Singapore REITS, S-REITS

heyamazingpeople
post May 21 2017, 04:27 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 20 2017, 10:56 PM)
1) For me, I determine how much yield I want. Very simple it must beat malaysia's amanah saham in the long run.
A 5.75% yield can beat a 6%+ amanah saham over long period of time.
Eg. You know a reit can give 6%+ yield but right now it's giving 5.8%+ yield, do you want it or do you want to wait? I will wait. (eg. CCT at current price. Will I buy CCT? No. See reason 9. If they give me 7%, yes, I will take not 6% biggrin.gif )
2) How much debt it have
- again this is not set in stone. Lower debt of course better la. But Mapletree greater china IMO is better than capital china retail eventhough mapletree have ~40% gearing -way higher than Capitalland. But we need to see, mainland china are esavvy shopper. In china, you have online store everywhere (alibaba, 360, baidu, tencent, xiaomi, etc) We all know that amazon is beating the crap out of brick and mortar shopping lot. Do we still want capital china retail? If Fortune reit (a HK reit with shopping malls can survive HK, then shopping mall can still survive in HK). Fortune reit would be better option shopping reit vs Mapletree GCC but Fortune reit dividend only 5+% vs 7%+ of mapletree. Next thing you do is look at the mall owned by Mapletree. Is it it good? Even though it's only one mall, but it's a higher version of vivocity. I will bite but not now. Anyway with that high gearing, sooner or later Mapletree will have to issue rights.That time, price will drop. Div yield may reach 8%+ drool.gif
3) Occupancy rate - the higher the occupancy, the higher the rental (not always true but having the place occupied and people paying rental is better than vacant), does it beat it's peer.
4) Types of building and location
5) Whether it achieve (+) rental reversion
6) NPI - a good reit should increase NPI
7) How the reit manager handle bad times (CMT, FCpT, FCT, CCT, Aims)
8) Read blogs (investmentmoat, fifth person, turtle investor (he's mostly index investor but sometimes does reit review), assi (some I don't agree like ASSI going for Capitalland China Trust and Starhill Global) does good reviews on reit
9) I am sucker for diversification. That's why my reits I choose are not all pure play SG-reit (Hence FCT, MLT and MCT is in my portfolio)
10. I want access to certain market but do not wish to pay withholding tax (I at looking at you AU and US). Hence I add FLT and manulife US when the time is right. Both does not incur 30% withholding tax.
20. How to know price high or not? Use google finance to find out. They have nice chart which shows previous prices.

My goal (when I started in Jan) is buy at whatever market price and collect dividend first. Later when opportunities present itself, use dividend collected to average down. A bad strategy but so far it works. Some of my reits I bought at market price giving me 7-9% paper gain (including latest dividend). If opportunity present itself to average down, I will take it. There's still some reits on my shopping list I have got yet. See eg in reason 1.

Right now, not buying anything. No money. No discount. sad.gif

Sorry for long post.
QUOTE(bearbear @ May 21 2017, 02:27 AM)
agree with bro ram, decide what is your aim (return %) and work from there.

of course everyone wants to buy cheap but when is cheapest? I also bought at "high" time but if the return satisfy your aim, you should buy and "worry" when it goes down. if the fundamental of the REIT convinced you to buy back then, you should buy more when it goes down?
thanks Ramjade for the blogs, Do give more if there is other which are good. thumbup.gif

1. just wondering if the market come crashing down.. what would u do? just let the money stuck with the REIT counters?

2. can roughly understand how much SGD u have invested in each REIT? as the minimum charges may take a toll on the trades made.
is 3k to 5k deemed reasonable amount? Or you will recommend more or less?

3. any best list of S REITS to recommend?

heyamazingpeople
post May 21 2017, 08:35 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 21 2017, 04:44 PM)
Now no need to queue. Sit back and enjoy dividend. When news come out that Fed going to hike/after fed hike then queue. They still have 2 more hikes to go.
1. Immediately transfer my money from Malaysia to SG, use whatever dividend I have + cash in SG and buy. Not everyday you get CMT, FCpT dividend at say 6.5% or 7%. drool.gif Not sure if I will whack reits or whack other counter. Too much choices. rolleyes.gif You need to ask yourself, why did you buy the counter in the first place. That's why I perfer counters with zero debts or debt/asset ratio of <1. When a counter does not have debts, no one can force it into bankruptcy.
2. Best amount should be 0.12%/0.18%/0.2% (depending on what broker you are using) of your buying cost but that's too high for us earning RM So I use more or less half of it. Don't have so much money either. So if your broker charge you 0.12% or min SGD10, you should buy at  SGD8333.33 (ideally based on SGD10/0.0012, if 0.18% or SGD18 should be SGD10k). I am using SG broker as example here not Malaysian broker as an example.
3. Use the following website to determine
http://reitdata.com/
http://www.investmentmoats.com/DividendScr...endScreener.php
Thanks for the two links again. Very informative.

I am working in singapore.. but need 5k to 9k per transaction is just wow.. (if not, deemed not worth it due to charges/ fees for min. transaction)
Just don't know where i can get so much money.
If possible i would just like to invest about 15k SGD and diversify it across 5 REITs or other counters (not "diversify" if all on REITs right?)

I am actually working with some of those big time REITS companies..
What i understand from them is time isn't good and it is likely to go worse.

heyamazingpeople
post May 21 2017, 09:07 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ May 21 2017, 08:42 PM)
huh?

no need 5k to 9k per transaction. Brokerage only min SGD 10...

when i started years ago. i just buy 1000units to test... and annual div will recover the brokerage.

If u think gonna be worse. then why u think want invest in REITS?
this?

https://www.dbs.com.sg/vickers/en/promotion...jan17_learnmore
Cash Upfront Promotion
The promotional commission rate of 0.12%, minimum S$10 is applicable to all cash upfront trades executed via DBS/POSB iBanking.

i have been following a few threads on investment including this S-REITs. I m definitely not goreng stocks kind of poeple and dont have that kind of info and times to trade.. so i prefer to go slow and steady.. so getting high dividend payout from REIT sounds good to me.
gonna be worse? well, no one can be sure i think.
but if what i heard can be considered a insider news, that's what i can share.

But before i invest, of course i will try to make sure i have done all the necessary studies.

This post has been edited by heyamazingpeople: May 21 2017, 09:07 PM
heyamazingpeople
post May 21 2017, 09:47 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 21 2017, 09:12 PM)
You can buy SGD1k too but SGD1k charge SGD10, SGD5k also kena charge SGD10, SGD9k also kena charge SGD10. So you decide. No hard rule that you must buy that amount. Cause if you buy SGD1000 and kena charge SGD10 = 1% brokerage fees. I am trying to reduce my brokerage fees where possible.

You are working in SG. You have the advantage over us. We are earning RM. Need to convert. SGD is 3xRM. No conversion on your part.

Sure why not. You can divide SGD15k into SGD3k/reit. If you can wait, until you have SGD20k then you can divide them into SGD4k equally.

You need to determine your investing strategy. Dividend investing/value investing/trading. But I still trust reits. Of course if there are other counter which are worth keeping, I am going to buy it.

What do you it is likely to go worse ? If the yield not attractive, just wait. It's perfectly fine to wait on the sidelines.

Btw, do you have emergency cash supply up? Do not invest if you do not have emergency cash supply.
ya, thanks for the note.

not that i really know and i guess no one really knows for sure.. everything also hear people say only.
i only pray if i did invest a counter, it doesnt come crashing down.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_publi...e_United_States
I was checking the REITS price chart at year 2008. I am sure no one want to have their investment stuck in a counter like that.
Therefore question i asked earlier, what would you do if the REIT market counter come crashing down.

However, i will study a bit and probably invest about 8k in 1 or 2 REITs counters. whistling.gif (contradicting huh?)

This post has been edited by heyamazingpeople: May 21 2017, 09:48 PM
heyamazingpeople
post Jun 9 2017, 11:54 AM

321 posts

Unit holders for REITS?
Understand the term are slightly different compare to other shares / stock.

But cant deny that comparisons still can be made for REIT and property. One may perform better than the other as the criteria mentioned above.
Choosing the right one also another topic.
heyamazingpeople
post May 6 2019, 04:18 PM

321 posts

Seems like whole REIT watchlist are all red today.
heyamazingpeople
post Mar 17 2020, 11:50 PM

321 posts

Hi guys,
Would like to check, for msian to buy sgx or sreit, what are the best brokers to consider?

Is it FSM? This one is one of the cheapest and can participate in right issue?
what about Tradestation Global? I think this one can't participate in right issue?

Or any other broker?

ramjade , help?

heyamazingpeople
post Mar 19 2020, 12:09 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 18 2020, 01:15 PM)
Use FSM sg.
Yes can.

Ran into some issue with tradestation global with rights. Something about being  a priority customer. Will test again if got rights some more. One test not conclusive.
Thanks. Always trust your study and comparison biggrin.gif
So actually possible to do rights with TSG IBKR? I remember last time mentioned something like Singapore local resi. address
heyamazingpeople
post Mar 19 2020, 11:05 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 19 2020, 12:52 AM)
Can. Maybe I wrongly filled up the form.
sorry, can share what form is that?
R.I. form or form during account opening?
heyamazingpeople
post Mar 20 2020, 12:44 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 19 2020, 11:22 AM)
No. It's corporate exercise which they send to you and you need to key in some your choices online. No form.
What stock’s corporate action was that?
That’s great.. if TSG IBKR alone is enough.
but why u mention u r still using fsm for sgx stocks?
heyamazingpeople
post Mar 31 2020, 08:39 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Mar 31 2020, 02:26 PM)
wongmunkeong Are you investing through FSM Singapore? I bought some IREIT Global and maybe will buy some KepPacOakReitUSD through FSM Singapore which charges dividend Handling Fee of USD 3 of gross dividend (applicable on US based ETF/Stocks) that are in SGX. Not sure whether IREIT and KepPAcOakReitUSD falls under this category which FSM will charge USD3. Any idea?
Anyone, is REIT considered a unit trust or is it considered a stock?
Why not write to FSM to ask on this?

I can confirm ireit is not charged for any handling fee.
Not sure about KORE.. Interested to know your finding too.

heyamazingpeople
post Apr 3 2020, 05:14 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Apr 3 2020, 05:05 PM)
According to FSM, both ireit and KORE, no dividend handling charge
Good to hear that.. probably because it is “domiciled” in Singapore.
Make it simple for SGX investors, No other tax deduction for the investors level.
Should be similar for united hamphire, manulife US. REIT.

heyamazingpeople
post Apr 3 2020, 08:09 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Apr 3 2020, 06:12 PM)
Hope so too.  Its kinda weird in the sense that under FSM Singapore--HK exchange don't charge for dividend handling charge  while SGX charges dividend handling charge for those USD ETF/stocks
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/new-to...icing-structure
USD 3 of gross dividend (applicable on US based ETF/Stocks)
Under the sgx column..
This is a little confusing for me... but i guess u can take fsm reply..
or see for yourself.. not happy then sell lo.

Can search for some sg website on the comparison of brokers.. if u want to buy into US stocks.

For your pleasure reading only.. i believe can google to find out more if u r interested in those US REIT. I didn’t google hard enough.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/money-mi...ax-6171181.html

QUOTE(EnterYourName @ Apr 3 2020, 06:25 PM)
Grab a bit
FCT 1.60
MCT 1.49
AIMS 0.98
Sasseur 0.535
UOB 18.8
Great price.. but may have a sell down early next week.
Can prepare bullet for it..
heyamazingpeople
post Apr 20 2020, 12:36 PM

321 posts

https://research.sginvestors.io/2020/04/sas...2020-04-19.html

Some maybank info on sasseur and ec world,
For your pleasure reading
heyamazingpeople
post Apr 29 2020, 11:40 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 29 2020, 11:34 AM)
Looking at the way US is, I believed a second wave is coming for them  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
2nd wave Of covid?

Or just 2nd wave sell down due to bad business prospect?

heyamazingpeople
post Apr 29 2020, 11:41 AM

321 posts

hi guys,
sorry newbie question.

For Mapletree comm trust,
The dividend payout always " 3 cash option" .

Can i know what does this means?
Anything we need to choose? Any action required from us?

DIVIDEND
ANNOUNCED ON  2020-04-22
Rate or Price :

Declared Rate: SGD 0.0091 per security/unit
Cash Option 001: SGD (Default Option)
Tax Rate: 17%

Cash Option 002: SGD
Tax Rate: 10%

Cash Option 003: SGD
heyamazingpeople
post Jul 5 2021, 03:40 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(jflee @ Jul 5 2021, 10:11 AM)
anyone knows how to subscribe to IREIT rights via IBKR? i saw the rights in 'Portfolio' page but in 'Corporate Action Manager' don't see it there or any option to subscribe
Ibkr will be a few days late.. and ended earlier.. shorter time frame for u to subscribe.
Go look under ur message, corporate action.
heyamazingpeople
post Sep 3 2021, 10:08 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 31 2021, 09:09 PM)
Price shot up. Didn't grab. Oh well, I grab, wouldn't be have money left to do options and generate "DIY dividend"/premium. biggrin.gif Guess a blessing in disguise.

Bro, can share what stock u use to do option trading? Selling calls and puts?
heyamazingpeople
post Sep 4 2021, 10:59 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 4 2021, 09:42 AM)
Only do on stocks you want to hold long term or don't mind picking it up. Do not do on stocks you don't want to pickup or hold long term. That's rule number one.

No problem. Here's the list. May not be accurate as some I have moved on. Which one still active up to you to guess. tongue.gif
Apple, Taiwan semi conductor, Visa, Nvidia, AMD, lemonade, palantir, tattooed chef, crowdstrike, docusign, square, sea ltd, fiverr, snowflake, arkk.

Planning Microsoft, Salesforce. Home depot, Shopify, Tesla. But no money for it yet.

So what I do and use does not necessarily mean will work with you as I have high risk tolerance.
I think I shared before what stock I used. You can see above.
Thanks for the input. I am still monitoring the news.
Well, some stock are not cheap.. need a lot of capital to do cash secured put.. unless doing this on margin..
Sure, always dyodd i guess..

Before i go far out of topic,
we should have a new thread talking about option trading..

0.4533sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:58 PM