PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V30, with <3s

davidke20
post Sep 3 2012, 07:50 PM

QUOTE(zeone @ Sep 3 2012, 05:57 PM)
The DIY one? Or ready-made one?  tongue.gif

If DIY one, juz need 2buy Iswara/Saga Fuel(Petrol) Filter...abt RM4 only...
And 2 lengths of petrol tubing....length depends on need.

But firstly need 2locate PCV outlet of Gaga & the other end of the connecting tube.
Then it's juz "kacang" DIY install... rclxms.gif

ps. Pls chk out pic (below) posted earlier in V29. TQ.
Back from test drive blink.gif Seriously.... aih... I oso dunno how to say if compare to GaGa mega_shok.gif Despite the similarity between hatchback and sedan, but but but... aih... grumble.gif lemme find better words for describe before I put up a full preview. No picture taken, due to owner against it. I'll try to describe as close to reality as possible, so you guys get to picture my experience mellow.gif

Meanwhile, pak Z1, hang belom bagi tau adaptor dapat mana eh? I tunggu tunggu takde news pon. Nanti immediately I go put up the thing than will be the 1st white rat for you guys nod.gif Suruh 911 jgn rush lar, nanti pak Dabid kasi bikin ambulans tu brows.gif
davidke20
post Sep 3 2012, 08:25 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Sep 3 2012, 08:05 PM)
If I DIY for you, then it's not DIY dy  doh.gif

Wait ah, I havent got time to do any actual research today. Got 2 other projects still waiting for me to do  sweat.gif On the other hand, maybe David will come up with the guide first.

Added on September 3, 2012, 8:07 pm

He put up photo on mudah.my, but won't let you take picture  doh.gif
Some people doesn't DIY, but I understand it. I don't mind DIY it for people as long as time is ngam. Labor FOC yo!

Regarding picture, the car is BADLY run down. Scratch here kemek there, paint already lutgang. If I take foto he think I post internet he hailat. Seriously, that is why he posted on 28/7 until today still haven't manage to sell it out with that price blink.gif But, my test drive of Gabby got shocking discovery shocking.gif

QUOTE(zeone @ Sep 3 2012, 08:10 PM)
Wat adaptor do yu mean?
The Fuel Filter?
Same as in yr Iswaga lo...  tongue.gif

Tubes? Best 2get for fuel line wan so can tahan the oil...

Where 2connect?
That's the prob now...dunno layout of tubes @back of Gaga engine la...
Once get the oil fumes out point and the othernend ie the suction into Intake Manifold, no prob oledi...
Juz need measure lengths of tubing needed nia...

Install = remove & replace only... rclxm9.gif
The oil filter is open ended, you need sumthing to hook it isn't it? The oil filter surface so damn big, how to hook 2 small hose on it leh? I just wanto know you use what to connect the 2 hose and what to cover the oil filter. I certainly know where is the PCV and intake mia breather, but I couldn't take foto yet as wifey still kidnapping the kar mad.gif
davidke20
post Sep 3 2012, 08:46 PM

QUOTE(zeone @ Sep 3 2012, 08:36 PM)
Fuel Filter not so big la, Bro....

The 2 tubes are juz push-fit onto the FF...shld be same also @ the other ends, IINM.... tongue.gif

Me previously juz used cable ties 2keep the FF upright so that oil caught in it wld not be sucked out via outlet tube.
We can decide where 2attach it once yu "reveal" the 2 locations...
Ok, Bro? thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif
Nanti besok gua pi mengDIYkan, pastu update cni
davidke20
post Sep 3 2012, 10:41 PM

QUOTE(eqmal197 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:51 PM)
there's video to share. this is the main point why i like riding it

I think every GaGa from BLM to FL, FLX, FLX SE can do all those stunts. Ask Iska tomorrow, he shall tell you what happened during his previous TT experience rolleyes.gif HOWEVER, I would like to guess when doing all that stunts, you'll still have a budgeted amount of "comfortness" in a Pug, whereas inside the GaGa cabin, all those 财神 lar, 招财猫 lar, Doraemon lar, Patrick lar, Poop bear lar, will be rolling all over the place. I have not driven that car before, but did an inspection on accident car before laugh.gif Yes you're right! Already accident! It was a frontal side impact. Surprisingly, the strut tower region still intact despite cross member/subframe ady patah blink.gif From what I look at it, when side impact happen to that car, the chassis will ditch the engine and start ABSORB impact, instead of getting push away by the impact shocking.gif You know what? From the judgement of the impact force, the angle of impact, the car was nose down(emergency brake), but all those 财神 lar, 招财猫 lar, Doraemon lar, Pokemon lar, Patrick lar, Poop bear lar everything still in place shocking.gif From there I learnt, even if you hit an accident with a Pug, you CRASH IN STYLE icon_idea.gif
davidke20
post Sep 4 2012, 12:10 AM

I gave my preview back to Gabby thread, and a more proper 1 this time. For your pleasure reading only. If not interested, please skip. I'd say, we all GaGa owner should atleast test a Gabby once in a life time. I'm serious!!!

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Sep 4 2012, 12:03 AM)
I wish to put up my review on my test drive impression with a Savvy Manual 2006, hope this can get some feedback from senior member to further advice me. If you're too lazy to read, please scroll down all the way to the bottom to find out my highlights. Please help this poor soul to find his way to own an affordable Savvy, coz I LOVE SAVVY wub.gif

As a SAGA BLM owner, my first impression seeing the car was a shock. The car has an inch thick of dust covers everywhere. The seller use his key to manually unlock the door, didn't even bother to engine check, immediately crank the engine for me. He was claiming the aircon is VERY COLD. So I hop in and blast until fan speed 4, I can feel the coldness, but the air wasn't blowing right. I asked his permission to dismantle his glove compartment, and found his pollen filter has been totally clogged up. As I took out the pollen filter, some hair clip, dead spider, dead cockroach, and many more fall off. The aircon seems hasn't been serviced since 2006. The seller immediately got shocked, and told me he hasn't seen any pomen that dress in long sleeve + neck tie in slack(I was wearing industrial VIKING safety shoe though). He was impressed as I even helped him to dust off the pollen filter and I can now feel the air blowing even fan speed is 1. For a 6 years never serviced aircon, I'm impressed by the cooling performance.

I was expecting original coil mat, even without coil mat atleast a rubber mat, but there isn't! The seller said, owner's kid spill milk on those mats, couldn't be clean anymore as the car would smells like rotten dead rat. So, I don't give a crap, since rubber mat only worth 4 bucks/piece. Immediately I hop on the car start driving. The clutch is surprisingly efficient. When I release the clutch pedal, I think its fully tensioned and need to readjust to a slightly lower position. Found out from seller, he just took the car to replaced the complete clutch set that cost him almost RM900(not sure whether its genuine). As we driven off, I heard engine roaring quite rough. I took a wild guess, is it supposed to be the teppet sound? Later I off clutch(stepped on the clutch pedal) and let the car free roll, surprisingly there aren't any noise generated. So, I have no idea whether its engine or the gearbox got problem.

Here comes the gan jeong part. As we hit open road, I slam on the throttle... the throttle response is IMMEDIATE!!!! 999x faster response than my Campro Twin Cam! But then, despite the RPM was soaring up, the speedo isn't showing significant speed increase(I certainly sure it wasn't the clutch spin). I'm not sure whether its because of the under power designed drivetrain required higher RPM to achieve lower speed just like the Campro? I wasn't really hitting the top speed as the seller is sitting besides me. We diverted into smaller road and start whacking corners. I am deeply impressed by the handling of Savvy! It show some decent bodyroll but within tolerance. However, traction wise is much... I repeat, MUCH better than my BLM. Despite its tall body, but it doesn't feels like Kenari/Kelisa/Kancil/Viva/Myvi AT ALL. I've got the feeling of driving a suspension well tuned Wira/Lancer. Above all that, the best part is the suspension doesn't feel any harsh to my butt. Running through pothole, the car will feel a very mild/muffled bump on the tyres but that's it. No more extra movement/swaying left/right. I am very surprised by the super comfortness ride/handling despite the car is very dirty and scratches here and there. We hit the brakes hard several time on the way back, and those brakes responded quite numb. I had to reassured my braking distance far before the car stopped.

I went down the car and did my final inspection, found the top mounting nearest to the power steering reservoir has totally gone. Would that cause the vibration to resonated in the cabin? Or is it because of the engine has badly run down? Or is it the gear box got problem? I couldn't decide. This is the 1st time I have my hand on a Savvy. I reconfirmed the brake fluid is BLACK SESAME PASTE color, radiator spare tank is dark chocolate in color, so as the power steering reservoir is dark color. I didn't even take out the dipstick and check, rest assured the car has NOT going through ANY maintenance. Centre lock has gone, alarm not working. Didn't get to check the CD player as I didn't bring, but radio is functioning. Overall, I was surprised by the handling and comfortness of a badly ruined Savvy. For a car so badly maintain, its suspension still felt much-much similar to a 2010 SAGA(if not better than a SAGA). The paint on the bonnet already faded. The left(passenger side) fender had accident before(can never cheat a guy who work in general insurance industries). Passenger side both front/rear doors got scratches by hitting the curb during cornering. Front and rear bumper, usual bits and lumps during parking, minor kisses unavoidable. Both side headlights are also faded(not sure what to expect, do I need to look for BOSCH logo?).

Last but not least, I managed to negotiate the price until RM7000. So, gentlemen(and ladies if there's any). Would you mind to help me up a little bit by providing some advice based on my finger snapping typing of these long paragraph grand father story? You guys are the king of Savvy, and I certainly can't afford to buy a new 1 from show room, and therefore searched for the cheapest available option. Please enlighten me if there is alternative. Please let me have a rough idea how much I need to prepare to fix this car if I were to buy it? Some highlights below:

HIGHLIGHTS

1) Engine sounded very rough, not sure its teppet sound or gear box sound
2) I tried to squat down and see the bottom of the engine bay, no significant oily. The fella hasn't wash engine yet. Its dusty, but NOT oily.
3) I notice the steering rack is wet, was worried and checked, found its aircon water dripping down from the condense pipe. Is is supposed to have a hose to drain the condensed water?
4) Brakefluid seems a must to change if I own the car, factory is DOT3? DOT4? DOT5?
5) Radiator tank must be rust until mother also cant recognize already, changed 1? Or send for flush job?
6) Worst case is, if gear box KO, how much can replace 1?
7) If engine KO, how much full overhaul?

Appreciate if you can take a little time to help me up here. For the price RM7000, I would expect NOT spend any thing more than RM3000 to repair the car. Your help and useful advice will be much much much appreciated notworthy.gif

davidke20
post Sep 4 2012, 12:52 PM

Already got a unit of "OIL CATCH CAN", going for 5 bucks. I dunno how much the hose gonna cost yet. Anyone in Puchong wanna become my white rat? I don't have my BLM, couldn't do yet. I will be here until 4pm. Not convenient to post/check PM. R3apers/dares have my contact. Hurry! Be the white rat! No cutting required! No warranty void! Heathier engine and better air quality!
davidke20
post Sep 4 2012, 11:23 PM

QUOTE(wanfauzan @ Sep 4 2012, 08:17 PM)
got my cabin filter from seller at lyn. missed the bulk from unker david.
[attachmentid=3033024]

looks like this filter comes with the plastic holder. that means, I cannot use the stock pollen filter together with this one right?

and is it normal that the filter smells a little bit like asbestos?
Dude, those filter were fitted on a piece of plastic, therefore you smell plastic, not asbestos. Problem with those plastic is, they're cheap to produce, but hard to make a quality ones with limited budget. Therefore those polymer are combined with petroleum to make that piece of dark plastic. You just smell stronger plastic smell. In order for those fume to harm you, you'll have to smell those vinkas straight tenths of years none stop 24/7.

To reduce these harm to minimal, take out the filter, use a piece of clothe dip in soap water, brush those plastic area surface. After that, get a slice of lemon brush through the whole plastic area again. Leave it dry than those plastics is safe to use already icon_idea.gif Common lar (C'mon lar), the whole dashboard of a new car also have those fume especially parked under the sun. Just because the cabin filter came with a piece of new plastic that stuck directly above the blower, that's why it magnified the smell lor doh.gif

So, don't worry. I answered on behalf already.

QUOTE(saga_911 @ Sep 4 2012, 10:20 PM)
Esok baru leh pasang
Sorry tongue.gif tools is in da car already blush.gif

QUOTE(r3apers @ Sep 4 2012, 10:42 PM)
engine cover senang buka je... philip screw driver...

He's a virgin blush.gif We're at the petrol station taking turn twisting here and there, in and out. People by the road side also start gossiping like WTF these fellas doing to each other doh.gif

QUOTE(saga_911 @ Sep 4 2012, 10:51 PM)
Tadi tak bole nak bukak..
Gile ketat..
Nk kene pakai spanar T
yerla, ketat sangat blush.gif sorry yer, buat hang puteh puteh mali jiao jiao main blush.gif

davidke20
post Sep 5 2012, 12:24 AM

Kenji ar, is your problem similar to Gabby or not ar doh.gif

davidke20
post Sep 5 2012, 01:41 AM

QUOTE(GP mad man @ Sep 4 2012, 08:52 PM)
pls advise me whether touch up or repaint whole bumper and also the rusting area beside rear passenger door  notworthy.gif
From what I look at, just buy touch up paint to touch whatever you can. Noway you can restore it already, some of the scratches are real deep. It may leave marks everywhere, but better than seeing white lines. Afterall, you're not preparing to spray the whole car, so just live with it.

Use a scrapper to scratch away those rust before you apply those touch up paint. Save up money wait until 1 day you cannot tahan your eye seeing the car like a moo moo cow here got spot there got spot, then only you send for whole car repaint lar. If single layer, few hundred bucks whole car nia mar yawn.gif

This post has been edited by davidke20: Sep 5 2012, 01:44 AM
davidke20
post Sep 5 2012, 08:13 AM

QUOTE(A573154 @ Sep 5 2012, 07:05 AM)
what is the use of this hose r ?  notworthy.gif
To capture vaporized engine oil from rocker cover being inhaled by the intake manifold.

Priority function - Keep intake manifold dry, so it doesn't stain. For those who mod to open pod filter without channel back from PCV, this can also prevent the entire engine bay become oily
2ndary function - As engine getting aged, friction will create metal dust. This will prevent metal dust from engine head being blow back to intake manifold

All together, keep it clean and healthy

QUOTE(sahar @ Sep 5 2012, 07:18 AM)
Hehe..yup!
If you go search around the internet, you don't get much information about engine cover. More or less are BAD review from mechanics, ding dong and stuff like they have nothing better to do. Surprisingly, not even 1 of those car manufacturer stand up and defend the NEED of engine cover at all blink.gif

Some devil speaking
davidke20
post Sep 5 2012, 09:48 AM

QUOTE(ming86 @ Sep 5 2012, 09:31 AM)
12k mileage
full city drive: 6.5-8km/L, light footer, smooth acceleration, light aircond, 10W30 engine oil.  doh.gif
highway: 15km/L
City drive nowadays insane(especially after raya). everywhere traffic jam. Take 2 example here:

Mieza yesterday 4 hours 0km/l
V12Kompressor yesterday 45mins 0km/l

As for me I rather detour. When I see heavy traffic/all cars already in still position with their 3rd brake light, I will automatically sway to the nearest exit regardless it lead me to Holland icon_idea.gif
davidke20
post Sep 5 2012, 12:06 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Sep 5 2012, 11:54 AM)
Just got this from POStakLAJU this morning  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif

[attachmentid=3034024]

[attachmentid=3034025]

Now I have vacuum reading on my Samsung Galaxy  rclxm9.gif and better yet, instant km/l (haven't test it thought, just plugged in and tested in idle just now)
Can plonk that thing in a Gabby ar? mellow.gif
davidke20
post Sep 5 2012, 02:39 PM

My 1st experience installing OCT on Campor engine is a big headache. Campor engine PCV outlet is 14mm, whereas air intake hose inlet is 12mm. The hose I bought is 10mm sweat.gif I went purchased a spare hose so I can mke converter, learnt that Plotong original PCV breather hose cost RM65 shocking.gif DO NOT CUT THE ORIGINAL HOSE!!!!! In the end I bought a foot long of 205psi nylon reinforced 14mm fuel hose as an adaptor. Below is the individual costing of OCT DIY.

Fixed cost
Filter = RM5
O-ring clip = RM1.20 x 2unit
2 meter 9bar nylon reinforced 10mm hose = RM6

Subjected for cost sharing
Cable tie = 7 strip (dunno how to value)
14mm 205psi fuel hose = need only 2 finger length, but minimum purchase is per feet RM6
Araldite epoxy = very little. Glue the adaptor. Per box is RM8, but I think can glue atleast 10 cars.

Tools required
10mm wrench(preferable pop wrench) to open engine cover.
Philip screw driver
Knife to trim hose
Lighter/candle to heat up hose for expansion

Total cost regardless of sharing, entire demo project is RM19.00!!!!!!!!!!! Rough estimation for bulk price should be around RM17.

Finally, thanks to 911 response immediately. I owe him a big 1 this time. Next TT his bill is on me. He took the initiative to became the white rat for us. 911 still have excess fuel hose can share if any of you want an OCT. YAB personal demo/coaching session available, but subject to Mrs.YAB delivery date.

You guys may call for bulk and I'm confident to facilitate with GaGangnam Style. Minimum bulk is 3units. If any of you convenient, kindly help to extract 911's photo over here when call for bulk.
davidke20
post Sep 5 2012, 03:45 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Sep 5 2012, 03:09 PM)
David, can the OCT be mounted on the same side of the PCV / manifold intake ? Really have to pull a hose all the way to the other side of the engine bay?
I did it that way for BLM bcoz without ABS, that side is kosong, we can hang a 1 litre pepsi bottle there also no problem. Besides, I also planned to put back engine cover to make it as original as possible to stay below radar.

For FLXer, it is possible to hang anywhere around the engine bay. Shorter the hose can save you another dollar. But I need an FLX white rat. Any taker(s)?

There are also choices of BLUE, YELLOW hose that can make your engie bay more bling-bling like a ricer. Costing difference is RM1 or 2 only. I like the 1 I'm using in 911 kinda transparent is because I can monitor the structure integrity of the nylon reinforcement. Atleast I can see if the nylon start to break, I know its time to change hose, but that will probably happen 3 years or later. The hose I use is imported from Japan industrial LPG tank channel, can suppress up to 9 BAR dude doh.gif 1000hp dragter's turbo engine only charged 2bar shakehead.gif I made that choice base on reliability/performanceand its the most reasonable price tagged among all other bling-bling hose. Alternatively, you can go kedai logam look for shower head type of steel braded hose oso. Spray the end joint so it looks like HKS lar, but the inner core reliability is your own responsibility though whistling.gif

Another white rat please. Or call for bulk already whistling.gif
davidke20
post Sep 5 2012, 04:04 PM

QUOTE(r3apers @ Sep 5 2012, 03:52 PM)
Nice~!  thumbup.gif
why u dont wan becom white rat... scared david sabotage ur engine bay ar????
Say put OCT, later when he turned around, open pod lar, slut bar lar macam macam stuff goes in. Ended up a long bill. I guess thas what scares him. This GaGa thread really too much poison lar sleep.gif

You wanna do anot? Wanna take back my daughter's pencil case blush.gif
davidke20
post Sep 5 2012, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(zeone @ Sep 5 2012, 05:52 PM)
Hi Bro....hv yu read my PM?
Kenot DIY myself w/o yr sp & important info for BLM/FL... rclxub.gif

No worries...
Izzit possible 4yu 2make one unit fully setup c/w yr DIY adaptors for both ends of connection AND Poslaju it 2me?
Will FT payment 2yu if possible? notworthy.gif

TQ very much in adv.
Saw your PM, but don't know how to reply tongue.gif I just did it like almost everything spontaneously. Incident happened like this:

1) Called 911, but didn't bring wrench, ended up can't take off engine cover
2) Rearranged meetup again today, open the cover take off the original hose only to find the PCV so damn thick
3) Immdiately bring the original hose ask for spare unit, so I can chop it off become an adapter. Learnt the original hose too expansive. So I choose to use a 14mm fuel hose instead. In the end, it just happened like that.

Call for a proper bulk lar. Loosy goosy very hard to gauge how many meter of hose I need eh rclxub.gif

QUOTE(r3apers @ Sep 5 2012, 05:53 PM)
ask unker david, he can help u get it~~!!
I don't sell OBDII reader, but I have some other thing in mind brows.gif you and other FL/BLM citizens will just have to bear with me awhile. Because the device I'm looking at is way too expansive, I can't simply throw the monay out.

QUOTE(zeone @ Sep 5 2012, 06:17 PM)
Hi Bro...above in RED is mosdef NOT good news la... cry.gif

Added on September 5, 2012, 6:32 pmps. mayb me need to get an FLX SE, huh? Haha! rclxm9.gif
Change car because of OBD reading? So you can bling-bling? sleep.gif Mrs.Tan is going to give you an enema. I have something in mind, just bear with me until I own a Gabby for few months, then we MAY actually have an actual proper OBDII console unit, like the GTR34 those vinkas brows.gif
davidke20
post Sep 5 2012, 11:42 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Sep 5 2012, 11:02 PM)
Sabbi ECU same as BLM meh?

Added on September 5, 2012, 11:03 pm

Proton car power windows dun spoil already thankyou god.

Takyah remote open sleep.gif
Not same. Incase the damn thing I white rat doesn't work on BLM, it can fall back to my Gabby icon_idea.gif However, if it works, BLM and FL citizen will have the bestest news they ever had in their life cool2.gif

For your information, the Gabby I'm buying had a failed powah windoe doh.gif

QUOTE(zeone @ Sep 5 2012, 11:16 PM)
Bulk? Explained my situation 2yu liao...me do DIY Bulk when me 400+Km away from everybody else?
Yu know so, rite or maybe yu are juz JJ? sad.gif
I know where you stay lar, I got the idea. Poslaju alone is even more expansive than the filter laugh.gif Just stay tune and see what can I do nod.gif

QUOTE(justhao @ Sep 5 2012, 11:26 PM)
haha... guys... no lar, i know those, but I just wanna know the FC only.
cuz I saw some complained CVT's FC quite high wor...  rclxm9.gif
CVT can achieve better fuel economy than a manual(if one know how to drive economically). I think pak dares soon will have some shocking FC to report back. Generally, for new car new engines, don't expect magic. It takes like 10~20k km before the entire system properly breaking in. Never thought of Campor engine so damn reliable sweat.gif
davidke20
post Sep 6 2012, 10:58 AM

Just a quick recap for vacuum assisted driving habit management. Below elaboration solely based on my personal experience and my usual reading in inches/mercury suction(in/hg). For example, if your vacuum reading is 20in/hg, you put your airintake pipe in a pale of mercury, it will suck up 20inches of mercury. Bear in mind, vacuum meaning suction, suction means negative(pressure is positive), so vacuum reading is TERBALIK. Smaller number means UP, greater number means DOWN. 0 vacuum meaning no suction,no pressure.

Idling-engine speed between 800-1000rpm
For Campor engine IAFM. Usual reading without aircon compressor, vacuum should stay between 17-19(more the better). Reading within this region read as the whole engine system is tightly sealed. Safe to assume engine is running on its full potential. Some older model EFI & carbureted engines allowed user to fine tune throttle idling position. Experienced magician normally able to tune the engine idling RPM at 800-1000rpm whilst vacuum reading stay below 20in/hg(below meaning 21,22,23 and so forth). With a vacuum reading on hand, you can withness the powerful SANDEN aircon compressor kick in, straightaway it chew off 4-7 inches of vacuum. Meaning that, the aircon compressor is heavy and took away 1/3 of the engine torque. Normal idling with aircon compressor, reading should be 13-15in/hg. Cold start not applicable.

Usual driving
When you're over taking, you slam on the gas pedal. Vacuum point at 0. Once you release gas pedal, torque will channel back from wheels to your engine, piston pull down hard and your vacuum reading become lower again(higher). When vacuum point at 0 meaning no restriction(lots of air going inside), also meaning petrol pouring inside combustian chamber! For picking up speed, I recommend to maintain vacuum below 10(11,12,13...etc). Do this more often, you'll soon realize no point going full throttle. Those cars that everyday annoys you, that makes you go full throttle to ditch them, you can still dtich them with vacuum pointing at 10.

up hill
When going up hill, even you did not increase throttle, but your vacuum pointer will start travelling up(9,8,7,6...). This means you need more fuel to burn, in order to achive same speed. For manual transmission, when vacuum pointer go above 5(4,3,2,1,0) meaning your at the wrong gear. Please down shift. Sometimes you'll be surprise higher RPM does not mean you're consuming more petrol. The correct power transmit from engine to wheel is more crucial. That's why gearbox official term is TRANSMISSION.

down hill
Wheels is spinning faster than engine, you will get all sort of error in reading vacuum. Most of the time during down hill, your vacuum reading stay below 23(24,25). When vacuum reading stay below 26, also mean the combustian chamber burning lean. Lean burning can raise temparature up to 800'c. Despite your sensor reading as normal 400'c at the catcon, you wouldn't know what kind of harm done to your head gasket. Often I heard people going Genting come back with a wreck engine despite radiator didn't boil, there's a good chance that the head gasket was burnt during downhill due to ultra heat developed by lean burning. Manual transmission can opt of lower speed downhill. Or declutched at idling RPM. Auto/CVT, I have no experience, you'll have to figure it out.

A side note from previous midnight run with lhwj. Luke cleverly assumed the vacuum reading as KM/L, on an average bassis driving consistently at 15in/hg can actually represent 15km/l on an averaging bassis. The previous MRR2 midnight runs yielded Luke 20.5km/l, whereas I managed to clocked 16km/l kinda phenomenon FC on a BLM SE. Credit goes to Luke & his lovely BLM SE

Like it or not, vacuum reading is utmost important in our daily driving, and its the only thing that globally omitted without even realizing its importance. There are more technical knowledge in vacuum reading, which is too long story to cover. I will try to explain it in future.
davidke20
post Sep 6 2012, 12:24 PM

QUOTE(r3apers @ Sep 6 2012, 11:58 AM)
nice wan YAB~!

btw now my tank is using esso, but seem like no pick-up at all... seem shell give my car better pick-up.. even vacuum also easily less thn 5 (previously is higher thn 5-10) if juz slight tap the gas pedal... petrol problem or my open pod problem... hmm.gif  hmm.gif
hmm.gif I think bonuslink problem as addressed by Iska icon_idea.gif

By right you can't feel the difference as the bloody ECU will auto ejes the igition timing to accommodate your petrol doh.gif Unless u drive kabureter mia kereta like my Iswaga. Immediately can feel the difference liao.

For your case, you'll just have to monitor your vacuum meter, drive as closed to 10-15in/hg as possible regardless of speed. In the end FC will speak for itself. FC can't be adjust, only ignition timing can. So, if you strictly obey vacuum, set all feeling aside, you'll get more accurate results in the end nod.gif
davidke20
post Sep 6 2012, 01:43 PM

To all OCT watcher, sorry I cqnt make much post and quote since I'm on GPRS. Farkin sloe.

I'm using regular fuel filter, INLET on BOTTOM as ZEONE proposed. The ORIGINAL suggested way of usage as suggested by ZEONE is CORRECT if its use for fuel filtration. Fuel will be pouring in from bottom to top, petrol filled up entire tank and gets suck out via cylinder paper filter from the TOP hose. This way, fluid will have bigger buffer from the outside, not so easy get congested. 4G13 owner can run their dirty filter for 10ths of years without trouble.

I purposely TERBALIK pasang, bcoz I was the dirty air/oil goes in from TOP. So the filtered oil can catched at the bottom. The bottom hose is not right at the most bottom part, so intake will only take in AIR(unless you taking hard corner to the extend oil got rush to the outlet then I'm really speechless). Reason for not following traditional way is bcoz the cylinder paper filter is closer to the bottom than the hose. If oil came in, start to flood the filter, the TOP hose will start to suck the filter instead.

Either way is right/wrong. Its just preference. Zeone's way tahan lama sikit the filter, the fact is sucking more oil in then my way. My way taking air more than oil, but you'll have to monitor your oil level regularly. That's about it. I will try to meetup with 911 again, hope he can snap some photo and help me do a write up in Bahasa for the benefit of our Malay friends.

Gotta go. Busy with work.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2116sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:16 AM