markblurberry
Sep 5 2012, 01:29 PM

Carrol, Downing and Henderson - A Victim of Circumstances
Yadda yadda, u heard it all - Carrol lack of goals - Downing lack of assist - Henderson lack of creativity. But with an open mind, they all could be victim of circumstances, probably due to our system of play, how we are structured when we attack - the positioning and instruction given by the Boss. I am sure most agree that defensively we are solid last season- no? This is partly due to our play - where whenever we attack, players are instructed to position themselves in certain area, as such we are able to mitigate counter attack - as such there are not many players in opposition penalty box when we are about to attack during possession.
A lot been said about Downing and his ineffectiveness, but unless i am watching a different game than u, most of the time - Downing is expected to cross pinpoint - as there's no one to aim at! Carrol hardly play, that leaves Suarez in the box, and Stevie is always struggling to get in the box and out - so whenever the wingers got the ball - either Kuyt or Downing - they have to cut back or cut in, becos there's no player to aim at....
Henderson - was played on the right wing, becos he can cross - and cross he did, but again there is no one to aim at in the box - most of the time we have maybe 1 or 2 maximum, which is quite different from say...Newcastle, where you can see 3-4 players going in - and this partly explain why Carrol is ineffective - as he need diversion, in order for him to attack the ball. This is essential what they mean with not building the team around Carrol, because the main man is still focus on Suarez...
I have said it countless of times, why suarez as the main striker - when he is not a complete striker - or maybe because there is a clause in his contract - stipulating centre forward - its anybody's guess...But right until now, I am of opinion that Carrol can be integrated into the system - as illustrated by Dzeko at MC - he and Tevez can combine without compromising on play - direct football or whatever - as a good system should have a variation of play rather than just on the ground or just highballs.... playing Carrol need not resort to route one football, but getting it right as a team is going to be a challenge - as we dont have enough talents to pull off the system in MC - the amount of running their midfield need to do, and also the fullback need to cover a lot of grass
Just hope to get some monkeys off Downings back - by illustrating the circumstances which makes it more difficult to perform in LFC,,,for better or worse, he is still a Liverpool player - give him a chance and maybe he can do better this season..
markblurberry
Sep 8 2012, 09:55 PM

So far, Allen and Lucas are the only two that I can see playing their hearts out despite trailing goals. Stevie, despite being the captain, even lacks the motivation and direction to influence the game when we are trailing. The young Stevie would have still play with motivation but the current him just doesnt have the same burning desire anymore. Which is why I think if Stevie steps down, Carra steps down...Lucas might be a better choice than Reina , Agger or Skrtel...
Cant agree more, it is really hearbreaking to see our Captn's not pulling his socks whenever we are trailing....no driving runs, and no urgency....most lower teams have better fighting spirit than Liverpool when they are 1 or 2 goals down - example - Sunderland, Everton, SPurs, they fight all teh way to final whistle - but our boys are downhearted whenever they are trailing - this cant be attributed to low confidence etc etc....it's mentality.
BR certainly have a huge task on hand, as I dare say - based on current crop of players - only 80% can somehow fit into BR's style - constant running, pressing, looking for space and fall back to protect the back four when we lose the ball. And Mr Stevie G will also have a testing season, of whether he can really fit into the team or how he need to reinvent himself
Lucas can be the captn someday - due to his knowledge of the game and his technical and tactical acumen. As he is so young, he will lead the new crop of young players to ensure strategically - in the next 5 years - Liverpool will be a competitive, and challenging team. The way i see it, SG wont be a automatic starter in the next 2-3 years down the road, unless he can make the A.Midfield his position, or he can perform as DM, such as Roy Keane used to do...but a game of fast pace pressing and pressurising, i dont see SG having the tenacity for it
markblurberry
Sep 13 2012, 08:08 PM

The closure for JFT 96 brings an end to a long running saga of hardship, difficulty and anguish. What a way to mark the end, after a poignant speech by Mr. Cameron, the huge sigh of relief and justice finally served. This closure means = $$$. I am not being cynical nor stereotypical, and i really hope from the bottom of my heart, the families affected will get some form of compensation and token, especially this being drag for like 2 decades??!!
Not only this incident drag the people of Liverpool down, but it leaves a mark on Liverpool, as our play went downhill afterwards...really hope by this, will lift the club out of 'doldrum', sorry I am being dramatic, and cast away the curse that follows the club. And finally to the families affected, i hope the revelation brings peace. To the departed, RIP.
markblurberry
Sep 14 2012, 12:36 AM

Saw the videos, thanks for posting them...it awe inspiring, we boast having supporters who died supporting LFC and we have manager who wept for LFC - Rafa...dun think you can find this with other club, and this is what make us so unique and iconic, other club can.... dream on
markblurberry
Sep 16 2012, 03:01 PM

Its already bad reading some dreadful and really stupid comments in this thread, but to read some mindless freaks banging their keyboards - sometime you would wonder - 'my god, are they watching another game, in another dimension!!' Seriously guys - a notable few, you know who you are - your comments sounded like SCUM, and that you have nothing better to do but troll in this thread....rightly or wrongly, i hope you are not trolls, they are lowest in the food chain. Sometimes, the thing you write, tells a lot about you, your credibility and your understanding of the game. If you are not good enough, dont write - get some tuition or something, but dont write! Its blardy awful reading it! I for one, will take note of those few names who, probably tranverse or time travel a few dimensions, watching different version of Liverpool play a different version of Sunderland - probably high on Ice or whatever party drugs- yes -you, please spare urself some credibility, and spare us some really awful incomprehension, STOP WRITTING
Back to Liverpool, didnt watch the game in full, but we tend to play better away last season, but to have this performance for an away game, i think i take a lot of the positives. Last season, away to Sunderland - our 1st game - correct me if I am wrong - we play awful, and also outplayed, out manouvre and out fought - the same cannot be said this time.
I been saying about Stevie. G's decline, but i tot he played much better yesterday - and please please you guys, if your misconception or expectation of gerard is about lung-busting or door breaking move in the centre and scoring with a thunderbolt all the time - think again - its not saturday everyday...best to bring down your expectation, or even better - erase the part where he score 19 goals season- its been playing at a rewind in your memory and its not healthy in the long run
markblurberry
Sep 17 2012, 12:33 PM

Hmmm...I think it would be best if thread followers can read properly a comment, before they comment..as your comprehension reflects your level of understanding..
A lot of misunderstanding in the thread can be avoided if one really read through a comment instead of jumping the gun and felt slighted and took it as a hint of attack...it is meant as a veil of criticism to those who lack knowledge
markblurberry
Sep 19 2012, 11:09 PM

Kinda points to the fact he left for money doesn't it? I mean he was on the verge of becoming a legend at the club and in such a short time. He kept saying that fans don't understand why he left. Well he hasn't really explained it to us has he?
QUOTE(dillonyong @ Sep 19 2012, 05:31 PM)
No, he actually took a pay cut to join Chelsea. I'm quite surprised at this too. Chelsea presents him with more opportunities to win trophies and he's getting it - FA cup and Champions League. So why is he still not happy? He's never the same player he was before.
you gotta be kidding... no chance he will take a pay cut to join chelsea... the only reason you, we, they know is the one and only, abramovich's dollar notes... chelsea didnt even have their name crafted on european trophy when he joined...
DOESNT SURPRISE ME THAT SOMEONE IS TALKING BLANK - a player rank 6th most expensive player in history - going for a pay cut ??? As i said time and time again, it certainly wouldnt hurt to do some research and read properly before you write, if it improves your credibility...
markblurberry
Sep 21 2012, 10:39 PM

I totally agree that BR is gung ho and in doing so, his substitution resulted in 2 goals by Shelvey...we have a manager who is tactically sound. By withdrawing Assaidi, who obviously looks tired and labored in the 2nd half, BR reinforced the midfield, and i suppose Shelvey was given the license to roam, a position currently occupied by SG..bang - 2 goals - with the 1st ala Barcelona style - one touch passing with Jonjo applying the finishing touch. I tot Herderson did well, control the midfield in the 1st half, and attacking in the 2nd half.
Overall a mature display by the Reds, altho you could feel some naivety in some aspect of our play...the young guns need to display this type of performance...week in and out, to stand a chance of breaking into the 1st team, and i wish they succeed...at least can give the so called seniors a run for their money...yesterdays match proved they can play and most importantly can score..
markblurberry
Sep 25 2012, 11:57 PM

Hmm you don't seem to understand what I mean by arrogance. Taking the piss outta one another is perfectly natural, it is after all a football rivalry. It isn't about being arrogant. It is banter. Never mind, I'll drop it as I'm running out of ways to articulate what I mean. Yeah...i understand how you'd feel bro...its sometimes hard to articulate without the reader taking offense, and the next thing you know, that person took offense again on things you try to pinpoint...haiz..so in the end i gave up, instead i asked them to either read up or shut up... i mean...u cant ask them to go for tuition can ya...