76 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Singapore REITS, S-REITS

SUSTOS
post Nov 10 2020, 08:24 PM

8,667 posts

Money arrived! After market close. So, can enter anytime from tomorrow.

Tomorrow will be what traders call "trader remorse". After such huge reaction today, there would be knee-jerk reflex action. So, the rotation might subside a bit or even reverse course. Nothing interesting as such. We will see.

For Parkway LIFE, laugh.gif. There are a lot of countries with power plants very close to them. Hong Kong gets its power from Daya Bay nuclear power plant just 50km to its northeast. (Sell Alibaba? Sell Tencent? Sell H-shares?) Power plants are around the whole US, Europe and China. But their stocks don't do badly. Blue-chips are still blue-chips.

You are fearful of nuclear stuff because most ASEANs (not just Malaysians) in general are not exposed to such technology, but if you live in other places, you will come to accept it. It's not like earthquakes will happen 5 million times a year in Japan. If so, no living organisms would have exist there.

Chill lah. It's not the first time Japan encounters disasters.
SUSTOS
post Nov 11 2020, 11:28 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(donhay @ Nov 11 2020, 11:09 AM)
q for KDC today at 2.68 after down 2.5%, still thing this is a good reit tongue.gif
I queued at 2.64, 200 units. Let's see. tongue.gif
SUSTOS
post Nov 11 2020, 04:33 PM

8,667 posts

100 units Parkway LIFE at 3.83. I will wait for trend formation and detect the next entry signal. Closely looking at UST yields.
SUSTOS
post Nov 13 2020, 10:10 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 13 2020, 08:49 AM)
Avoid. Just buy the 4kings + 1super king  and you are good to go.
Ascendas, mapletree, Frasers, capitaland and parkway.
Avoid Frasers hospitality

Why pay others to buy for you when you can just DCA in?
You forgot one, Keppel DC REIT. tongue.gif
SUSTOS
post Nov 20 2020, 09:55 AM

8,667 posts

Parkway LIFE under pressure now, cases surge in Japan. I don't see how cases surge can bring about damage to their revenue, since many are locked in with rental-escalations. Their rent relief are also small in amount.

Stand-by mode on again. laugh.gif

SUSTOS
post Nov 20 2020, 12:01 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 20 2020, 11:23 AM)
Any views on Netlink?
I thought rise in covid cases is good for hospital business?
Netlink everything ok, except ROA/ROE terrible (issue raised in the questions asked by shareholders prior to AGM/EGM). Very limited room for growth. Everywhere in SG already connected by fibre. tongue.gif

Plus depreciation & amortization rate very high. (Similar to most telco operators in SG/Malaysia.)

So, it's mostly for investors hungry for dividend yield, 5% p.a.. Dividend stable, so share price stable. There is also regulatory risk. The framework is a bit complicated for me to understand but you can check their presentation slides to know more (they put it at the very end of their presentation slides). IMDA sets the WACC and other things.

As for hospital, err. Parkway LIFE does not operate hospitals in Japan. laugh.gif They operate "old folks home" and nursing homes there. Previously some of their properties were affected by Covid. Can't remember it's the elderlies or the nursing home staffs who were infected, you can check the company announcement for the news. They published it.
SUSTOS
post Nov 20 2020, 08:16 PM

8,667 posts

Anyone here invested in Sabana REIT?

They are in hot waters now, I guess.

https://links.sgx.com/FileOpen/Press%20Rele...t&FileID=639965
SUSTOS
post Nov 21 2020, 10:10 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Happy360 @ Nov 21 2020, 08:52 PM)
I bought cause their asset hv potential for AEI and growth
So, what is your take on this ESR thing? Happy with what ESR? Or you side with Quartz/Black Crane?

On another news, Ascendas completed its acquisition of the 2 SF properties.

https://links.sgx.com/FileOpen/AREIT_Comple...t&FileID=640004

The opening date and time for the Preferential Offering is this coming Monday, (9 a.m. for electronic applications) Keep your fingers crossed that you are eligible to apply for it, for those who invested in Ascendas.
SUSTOS
post Nov 22 2020, 11:57 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Happy360 @ Nov 21 2020, 10:50 PM)
I invested in esr as a results of merger with viva industrial.
In fact, during these uncertainty, I made significant position in esr.  Bought at a very low price point.

I see esr had lots of growth opportunity mainly in industrial and logistic a.
Errr. I was asking you about Sabana and you say you invested in ESR REIT? tongue.gif

So, you invested in both ESR REIT and Sabana REIT?
SUSTOS
post Nov 22 2020, 12:36 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Happy360 @ Nov 22 2020, 12:29 PM)
No, no stake at savana....however, see the merger as good deal and with high potential.
Haha. Pretty much what ESR REIT investors would say.
SUSTOS
post Nov 23 2020, 01:13 PM

8,667 posts

Today supposed to see something regarding Ascendas on the EFR, but nothing appeared tlll now. Looking at the offering documents, it seems like we poor Malaysian retailers are subject to CMSA, so not eligible again...

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 23 2020, 12:49 PM)
TOS

did you buy any of the US or European REITs, like Prime, KORE, Manulife or Cromwell? What are your thoughts on these?
No, not yet. I haven't have time to look into them. But I won't touch them for now as I don't see much hope for US or Europe in the future. Another thing is since SGD appreciates in the long run, fund managers need to increase earnings at a pace faster than the depreciation of USD/EUR against SGD. Secondly, tax is an issue here. In the past there is barbados agreement, now US congress passed new law to terminate such "tax heaven agreement". Tax laws change here and there often.

Property is just playing with supply and demand. US and Europe land space surely greater than SG in any case. So, more upward pressure on SG properties than US/EU, if all else equals.

But some exposure into these area is ok, especially Europe. where yields are negative. Rent yield is still in positive territory. Can expect yield compression to continue.

I personally prefer a mix of SG and other region's properties, to achieve some diversity. But this is up to personal preference. Too focused into one sector, like say US office (there are plenty of such S-REITs) can contribute to a volatile portfolio during turbulent times.
SUSTOS
post Nov 23 2020, 01:15 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 23 2020, 01:08 PM)
i have

IREIT Global - i like their German tenants

Cromwell - BIG diversified.

ELITE - UK government tenant

Utd Hampshire - grocery tenants. Covid proof so far
To be honest, I like ELITE for the UK government exposure too. biggrin.gif

SUSTOS
post Nov 23 2020, 02:11 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 23 2020, 01:29 PM)
why do most of these reits are less than $1 SGD? It feels like penny stocks.  sad.gif
Some other things mosset.

Liquidity is another issue here. Small-cap REITs are not as liquid as the large ones. (You can tell when you go to SGX official price website, and select ranking by "Top value").

The bottom ones are less liquid. And they have lower price because:

1. Their IPO price is already sub-1 dollar, mainly to attract retailers who don't have large sum of money to go buy in 1 lot.
2. There might be stock splits post-IPO, need to check stock split history.

You would want a liquid stock ideally.

You will also notice the market price the small REITs at P/BV less than 1, i.e. there is always a discount to the NAV of the units. This is because market perceive the risk of such small caps are higher than the more established ones.

(Banks likely lend to firms with larger scale than smaller ones, so might experience sudden drop in ICR during bad times, when banks demand higher yield spread over risk-free benchmarks.)

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 23 2020, 02:22 PM
SUSTOS
post Nov 23 2020, 03:53 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(LeonL @ Nov 23 2020, 03:32 PM)
On Ascendas Reit Preferential Offering, what are the chances of applying and getting excess shares above your allotment, if shares held in custodian (FSM SG)?
Anyone with experience, not sure if worth to apply excess, thanks.
No experience with FSM SG, unfortunately.

I don't know about excess stuff. Not even sure if can get the preferential units via IBKR...

Let me ping Ramjade for help.

SUSTOS
post Nov 24 2020, 12:46 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 24 2020, 12:33 PM)
Can. From my chat with Singaporean investor just put in how much you can afford. Make sure have cash in account. How much yu get extra depends on luck.
You refer to FSM SG or IBKR?
SUSTOS
post Nov 24 2020, 04:49 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 24 2020, 12:46 PM)
You refer to FSM SG or IBKR?
Good news! I received the IBKR corporate action for rights subscription for Ascendas!

Oversubscription is available too.

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 24 2020, 04:53 PM
SUSTOS
post Nov 24 2020, 05:01 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 24 2020, 02:25 PM)
Thanks for the advice.

I wonder if these European or US Reits are cross-listed with US/EU stock exchanges to get more market participants. It seems Manulife and Cromwell are the bigger ones.
I am not award of cross-listing. I do know for most of the small REITs that you mentioned, Their sponsors are either large developers from Australia and Europe (cromwell) or asset management companies/insurance companies (manulife).

The sponsors themselves may be listed but the REITs are only listed in Singapore. There is no cross-listing of the same REIT in different exchanges as far as I know.

The last one to have cross-listing, I think, was Fortune REIT, listed in both SGX and HKEX (it is a HK REIT). It was delisted from SGX over liquidity issues a few years back.
SUSTOS
post Nov 24 2020, 09:27 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Nov 24 2020, 08:54 PM)
go oversubscribe and let us know if it works, then we can move from FSM SG to IBKR  brows.gif
Sure, I plan to add 200 units more on top of the 7 preferential units offered to me. tongue.gif
SUSTOS
post Nov 25 2020, 10:54 AM

8,667 posts

How come one say FSM SG can oversubscribe another say cannot?

Ramjade abcn1n you guys need to talk. biggrin.gif

But now at least there is an option for me to oversubscribe for my rights in IBKR. Just keep my fingers crossed.
SUSTOS
post Nov 25 2020, 12:53 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 25 2020, 11:07 AM)
I got issue with IBKR and rights for sreits once (ascendas). Hence I use FSM. Cause I know can go through and can buy as much as you want. Tried and tested by a Singaporean investor. I haven't test yet.
Now it seems no issue. I can subscribe to the units as usual (via IBKR).

On the other hand, Sabana again...

https://links.sgx.com/FileOpen/Sabana%20res...t&FileID=640365

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 25 2020, 12:54 PM

76 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.1313sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:35 AM