Nokia Lumia 920, ITS OFFICIAL PRICE IS RM1,999

zero_kbom
post Sep 10 2012, 02:08 AM

~I'll make you Miku Miku~
965 posts

After using N9, One X and White Lumia 900, I have to say that I love the fact that Nokia provides both option for Lumia 920. I personally will go with glossy yellow, as both my N9 and One X were such a nightmare to clean from oily stains.
zero_kbom
post Sep 13 2012, 12:54 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(DavidWKW @ Sep 10 2012, 11:50 PM)
Hmm... maybe doing all those Beta testing again.... >< Test the market to see whether we prefer glossy clolors or matte black? Or it can be glossy just matches color and matte feels better with dark colors?
Do you mean matte surface tends to get oily stains on it?

How about glossy, is it better to use if I have a sweaty hands/ in an oily environment?
YES. Matte surface tend to show oily stain on it. I'm talking through my experience of using a matte black N9, matte black One X and glossy white Lumia 900. At the very least, glossy surface allows me to just wipe the oils away without too much of a problem. Matte surface on the other hand tend to be a hit or miss. Heck, my N9 are having quite a bit of non wipeable oil stains. Truly heartbreaking.

Don't get me wrong, matte surface is probably the best one to hold and look. It just oozes premium. But practical wise, I'd go for glossy phones. Preferably those with striking color, as to mask the fingerprints.

Added on September 13, 2012, 12:58 pm
QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Sep 11 2012, 10:50 PM)
Glossy looks great on my white lumia 900, no problem and why would anyone pay attention to your phone's back? Chances that you will probably put a flipcase/cover/shield for your phone. And it doesn't look cheap plastic like some phones out there.

Like me, the phone is naked with a screen protector, scratch is very obvious on the rounded metal on the back, how about scratch on the glossy surface? not that obvious unless you slide your phone along the road.
Sadly enough, my glossy white Lumia 900 have a deep scratch at the back, although not that obvious unless I truly looking for it, but still...heartbreaking nonetheless.

Last last I bought the original Nokia silicon case for Lumia 900, cyan color. Looks much better IMHO.

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Sep 13 2012, 12:58 PM
zero_kbom
post Sep 18 2012, 12:20 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Sep 17 2012, 11:00 AM)
Silicon case? That super glossy cyan? D:
Not glossy lah. Soft touch. Nokia Soft Cover cc-1037

This one. But mine is cyan. And it feels amazing, with little to none added bulk.
zero_kbom
post Nov 23 2012, 11:12 AM

965 posts

Gotta admit, that flame war is funny as fark.

To Kuro, I'm currently in Ireland. Does the EE set can be unlocked, like those online unlocking service maybe? Because Eire is sadly...the stepchild of UK in almost everything, and everywhere I asked, the is no sight of Lumia 920, heck even 820. Only 8x is available here.

Anyway, congrats on having your unit. Now that its winter, Lumia 920 should suits you very well (low light camera, super sensitive screen)
zero_kbom
post Nov 23 2012, 11:37 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Nov 23 2012, 11:18 AM)
at the moment nope..... i believe even those online unlocking service couldn't unlock 920 (someone tested it before).... my bet is directly request EE/Orange/T-mobile to unlock it, but that have to be after 3 month of using their service... Probably your best way is either ordering from Clove/Expansys or ordering from German (amazon.de or cyberport.de) since they're selling unlocked one

and thanks smile.gif yeah... winter should be coming and no more removing glove to use it... having a hard time using my friend's s3 to take pictures when there's 1-day snow at my place last time  laugh.gif
Yep. I thought so. I still remember before that unlocking Lumia series is a hassle, esp those T-Mobile/ Orange sets, as they need to unlock for both of the operators before (Don't quote me on this. I just heard this from some phone vendors in my place)

I'm looking around in Amazon.de, but its mostly out of stock/ overpriced (at 800 euro...are they crazy?) Clove and Expansys also have shortage of stock (Clove having limited stock on 5th of December. Yep, 5th of December....priced at 520 pound/ 650 euro). I'll try to look around Cyberport, but I wouldn't get my hopes up too much.

Winter is coming, and for me, that sensitive screen alone makes this phone worth it. Still remember last year using my nose to answer a phonecall, when standing beside a line, which you can guess, makes everyone laugh their pants off. Never ever I want to do that again laugh.gif
zero_kbom
post Nov 23 2012, 11:58 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Nov 23 2012, 11:51 AM)
nose.....  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
Yeah. Funny shiet. My old Dell Venue Pro, although its a slider, cant pick up call by opening it. And my hands were full at that time, so I used my nose to slide the answer button. Its all so random anyway hahahahaha3. This one guy just saw me and laugh his arse off, and when all ppl in the line saw me, they too laughed.

I was so embarrassed, I ran into a nearby Tesco hahaha3 laugh.gif
zero_kbom
post Nov 23 2012, 01:01 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(adam20 @ Nov 23 2012, 12:18 PM)
Lol its awesome the way you answer your fone lol but couldnt u use ur face to slide it or ur thumb haha never tot of using nose at all.
Ahaha, blame winter for that. I'm wearing gloves at the time, and my head was covered by my hoodie. Still, that was one of the funniest moment of my life here I guess.
zero_kbom
post Dec 2 2012, 02:45 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Dec 1 2012, 05:26 PM)
Windows Phone 8 is said to support USB OTG meaning that supposedly you can just drag and drop fikes into the phone.

Added on December 1, 2012, 6:29 pmConfirmed that it supports USB on the Go. Just connect your Lumia 920 to your Windows PC and it will appear on Explorer and you should be able to drag & drop Documents/Music/Videos/Pictures/Ringtones into the Phone.
What you described there is USB Mass Storage although technically, Windows Phone 8 uses MTP protocol.

USB OTG= Plugging USB peripheral to the phone directly.

And to answer the original question, I don't think USB OTG was supported in WP8. I seldom using it on my N8 TBH, so thats not a problem for me, but I do understand others who may need that.
zero_kbom
post Dec 3 2012, 03:21 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 2 2012, 12:46 PM)
next week got media event for windows phone 8 and i got invited. Might plan to drop by to see how good is it

Added on December 2, 2012, 12:51 pm

OTG is useful in many ways. For Nokia N8 i use it to copy files from my phone to my thumbdrive when memory is full especially when travel or your friends want transfer files to you when there no computer or u can even plug your usb keyboard to type on your phone.

On note 2 i do transfer files between my pendrive to my sd card 32GB card and connect my logitech unifying while connected to a wireless keyboard and mouse i can control it like computer.

Well, to each and her own. I personally hate dangling wires, and I tend to rely on cloud more nowadays. But hey, just enjoy using it as you see fit.

You planning to go to the event? I got the invitation as well, but not being in Malaysia, of course I couldnt make it. Do make a coverage of it.
zero_kbom
post Dec 25 2012, 08:01 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Dec 24 2012, 02:43 PM)
It looks like Nokia Music is able to detect your Sim Card. The Mix Radio is only available to select countries only (mostly Europe and US). I had the same problem but after I updated to the latest Nokia Music, I managed to get Mix Radio again (I don't know how) and that is one reason why I am reluctant to do a hard reset on my Lumia 920.
On my Lumia 900, I didn't sign in the Nokia Account. IINM thats how they can detect which region you are on. Just reinstall Nokia Music, and dont sign in + use location service. Thats how it works for me before.

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Dec 24 2012, 06:56 PM)
Di kadai nokia di CP lolz .. laugh.gif

Added on December 24, 2012, 7:00 pm

was gonna go search for yellow sad.gif .. btw got foursquare or not  hmm.gif
There is an official 4sq app on WP Store, but use 4th and Mayor. Much, much, MUCH better experience, the best 4sq app on any platform IMHO.
zero_kbom
post Jan 1 2013, 03:26 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Jan 1 2013, 01:06 PM)
which LTE band again Malaysia will use?
Unrelated thing, but Kuro, can you verify this for me? Might be going to UK if this is true. Or you can get it for me hahaha3

http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/nokia-lumi...age=14#comments
zero_kbom
post Jan 2 2013, 11:12 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(geniuz @ Jan 2 2013, 10:21 PM)
Can we personalize ring/sms/notification tone like blackberry phones?
QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Jan 2 2013, 10:27 PM)
only ringtone can use custom one.... other only using built-in sounds
From using my Lumia 900, you can have custom ringtone/ alarm tone, but not custom SMS/ Notification tone

Just google for instruction. Or better, use apps such as Yourang (Convert youtube video as ringtone direct on the phone)

0.0473sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:13 PM