KAtana, I want one!

Rusty Nail
post Feb 13 2006, 12:57 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(kltower4 @ Feb 12 2006, 08:06 PM)
If you're talking about replicas, I got mine at Ke Log Shii while doing some holidaying in Penang. It's a double handle Kantana.

You need to bargain with them tho. Original price was RM160 and after some bargaining, it became RM100.

Pics below, enjoy. smile.gif

P.S. These are just REPLICAS. They are not sharp but can still hurt and kill someone.  cool.gif
sweet... drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
those replicas... the blade IS stainless steel right?
I wonser how much will it cost to have it sharpen
Rusty Nail
post Feb 13 2006, 03:54 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

^who said anything about display??? brows.gif
Rusty Nail
post Feb 13 2006, 11:27 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

Penang eh? well got to ask my penang friend to get me one smile.gif drool.gif
thanks for the info mate smile.gif
Rusty Nail
post Feb 14 2006, 05:43 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

killing aura??? O_o
i have bladed nunchucks so i guess i'm pretty strong laugh.gif tongue.gif
Rusty Nail
post Feb 25 2006, 08:07 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

just got back from katana hunting at centeral market and i was very disappointed. there were two shops (upper floor) that sells katana replica, the quality is HORRIBLE shakehead.gif
the handle is made from solid white plastic. though it's wrapped in cloth trying to to look "real" but even a child will tell you that it's plastic. speaking of plastic, the sheath too is made from the very same cheap plastic (so cheap that i doubt that proton will use it in their cars). But they did a good job on the sheath by painting it black, and at first i thought it was wood until i look inside it.
furthermore, the gold trim is also a big disappointment. like those you'd find on RM10 toys sold at pasar malam.
lastly to comment was the blade. yes, it's stainless steel but it's no where the qulity of that in kltower4 pictures. it's so cheap that 'sekali pandang pun tiada selera.'
pretending to be interested, i ask for the price on those 'replica' and they gave me RM360 for a pair (same length) and display case best price. single katana is Rm250 before discount. I was like WTF!??! overcharging for cheap toys?
however i did saw an antique katana there on display. it's RM1700. according to the shop keeper, it's suppose to be the real deal. i didn't inspect that though since it's harta pusaka wink.gif
Rusty Nail
post Feb 28 2006, 02:09 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(coolpajames @ Feb 27 2006, 11:05 AM)
Dude wanna go back n double check on it....jus tin case it might b the real deal....I'm also looking for a set the tanto, wakizari, and katana with stands...but replica are a bit potong steam n the real one too blardie expensive... :'(...n i do agree with the older people as to the "Evil/Killing Aura" as the old japs antiques will sure have some of those spirits in them...also do remember to oil the blade every 3 months and also everythme u take it out of it's sheath just so it doesn't rust (yes alunimum does rust or stains) i might b able to get some of the real stuffs but like i said earlier....DARN EXPENSIVE MAN!!! :'(
actualy i'm more interested replica or actual 1st hand katana. aslong as it's never been used or owned before. having thoughts of owning an antique katana that beheaded countless war victims really give me the creeps. shocking.gif
Rusty Nail
post Mar 2 2006, 11:54 AM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

Mingson, we are talking about REAL katana. not those in RO tongue.gif

Enigmatic,
there's shop selling katana in Petaling Street? Where about ? I was there on the same day i went katana hunting at Centeral Market, but i didn't notice any shops that sells weapons. is it some where hidded?
Rusty Nail
post Mar 4 2006, 01:37 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(AsenDURE @ Mar 2 2006, 10:01 PM)
drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
i really feel like swiping my visa...
drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
Rusty Nail
post Mar 6 2006, 10:07 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(kltower4 @ Mar 5 2006, 11:04 PM)
*Jedi Mind trick*
Yes, you will swipe your visa... and put my name and address for postage details. biggrin.gif
eventhough your jedi mind trick work, they won't mail the items to any other place other than the address my visa is registered to tongue.gif
Rusty Nail
post Mar 6 2006, 10:41 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

wel, they have mailed items to malaysia before so i don't think that i'll be a problem. they insisted on fed ex. maybe sometime next week when i have enough reserve for an interent purchase i may get one. drool.gif
Rusty Nail
post Mar 7 2006, 10:28 AM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Mar 7 2006, 06:47 AM)
Rusty, you getting it? Would like to tumpang beli leh

I would like to get the
Rurouni Kenshin: Katana Reverse Blade Sword (confirmed)
and maybe a 3pcs Katana set ...

already has a set of 2 Chinese Sword at home.. so probably my parents wont pantang for a set of Katana tongue.gif
i'll keep that in mind, but it won't be so soon though. rather busy right now and still waitting the green light from my parents (you know the pantang larang lah). tongue.gif
Rusty Nail
post Mar 8 2006, 10:13 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

ok here's the updates.
my parents finally gave the green light after days of "please" and me explaining to them the difference between a replica and a actual katana.

I'm getting myself a set of 3pcs set

and i can only piggyback one order only. the reason only one because i don't want to attract kastam's attention.

ed0gawa,
i can order only the Rurouni Kenshin: Katana Reverse Blade Sword for you. what's the reply from toys and joys?
Rusty Nail
post Mar 27 2006, 02:04 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(AsenDURE @ Mar 25 2006, 10:25 PM)
Rusty got his 3 set katanas yet?
i've cancled my order.
i've been exchanging e-mails with toys and joys for the past week and here's the conclution.
The cheapest courier with tracking is USD100 FedEx (1-9 working days)
Cheapest courier (without tracking) USD40 United States Postal Service (1-4 weeks)
spending RM380 on courier alone is crazy so i bail. I've calculated the landing cost and it's MUCH more expensive that those bought locally.

guess i'm back to square one tongue.gif
Rusty Nail
post Oct 2 2006, 01:13 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

after soooooooo...... long, i've finally manage to get one for myself laugh.gif tongue.gif
it's a single handed katana (medium length). suppose to come in a matching pair, but the seller has one natural color, and the other black. both made from wood.
Rusty Nail
post Oct 2 2006, 02:24 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

not easy bringing those stuff in bulk.
i'd recomend buying those stuff individually in small quantity to avoid any holdup at customs.

btw, i boutght mine from a flea market.
Rusty Nail
post Oct 28 2006, 08:45 AM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee83 @ Oct 25 2006, 03:29 PM)
Rusty Nail, how much is yours? biggrin.gif
Rm160 after a lengthy bargian.
Rusty Nail
post Oct 30 2006, 12:30 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee83 @ Oct 29 2006, 11:59 PM)
that's quite expensive.  sweat.gif
yeah, bought at amcorp mall flea market. he does sells chinese rapier too. cool looking but the sheath is leather, like those used for parang.

0.0266sec    1.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:58 AM