Singapore REITS, S-REITS

Hansel
post Nov 3 2016, 12:29 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Nov 3 2016, 11:46 AM)
Can you share from experience how much difference is the rate between TT board rate and treasury, assuming the amount is RM60k and one is a PB?

I did check with OCBC as a PB, amount RM20k, the rate was the same as board rate, like anyone else. RM didnt tell me there's a min amount to secure bettter rate.  mad.gif

I don't know abt OCBC, bro,....I don't do remittance with OCBC,... but judging from what you said abt that RM20k, then yes, the system looks similar like Maybanks's,... RM20k can't command much advantage,....

For Maybank,... the bigger yr amount, as it approaches RM100K, the bigger the spread that you will get. Can get 150 to 200 basis points difference. I eard when,... err,... 1MDB TT's RMs to err,... BSI Sgp earlier, they got 1000 bps spread,... err,... 1MDB TT'ed out in millions of RM right under the nose of,....

But just what I heard lar,... just a story,... you can ignore it,... though BSI is under heavy court case now in Sgp. biggrin.gif
Hansel
post Nov 3 2016, 12:33 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Nov 3 2016, 11:57 AM)
Hansel.. u work and stay in Singapore right?
Y so familier with TT from M to S ?

erm.. what creative ways?
Been using Maybank for many years,.. you need to experience first... I just said that sentence to help forummers open up their minds and to continue exploring new ways to do things,... smile.gif
Hansel
post Nov 3 2016, 12:48 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Nov 3 2016, 12:38 PM)
I thought there's only one rate for TT, which is the sell rate? If there's a spread, the smaller the better for consumers, because it's closer to spot?
Sorry bro,... when I mentioned spread, I meant the diff between the board rate and the special rate, NOT between the spot rate and the attained rate.

If you meant to say the diff between the spot rate and the attained rate, then YES, the smaller the better.

But in the world of international finance and in moving money around the world, we use the word spread for getting the best rate, not the board rate. When central banks say spread, then yes, it means the spot rate.

But, when,...........other parties wishing to move funds out, we mean differently.

Hansel
post Nov 13 2016, 12:12 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(marcusboy @ Nov 12 2016, 04:03 PM)
Hello all, I am a newbie to SG reits. I have been reading the posts here and am keen to earn some passive income for my upcoming retirement. I don't have much money to spare but it's better to make what little I have work harder for me.

I hope experienced sifus here can guide and provide advice. I understand I need to open a savings account and etardingnaccount with DBS or STD Chartered. I will check this week.

I see it might be a appropriate time to buy since the price is dropping slightly. I hope I can get my account up and running soon. Any advice what I should consider while I wait for my account?

Thank you all in advance. I hope to learn from all of you.
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 13 2016, 10:46 AM)
assuming u open the account successfully, consider how will u send money into the account.

if outside to sg or within sg, that's easy.

if local RM->SGD in Sg, there may be new restrictions - approvals, spreads, amounts, etc.

beocs since last fri, BNM has given local banks temp instructions on FX - due to RM depr too fast.

the situation is unclear who will happen next, etc.

so, read the news, talk to yr bankers so as not to be caught by surprise.
What AVFAN wrote inthe above is correct ! Sadly, and unfortunately,... the door is closing. But, you may still have some leeway because you are not going after the USD, but you are going after the SGD. So, if you can't TT, go to change for your SGD at the money-changer asap.
Hansel
post Nov 13 2016, 03:09 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(marcusboy @ Nov 13 2016, 12:45 PM)
Thank you both for your advice. I am currently in HK so will check with the bank here. I am not sure whether DBS or STD C is better for reit trading purposes. Any opinions?
Std C is cheaper in terms of brokerage ! If you buy through Std C, you can't go for AGMs. DBSV has the reverse characteristics of the previous two.
Hansel
post Nov 15 2016, 02:31 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(marcusboy @ Nov 15 2016, 12:23 PM)
Please can anyone give advice as to what documents would be require to open trading account with STD C? I have trying to call them using the number given by the customer service person but cannot get through.

STD C customer service said I need passport and 3 months bank statement if want to open esaver account and gave me number to call the online trading department but cannot get through.
Bro,... if you are able to open the eSaver Account, you can just open the Trading Acct at the same time. When they start asking you questions abt your trading experience in Singapore, just say YES to every question, and give higher numerical values to questions which needed numerical answers.

Don't waste time, bro,... buy an AirAsia ticket and fly to Sgp asap,....before they close the doors.
Hansel
post Nov 15 2016, 02:40 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(marcusboy @ Nov 15 2016, 02:32 PM)
Ok thank you for the information. If want to buy US Manulife reit, must fill up W8-Ben form also or no need?

If brokerage fee via HK broker too expensive, then need to go Spore to open account - only can on next year 😫😫😫 so cannot buy yet.
They will let you fill in the W8-BEN form at the same time. Then you can buy Manulife US REIT. The REIT did a roadshow in HK too,... so shouldn't be a problem for HK residents to get the divvies tax-free,...

If I were you, I wouldn't wait till next year ! biggrin.gif I will fly-out from HK on a Friday night, go to Stanchart at 1 Battery Road on Saturday morning, and return to HK after a great soup at that food court at the bend of the road. I'd be back in HK by Sunday night !

Judging the way things are moving,... the doors would probably be closed by year-end, if not already closed now. Just my opinions,... I don't get anything from any party for doing this,.. but perhaps just good karma,...

Hansel
post Nov 15 2016, 09:45 PM

9,348 posts

If can't open bank account,... then GO OPEN A BROKERAGE ACCOUNT FIRST BEFORE EVEN BROKERAGE ACCOUNTS ARE LOCKED OUT !!!!

Times are getting harder,...

Use a Msian address, bro Marcus,... but be sure there is someone at the address to receive your id's and passwords. Bring your utility bills to prove to them.
Hansel
post Nov 15 2016, 09:48 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 15 2016, 09:46 PM)
How to open a brokerage account? I have no exp with stock market. If they asked me some stock question, how am I going to answer?
Bro,... you are always scouring ard these pages. You would have read that you just need to answer yes to their questions, act smart and answer with some higher numericals to their questions which required numerical answers.

Come on, bro,...
Hansel
post Nov 16 2016, 08:53 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(marcusboy @ Nov 16 2016, 08:28 AM)
They were mentioning S$1 million.
If they said this to you,... then they are closing the door to you at that moment, bro,... call again at another time, speak to a different person, an if the terms given are favourable, you can go with him/her,...
Hansel
post Nov 16 2016, 09:50 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Nov 16 2016, 09:39 AM)
dbs cash upfront min is SGD 18. for buy.
sell is SGD 25

now they on promo.. SGD 9.88 till year end. But must be less than 1000 units.
No need to buy thru DBSV,... just open an account only,.. get hold of a CDP Number,.... then transfer over whatever you may buy through Stanchart !!!
Hansel
post Nov 16 2016, 10:34 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 16 2016, 10:23 AM)
let's get back to REITS! biggrin.gif
should be ok, bonds yields stabilizing now.

KDC 1.18, looking fine. tongue.gif
Err,... guessed I don't wish to debate that point about me being special here,...

KDC won't fall back, not for now,... don't worry,... I scooped up quite some numbers at 1.55 two days ago, one day before 'all the apples are mixed together'. From past experiences, I noticed that the price is at the lowest one day before,.. then starts rising on the day itself,....
Hansel
post Nov 16 2016, 10:37 AM

9,348 posts

[quote=elea88,Nov 16 2016, 10:34 AM]
[quote=AVFAN,Nov 16 2016, 10:23 AM]
let's get back to REITS! biggrin.gif
should be ok, bonds yields stabilizing now.

Yes BACK TO REITS...

SUNTEC REIT. after acquire Aud prop.. price been dropping... everyday.

Any news?

[/quote]

How did they acquire those props ? By debt or by issuing new units, or a mixture ? Was the acquisition price at a premium to valuation by a few valuers, or at a discount?
Hansel
post Nov 17 2016, 11:38 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 17 2016, 08:36 AM)
Singapore-listed Manulife US REIT has reported a DPU of 2.01 Singapore cents for its maiden financial reporting period that spanned 20 May to 30 September 2016, beating the forecast of 1.90 cents by 5.8%.

When is the ex date and payment date ?
Payments date is said to be before end-March 2017, as the maiden divvy payout date for this counter. Listen for more news as the year turns around.
Hansel
post Nov 17 2016, 06:20 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 17 2016, 11:53 AM)
That's a long time to wait for divs?
QUOTE(nice4ever179394 @ Nov 17 2016, 05:24 PM)
this has not been declared. read your prospectus.
Yes,.. I must agree that need to wait till next year to get the divvy,... but,.. if you read the latest news, you will see that this REIT is currently trading at a discount. The nav has seen grown from 0.78 to 0.84, and the REIT is still trading at 0.81 and 0.815 now. Barring any other unforeseen negative events, as time goes nearer to divvy payout date, the price will escalate,... Hence, my opinion of buying-up now.

Besides, I have very limited instruments to invest my USD into (I still hold quite some USDs), and this vehicle is one that I am of the opinion is worthwhile.

The dpu has indeed been declared as has been officially calculated and generated, its only that it has not been paid out to the unitholder yet. The manager is waiting for the final three months of this year's dpu, and then they will pay out together : this 2.01 Cts and the final dpu from October till December 2016.

Well,... with Mr Trump up there,.. this REIT should do well,...
Hansel
post Nov 17 2016, 07:28 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 17 2016, 06:59 PM)
i am just thinking...

there must be like 100,000 buildings in USA, which ones are good and not so good?

this Manulife has 3 buildings - 1 in la, 1 in irvine and 1 in atlanta.

how do u evaluate US reits?
Same method as for SG Office REITs,...most impt is outlook methodology,...
Hansel
post Nov 17 2016, 07:54 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 17 2016, 07:39 PM)
SG is one city, can say same all over.

USA is a big country - fed, state, city taxes, investment incentives, etc.

do u get into those details by region, county, etc.?

i ask becos i struggled when trying to buy US reits themselves...
If the county is big,.. I go into the county,..generally, the basic principles remain for that county, and matched against the development activities,... a bit like evaluating for Australia. But US is definitely more dynamic tan Australia.

With Trump, the vibrancy will get even better.

Err,... I think we should be more concerned if the Ringgit can recover now, or the world may not want to exchange the Ringgit with us anymore,...than our Ringgit will be worthless, can't buy anything anymore. Not only cheap, but worthless, close to being banana notes,...
Hansel
post Nov 18 2016, 10:53 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 18 2016, 10:33 AM)
careful now...

yellen latest comment = fed rate hike imminent on dec 14.

us 10 yr bond yield rising again, 2.33%.
Bro AV,... why careful now ? Looking at the current events, exchanging now would be the right and prudent move, don't you think so ?
Hansel
post Nov 18 2016, 11:09 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 18 2016, 11:04 AM)
i mean buying reits.

buying SGD, ok.
YES, you are right then,....
Hansel
post Nov 23 2016, 08:59 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 23 2016, 08:43 AM)
Health Care REITs are REITs that specialize in various types of health care properties such as hospitals, nursing homes, medical centres and assisted living facilities for the elderly and disabled. It is important to note that Health Care REITs are not engaged directly in the business of providing these health care services but are instead leasing the properties that they hold to tenants on a long term basis. These tenants could be either a single master lessee of the facility or multiple tenants renting multiple units within the property. Prominent Health Care REITs in Singapore include Parkway Life REIT and First REIT.

Can consider Parkway Reit ?
Wahh,... Prince power,... thumbsup.gif

Healthcare REITs do not operate at the leased-out premises, not in the Singapore context. But they do in the US and Canada,....

Yes, Parkway LIFE REIT is a healthcare REIT. One very strong characteristic of the PLife REIT is that it does not simply issue new units based on a given mandate by unitholders at the annual AGM, ie it is unlike many other REITs and counters. Hence, chances for dilution are smaller !

Yes,... I would load-up n PLife REIT today if given the opportunity !

80 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.4024sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:18 AM