This scheme is not capital guaranteed rite?
Private Retirement Scheme Started?
Nov 21 2012, 09:52 AM
4,440 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
This scheme is not capital guaranteed rite?
Dec 7 2012, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(turbopips @ Dec 7 2012, 02:39 PM) i spoke to a PRS agent and apparently i was encouraged to buy their unit trust instead. In fact i was told that it is the government that put a mandatory for these banks to set up this PRS and they had no choice but to accept the government offer. How did you calculate this 26% returns per year via income tax? I really dont understand what ure trying to say here.Also the fund size according to the agent will be very small, whereby only higher income tax payers will buy and max will only be RM3k. Imagine in reality who and how many ppl in Malaysia really pay tax? This times RM3k/year and then divided into 8 funds approved by government. Therefore the PRS fund size is very small for each bank and also no historical proven record. I really into this PRS as it give 26% returns every year (via income tax). on the other hand, i am worried that with PRS given at lowest priority among the other unit trust by the 8 banks, the capability of fund managers assigned by the bank may not generate any growth of money. Any thoughts? This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Dec 7 2012, 04:09 PM |
Dec 8 2012, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 7 2012, 04:34 PM) Lets say your total income for 2012 is RM 103,000.00. Thats wht i thought as well. But he just mentioned 26% which isnt really correct. He's merely saving on the equivalent of a 26% tax on the taxable amount above 100K which equates to RM780 only for the whole year. The tax you have to pay to our beloved govt is RM 14,315.00 (first RM100K) + RM 780.00 (next RM 3K @ 26%) = RM 15,095.00 accoding to the LHDN schedule. If you have made a RM 3,000 contribution to PRS, then you need to pay RM 14,315.00 only because the govt allowed you a RM 3,000.00 tax relief from this scheme. In essense you save RM 780.00 in tax. If that is the case, you are actually contributing only RM 3,000.00 - 780.00 = RM 2,220.00. So in essense, you have already made a 26% gain. Understand? Xuzen But my question is, to get that RM780 tax relief per year, you have to ensure you invest in a PRS fund that gives you back a better return. I mean it would be pointless to invest in something that 'loses' money rite? So although u may be saving RM780 from taxes, you risk losing much more through the investment itself. Is this a risk or am i being too paranoid? |
Dec 8 2012, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(turbopips @ Dec 8 2012, 01:44 PM) Maybe I have confused u. Rm780/3000=26%. if the fund mgr didn't make any money, u get 26%return from the3k u invested. The question is whether the fund mgr is capable to grow or lose yr capital? U didnt get what i was trying to say. Of course i know ull get RM780 when u invest min 3K in PRS. Thats confirmed. But what i meant was, you may get Rm780 from the Gov in the form of a tax relief, but if your fund loses money then whatever small amount of tax relief you get will be easily obscured by the loss of your capital investment.U mentioned above "to get that rm780 tax relief per year, u have to ensure you invest in a prs fund that gives you back better return" -- this is not true. Whether or not the fund perform, if u invested rm3k per year n yr tax bracket is 26%, u will get yr rm780 tax relief. Hope this explains. |
Dec 10 2012, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 8 2012, 09:40 PM) and btw yes, this prs biggest attraction is for the tax relief. 26% for the highest income bracket. even if the fund does not give positive return, we would have gotten the gain upfront equivalent to our tax relief lor. So in short, if your fund loses money then dont dream about having that small tax relief cover your losses. Dont forget that the main purpose of the PRS scheme is for ppl to pump money into our country's financial system. Thats the only way to stay afloat in times of crisis. So basically, the rakyat is helping with a bailout of our financial system. Although not at critical level yet but if both Europe and US remain in recession for 2013, then the domino effect will hit Malaysia. So dont just blindly invest in any PRS fund. Learn about the fund and its potential before committing. And dont ever be satisfied with a RM65 monthly savings. |
Dec 10 2012, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 10 2012, 04:10 PM) Pub-Mut PRS is a seperate entity, it does not count towards the Gold Status. So, no free insurance & free will writing for you. The bigger picture would be RM3,000 (min) per annum x say 10 years which adds up to min 30K. Imagine if losses are big and ppl just rush into that just to get a RM 780 per annum 'discount' on tax. We're not just talking about not making a profit or cutting even, but actually losing. Xuzen Added on December 10, 2012, 4:21 pm Why so kia-si (scare to die?) It is only after all RM 3K p.a. and that is 3% exposure in total of your annual income (assuming the income is RM 100K p.a.). Furthermore, even the aggresive fund is invested in 70% equities and 30% fixed income. 70% equities = RM 2,100.00 into equities = Value at risk of 2.1% in total only. Therefore no need to be so kia-si. Try seeing the bigger picture and do not be so myopic. Xuzen Im not kiasi and neither am i against investments. I have heavy investments in properties, gold and also unit trusts. All im saying is that ppl (especially those who dont have much to spare) shouldnt blindly rush into PRS schemes without considering the risks. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Dec 10 2012, 05:32 PM |
Dec 11 2012, 08:28 AM
QUOTE(Kinitos @ Dec 10 2012, 08:29 PM) You're a high income earner == High IQ Dont the 2 statements actually contradict each other? How could they claim to 'preserve' capital for the retirement needs of investors and then say its not 'capital guaranteed'? We all know the PRS scheme is not capital guaranteed.The sentences below will deem suffice for you : HWANG PRS CONSERVATIVE FUND To provide Members with a Fund that preserves* capital for their retirement needs. *The Fund is not a capital guaranteed nor a capital protected fund. Added on December 11, 2012, 8:29 am QUOTE(penangmee @ Dec 10 2012, 11:19 PM) If you are already into unit trust why so worried about PRS. Same as unit trust except Account 1 & Account 2 policy only. In fact currently for Hwang & Public Mutual , their PRS are feeder funds to their existing Unit Trusts Funds. Don't know about CIMB or Manulife. Further more you can switch PRS funds if the one you select today is none performing. Who's worried? Im discussing the merits of the PRS. If its worth my while, i might consider investing in it. Not just for the RM780 discount but for future growth and to diversify my investments. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Dec 11 2012, 08:29 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0247sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:01 AM |