80 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Singapore REITS, S-REITS

Hansel
post Sep 8 2015, 12:38 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 8 2015, 11:08 AM)
Think Malaysia would prefer more investments due to cheaper RGT.
The Rakyat is easier to manage compared to FDIs.

My opinion.
So you choose (1). Tq.
Hansel
post Sep 8 2015, 07:05 PM

9,347 posts

Target hit : I have always 'speculated' that the SGD will one day reach RM3. Let's see if it will rise a little bit more to stabilise RM3 as a strong floor.

rclxms.gif
Hansel
post Sep 9 2015, 01:28 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 9 2015, 11:07 AM)
wud hv been nice if u bot at 1.22.

just 2 days, 1.28. biggrin.gif
Looks like trading the Singapore REITs is quite profitable if we got the direction right, since they can move so much within a few days.

I find the Msian REITs are not so volatile.
Hansel
post Sep 12 2015, 03:33 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 12 2015, 09:00 AM)
Maybe. But The election result is expected, depending on more or less seat PAP win only. Government not going to change in any case.

More will be affected by fresh leads around the world. Mainly Fed interest rate and news from China Japan US Europe Middle East...
The wins have more majority, the losses are tighter and the PAP won back Punggol East, one of three constituencies held by the WP. I think these are very significant positive developments. Congrats PAP....
Hansel
post Sep 15 2015, 09:37 AM

9,347 posts

Be careful,... there are two main events dictating the REITs mkt now :-

1) FOMC Rate Hike on Friday morning,
2) speech by Ms Yellen at the same time (especially if there is no hike), AND
3) THE CHINA EFFECT, ie the numbers and reports coming out from China.

Edit : three

I would wait,... another round for me to buy my retirement instruments again.

This post has been edited by Hansel: Sep 15 2015, 09:37 AM
Hansel
post Sep 15 2015, 10:58 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 15 2015, 10:21 AM)
You mean rate hike decision?

As for Yellen, she isn't sure of anything since she took over. So pinch of salt and patience.

As for China, its a forgone result that it is slowing. The only question is

a) the rate of the slowing
b) whether you can trust their numbers?
Tq,.. Yellen is not making all the decisions based solely on her own opinions. She has all the aides and the other Fed Governers to help her. She assisted Ben Bernanke for a few years. She was ib the loop when Ben ut in the strategy to raise the rates. Anyway, like it or not, we have to follow what she decides on.

Okay on China, I agree,... which, then goes to say that the SGX has more downward fall to come. It's okay,... more opportunities to pickup. Watching closely...
Hansel
post Sep 15 2015, 04:56 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 15 2015, 11:31 AM)
A week before the Federal Reserve’s most critical policy decision in years, Wall Street opinion makers can’t agree on anything.
Not only is there no consensus about whether the Fed will end its seven-year-old policy of zero interest rates, but views on the fallout from such a move are wildly disparate.
There are some, like hedge-fund titan Ray Dalio, who say a rate increase will prove an epic blunder in the face of a vulnerable global economy, prompting policy makers to abruptly reverse course and start printing money again. There are others, such as Citigroup Inc. economist William Lee, who say the expansion is healthy enough seven years after the financial crisis to withstand higher rates. Next week’s increase will be the first of several over the course of the next year, they argue.
Guy Haselmann, a Scotiabank strategist, says that in his nearly three decades on the Street he’s never seen such confusion. Much of that, he notes, is the result of the “mixed messages coming out of the Fed.” One day, a Fed member is expounding on the benefits to delaying a hike, and the next, another is calling for action now.
But the extreme nature of the discord among traders and analysts underscores a bigger, and more important, point: The stakes are high for Fed policy makers right now. Get this decision wrong, and it could deal a big blow to the economy and to their credibility.
Policy Error?
The Fed is slated to announce its decision on Sept. 17, at the conclusion of its two-day meeting. As of the close of trading on Thursday, futures traders assigned a 28 percent chance that the rate will be lifted a quarter-point to a range of 0.25 percent to 0.5 percent. Analysts are a bit more sure there’ll be a hike, with about half of the 81 surveyed by Bloomberg predicting one.
As divided as the market is on that decision, it’s the aftermath that stirs the real split. In the global-economy-is-too-weak camp, Dalio has plenty of company. Names like Krishna Memani, chief investment officer of OppenheimerFunds Inc., and Larry Summers, the former Treasury Secretary and Harvard University president. Memani, like Dalio, says the increase will prove so premature that policy makers will find themselves having to resort to another round of quantitative easing to resuscitate growth.
While the U.S. expansion has been stable, "that’s not looking at the full evidence,” Memani said. He pointed to the heavy debt burdens of developing economies like China that could weigh down growth.
‘Something Different’
On the other side, Citigroup’s Lee is joined by people like Haselmann and Peter Tchir of Brean Capital LLC. An increase next week, in their view, is warranted -- even necessary.
"Seven years at zero doesn’t seem to have fixed everything,” Tchir said.
“So let’s try something different.”
He puts an unusual twist on last month’s market volatility: It underscored the need for the Fed to start raising rates, rather than holding off longer. Historically accommodative monetary policy has supported too much risk-taking by investors, he said.
Somewhere between the two camps is a middle ground made up of people like Alex Roever, head of U.S. rates strategy at JPMorgan Chase & Co. There’s a risk that bond traders are underestimating the pace of rate increases, which could complicate the tightening process by jarring the market. Even if that’s the case, policy makers may not need to reverse right away, he says.
Roever’s team predicts two-year Treasury yields will approach 1.7 percent in a year, from 0.71 percent Friday.
This rate cycle may be tougher for investors to navigate because of challenges at home and abroad, according to the strategist.
"It’s more complicated monetary policy now," Roever said.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...essage-on-rates
A thought came to me when I saw the long message. Lots of noise abt rate rise,... Tq,.. I would love to read the article.
Hansel
post Sep 16 2015, 10:01 PM

9,347 posts

Free Seminar in Sgp on this coming Saturday. It's not too difficult to take an economical flight early morning down to Sgp to attend this. Or you can take a coach down the day before, but you will need a place to put up in for the night.

You can learn how to open accounts there, and many other questions that you may have. IT'S DEFINITELY WORTH IT !!

http://onlinetradersclub.org/2015-09-19-sa...eits-kenny-loh/

Good luck ! Please put in effort to help yourselves,....
Hansel
post Sep 16 2015, 11:39 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 16 2015, 10:26 PM)
Fly down just to attend a seminar on Sreits ?
Attend seminar. Network. Ask questions and learn abt opening of bank accts, brokerage accts and unit trust accts.
Hansel
post Sep 17 2015, 10:50 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 17 2015, 06:46 AM)
It's on a Saturday. You need to fly down again to do the documents. Also The seminar is for Singaporeans  on reits there may not be people in the banking and brokerage to give answers.

Can always use telephone and email to enquire process of opening account. And there is another option of using local platform to trade in overseas market
Showtime,... I thank you for your replies,... okay-lar, personally that was how I started and have managed to arrive at what I am today. I don't call it all as luck, I call it hard work, willing to travel and willing to learn from people.

For any who is willing to learn abt opening accts directly in Sgp, please give some attention to my posting, you can ask more questions if you wished to, via this forum or via PM. Otherwise, just ignore my posting.
Hansel
post Sep 17 2015, 10:51 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 17 2015, 10:03 AM)
guess everone happy enough today - all sg reits rise in price albeit small moves.

d-day tonite - if us fed will hike int rates.

The Fed's Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC) could raise short-term interest rates for the first time in nine years at its two-day meeting, which began Wednesday. All eyes are on expected statement and press conference due on Thursday afternoon local time.
Here it comes,...
Hansel
post Sep 17 2015, 10:55 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 17 2015, 06:46 AM)
It's on a Saturday. You need to fly down again to do the documents. Also The seminar is for Singaporeans on reits there may not be people in the banking and brokerage to give answers.

Can always use telephone and email to enquire process of opening account. And there is another option of using local platform to trade in overseas market
Read the article carefully,... it's not only for Singaporeans. And if it's only for Singaporeans, so what ??? When I first started many years ago, all these talks were mostly attended by Singaporeans only,... come on, so what ?? We make friends with them-lar,...

Public transportation is convenient, makan is tasty, clean and reasonably-priced (don't convert), 'girls are pretty', environment is clean,... go before they close their doors !!!!!!

BUT IT'S ALL UP TO YOU ALL-LAR,... I'M JUST TRYING TO HELP PEOPLE IN THIS FORUM, ESPECIALLY IN THIS THREAD. FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE KEEN TO DIVERSIFY OUT OF THIS COUNTRY.

Edited by adding final para...

This post has been edited by Hansel: Sep 17 2015, 10:59 AM
Hansel
post Sep 17 2015, 11:53 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 17 2015, 11:26 AM)
I mean the seminar is not targeted for malaysian who want to open an trading account. It is on Sreit specifically. The seminar may not have the right people for the purpose. If you want to teach people, show them which bank, which broker they can contact, step by step...

There will be Msians there at the seminar too. Talk to people,.. they will be able to share with you too on those things that you mentioned. Get a feel on the SG REITs at that seminar. Attend one, they will take down your names and your emails id's, they will send you broadcasts everytime they have such events again !

That was how I started,... I'm sharing something which I have personally experience, a tested and proven technique.

Step-by-step ? Okay,... but don't only listen to me-lar,...

Bro,.. it's not abt my behaviour and my attitude here okay ?
Hansel
post Sep 17 2015, 12:13 PM

9,347 posts

I just came across the thread on : opening of bank accounts in Singapore ! 8 pgs all-in-all,... some good advice there,...

But I also caught the idea that things are a little bit tighter today compared against when I first opened my accts. However, judging from the postings, it is NOT impossible.

We just gotta be quick ! Unker Dreamer is there too,...
Hansel
post Sep 18 2015, 09:45 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 18 2015, 08:25 AM)
As expected, no change.  smile.gif
I expected so,... but still the rest of the day to see. I expected no rate hike too judging from the forward-looking nature of mkts. And I expected no movements in the REITs for me to buy too if no rate hike,...

I would rather that I am wrong in that there is no hike. And that I am right that the REITs here will dive if there is a hike.

Losing opportunity costs now. No interest earned in banks,.... sad.gif A failure !
Hansel
post Sep 18 2015, 11:41 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 18 2015, 11:34 AM)
haiz... everything up >2 cents. sad.gif

will hv to wait for next chance.
As expected !! sad.gif sad.gif

The nearest thing I can see in the near future and that I can hope for realistically is for a bad news/number from China. Hopefully will come soon,... And after that, the 'window of opportunity' will be small again. Must buy in quickly.

Hence the saying : good things are not cheap, and cheap things are not good.
Hansel
post Sep 18 2015, 12:31 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 18 2015, 12:24 PM)
October Yallen will be on centre stage again. Let's keep our bullets and wait for another month  tongue.gif
Hopefully no need to wait for another month. If something bad out of China between now and that October date for Janet Yellen to speak again, then the chance comes again.

SOmehow,... I am beginning to lose hope that I can depend on the Feds to help me,...us to be able to buy-in cheaper for SG REITs. Must look for other stimulus news already.
Hansel
post Sep 18 2015, 01:22 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 18 2015, 01:05 PM)
Got to be patient bro. You might be better off let the money sit in the bank doing nothing than risk it in a volatile market. Unless you are a risk taker.
Right,... thanks.
Hansel
post Sep 21 2015, 06:35 AM

9,347 posts

Regulation of trading activities in Singapore to protect investors !

Don’t wait for trading queries before disclosing big deals, SGX warns firms

Insider trading must be stopped at all costs. The Singapore Exchange reiterated that companies are responsible for halting the trading of their own shares in order to prevent insider trading when they are on the cusp of a large deal. Although choosing the timing of an announcement can be challenging, SGX said that the onus is on the company to halt trading if trading activities of its shares suggest there could be a potential leak of the matter under negotiations or discussions. “Should the company not be ready to make the disclosure, it should release a holding statement to explain its position. The company may request for a suspension of trading if it is unable to release the material information by the end of the trading halt to allow more time for the matter to be concluded and disclosed via announcement,” said the SGX. “Should SGX suspect insider trading, we will take action including obtaining from the company the name list of parties privy to the material announcement, analysing trades, obtaining information from brokers and referring cases to the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS),” the SGX warned.

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Hansel: Sep 21 2015, 06:37 AM
Hansel
post Sep 21 2015, 01:53 PM

9,347 posts

Did not load any. Waiting for further dips.

80 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.8394sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:28 AM