STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V125, stimulus, no stimulus, stimulus...

duckaton
post Oct 3 2012, 02:55 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

noob question:

I holds 10k shares maxis.
using mbb2u online trading

today noticed theres maxis-ch issued by maybank.
how come i got no info at all on this?
who is entitled to the warrants?
who can buy at the offering price of rm0.15?

thank you in advance.
duckaton
post Oct 3 2012, 03:09 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 3 2012, 03:05 PM)
That's a call warrant, issued by the bank and not by the company.
Usually Maybank will send notices to Bursa and inform traders (if you subscribe to their mailing list).
so nobody can buy at the issue price of rm0.15?
they list to market and people trade?
that is gamble isnt it?
now market price is rm0.22

expiring 2013 excercise price rm6.70
maxis now trading at 7.00ish

usually warrant supposed to be exercise6.70 - marketnow7.00 = 0.30 now?
or market predict maxis will go down?

thank you in advance
duckaton
post Oct 3 2012, 03:15 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 3 2012, 03:13 PM)
The conversion is 5.
Means 5 x 22 cents = RM 1.10 + 6.7 = Rm 7.80
Representing premium of 11.43%.
yes, you are right.

announcement 1st oct, listing 3rd oct
so fast?
i oso wanna call like that...

who can subscribe to the ipo?
duckaton
post Oct 3 2012, 03:20 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 3 2012, 03:17 PM)
Nobody. The bank itself will release all to the market depending on the method.
Some are issuing based on market making method.
so if the bank release at ipo0.15 x 5 = 0.75 + conversion6.70 = 7.25
the bank lose once maxis goes above rm7.25 right?

they know something we don't...

duckaton
post Oct 3 2012, 03:27 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

QUOTE(Max Soh @ Oct 3 2012, 03:24 PM)
First, 0.75+6.70=7.45
Second, the settlement is only after the expiry date 28 June 2013.
thanks for the correction.

that means mbb thinks that maxis won't go above 7.45 on 28 june 2013
who are we ikan bilis to refute that,

now is rm0.22 X 5 + 6.70 = rm7.80 on 28 june 2013
duckaton
post Oct 3 2012, 03:38 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 3 2012, 03:28 PM)
Yes.

But investment bank can own Maxis share now at Rm7.00 to hedge against the rise.
or
the investment bank already own the Maxis share prior before issue the CWs.

So they are not in position to lose. But CWs, can be a way to hedge against downside risk of Maxis share they own.
as you have 2 scenario

1. Maxis share surge more than RM7.25, they lose some on CW, but gain on Maxis share they owned. Since the CWs is issued at a premium, the gain of Maxis share should be more than loss in CW.

2. Maxis share plunge or below RM7.25, they gain from CW issued , while the gain from CWs should be more than enoughs CW (as is issued at a premium to market price) to cover the lose of Maxis share owned. So net to net, still gain.

So see who is the winner?
if this is the case, which most probably are,
call-warrants shouldn't even be allowed.

it is similar to selling risk and passing them to us. vmad.gif
duckaton
post Oct 3 2012, 11:41 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 3 2012, 05:38 PM)
There is always reason why rich become richer.

One can hedge around with derivatives product.
The rich one can access more investment product, structured product around, derivatives, and many many more that is not accessible for ordinary.

You know, in US, you can buy other mortgages, or "own other mortgages" through MBS.
One can buy over others insurance (defaulted or cannot continue pay a premium on the insurance) and gain a profit from it through continue the policy. I cannot 100% sure on this, as only knew and still studying recently
Correct me if I am wrong.
In US, loans/risks are packaged and sold as loan stocks/bonds.
The origin of the current sub-prime crisis.

If our call warrants continues to be unregulated,
it will not be long before we head that way.
duckaton
post Oct 5 2012, 02:49 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Oct 5 2012, 02:47 PM)
Got EPL?  LIVE?
fixed

0.0437sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:26 PM