11:28 AM
Just to share:
STOCKS WORTH CONSIDERING IN 2017 EXCERPTS FROM VARIOUS RESEARCH HOUSES http://www.sharesinv.com/wp-content/upload...ing-In-2017.pdf |
Feb 17 2017, 08:12 AM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Feb 17 2017, 06:38 AM) Is it only me ? There is no counters which attract me to buy now because of the high price compare to last year. Almost everything looks so expensive now compare to just a few months ago. And the risk of a sudden jolt or shake up looks like coming soon. Just my feelings... hehe - similar feeling & thinking here too, either "too high"/low value stocks/ETFs or just bad forex impact if bought now.Last year was like a big sale promotion on hindsight I've not been sitting on so much % waiting to be deployed since 2006/2007. Hm.. may be a good thing? This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Feb 17 2017, 08:13 AM |
Mar 1 2017, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Mar 1 2017, 08:48 AM) Your investment strategy is different from mine. same here - filtered stocks & target price 1st loading, 2nd loading, 3rd loading (to my values wanted)I invest based on how I value the reits. If I am happy with the returns and valuation, I will pay what is on offer and buy straight off without queueing. I always have a target price to buy and sell. When the target reach, then I transact. The 0.005 or 0.01 difference is immaterial if you look at the yield %. Make a calculation yourself then you will understand. I am talking about long term investment, not trading. The brokerage etc is not my concern too. They are too little to require my attention. When a stock rally, you will be more than happy to pay the brokerage i suspect us older folks dont have the patience to nego/chase for "best price" anyhow, WTFish is "best price" anyway - $0? |
Mar 7 2017, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 7 2017, 10:50 AM) Not sure if recycling capital is the best. Look at WB. He does not do that. i think the keyword here is "does NOT spend" (much) - prioritized spending / frugality on low value stuff to him I think AK uses his dividends to invest in new companies. He does have lots of dividends and he does NOT spend! no matter how much one makes, if expenditure >= income (active + passive), net worth or cash flow still kaput |
| Change to: | 0.3964sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:59 PM |