Proton Prevé V15, Slow & Steady, Come Join Us Already..

BartS
post Sep 8 2012, 05:05 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Sep 8 2012, 01:28 PM)
... new system update for Head Unit...

how to see your head unit version:
1. press and hold "Setup".
2. turn the "right knob" (which u use to zoom in and zoom out map)
2.1 turn left once.
2.2. turn right once.
2.3 turn left once.
3. then u will see the version number and other settings...

they also cut the driver carpet as shown in prevoc fb...
What does the system update for the HU do? What's new? Don't tell me after update, reverse camera wont work anymore biggrin.gif

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Sep 8 2012, 01:28 PM)
just back from EON SC, doing 2nd service and change the rubber at C pillar left side...
there is new software update for engine adaptation (current version 1.5)

Many will be interested to hear how this update changes the car's performance & FC.

This post has been edited by BartS: Sep 8 2012, 05:06 PM
BartS
post Sep 15 2012, 02:14 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Sep 15 2012, 12:20 AM)
today while winding down the driver window to take parking ticket, noted some krak krak sound when the window is coming down.. tried a few times after that sound still there and it only starts when the window is halfway down.. anybody faced something like this before?
Get some silicone spray and lube the window rubber linings.
BartS
post Oct 1 2012, 05:29 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(Gigabit @ Oct 1 2012, 08:50 AM)
You need to put additional 4 psi for front and rear as the recommended tyre pressure is for car on stationary position. Once the car have travelled more than 1.5km, the tyre have expanded and thus need to put in extra 4 psi. This tip was shared by mat79 on this forum sometime back.
I tried the tip but discovered 4 psi was too much for my liking. Tires were hard/bumpy and that severely compromises the comfort of the ride. In the end, I went back to the 32/30 as stated by the door. Don't really mind the risk of premature tyre wear so long as I find my ride comfy.

This post has been edited by BartS: Oct 1 2012, 05:31 PM
BartS
post Oct 4 2012, 12:15 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Oct 3 2012, 07:20 PM)
i slowly slowly start to pull mine off laugh.gif annoying coz very hard to close door
LOL .. I did try to warn some guys not to overdo with the DIY rubber seals. Too much is really no good. Some guys simply like the feeling of being in a closed pressurised fish tank. I prefer a light airy quiet environment. After installing for the first time, I ended up potong-potong here & there a few days later so that the doors close easier. At some areas, big D is such an overkill.
BartS
post Oct 12 2012, 03:56 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(ahaidir777 @ Oct 12 2012, 12:01 PM)
Dear friend,

Since my telinga is pedas already becoz my adik always complain the cvt woooooo wooooo sound during slowdown, I was thinking to reduce this sound by installing sound proofing material/insulation at firewall, what u guys think? worth to proceed? but quite expensive also, huhu
Preve is already well padded at the firewall. Won't gain much from doing soundproofing there. CVT whine may however be addressed by replacing the soundproofing material on the front bonnet. I had mine done in August. You can read about it here > http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=54052924

Next pic is courtesy of WhiteLighter

This post has been edited by BartS: Oct 12 2012, 04:11 PM
BartS
post Oct 12 2012, 04:25 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 12 2012, 04:15 PM)
Stick stp silver+ hood solution. I going to try tat soon..
Lol .. it cost money. Do that only if the whine annoys you smile.gif
BartS
post Oct 12 2012, 05:08 PM

151 posts

when u sit in teana and u compare their cvt sound to us then u will wan to do soundproofing to get rid of tat sound. Smooth transmission with no whine= best

Lol .. not fair to compare with a car that's 2X the price. If like that, better compare with car that's 1/2 the price, e.g. Kancil. Sure win liao. On it's own, at that price range, I think it's difficult to find a challenger for Preve in terms of NVH.

This post has been edited by BartS: Oct 12 2012, 05:09 PM
BartS
post Oct 12 2012, 05:17 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(maverickng @ Oct 12 2012, 05:08 PM)
rclxub.gif hancur
If compared to Elantra, that doesn't look too bad

Added on October 12, 2012, 5:44 pmAnd if compare to P1's test simulation, the results looks close. Then again, I'm no expert.

This post has been edited by BartS: Oct 12 2012, 05:44 PM
BartS
post Oct 12 2012, 05:52 PM

151 posts

Lol .. instead of repeatedly posting 1 pictar + 1 smiley, how about posting the entire link like so .. http://www.forblogger.net/2012/10/proton-p...crash-test.html
BartS
post Oct 12 2012, 06:06 PM

151 posts

No worries. This thread is always interesting because LYN has so many interesting people. Thread only gets depressing when people are bi7chin about their cars. Would be great if one (or more) of the veterans gives a positive review of his/her car.

Added on October 12, 2012, 6:09 pm
QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Oct 12 2012, 06:04 PM)
For ANCAP result to publish, ANCAP themselve will pick random car from showroom. They buy the car and perform the test themselves. 
Just checked the Aussie dealer's website. Despite earlier claims of a September launch, Preve has yet to be released there. Think P1 is trying out to iron out the bugs before sending it over to more vociferous Aussies.

This post has been edited by BartS: Oct 12 2012, 06:09 PM
BartS
post Oct 12 2012, 11:56 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 12 2012, 11:07 PM)
just now i start my preve got krekkkkk sound.. not the 1st start of the day..  maybe is OWV problem.. gonna check for oil leak tomorrow.
Think it's related to brake pedal. Cold weather aggravates it since the cold shrinks the air within the vacuum servo. If I go to Genting and park overnight, quite often vacuum servo don't work till after I have reversed out and started going forward in 'D' gear. Have to really stomp on it to get the car to stop whilst in reverse. Once in 'D', it builds up enough vacuum pressure and problem goes away.

This post has been edited by BartS: Oct 12 2012, 11:59 PM
BartS
post Oct 14 2012, 03:02 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(ahaidir777 @ Oct 14 2012, 12:29 AM)
Dear BartS, saw ur previous post, it is good that it work to reduced the cvt sound during accelaration, but how about the "wuuuuu wuuuuuuuuuu wuuuuu" sound during deceleration to 0km/j, reduce also?  hmm.gif
Could be I may be getting deaf with age but after doing the soundproofing, I can barely hear the whine (that used to annoy the crap out of me). Perhaps WhiteLighter can drop in and offer his impressions.

Added on October 14, 2012, 3:16 am
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 9 2012, 11:28 PM)
Pardon me for the intrusion; mau promote sikit... tongue.gif

Firestorm Ignition Coil Bulk III

Tentative pricing will be around RM 230 to 240 depending on quantity. Normal price: RM 250

If Minimum Order Quantity reaches 5, price will be RM 240
MOQ of 15, price will be RM 230.
From what I have read, this product sounds a lot like the Alternator booster I saw at KL Auto. Your's is much cheaper btw. By your descript ...
The 5x stronger spark promotes complete combustion of the air-fuel mixture resulting in extra power squeezed out from the same amount of fuel burnt

Would this also mean my Iridium plugs would have shorter life span?

This post has been edited by BartS: Oct 14 2012, 03:17 AM
BartS
post Oct 20 2012, 11:21 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Oct 19 2012, 09:45 PM)
Asking the Executive edition, comparing with Saga 1.6 CVT in term of power is there any huge difference?
Pricing is higher than 10k but the spec to get are better and more comfort, now still considering..
Preve is 30% heavier than a Saga. Fair to assume given the same engine, the Saga 1.6 should be much more zippier.

Depends on your needs. If you want cheap & economical, go for the Saga. If you want a large, safer & more comfortable sedan, then the choice would be Preve.

Also have to consider how you plan to use the car. If you're a fresh grad, planning to commute within the city on a daily basis, with yourself as the sole passenger, choose the Saga for the fuel economy. If planning to ferry your family for balik kampung purposes, then I would choose the Preve. Ultimately, purchase what you can afford and not what you think you'll look better in.

This post has been edited by BartS: Oct 20 2012, 11:22 AM
BartS
post Nov 9 2012, 02:55 PM

151 posts

Something I read over at autoworld forum ( http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?s=...dpost&p=1841001 ). Perhaps something to keep an eye out for. Hopefully not

0.0546sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:54 PM