QUOTE(alwinnng @ Oct 6 2012, 11:59 PM)
Even if it is cheaper than Samsung S3, it would be less than the original price of RM2099 and not the current 'depreciated' one.Nokia Lumia 920, ITS OFFICIAL PRICE IS RM1,999
Nokia Lumia 920, ITS OFFICIAL PRICE IS RM1,999
Oct 7 2012, 08:47 AM
3,612 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Oct 26 2012, 07:32 PM
QUOTE(deddo @ Oct 26 2012, 06:43 PM) Eventho SAMSUNG ATIV S is lighter, thinner, bigger screen, bigger battery, but I'll still choose Lumia 920 for better camera.. Samsung always not so great on phone. Are you for real? Look at the success of their Galaxy series. The worldwide success of S2, S3 and Note. If that is not being good, I really don't know what is. |
Oct 26 2012, 07:58 PM
Oct 28 2012, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(murv90 @ Oct 28 2012, 01:57 AM) The success if Samsung because there were never real contenders against apple's reign. And samsung was early to the war and in the beginning they succeeded by copying apple. And then they got people stuck to their hardware race. Quadcores, 1-2gb ram, etc. So the success of Samsung was cause people saw Samsung as a representation for Android. The point of contention here is Samsung makes good phones which the earlier forummer erred in saying they do not but later admitted it was written wrongly.That aside, I'm not saying anything is wrong with samsung. They produce good phones. But putting WP platform concerned, they're just not bringing anything new to the game like the other competitors especially Nokia. They're putting in more innovations in a phone. And yes, their prowess if you will is in the Android platform. For Windows, they may be lacking behind, at least at this point in time. You get no argument on that. It is just their business strategy to concentrate on Android, riding on their present success but still be not left behind by having a foot in the Windows market. At this moment, I believe Windows = Nokia. Cheers. |
Oct 28 2012, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 28 2012, 10:37 AM) Back then i dislike android but samsung really finally chased up on the S3 and Note 2 For umpteen years I have been using iOS and just not too long ago migrated to Android but planning to give Windows a try cause I like the physical form of Nokia and the simplicity of the UI.From a WP user i kind of prefer not 2. WP consider boring already. No real time notification Haven't yet tried out the performance. Your statement on not real time notification is a fact? I thought that issue was just a problem with some units and not generic? Is that an issue with Nokia or Windows platform? If it is a real issue, I won't consider cause real time notification is important in all aspects. |
Oct 28 2012, 08:54 PM
[quote=aspire2oo6,Oct 28 2012, 11:04 AM]
That problem is on Windows phone not Nokia. Symbian back in the old days have real notifications. Even now iOS have notification even preview. On My note 2 you receive instant whatsapp message,viber messages and even line messages without the need to open the app like windows phone. the notification is real time. The current Windows phone 7.5 do not support multitasking as well. But Android they had take multitasking to the next level by multi window feature for windowsphone they are not even near. My iPhones, HOX and S3, they all have instant message notifications and as I said earlier that is important to me. If that is the case I would have to re-consider buying L920 when it comes out given this issue. I fervently hope they have addressed this issue and made real time notification prevalent. |
Nov 7 2012, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(skyline100 @ Nov 7 2012, 07:41 PM) In that case, let me ask you another question.If I have a data plan, then it is no problem receiving notifications for messages received via Whatsapp or Tango in real time as 3/4 G will be on. But if I do not have a data plan, does it mean that I will only receive messages when I on the phone as only then will Wifi come back on? |
Nov 8 2012, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(skyline100 @ Nov 7 2012, 07:41 PM) Yes, in Windows Phone 8 it still will automatically turn off wifi connection. QUOTE(PeeEl @ Nov 7 2012, 10:46 PM) In that case, let me ask you another question. Can some Sifus of Windows phones provide an answer as this would be one of the few deal clinchers for me to switch from iOS/Android to Windows?If I have a data plan, then it is no problem receiving notifications for messages received via Whatsapp or Tango in real time as 3/4 G will be on. But if I do not have a data plan, does it mean that I will only receive messages when I on the phone as only then will Wifi come back on? It has been established that there is real time message notification. Just need to verify this and if it is what I need, Lumia 920 will be my next phone. TQ. |
Nov 9 2012, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 9 2012, 07:57 AM) iphone is like android once u installed whatsapp, wechat ,line and etc its already running at background but on the WP7.5 phones u need to open whatsapp then leave it on the background for it to work with 3G noitification. Then that's not good. One would have to check the phone frequently to make sure messages from those installed apps are not missed.Not so sure about WP8 but should expecting such bad experience. Added on November 9, 2012, 8:48 am QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Nov 9 2012, 04:47 AM) Sorry but mind expounding on setting the interval? TQ.This post has been edited by PeeEl: Nov 9 2012, 08:48 AM |
Nov 12 2012, 10:53 AM
Nov 12 2012, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Nov 12 2012, 02:39 PM) ok... i'll try that apps also. but probably the test will be delayed since today i got full class. Thanks. Your doing us this favour is appreciated. What? Tango not in WP8??!!just to confirm the steps, i restart my phone, then immediately use my friend's phone to send the message to lumia 920. somehow, i couldn't find tango on the store, probably not compatible with wp8 the price for contract ones are varied. depending on the plan, you can get as cheap as free or as high as £240. but since here in UK lumia 920 is exclusive to EE/Orange/T-Mobile, the monthly payment is not cheap compared to other provider. i bought the off-contract one at Phones4u since somehow their system rejected my debit card as i suspected, they don't want to accept university residence as billing address. grabbed the phone for £460 and Orange PAYG sim, but over wpcentral, someone mentioned that he saw EE store sells lumia 920 off contract for £400 there goes my £60 which i can use to buy another Wii U games later Anyway, I am interested in your Lumia 920 'sleeping'. Then use your friend's phone to send you a message from those messenger apps and see whether you get any notifications/alerts. This post has been edited by PeeEl: Nov 12 2012, 03:15 PM |
Nov 16 2012, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Nov 12 2012, 04:24 PM) uk stuff is overpriced due to 20% VAT Thanks mate. You received those notifications when your phone was 'sleeping'? If so, it is good.do note that different place puts different pricing... like in US AT&T sells off contract for just $450 but bestbuy list as $599 Added on November 13, 2012, 3:23 amjust did the test on whatsapp, line & talkbox (wechat didn't send confirmation code to my friend's s3) although in a bit different way (turned off wifi/3g -> restart phone -> turn on wifi/3g -> send message from friend's phone) received notification of incoming message that last for about 8 seconds on top of the screen & some numbers indicating new unread message on the live tiles... i probably can test more tomorrow like receiving message while no active connection etc.... |
Dec 20 2012, 06:38 PM
A piece of information for everyone but is it actually true, I don't know as I was told by the shop assistant only.
Was at Paradigm Mall just now and checked with the Nokia Store there. Pre-order was supposed to be closed at 2pm today. For those who have pre-ordered, they will get their phones tomorrow. And they will also get a free gift. For those who did not pre-order can buy the phone tomorrow, subject to availability but will not be entitled to a free gift. What is the free gift? The shop assistant does not know. |
Dec 20 2012, 07:36 PM
Dec 21 2012, 11:40 PM
Dec 22 2012, 12:52 PM
Dec 27 2012, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(Rei7 @ Dec 27 2012, 05:21 PM) Only for Lumia 8X not 920 as far as I know. I think you are both right. But one is referring to Malaysia, the other, the States?!I heard only 8X got the Portico update. Nice. Still having doubts whether to update or not if the update are available. Guess i'll wait for you guys to update first and later update if it's available soon. |
Dec 30 2012, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(Rei7 @ Dec 30 2012, 10:23 PM) I'm never gonna upgrade to Portico after reading all the feedback here http://forums.wpcentral.com/nokia-lumia-92...e-feedback.html Why are you just taking cognizance of the bad and not the good? And whatever bad that happen to theirs do not mean it will happen to yours. |
Jan 2 2013, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(vickyrao @ Jan 2 2013, 10:45 AM) got mine replaced. however they gave me a UK set instead of a malaysian. And now i have vibration issue. Its like something is loose inside it. Will go again tomorrow to get this resolved. And wanna ask them why is the set given to me is not a malaysian set. Could it be a refurbished set? Like iPhones, when they RMA for you, it is usually a refurbished unit. But again, so fast they already have refurbished sets??? |
Jan 3 2013, 01:54 AM
QUOTE(Curiga @ Jan 3 2013, 12:14 AM) What on earth are you saying?Maxis now (since a couple of weeks ago) practices fair usage i.e. no additional charge if you exceed your quota. But the speed will be throttled. However, this policy only applies to those subscribers with 1gb and above. So, if yours is below 1gb, you will be charged. |
| Change to: | 0.0528sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:10 AM |