One Hand Operation with Big Screen Phone, HTC One X, Galaxy S III & Galaxy Note

TSbestofel
post Sep 5 2012, 08:54 AM, updated 14y ago

528 posts

Peace!

Calling for HTC One X, Samsung Galaxy Nexus, Galaxy S III, Galaxy Note & Note II users. How actually you interact with your phone by one hand? Is it suitable? Any tips to share?

This video shows you how I use my Samsung Galaxy S III by one hand:

And this is my idea to make my hand rest from climbing and go down:

Smart phone with big screen like HTC One X, Samsung Galaxy Nexus, Galaxy S III, Galaxy Note and Galaxy Note II, normally people interact one hand like this: Go up, go down, go up, go down, go up and go down again.

My idea is, when I hold the phone by one hand, I have option to resize the screen to 3.5 inches. If I use left hand, the small resized screen will zoom go to bottom left. If I use right hand, the small resized screen will zoom go to bottom right.

Then, it is easy to tap the top menu or icon or scroll down the notification bar. Then back to normal when the finger away from the screen after a few seconds.

It is nice if we have resizeable screen for easy interaction by one hand holding the phone.

To trigger the resize option, maybe by shake the phone, by long touch on the right bottom of the screen, or intelligently by innovative sensor that know I hold the screen with one hand.

This function will answer who claim that the best screen size for smartphone is only 3.5 inches.
mydragoon
post Sep 5 2012, 08:57 AM

7,044 posts

i suggest you quickly patent this idea -- MY IP office is in Bangsar.

patent in US too...

then see what happens in 5 yrs time. biggrin.gif

dun forget to share 5% with me for suggesting you patent this.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 5 2012, 08:58 AM
Baronic
post Sep 5 2012, 09:04 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

I have problems one hand on note. I use swipe options to quick launch and customise my keyboard using thumb keyboard. I wouldnt want to reduce my screen for any operations. Seems so silly. Might as well dont buy a big phone in the first place
TSbestofel
post Sep 5 2012, 09:08 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 5 2012, 08:57 AM)
i suggest you quickly patent this idea -- MY IP office is in Bangsar.

patent in US too...

then see what happens in 5 yrs time. biggrin.gif

dun forget to share 5% with me for suggesting you patent this.
What I study before is people can't patent their idea but need to make the idea work then can patent. That why if you watch the video from youtube page, the discription about the video I mention:

THIS IS A ROUGH IDEA FROM ME, IT IS OPEN TO DEVELOPER TO DEVELOP THIS FUNCTION. CONTACT ME IF YOU ARE WILLING TO GIVE ROYALTY TO ME WHEN THE FUNCTION SUCCESSFULLY DEVELOPED.

mydragoon
post Sep 5 2012, 09:13 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Sep 5 2012, 09:08 AM)
What I study before is people can't patent their idea but need to make the idea work then can patent. That why if you watch the video from youtube page, the discription about the video I mention:
actually, i believe you can patent the idea... and provide some prototype... or concept. if you want, i can go and ask for you... the IP Office is very near my work place. biggrin.gif

and ya... sorry, was playing the video with sound muted. so not sure what was the audio about... will listen to it maybe later today.

@baronic i use Note as well... with single hand operation... it is difficult for my hand to reach the other end of the screen... yes, small hands. but i love the size. this idea... those who want... can use it. those who dun want... can continue to use it the original way... this idea does provide an alternative.

currently, when i swype my messages, i use two hands -- 1 to hold phone. 1 to swype...

ramz
post Sep 5 2012, 09:13 AM

21,318 posts

There is the flap method. Just install an attachment to the back of your phone. Then u hold the flap between your fingers allowing your palm to move up to the front surface of the phone. Thus allowing more length to your thumb for the front screen
Fantasia
post Sep 5 2012, 09:15 AM

5,476 posts

I find 3.5 " is too small for me, prefer 4 to 4.3"
mydragoon
post Sep 5 2012, 09:16 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Sep 5 2012, 09:13 AM)
There is the flap method. Just install an attachment to the back of your phone. Then u hold the flap between your fingers allowing your palm to move up to the front surface of the phone. Thus allowing more length to your thumb for the front screen
speaking of this... is there a casing that we can fold back (like flip case) and slot out fingers inside to have firm grip on the phone... then ya... one hand operation on bigger screen would be much easier.
eugenecctan
post Sep 5 2012, 09:19 AM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

Note already has function for 1 hand operation lar

ramz
post Sep 5 2012, 09:32 AM

21,318 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 5 2012, 09:16 AM)
speaking of this... is there a casing that we can fold back (like flip case) and slot out fingers inside to have firm grip on the phone... then ya... one hand operation on bigger screen would be much easier.
Yes I seen it. It's foldable. There are casings like that in the market. Google it and see. Doing it now as I speak

TSbestofel
post Sep 5 2012, 09:35 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 5 2012, 09:13 AM)
actually, i believe you can patent the idea... and provide some prototype... or concept. if you want, i can go and ask for you... the IP Office is very near my work place. biggrin.gif

and ya... sorry, was playing the video with sound muted. so not sure what was the audio about... will listen to it maybe later today.

@baronic i use Note as well... with single hand operation... it is difficult for my hand to reach the other end of the screen... yes, small hands. but i love the size. this idea... those who want... can use it. those who dun want... can continue to use it the original way... this idea does provide an alternative.

currently, when i swype my messages, i use two hands -- 1 to hold phone. 1 to swype...
Seriously you? I work as Research Officer in R&D institute that have own patent officers but this idea I think not related with my work. Don't know can go for myself or not.

QUOTE(ramz @ Sep 5 2012, 09:13 AM)
Yes, I know that type of case. But it will make the phone bulky in the pocket.

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Sep 5 2012, 09:19 AM)
Yes, but limited function only like phone dial pad, keypad and calculator only. This video talk about the function:

GameFr3ak
post Sep 5 2012, 09:36 AM

3,849 posts

This and custom launchers have the ability to configure a certain gesture (example, swipe down) to scroll down the notification area.. so you don't have to start swiping down from the top of the screen.

Not saying that the idea is not good but Note already has such functionality.

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Sep 5 2012, 09:36 AM
raclette
post Sep 5 2012, 09:43 AM

428 posts

no wonder i had impression of deja vu with such idea..
ramz
post Sep 5 2012, 09:48 AM

21,318 posts

I have no issues with 2 hands. Think of it. U only need to use 1 hand during rush moments like sms. That is the only task I can think of that is so urgent that u can't wait for your other hand to be free. And for that I got swype. This text was brought to u using swype
TSbestofel
post Sep 5 2012, 09:54 AM

528 posts

Captured from this video, it is something we can use to help our hand holding the phone with one hand:

oopet
post Sep 5 2012, 10:02 AM

260 posts

im using 2 hand.. for typing msg, open notification.. s3 is big.. lol.. cant imagine note 2 is too big,, 4.8 inch vs 5.5 inch biggrin.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 5 2012, 10:33 AM

4,456 posts

bruce.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 15 2017, 09:52 AM
silentser
post Sep 5 2012, 10:45 AM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Sep 5 2012, 09:54 AM)
no very poket friendly

i do admit, one hand operation using S3 is a bit hard, and the smoothness of the back cover aint helping, but after a while, eh... you get the hang of it.... pulling down the notification do take a bit of stretching if you moving from typing, but for other times, not much of a deal,

typing while driving is a big problem though whistling.gif

This post has been edited by silentser: Sep 5 2012, 10:49 AM
TSbestofel
post Sep 5 2012, 10:52 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 5 2012, 10:33 AM)
for the first video with that drawing app, wouldn't it make sense using 2 hands and a samsung pen as well ?

Drawing with finger only doesn't seem efficient. But then again what do i know, i'm not a professional artist doh.gif but still i would think it would be much easier.
Hehe.. I just want show an app that have button at left top and right top. I used the app to scratch new app design, design new flag for my company and create simple poster for Facebook. But with two hand la..
GameFr3ak
post Sep 5 2012, 11:09 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Sep 5 2012, 10:45 AM)
no very poket friendly

i do admit, one hand operation using S3 is a bit hard, and the smoothness of the back cover aint helping, but after a while, eh... you get the hang of it.... pulling down the notification do take a bit of stretching if you moving from typing, but for other times, not much of a deal,

typing while driving is a big problem though  whistling.gif
Cause you shouldn't? doh.gif

About pulling down the notification, try using custom launcher, most have the ability to trigger the same pull down with gestures.. (such as swipe down) and it's easier that way too..

0.0175sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:55 PM