127 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Bottom

Proton Prevé V15, Slow & Steady, Come Join Us Already..

kenlui
post Nov 2 2012, 11:42 PM

2,380 posts

Just got the firestorm from V12kompressor today..

So far haven't really noticed the differences yet. Maybe will need a while more to take note.

While putting in the firestorm, a fused dropped into the engine bay, both he and me tried to find back that piece of fuse but just can't seem to find it, was a bit dark as car was parked in a basement. No rattling sound so far, hopefully it fell off somewhere while driving.
G K Lai
post Nov 3 2012, 12:20 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Nov 2 2012, 03:38 PM)
Hmm, from your experience and Arthur's, I'd say I would decline the update and stick with the original mapping. Currently, it takes me to drive like a mad man to get higher than 10L/100 km. My normal driving I can get 8.8 - 9.4 L/100km easily.
True also, if you're happy with the current setting, better don't change. laugh.gif

QUOTE(mat79 @ Nov 2 2012, 06:58 PM)
give it sometimes, it will be back to normal. New tcu need time to adapt ur driving style n correspond with engine ecu mapping.

They are doing it via software, but i think at 100kmh, shud be more or less the same rpm on overdrive.

I think, previously, its programmed to entered overdrive earlier, just rely in engine solely torque. But since many complaint about initial acceleration, so, the deffered a bit on that, only entered the od when the speed is stabilize. Its like putting s mode until nearly 2k rpm, but beyond that, back to d mode. But since some alteration on it strategies, better rev up by put the the resistance point higher, altered fast off n pull away strategies to giving better pickup, then, the whole thing will behave differently.

Remember when someone mentioned want bold cfe setting in preve cfe?

However, on the top speed, maybe the upcoming ecu mapping, can help it. But still not available yet.

The engine oil is also heavy for city driving at 15w 50. If permitted, next time bring own fs engine oil rating 5w30@5w40. If want to use semi, just stick with 10w 30.
Hey! Wow! I really happy to hear that my FC still have chance to go lower than present, there's still hopes. icon_rolleyes.gif
Yup I remember people keep requesting Preve CFE to act like Bold CFE when the word "sluggish" are all over Preve thread. laugh.gif
I will say bye bye to this SC bro, next time should be no more 15W/50 for me, going to other SC and in worst case, go back to my familiar small SC that use Mobil-1 that I think which is quite good.

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Nov 2 2012, 07:22 PM)
it is normal everytime after use new TCU, FC will high for some time, just like u just got ur car...
(highlight this for other forumer to notice this...)
after some time, after few tank refuel, FC will lower time from time...

i would say better than most Edar sc, i done my second service there, since then, i just stick to there only...

i got the news from allen, he "owns" a edar sc in ipoh...u see la, tell u come TT u dun wan, lost a lot of precious info.... tongue.gif
no la, he got share out in fb prevoc...

that is correct, 80km/h ady near 2k rpm...if 100km/h, 2k rpm or 2.1k rpm...
during D, if u press brake and waiting at traffic lights, the rpm lower to 600....
be careful when u do reverse from D....for example, u want to do 3 point turn, when u want to engage R, do it slowly, otherwise, probably u will face mati engine...
i faced this right after i apply new TCU...
Really many thanks for the good news you told me about the FC thing. I thought I am fcuked to have this high FC forever. sweat.gif
Haha... ok I know TT is important, let me try again! icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Nov 2 2012, 07:22 PM)

Added on November 2, 2012, 7:35 pm
bro, what is overdrive?
in ATI graphic card got overdrive i know la, but for car overdrive, i dun understand what it is, pls enlighten me...
Last time when we drive a 4-speed AT car, there's a button at the gear knob. Once pressed during high speed cruising, the RPM suddenly dropped down and the engine sound suddenly quiet while the speed remain the same. But can't remember if any 3-speed AT car equipped with this OD function? biggrin.gif

mat79
post Nov 3 2012, 01:07 AM

1,011 posts

actually, nearly every car gbox has overdrive gear @od. Generally, Its gear that ratio is less than 1, n normally last gear. Like honda's 5 at, it has 2 overdrive gear. Thats why now 4th gear in the gear slot. Reason, to lower the engine rpm to give better fuel economy,but has less power coz torque is lower at that rpm during cruising. Like honda's, sudden press on accelerator, cause it to downshift to third. for manual, normally, if its 5th gear, then its is the fifth. But some has dual overdrive also like aichikikai in saga blm n fl.

In auto, if to overtake, sometimes it has off overdrive button. If u switch off overdrive, u can feel, the power is coming n rpm raising bcoz it down shift n never enter the last gear@overdrive gear. In prev mitsu auto trans in prtn, prtn dont use button, but u can see number 3 in the gear slot, it has the same function. To off overdrive, so, gear only shift in 1,2 n 3rd gear only.

For punch cvt,its quite unique. If in sat mode, there is no overdrive mode, but in full cvt, there is. Since cvt is stepless, then the general rules on ratio below than 1 isnt apply. Check ur manual book, u can the diff between last ratio on full cvt mode with last ratio in manual mode.

Previous setting is heavily labour for fuel efficiency, but the main problem(when people complaint), it has sluggish feeling n people tend to press hard to accelerate, so, beating the original purpose of the tuning, then fc will also affected.

Then, by giving diff setting, change resistance point, clamping n etc, u will get better acceleration, but if dont cntrol ur right foot, also mean the same thing. But it seems they compensate that by bringing down a lil bit the rpm than usual during full stop by using footbrake, normally around 650 to 700 rpm, now its lower. Exora tuned is nearly the same coz its heavier than preve, but of course, need to alter n test it b4 deliver to customer.

Even people said they dont listen, but they do listen, dont they :-).

Added on November 3, 2012, 1:21 amn mr gk lai, its like u r driving a new car(albeit not really new), its back to ground zero, same as ecu reflash, both tcu n ecu, need to learn back ur driving pattern b4 deciding the best between power n fc, the balance. That is adaptive programmed is all about. Just be patience.

As i mentioned really early before, they can make it fast, i mean really fast, but many things need to consider n many objective need to examine b4 deciding coz for example, if there is no torque reduction n crawl strategy, the car will be fast coz all the torque will be sent to the wheel. If u just drive around neighbourhood, a slight tap on the pedal can cause the car to launch rapidly n its quite dangerous, same as when u search for parking. U need to remember, in cvt, engine speed(rpm) easily can goes up, n the cvt is stepless, u dont want to bang the wall@another car when park.

Diff from step auto or manual where the speed is limit, like 1st gear, is only until 50kmh only, even at high rpm, for example, 6k rpm, 1st gear only take u up to 50kmh, but in cvt, 6k rpm, means highest speed as possible, in cfe, beyond 200kmh. Thats why cvt is banned from formula 1 earlier, coz if implement torque reduction, it become slow, if release all torque, it become too fast n maybe uncontrollable. So, its not as easy as it looks in mapping cvt tcu n mapping engine ecu to work together in harmony.Happy driving.

This post has been edited by mat79: Nov 3 2012, 01:21 AM
V12Kompressor
post Nov 3 2012, 01:21 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Nov 2 2012, 11:42 PM)
Just got the firestorm from V12kompressor today..

So far haven't really noticed the differences yet. Maybe will need a while more to take note.

While putting in the firestorm, a fused dropped into the engine bay, both he and me tried to find back that piece of fuse but just can't seem to find it, was a bit dark as car was parked in a basement. No rattling sound so far, hopefully it fell off somewhere while driving.
had a great time dealing with you and really sorry about that sweat.gif

timetravelller
post Nov 3 2012, 10:34 AM

307 posts

which service centre u guys recommended??
mat79
post Nov 3 2012, 11:31 AM

1,011 posts

ok,i think its about time for break, see u guys in the future. Hope u guys enjoying ur ride. Salam n bye.
archiq
post Nov 3 2012, 02:30 PM

QUOTE(mat79 @ Nov 3 2012, 11:31 AM)
ok,i think its about time for break, see u guys in the future. Hope u guys enjoying ur ride. Salam n bye.
nooooo... don't leave... cry.gif thanks for all the advice.. it is truly useful for some of us noob.. come back again later k!
G K Lai
post Nov 3 2012, 03:27 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(mat79 @ Nov 3 2012, 01:07 AM)
QUOTE(mat79 @ Nov 3 2012, 11:31 AM)
OMG! Where are you going and how long? cry.gif
Was thinking to ask how this TCU/ECU learn driving pattern and how to "train" them to what we prefer... sad.gif
Anyway, wish you all the best and see you next Monday! laugh.gif
metaled
post Nov 4 2012, 12:20 PM

273 posts

3800 km into my CFE and im noticing this rattling noise when the road is terribly uneven.it is driving me crazy.

Rattling noise come from somewhere on the right front air cond area on the driver side.and also my left front door.when knocking pressure(like knocking door hi is john in??blah blah)is applied on dashboard around that area,i can hear something rattling inside(sounds like screw vibrating).Are u guys experiencing this?

There is tok tok tok sound also coming from my rear right absorber when im shaking the car(testing absorber, nothing explicit if that is the case) or when it go through bumps and uneven road.Shaking the absorber spring by hand yield the same sound. Anyone?

Anyway Hi everyone, me too a silent reader that follow this thread extremely closely close. fantastic thread.

This post has been edited by metaled: Nov 4 2012, 12:24 PM
G K Lai
post Nov 5 2012, 02:52 AM

839 posts

Heard that new ECU is out? hmm.gif
Read this info all around the Internet today, if it is real, what should we do to get our car updated?

Area51SE
post Nov 5 2012, 11:09 AM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Nov 5 2012, 02:52 AM)
Heard that new ECU is out?  hmm.gif
Read this info all around the Internet today, if it is real, what should we do to get our car updated?
Same Question here , Does all the SC has the new updated ECU software or only specific ones blink.gif
Gigabit
post Nov 5 2012, 11:34 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(Area51SE @ Nov 5 2012, 11:09 AM)
Same Question here , Does all the SC has the new updated ECU software or only specific ones  blink.gif
According to Prevoc Facebook, new ECU software only for Test Car, for the rest of us, need to get approval first......
G K Lai
post Nov 5 2012, 12:14 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(Gigabit @ Nov 5 2012, 11:34 AM)
According to Prevoc Facebook, new ECU software only for Test Car, for the rest of us, need to get approval first......
Many thanks for the answer... smile.gif
sanadi
post Nov 5 2012, 12:24 PM

New ECU or TCU that Arthur and G K Lai have updated on their car? Any details on the update, i.e what it does etc.?
Gigabit
post Nov 5 2012, 12:26 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Nov 5 2012, 12:24 PM)
New ECU or TCU that Arthur and G K Lai have updated on their car? Any details on the update, i.e what it does etc.?
Officially new ECU or TCU not yet released to the general public. Only update test car. Of course, individual SC could have update the Preves with ECU or TCU but dependent on their willingness to do it.
arthur88
post Nov 5 2012, 01:05 PM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(Gigabit @ Nov 5 2012, 12:26 PM)
Officially new ECU or TCU not yet released to the general public. Only update test car. Of course, individual SC could have update the Preves with ECU or TCU but dependent on their willingness to do it.
TCU is ady release to all preve, its in their buletin ady...which i get it last month or two months back...
i just doubt whether currently preve owners who claim to have new ECU is actually TCU only...
taipan22
post Nov 5 2012, 01:40 PM

97 posts

I went to COSE to do my 10K service on 23/10 and complain about the cold start overcrank issue, after the routine lube service , they reflash my ECU with the new ECU mapping and i hv been driving with it for the past 2 weeks. Below are some of my observations:-

Cold Start Overcrank

This new ECU mapping really solve my morning overcrank issue, i hv purposely let my preve rest idle for 25 & 45 hrs during the Hariraya holiday and it starts without any overcrank and asthma problem . Before this i will get 2 or 3 overcrank out of 7 morning start and sometime the engine with go into asthma mode. With the new ECU mapping which mainly is for Pickup Improvement and solving overcrank , as told by the RnD engineer who did the flashing , the overcrank and asthma is gone. I hv notice that the car now starts with shorter crank period and the starting rpm is lower than before , from 1.5K to 1.2K then drop to idling 800.

Improve Pickup

Proton hv program this new ECU mapping for better pickup performance . The car now is much responsive then before , and one just press the gas peddle a bit the rpm will shoot past 2K easily. This made lane changing , overtaking or coming from junction more easy and confident.

Fuel Consumption

From my observation , the FC is more or less the same as before but unfortunately will need more refill to confirm the actual FC . For the 1st week usage i didnt travel much due to holiday and 2nd week becos of frequent heavy rain which cause abnormal long hour jam klang valley , the actual FC cannot be computed . But roughly will be about 10.5L to 11L per 100KM, 50% City 50% highway . But i really donot think the FC will improve , my wish is if it can maintain the same will be very nice , or suffer abit also never mind as the car now is so responsive. Imagine when approaching those traffic light with countdown timer and it shows 10 secs left you just press the pedal harder and there you go zoom past it within few secs..

All the above are my own experience and observation and hopefully with more members update their ECU with this new mapping then we can compare the actual findings.

arthur88
post Nov 5 2012, 01:43 PM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(taipan22 @ Nov 5 2012, 01:40 PM)
I went to COSE to do my 10K service on 23/10 and complain about the cold start overcrank  issue, after the routine lube service , they reflash my ECU with the new ECU mapping and i hv been driving with it for the past 2 weeks. Below are some of my observations:-

Cold Start Overcrank

This new ECU mapping really solve my morning overcrank issue, i hv purposely let my preve rest idle for 25 & 45 hrs during the Hariraya holiday and it starts without any overcrank and asthma problem . Before this i will get 2 or 3 overcrank out of 7 morning start and sometime the engine with go into asthma mode. With the new ECU mapping which mainly is for Pickup Improvement and solving overcrank , as told by the RnD engineer who did the flashing , the overcrank and asthma is gone. I hv notice that the car now starts with shorter crank period and the starting rpm is lower than before , from 1.5K to 1.2K then drop to idling 800.

Improve Pickup

Proton hv program this new ECU mapping for better pickup performance . The car now is much responsive then before , and one just press the gas peddle a bit the rpm will shoot past 2K easily. This made lane changing , overtaking or coming from junction more easy and confident.

Fuel Consumption

From my observation , the FC is more or less the same as before but unfortunately will need more refill to confirm the actual FC . For the 1st week usage i didnt travel much due to holiday and 2nd week becos of frequent heavy rain which cause abnormal long hour jam klang valley , the actual FC cannot be computed . But roughly will be about 10.5L to 11L per 100KM, 50% City 50% highway .  But i really donot think the FC will improve , my wish is if it can maintain the same will be very nice , or suffer abit also never mind as the car now is so responsive.  Imagine when approaching those traffic light with countdown timer and it shows 10 secs left you just press the pedal harder and there you go zoom past it within few secs..

All the above are my own experience and observation and hopefully with more members update their ECU with this new mapping then we can compare the actual findings.
from what u said, my assumption is:
1. new ecu solve overcrank issue.
2. tcu give better pickup.

note: fc for new tcu will give high fc, but it will get lower over times...which mat79 and i highlighted this point several times...

This post has been edited by arthur88: Nov 5 2012, 01:47 PM
taipan22
post Nov 5 2012, 01:57 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Nov 5 2012, 01:43 PM)
from what u said, my assumption is:
1. new ecu solve overcrank issue.
2. tcu give better pickup.

note: fc for new tcu will give high fc, but it will get lower over times...which mat79 and i highlighted this point several times...
Yes , it could be as what you said , as i was more concern abt the overcrank issue when talk to the engineer and didnt ask much abt the TCU or FC issue .
DaBestOne
post Nov 5 2012, 02:35 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Nov 5 2012, 02:52 AM)
Heard that new ECU is out?  hmm.gif
I also want to know too laugh.gif

Added on November 5, 2012, 2:36 pm
QUOTE(Gigabit @ Nov 5 2012, 11:34 AM)
Ic..thanks for the answer laugh.gif

This post has been edited by DaBestOne: Nov 5 2012, 02:36 PM

127 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:59 AM