Nokia Lumia 820, Budgeted Nokia Windows phone 8

weim76
post Jan 22 2013, 09:51 PM

224 posts

After I got back my L820 from the service center (with the motherboard changed), I notice under Settings > Extras + info, the Manufacturer Model Name is RM-825_eu_euro1, and mobile operator name is 000-GB. When I used 'find my phone' application in windowsphone.com, the time shows British time, 8 hours later than Malaysia. My region is set as US. Is this normal? I cannot remember what the original unit showed previously.

The reason I sent my phone to the service center in the first place.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2668280
weim76
post Jan 22 2013, 11:28 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(foxxy @ Jan 22 2013, 10:55 PM)
Here's some reference for you,
Manufacturer Model Name - RM-825_apac_malaysia_288
Mobile Operator Name - 000-MY
They gave you a G.B unit ?
Any difficulty acquiring the network ? How bout purchasing from store ? Guess not much difference between a GB and MY unit i think.
Yeah, it appears to indicate a UK motherboard. So far, no problems to download free apps from the Store. Other than the British time showing on 'find my phone'.... I have not encountered anything else - yet. Touch wood!

weim76
post Jan 23 2013, 05:45 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Jan 23 2013, 03:50 PM)
how come they replaced with european part???  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
I called the service center to clarify and they mentioned that currently all replacement motherboards are taken from overseas. But warranty still under Nokia Malaysia. Probably they might have 'Malaysian' boards in the future, I am not sure. I wonder how I might take advantage of the UK hardware? hmm.gif
weim76
post Jan 27 2013, 11:33 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(m|key @ Jan 27 2013, 08:50 AM)

Is there anyway we can change the font size?
QUOTE(foxxy @ Jan 27 2013, 10:01 AM)
welcome to the club, unfortunately no  sweat.gif
You may change the text size though (if that is what you mean) - only for Phone, People, Email, Messaging and Lock Screen...

Settings > Ease of access > Text size
weim76
post Feb 21 2013, 06:26 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Feb 21 2013, 02:34 PM)
Finally Nokia adjusts the pricing for Lumia 820 biggrin.gif

Lumia 820 Price Cut

Price is more attractive now  rclxm9.gif
Damn... They should have realized the price was on the higher side when they launched here. Anyway, still happy to have bought it.
weim76
post Feb 27 2013, 08:15 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Feb 27 2013, 06:24 PM)
after a months of using this phone... last 2 weeks convert this phone from spare phone to main usage phone... and i found problem.

anyway if that was due to my setting pls enlight me..

1. whatsapp still like old time... slow receiving... that is problem 1... problem 2 is after i read the new message and out...the live tile still show the new of message i didnt read...i close the screen, unlock, lock unlock, goto other page 9setting, go back home screen... open browser. go back to home screen... still show me the unread message.....
2. call drop when receive sms.... wat lau eh,.... why happen to me... my call just drop everytime i receive a sms.... tested 1 week 100% confirm... switch back to nexus tomoro...

3. once line drop off.... meaning i cant call out also...is it happen to me only? i use all telco default setting only..i am on maxis line. i hv to wait few minutes...ies is few minutes then only i can see the "G" or "H"....
4. i want a big ring volume , but when i switch it more then 20... problem... the dial keypad sound also increase... can i hv like IOS that the keypad sound is soft soft type ? yes i know i can switch this off...but i wondering do i hv other selection ?
5. the antenna signal is weaker then ip4s..that i can say... and plus above keep on dropping call and later no signal....everyday i will receive sms notify me i got missed call...

6. my battery unit is vy loose... i can feel the battery is shaking when i carry the phone up and down.... is this call "vibrate battery"..hahahah...everytime open casing the battery "auto eject"......any lumia user hv this problem....i heard that lumia 620 same also.
of cos this phone also got good things one...the battery is better then my nexus.camera better also...and my yellow set can attract more eye ball as well...

will still carry this phone out but demote it back to my secondary line ... i cant tolerate the drop call issue...
Better send for repair while still under warranty.

This post has been edited by weim76: Feb 27 2013, 08:16 PM
weim76
post Mar 1 2013, 08:39 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(jackal_x2005 @ Mar 1 2013, 08:03 PM)
just bought Lumia 820 yellow color from Nokia Store at Low Yat Plaza!

Super excited!
does it come with portico update?
weim76
post Mar 9 2013, 10:32 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Mar 8 2013, 12:26 PM)
mine seems like it's draining pretty fast too. turned on battery saver before i sleep, when i woke up it dropped to 86%, from full charge. Idle also the percentage could drop around 4-5%. Turned off all the unnecessary background stuff, and settings that i dont need. Any other tips? smile.gif
QUOTE(m|key @ Mar 8 2013, 12:36 PM)
just feeling something is running at the background. i charged fully at about 12am, and when i woke up at 8am, my battery reading is about 65%. no app running background, wifi on.
Do you guys turn on the 'flight mode' before going to bed? Try it and if it makes a big difference, it could be due to poor cellular signals in your area.
weim76
post Mar 14 2013, 08:21 PM

224 posts

Explore what's inside your Lumia 820. Don't try this at home...

http://allaboutwindowsphone.com/flow/item/..._Lumia_820s.php
weim76
post Apr 16 2013, 09:45 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(ahnien @ Apr 16 2013, 08:04 PM)
820 black user here.

upgraded from 800 cyan.

still having headache managing the contacts.
it js mix up / duplicate all the contacts frm hotmail.

zzzzz... Anyone got any good idea to manage to contacts?
maybe u need to link ur duplicated contacts; eg, John from ur phonebook needs to be linked to the same John from Facebook... So there will only be one entry for John.
weim76
post Apr 19 2013, 12:00 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(faifai94 @ Apr 18 2013, 11:09 PM)
perhaps u can get some case and screen protector from lelong, i think nillkin case is bundled with screen protector
Yes, Nillkin hardcover case comes with sp. But I screwed up during installation.... finally managed to find a matte sp at Nokia store in Mahkota Parade, Melaka. Charged me ridiculous price for it. No choice as I couldn't wait and couldn't find it in other shops. That was more than 2 months ago. It should be easier and cheaper to get these days from the shops, but I have not looked for it since then.
weim76
post Apr 19 2013, 08:20 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Apr 19 2013, 02:16 PM)
anyone got received OTA update?
Still waiting.. Expectations get lower and lower with each passing day. Losing trust with Nokia Malaysia. But it's only a matter of time; OTA will come, surely.... Maybe in a few more months, Haha... Screwed up big time.
weim76
post Apr 19 2013, 09:08 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Apr 19 2013, 08:30 PM)
just use NSU for retail 2.0.6 la  icon_rolleyes.gif
Yeah, will use it as last resort when I am really desperate. My free space is still enough for now, I dun have/need LTE in my area yet, I am ok with WiFi off in lock screen (not active whatsapp user), Portico improvement for camera is more for L920 and less for L820, battery lasts me > 1 day... So, I can afford to wait for now... Dun want the hassle and time-wasting of manual update, not to mention the data loss in some of my apps.
But one day, I will surely need to update it. Hopefully, OTA is ready by then.
weim76
post Apr 23 2013, 06:49 PM

224 posts

Those of u who managed to update through OTA; what network/carrier are u using? I am using Celcom but it says my phone is up-to-date, no new updates for me.. I am still pre-portico. Damn.
weim76
post Apr 24 2013, 08:46 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(weim76 @ Apr 23 2013, 06:49 PM)
Those of u who managed to update through OTA; what network/carrier are u using? I am using Celcom but it says my phone is up-to-date, no new updates for me.. I am still pre-portico. Damn.
QUOTE(godhpf @ Apr 23 2013, 06:51 PM)
I'm on maxis. My father is on digi. My father (portico) is able to update to 1308.
My 820 (pre-portico) can only update to portico but firmware version stays the same.
QUOTE(xSean @ Apr 24 2013, 12:32 AM)
how come got 1308 firmware...many 820 users do not have that update...
QUOTE(weileong @ Apr 24 2013, 08:04 AM)
i not sure that dude..i got the 10 updates after rebooting..my wife lumia 820 firmware show 1308.. is nokia my unit on maxis lte package
See previous posts. It seems that those L820 units already with Portico are able to get post-Portico firmware 1308, while those stock units (pre-Portico) can only get Portico OS without 1308 firmware. Hopefully, that will be resolved soon.
My case is a bit complicated because my motherboard is from UK (after repair at Nokia Care 2 months ago) and I am using Celcom. No OTA updates available for me yet. Not sure whether it's due to Celcom or UK board.
weim76
post Apr 25 2013, 09:28 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Apr 25 2013, 06:45 PM)
no 1308.... sien...
I lagi sien. I still cannot get OTA for Portico OS. I suspect it's due to my UK board (after repair at Nokia Care). This is what Nokia Malaysia replied to me:

Please be advised that the Over-the-air update for your Nokia Lumia 820 has already been released globally regardless if your motherboard has been replaced by a UK board. Your phone notifies you once an update is available. We ask you to be patient, as updates for Nokia Lumia range are always released gradually for the update to become available for everyone. To make sure you don’t miss out on the notification, check on your phone that under Settings > Phone Update > “Tell me when updates are available for my phone” is enabled.

Cheers,
The Nokia Malaysia FB Team

Sure or not rclxub.gif ..... Let's see.
weim76
post Apr 25 2013, 10:36 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Apr 25 2013, 09:45 PM)
Just update via NSU bro brows.gif
One day, one day.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by weim76: Apr 25 2013, 10:36 PM
weim76
post Apr 30 2013, 05:18 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(weim76 @ Apr 25 2013, 09:28 PM)
I lagi sien. I still cannot get OTA for Portico OS. I suspect it's due to my UK board (after repair at Nokia Care). This is what Nokia Malaysia replied to me:

Please be advised that the Over-the-air update for your Nokia Lumia 820 has already been released globally regardless if your motherboard has been replaced by a UK board. Your phone notifies you once an update is available. We ask you to be patient, as updates for Nokia Lumia range are always released gradually for the update to become available for everyone. To make sure you don’t miss out on the notification, check on your phone that under Settings > Phone Update > “Tell me when updates are available for my phone” is enabled.

Cheers,
The Nokia Malaysia FB Team

Sure or not  rclxub.gif ..... Let's see.
I still failed to get OTA. I couldn't wait any longer. I tried NSU for Retail at home but the estimated installation time puts me off. Just to update from firmware 1242 to 1249 needs more than 10 hours. I believe from 1249 to 1308 will take another 10 hours plus. Total >20 hours. Too bad I don't have Unifi, just a slow Streamyx connection at home. Today I took half-day leave just to go to Nokia Care to update it - today happened to be the last day that they would update for free. Settled in 1 hour plus. rclxms.gif
Now comes the difficult part -> reinstall, re-layout, re-apply settings, re-customize ringtones, etc... sweat.gif mad.gif

weim76
post May 2 2013, 09:12 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ May 1 2013, 11:35 PM)
how about new update in future? Still need do manual flash?
Should be able to get future OTA updates like other normal Malaysian users, because now the "extras+info" setting shows that the board is 'Malaysian' after reflash to local firmware version....

One more frustrating experience I had. As I was halfway through re-installing and re-customizing my phone, I noticed that the SD card cannot be detected. Tried formatting it using PC, still the same. Googled it, and found out that the solution is to do hard-reset with the SD card in the phone. Damn.. Have to redo all over again. vmad.gif
When Nokia Care did the reflashing, the SD card was returned to me together with the SIM card, so I should have done a hard reset immediately when I re-inserted back both cards into the phone. sweat.gif
weim76
post May 19 2013, 03:52 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(gwping @ May 18 2013, 03:24 PM)
Interested in this phone, but have 2 question to 820 sifus here.....

1. how is the GPS in this phone? I mean can we install 2 or 3 country map inside this phone? cause Lumia 720 cannot....
Actually, L720 can also download many country maps for walking navigation through Here Maps. But Here Drive turn-by-turn voice navigation only works with the single country map based on the 1st SIM card inserted.

0.0357sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:57 AM