Electrical equipments has a usable range of 220V-250V because some countries the voltage isn't stable or constant.
Can you take it back for warranty?
PC Audio HiVi / SWAN - Active Speakers (Version 2015), Back and Active
Feb 3 2017, 09:24 AM
2,017 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Electrical equipments has a usable range of 220V-250V because some countries the voltage isn't stable or constant.
Can you take it back for warranty? |
Feb 3 2017, 12:51 PM
1,267 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
The woofer stated 220v 50hz so it should have no problem to use in our household with main voltage of 240v right?. I suspect it's a faulty unit right out of box which is a surprise to me. Will send it back to dealer for inspection or claim warranty if it requires. First time experience with Swans is not a pleasant one..
This post has been edited by Mr.Beanster: Feb 3 2017, 01:30 PM |
Feb 19 2017, 10:29 AM
1,162 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: PJ |
Has anyone compared Microlab to Swans speakers before ?
Feb 23 2017, 05:39 PM
2 posts Joined: Nov 2014 |
Can i ask is the Swans D1010MKII suitable to be used for led tv sound as plug & play?
Mar 7 2017, 04:21 PM
1,162 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: PJ |
Recently bought myself a pair of M200MkIII finally.
While its still being run in, here's my opinion. 1. If placed on the computer table, resonance may create more booming effect. My original placement was on the computer table, but only 6 inches away from the wall behind, so booming effect of the bass is very apparent. I have to tune down the bass. 2. So I tried to place away from the wall (about 1 meter away), and placed them on a proper heavy speaker stand. Bass finally is much more natural, no booming, and tighter. 3. Mid is prominent for this Speaker, High is there, but controlled. That makes it very coloured, suitable for mid range music play, either vocals, instrumental and other fine listening. 4. I still think perhaps a reasonably good DAC would be helpful to being out the best of this. I used a cheap DAC bought from here (lowyat), diyed by a forumner long ago. Its still very effective. I did not compare with other DAC. 5. Will it replace a real passive with good Amp? My answer is no. I placed this PC right opposite another floor stander speakers (XTZ) run by NAD HT Amt all the time. So comparison can be made almost instantly. While M200Mkiii makes a good PC speaker with great emphasis on good sounds, it still not easy to replace a decent Amt and passive speakers. But since I do not have the benefit of using great DAC for comparison, I can't make absolute conclusion on this. I may one day drive it from my NAD pre-amp out one day just for kick. And see how it fairs. Conclusions: M200MKIII is a massive improvement for any PC speaker set up that require very good HiFi grade listening, especially on music, rock, instrumental or even ochestra alike. Speaker placement is very important to neutralise the bass, if possible, dedicated speaker stands would be preferable. What I would do to control the bass would be, lets see, stuff some sponge on the vent outlet to see if that works. Finally, with that kind of money, one should also invest in a good DAC to drive this speaker. |
May 27 2017, 06:09 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
955 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Petaling Jaya |
My M50W died 2 days ago after 1 year 7 months of usage. Need opinion, to repair or replace?
2 slow burn fuses on the power board were burnt but not the main fuse at the line that feeds the transformer. In addition to that, the traces of PCB leading to both fuses on the power board was kinda 'powderized' and edges of both fuse holders were kinda melted. Suspect something on the power board or amp board shorted. Already replaced fuse, no show guys. What's the diagnostic charge and how long it will take and if repairs, what's the price range we are looking at? P.S. If anyone here repairs speakers and can bring the M50W back to life + refurbish with reliable components (better than Swans) at a comparable price, do give me a PM. Currently pairing both satellites with a MX5021 sub i have from the dinosaur ages. Quite disappointed really that the M50W died so fast, but the sound is really something. Paring with the MX5021 really shows that the acoustic design of the M50 input, amp and sub really puts the system at a different level. -------------------------------------------------- Edit: Since i've had these for quite awhile might else well leave a review TLDR: Sound wise for a 2.1 speaker, 11/10. Initially I used the satellites flat on the table and this caused the high frequency to be a little forward and inconsistent, the timbre just doesn't sound right and the tweeter seems ever so slightly faster than the mid especially on instruments that require response from both mid and high. Plus the tom/snare low-mid frequency punches around 165 to 230Hz sounds unnatural after bouncing off the table. I then got a pair of Audioengine DS2 speaker pad/stand thing that angles the speaker upwards. Perfect then. Sounds very spacious, electric guitars sounds right, the 'sawtooth'-ness of it with slight sweetness and perfect timbre just makes you feel like you are hearing the musician play right thru their amp. Listening to something like Tame Impala - Mind Mischief / Lucidity was the first time I had a jaw-dropping moment. I never liked these songs, but the soundstage experience was something to mention. Plucking of bass guitar also feels just right. The low-mid freq punch sounds just like how a line array would do it - chest hitting. That's when I knew, if the recording calls for it, this speaker will do it. Not sure if by accident the DS2 pad time aligns the tweeter position with the mid speaker at it's crest, but it sounds like it somewhat does it. I place the M50W satellites speakers about 1.8m apart, yes this might be wrong if you follow that triangle rule thing, but hey it worked best in my room. Somewhere between 1.4 and 1.6m there was a bass cut at listening position (desk seat), and placing it <1.4m apart doesn't give that concert sound, that front-of-house ; in-you-face, engaging and feet tapping feel. At 1.8m the vocals are recessed a little on most songs - which is how I prefer it. But songs that call for vocals to be dead smack center and in your face still sounds good. Pretty bloody good actually. P.S. I use a ruler and measure all distance, even distances to backwall and make sure they are exactly same for both sats. I have some background in live sound and was taught that time and phase accuracy makes or breaks the experience, so get it as close as it can be Sub is nice and tight and very musical, it can replicate the different tones of bass guitars / low frequency tones from other insturments. The sub and satellites really complement each other. This makes the whole shebang. Currently paring with the MX5021 sub, there's nothing magical about it anymore. So the sub and entire amp design definitely played a big role, it's what pushes it to be a 11/10. Don't expect bone rattling sub-bass with the M50W, but it does do chest-hitting if: 1) The music calls for it. 2) You have spent time to find a perfect position that matches the sub with satellite at your listening position without causing unnecessary frequency bumps or holes. Movies are 5/10 on this set of speakers. It's just not made for movies. Build quality is so-so, on my unit the tweeter protrudes at different levels (left satellite tweeter is 1mm higher than the other side). The machining for the mid speaker is not good too - on both satellites, the mid speaker is 1-2mm lower at different screws locations on both speakers. I can only imagine how this will sound if it had perfect machining and volumetric accuracy of both enclosures. I was quite disappointed initially upon un-boxing, but it's sound just made me thought, ah what the hell, let it go. I'm sorry Swan, but the Edifiers have way better build. And since mine died with just 1yr and 7 month usage... I'm sorry but this is the 2nd worst brand in terms of reliability I had encounter (Logitech was the worst). It's the only Swan speaker I have owned, so it is not fair, but 1 year 7 months is way too fast for this to happen, and actually before buying this I did a load of research and reliability was one of the negatives. Then again reliability seems to be an issue on anything manufactured post 2010s' (or is it because we are able to share and search for other's experience much easier now) There you go. Is the money well spent for 1 year 7 month of experience? 50.1% yes. Oh yes, my setup includes a voltage stabilizer, a Weiduka power filter, Schiit Wyrd usb isolator/repeater/filter, Jds Lab ODAC, and lastly, custom cable by a forumer from DAC to Sub and also custom RCA speaker cable from Sub to satellites. This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 27 2017, 07:49 PM |
Aug 8 2017, 05:35 PM
1,178 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Sunway / Ipoh |
QUOTE(andrew9292 @ May 27 2017, 06:09 PM) My M50W died 2 days ago after 1 year 7 months of usage. Need opinion, to repair or replace? Been using mine for 3yrs+, left on 99% of the time only switched off when I'm outstation . Still sounding good..touchwood.2 slow burn fuses on the power board were burnt but not the main fuse at the line that feeds the transformer. In addition to that, the traces of PCB leading to both fuses on the power board was kinda 'powderized' and edges of both fuse holders were kinda melted. Suspect something on the power board or amp board shorted. Already replaced fuse, no show guys. What's the diagnostic charge and how long it will take and if repairs, what's the price range we are looking at? P.S. If anyone here repairs speakers and can bring the M50W back to life + refurbish with reliable components (better than Swans) at a comparable price, do give me a PM. Currently pairing both satellites with a MX5021 sub i have from the dinosaur ages. Quite disappointed really that the M50W died so fast, but the sound is really something. Paring with the MX5021 really shows that the acoustic design of the M50 input, amp and sub really puts the system at a different level. -------------------------------------------------- Edit: Since i've had these for quite awhile might else well leave a review TLDR: Sound wise for a 2.1 speaker, 11/10. Initially I used the satellites flat on the table and this caused the high frequency to be a little forward and inconsistent, the timbre just doesn't sound right and the tweeter seems ever so slightly faster than the mid especially on instruments that require response from both mid and high. Plus the tom/snare low-mid frequency punches around 165 to 230Hz sounds unnatural after bouncing off the table. I then got a pair of Audioengine DS2 speaker pad/stand thing that angles the speaker upwards. Perfect then. Sounds very spacious, electric guitars sounds right, the 'sawtooth'-ness of it with slight sweetness and perfect timbre just makes you feel like you are hearing the musician play right thru their amp. Listening to something like Tame Impala - Mind Mischief / Lucidity was the first time I had a jaw-dropping moment. I never liked these songs, but the soundstage experience was something to mention. Plucking of bass guitar also feels just right. The low-mid freq punch sounds just like how a line array would do it - chest hitting. That's when I knew, if the recording calls for it, this speaker will do it. Not sure if by accident the DS2 pad time aligns the tweeter position with the mid speaker at it's crest, but it sounds like it somewhat does it. I place the M50W satellites speakers about 1.8m apart, yes this might be wrong if you follow that triangle rule thing, but hey it worked best in my room. Somewhere between 1.4 and 1.6m there was a bass cut at listening position (desk seat), and placing it <1.4m apart doesn't give that concert sound, that front-of-house ; in-you-face, engaging and feet tapping feel. At 1.8m the vocals are recessed a little on most songs - which is how I prefer it. But songs that call for vocals to be dead smack center and in your face still sounds good. Pretty bloody good actually. P.S. I use a ruler and measure all distance, even distances to backwall and make sure they are exactly same for both sats. I have some background in live sound and was taught that time and phase accuracy makes or breaks the experience, so get it as close as it can be Sub is nice and tight and very musical, it can replicate the different tones of bass guitars / low frequency tones from other insturments. The sub and satellites really complement each other. This makes the whole shebang. Currently paring with the MX5021 sub, there's nothing magical about it anymore. So the sub and entire amp design definitely played a big role, it's what pushes it to be a 11/10. Don't expect bone rattling sub-bass with the M50W, but it does do chest-hitting if: 1) The music calls for it. 2) You have spent time to find a perfect position that matches the sub with satellite at your listening position without causing unnecessary frequency bumps or holes. Movies are 5/10 on this set of speakers. It's just not made for movies. Build quality is so-so, on my unit the tweeter protrudes at different levels (left satellite tweeter is 1mm higher than the other side). The machining for the mid speaker is not good too - on both satellites, the mid speaker is 1-2mm lower at different screws locations on both speakers. I can only imagine how this will sound if it had perfect machining and volumetric accuracy of both enclosures. I was quite disappointed initially upon un-boxing, but it's sound just made me thought, ah what the hell, let it go. I'm sorry Swan, but the Edifiers have way better build. And since mine died with just 1yr and 7 month usage... I'm sorry but this is the 2nd worst brand in terms of reliability I had encounter (Logitech was the worst). It's the only Swan speaker I have owned, so it is not fair, but 1 year 7 months is way too fast for this to happen, and actually before buying this I did a load of research and reliability was one of the negatives. Then again reliability seems to be an issue on anything manufactured post 2010s' (or is it because we are able to share and search for other's experience much easier now) There you go. Is the money well spent for 1 year 7 month of experience? 50.1% yes. Oh yes, my setup includes a voltage stabilizer, a Weiduka power filter, Schiit Wyrd usb isolator/repeater/filter, Jds Lab ODAC, and lastly, custom cable by a forumer from DAC to Sub and also custom RCA speaker cable from Sub to satellites. Probably the QC for swans just isn't up to that level yet, heard of several cases of these dying off rather early. |
Aug 4 2022, 04:45 PM
25 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
hi HiVi fans,
i own a pair of D1010MKII speakers, and for the past year or so they started making this hum/buzzing noise. it was faint enough that i could live with it (playing any music easily drowns it out), but over the past week the noise has gradually gotten louder and louder. today, i tried powering the speakers off and turning them back on again, and it has gotten even louder now. like... really LOUD! the other symptoms i can describe here is that the volume control has no effect on the level of hum/buzzing, and also the noise is present even without any audio inputs. i have zero electronic experience, and was unfortunately not able to find any resource online about this problem or how to repair it. i was wondering if somebody on this forum has some idea what could be failing here, and perhaps lead me in the right direction on how to get it fixed. would really appreciate the help so much. thanks in advance!! |
Aug 5 2022, 09:35 AM
5,261 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: J@Y B33 |
QUOTE(4th alphabet @ Aug 4 2022, 04:45 PM) hi HiVi fans, You have removed all the audio input connector from the back of the speaker and still have buzzing sound? Then possibly the internal board or amp that causing the sound.i own a pair of D1010MKII speakers, and for the past year or so they started making this hum/buzzing noise. it was faint enough that i could live with it (playing any music easily drowns it out), but over the past week the noise has gradually gotten louder and louder. today, i tried powering the speakers off and turning them back on again, and it has gotten even louder now. like... really LOUD! the other symptoms i can describe here is that the volume control has no effect on the level of hum/buzzing, and also the noise is present even without any audio inputs. i have zero electronic experience, and was unfortunately not able to find any resource online about this problem or how to repair it. i was wondering if somebody on this forum has some idea what could be failing here, and perhaps lead me in the right direction on how to get it fixed. would really appreciate the help so much. thanks in advance!! |
Aug 5 2022, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Aug 5 2022, 09:35 AM) You have removed all the audio input connector from the back of the speaker and still have buzzing sound? Then possibly the internal board or amp that causing the sound. hi thanks for responding. yeah, the buzzing sound is there even with all audio inputs disconnected. also, turnting the volume up or down has no effect on the buzzing sound.if it is an internal board or amp issue, is it an easy repair job in your opinion? just wondering if it is worth repairing, or should i just retire this speaker and find a new one? 🙏 |
Aug 5 2022, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(4th alphabet @ Aug 5 2022, 02:01 PM) hi thanks for responding. yeah, the buzzing sound is there even with all audio inputs disconnected. also, turnting the volume up or down has no effect on the buzzing sound. Also possible is due to signal interference from other device such as handphone or even monitor. Check it, just in case.if it is an internal board or amp issue, is it an easy repair job in your opinion? just wondering if it is worth repairing, or should i just retire this speaker and find a new one? 🙏 I don't know how hard or expensive for the internal electronic component to be repaired. Maybe send to shop first for them to check and decide whether to repair or not. If too expensive or don't have the parts, check if maybe the shop can change the speaker into passive and then use amplifier with it. Or check if the parts available online to purchase. |
Aug 6 2022, 03:06 PM
thanks for the advice bro. appreciate u taking the time.
nope, it's definitely nothing external that's causing the buzzing. i've changed cables, disconnected cables, changed location. ruled everything out, so it's very likely an internal issue. problem is not sure where to send something like this for "reputable" repair these days. i know a few electronics shop that repair A to Z, but not sure if they know how to handle good speakers properly. |
Aug 8 2022, 11:46 AM
Try downloading a frequency app on your phone and check the buzzing is what frequency. If it is 50Hz then that's the mains power frequency and something could be wrong with the speaker power supply filtering. It happens sometimes.
Aug 9 2022, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(penmarker @ Aug 8 2022, 11:46 AM) Try downloading a frequency app on your phone and check the buzzing is what frequency. If it is 50Hz then that's the mains power frequency and something could be wrong with the speaker power supply filtering. It happens sometimes. thanks for the advice bro! i managed to download an app and the result is 500Hz (hope i'm reading it correctly). i attached the screenshot below. does this mean that it is a power supply filtering issue? not really sure what that means, but is it something that is fairly easy to repair? appreciate the advice. also, here's a video of the buzzing issue ---> https://streamable.com/l5hifa ![]() This post has been edited by 4th alphabet: Aug 9 2022, 04:58 PM |
Aug 12 2022, 11:54 PM
That sounds like mains frequency.
https://youtu.be/LTVVvEJCbZw Maybe my app idea wasn’t a good one since it cannot isolate it. It could be the mains frequency failing to be smoothed by the power supply filtering stage but there are other possibilities. The challenge to repair speakers like this is the amount of glue they use on components. Sometimes they’re not repairable. One of the shops around jalan pudu probably can take a look at it |
Aug 12 2022, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(penmarker @ Aug 12 2022, 11:54 PM) That sounds like mains frequency. thanks for the feedback. i ended up taking it to this A to Z electronics repair shop. the guy seems to have some experience with speakers and TVs. RM30 to diagnose so no harm i guess. wish me luck! https://youtu.be/LTVVvEJCbZw Maybe my app idea wasn’t a good one since it cannot isolate it. It could be the mains frequency failing to be smoothed by the power supply filtering stage but there are other possibilities. The challenge to repair speakers like this is the amount of glue they use on components. Sometimes they’re not repairable. One of the shops around jalan pudu probably can take a look at it will update my results. |
Aug 29 2022, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(4th alphabet @ Aug 12 2022, 11:59 PM) thanks for the feedback. i ended up taking it to this A to Z electronics repair shop. the guy seems to have some experience with speakers and TVs. RM30 to diagnose so no harm i guess. wish me luck! How's your speaker? They have diagnose it?will update my results. |
Aug 29 2022, 11:17 AM
51 posts Joined: Aug 2022 |
these speakers are no longer in production? i am using hivi m10 wah still nice clear sound and tak rosak .. thought of getting it for a friend but seem not can find liao...
Sep 1 2022, 08:17 PM
3,045 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Canterlot |
QUOTE(flautist @ Aug 29 2022, 11:17 AM) these speakers are no longer in production? i am using hivi m10 wah still nice clear sound and tak rosak .. thought of getting it for a friend but seem not can find liao... Not sure about M10, but other models are available. Red ape carries several model.shopee |
Oct 30 2022, 02:20 AM
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Aug 29 2022, 12:23 AM) hey man, really sorry for such a late reply. totally forgot to update this thread. unfortunately, my D1010MKII speakers are probably in a junkyard or laying in a scrap heap somewhere. i threw them away! the electronics shop i sent them to for repair turned out to be run by a complete idiot. he did not get rid of the buzzing, and totally messed up the sound quality of the speakers in the process. so he actually made them worse! i figured it was time to give them up anyway. they had a good run, and i tried what i could to bring them back to life. thanks for following up tho, i appreciate this forum! xxboxx liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0306sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:02 AM |