> do u let ur parents know how much u earn?

TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 07:45 AM, updated 12y ago

194 posts

My aunty and my cousin gaduh2 last weekend. My aunty asked my cousin how much she earns cos my aunty wants to see if my cousin cukup makan. Especially since my cousin 30+ years old still no car always gaduh2 with younger sis to use family car. My cousin gave my aunty dirty look and said "non of ur business". My aunty rage and complaint to my mom. Then my mom feel serba salah cos last week my mom told my aunty that I tell my mom everything- how much I earn, how much bonus I get, how much my bf earns, how much bonus my bf gets. I tell her cos I know she just wants to see if me n my bf are financially stable. She's not the kind relies on her children's money.

Do u guys tell ur parents ur income? Or is it a sensitive issue? Why ah?
SUSdantck
post Sep 3 2012, 07:47 AM

1,004 posts

so old already thats why
SUSYameteOniichan
post Sep 3 2012, 07:48 AM

100 posts

I know the exact detail of all my parents money belongings, land, etc.

Likewise, they know the exact detail of MY money, belongings, land, etc.

There is no point hiding this information from own family.

But if its auntie, dont tell them.
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 07:52 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(YameteOniichan @ Sep 3 2012, 07:48 AM)

I dont know how much my parents have. Never asked, I got no share anyway cos we told them to spend everything, dont bother leaving for us.

My mom didnt tell my auntie my income. Itu sensitive lo. After my cousin kena bamboo IF I earn more. My cousin n I same age so her mother tends to use me as a benchmark.
Boldnut
post Sep 3 2012, 07:55 AM

2,202 posts

their WILL detail I also know. lol Theres is nothing to hide.

but if relative = GTFO. I got shitty money eye relative anyway.
old_and_slow
post Sep 3 2012, 07:56 AM

1,602 posts

this is a must, even i know my grandfather's assets etc. last time he broke down after losses in stock market, we managed to help him because we know what we can do.
SUSJeggaSimple
post Sep 3 2012, 07:58 AM

169 posts

Yes. Agree. Some things are meant to be shared with your own family only.
duckhole
post Sep 3 2012, 08:00 AM

379 posts

QUOTE(JeggaSimple @ Sep 3 2012, 07:58 AM)
Yes. Agree. Some things are meant to be shared with your own family only.
like you running naked infront of them
Monya Meow Meow
post Sep 3 2012, 08:05 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

My aunt - NO
My parents - YES
SUSJeggaSimple
post Sep 3 2012, 08:05 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(duckhole @ Sep 3 2012, 08:00 AM)
like you running naked infront of them
Done that endless time. Me as a toddler last time.
pisces88
post Sep 3 2012, 08:07 AM

3,711 posts

Aiyo~ ur bf earn hw much n hw much bonus u don't share wit ur mum ma.. Haha
Boldnut
post Sep 3 2012, 08:09 AM

2,202 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Sep 3 2012, 07:52 AM)
I dont know how much my parents have. Never asked, I got no share anyway cos we told them to spend everything, dont bother leaving for us.

My mom didnt tell my auntie my income. Itu sensitive lo. After my cousin kena bamboo IF I earn more. My cousin n I same age so her mother tends to use me as a benchmark.

benchmark parents..... lol..... what kind of parents is this? FAIL one?

I tot one must not compare with others but only urself.

azlansani
post Sep 3 2012, 08:09 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Sep 3 2012, 08:05 AM)
My aunt - NO
My parents - YES
heavenly91
post Sep 3 2012, 08:29 AM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

Obviously la.
Own parents cannot disclose?

I think your cousin can afford a car but stingy fcuk.
That's why.
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 08:38 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Sep 3 2012, 08:07 AM)
hahahahaa, my mother kapoh only la. it's ok cos his parents also know how much i earn etc. we're very open. tongue.gif
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 08:41 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Sep 3 2012, 08:09 AM)
benchmark parents..... lol..... what kind of parents is this? FAIL one?

I tot one must not compare with others but only urself.
fat hopes! depends on the parents lo. my parents r ok if i earn less than my cousins since my grades always bungkus compared to my cousins. i was a very "ponteng sekolah" kind of child. whistling.gif
dude1218
post Sep 3 2012, 08:41 AM

1,170 posts

aunty only meet them once a year....never tell them
parents sure yes

This post has been edited by dude1218: Sep 3 2012, 08:41 AM
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 08:43 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Sep 3 2012, 08:29 AM)
Obviously la.
Own parents cannot disclose?

I think your cousin can afford a car but stingy fcuk.
That's why.
ya, she's a bit of a yuppie. all her money goes to varies cafes/pubs at bangsar/changkat BB, her VERY extensive clothes and her prada, gucci, dior, burberry & LV. obviously cannot afford car la.
Boldnut
post Sep 3 2012, 08:45 AM

2,202 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Sep 3 2012, 08:41 AM)
fat hopes! depends on the parents lo. my parents r ok if i earn less than my cousins since my grades always bungkus compared to my cousins. i was a very "ponteng sekolah" kind of child.  whistling.gif

oh yeah... tell ur parents next time not to boost ur "success" so much. Keep low profile. This might indirectly help ur kesian cousin. ur mom telling ur aunty is got some part of "contribution" to this "problem" tongue.gif

heavenly91
post Sep 3 2012, 08:46 AM

1,717 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Sep 3 2012, 08:43 AM)
ya, she's a bit of a yuppie. all her money goes to varies cafes/pubs at bangsar/changkat BB, her VERY extensive clothes and her prada, gucci, dior, burberry & LV. obviously cannot afford car la.
This type of ppl are hopeless.
Already so old and yet sharing car with ppl.
My gosh.
If I were your auntie I will chase her out from the house.

My father also got tell us (siblings that)
If we want tumpang his house can, but nvr ask money from him.
If tumpang house but still want ask money he say will chase us out frm his house.
sweat.gif sweat.gif
fantasy1989
post Sep 3 2012, 08:48 AM

4,593 posts

my parents know my income

i know my parents income (approx)

relative? NO ...even grandma i also didnt say liao ...she is blood sucker ...sucked lot of money from my dad then just dump the money to my worthless cheongster uncle (he married)

if just give my grandma then i am OK..but wtf man ....somemore my grandma is helping him to go cheong by asking money from dad ..say sini sakit sana sakit
Boldnut
post Sep 3 2012, 08:52 AM

2,202 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Sep 3 2012, 08:48 AM)

relative? NO  ...even grandma i also didnt say liao ...she is blood sucker ...sucked lot of money from my dad then just dump the money to my worthless cheongster uncle (he married)
if just give my grandma then i am OK..but wtf man ....somemore my grandma is helping him to go cheong by asking money from dad ..say sini sakit sana sakit

I feel u bro... I got 12 relative families. 7 of them is money eye.... doh.gif 2 of the 7 is blood sucking leach from my family.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Sep 3 2012, 08:53 AM
kepompong
post Sep 3 2012, 08:53 AM

103 posts

sure my parents will be the 1st to know.
fantasy1989
post Sep 3 2012, 08:56 AM

4,593 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Sep 3 2012, 08:52 AM)
I feel u bro... I got 12 relative families. 7 of them is money eye.... doh.gif  2 of the 7 is blood sucking leach from my family.
if just care grandma then OK la(she is my dad mother= similar to next time i care my mom) ...and kuih money isnt that much also ..but now is give the money to her ..then she transfer the money to my uncle ...daffak? ...my uncle 40+ liao,married and got 2 sons (14 years old) ..but still jobless ..just once awhile go take some work n do ..1 week atleast 2 times go cheong doh.gif

why should i/my dad give him money go cheong? ..i take that money go cheong better brows.gif brows.gif

PS: he 1 month baru kasi RM400 to his waifu as household expenses ...so my dad macam feeding 10 ppl doh.gif

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Sep 3 2012, 08:58 AM
Boldnut
post Sep 3 2012, 09:04 AM

2,202 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Sep 3 2012, 08:56 AM)
if just care grandma then OK la(she is my dad mother= similar to next time i care my mom)  ...and kuih money isnt that much also ..but now is give the money to her ..then she transfer the money to my uncle ...daffak? ...my uncle 40+ liao,married and got 2 sons (14 years old) ..but still jobless ..just once awhile go take some work n do ..1 week atleast 2 times go cheong  doh.gif

why should i/my dad give him money go cheong? ..i take that money go cheong better  brows.gif  brows.gif
PS: he 1 month baru kasi RM400 to his waifu as household expenses ...so my dad macam feeding 10 ppl  doh.gif

I already terminate my "relativeship" with them(those 2 leachers). Might wanna terminate the other 5 as well.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Sep 3 2012, 09:05 AM
fantasy1989
post Sep 3 2012, 09:07 AM

4,593 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Sep 3 2012, 09:04 AM)
I already terminate my "relativeship" with them(those 2 leachers). Might wanna terminate the other 5 as well.
i just wait my grandma go heaven nia ..then i dont even want give a fark to them ...they wont learn 1 ...if we cabut ..their family will farked upside down

they tongkat too long already ..used to it ...suddenly if no more tongkat ..sure collapsed 1
heavenly91
post Sep 3 2012, 09:08 AM

1,717 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:07 AM)
i just wait my grandma go heaven nia ..then i dont even want give a fark to them ...they wont learn 1 ...if we cabut ..their family will farked upside down

they tongkat too long already ..used to it ...suddenly if no more tongkat ..sure collapsed 1
And I thought only my family have this problem hmm.gif
fantasy1989
post Sep 3 2012, 09:10 AM

4,593 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:08 AM)
And I thought only my family have this problem hmm.gif
brohug.jpg biggrin.gif

all family have their own problem la ...just i very pening to him ..if jobless OK la ..go find lo ...then be a responsible man ..not just pump some cum to his waifu body doh.gif

the problem now is ..if he earn money OR not ..he also asking my grandma to take money from my dad (extra income) ...i am not living with my grandma ...then my dad just treat hiring personal security guard to care my grandma doh.gif

i think 10 years be4 ..my dad kena very gai..then we got plan to shift back to grandma house to live(my grandma house is belongs to my dad 1) ...my uncle quickly show their face and REFUSED we shift back ..at the end we managed to overcome that issue(money) ..then now getting better n better ..he baru show his face and be polite

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Sep 3 2012, 09:12 AM
peri peri
post Sep 3 2012, 09:11 AM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,940 posts

my income is BIG, im no sensitive
heavenly91
post Sep 3 2012, 09:12 AM

1,717 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:10 AM)
brohug.jpg  biggrin.gif

all family have their own problem la ...just i very pening to him ..if jobless OK la ..go find lo ...then be a responsible man ..not just pump some cum to his waifu body  doh.gif
the problem now is ..if he earn money OR not ..he also asking my grandma to take money from my dad (extra income) ...i am not living with my grandma ...then my dad just treat hiring personal security guard to care my grandma  doh.gif
Luckily my father adi teach us to be responsible to ourselves.
I dun think my siblings will be like tat next time haha.
He somemore say will halau us from the house if any of us a leecher.

FUuu
lega.jpg
yahiko
post Sep 3 2012, 09:13 AM

1,215 posts

tell parent is nothing la.. but other relative u can give a bit bit info ( incorrect info also nvm biggrin.gif ) just to shut them up
fantasy1989
post Sep 3 2012, 09:14 AM

4,593 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:12 AM)
Luckily my father adi teach us to be responsible to ourselves.
I dun think my siblings will be like tat next time haha.
He somemore say will halau us from the house if any of us a leecher.

FUuu
lega.jpg
rclxms.gif good ..my siblings also no la ...if cousin then i tak tahu sweat.gif
max_cjs0101

Tarp hater and detector
1,361 posts

I would feel betrayed if my gf tells her mom how much i earn.
debbierowe

so fast 6 stars di...
1,107 posts

of cos, every promotion and every pay rise i 1st one tell my mum. when handled special project and got project bonus i straight away fwd her the email of my project bonus payouts
fantasy1989
post Sep 3 2012, 09:15 AM

4,593 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:14 AM)
somehow quite true ..if range then is OK ..but exact amount = NO
heavenly91
post Sep 3 2012, 09:15 AM

1,717 posts

What's wrong with salary ?
I can't brain this.
It is just a figure.
I dun see any reason to be sensitive.

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:14 AM)
rclxms.gif good ..my siblings also no la ...if cousin then i tak tahu  sweat.gif

Nvm later when your grandma sudah go heaven (not cursing) maybe u all can stop feeding those garbage d.

This post has been edited by heavenly91: Sep 3 2012, 09:16 AM
Quasi-Suave
post Sep 3 2012, 09:16 AM

322 posts

Parents yes, even down to how much bonus I get for a particular year.

Other people - None of their business.
fantasy1989
post Sep 3 2012, 09:18 AM

4,593 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:15 AM)
What's wrong with salary ?
I can't brain this.
It is just a figure.
I dun see any reason to be sensitive.

Nvm later when your grandma sudah go heaven (not cursing) maybe u all can stop feeding those garbage d.
yup ..my dad also said "just give my grandma face" only ...worst thing is my grandma is HELPING my uncle to suck more money from my dad which made me also hate my grandma doh.gif pamper son also not in that way doh.gif
heavenly91
post Sep 3 2012, 09:19 AM

1,717 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:18 AM)
yup ..my dad also said "just give my grandma face" only ...worst thing is my grandma is HELPING my uncle to suck more money from my dad which made me also hate my grandma  doh.gif  pamper son also not in that way  doh.gif
What goes around come around.

A bad apple doesn't fall far from the tree.
I wouldn't be suprised if your cousin will be like that.
Just be prepared.
debbierowe
post Sep 3 2012, 09:21 AM

so fast 6 stars di...
1,107 posts

my parents know during the time when he asked for my hands blush.gif , but later on increment and his business growth till now i dont think they know anymore.
maybe i should tell him its time for an update liao. lol
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 09:22 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Sep 3 2012, 08:45 AM)
oh yeah... tell ur parents next time not to boost ur "success" so much. Keep low profile. This might indirectly help ur kesian cousin. ur mom telling ur aunty is got some part of "contribution" to this "problem"  tongue.gif
my mother accidently la. she tot its normal for children to tell their parents cos me n my bros very open.
i got no success, nothing to boast. normal income girl only rclxms.gif
Boldnut
post Sep 3 2012, 09:24 AM

2,202 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:19 AM)

Just be prepared.

out of my 7 retard relative family I got, already produce 6 morons cousins. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Sep 3 2012, 09:26 AM
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 09:24 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Sep 3 2012, 08:46 AM)
This type of ppl are hopeless.
Already so old and yet sharing car with ppl.
My gosh.
If I were your auntie I will chase her out from the house.

My father also got tell us (siblings that)
If we want tumpang his house can, but nvr ask money from him.
If tumpang house but still want ask money he say will chase us out frm his house.
sweat.gif  sweat.gif
cannot chase her out of house la. after she comes live with me and kacau my romantic time with my bf cry.gif
Boldnut
post Sep 3 2012, 09:25 AM

2,202 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:22 AM)
my mother accidently la. she tot its normal for children to tell their parents cos me n my bros very open.
i got no success, nothing to boast. normal income girl only  rclxms.gif

ur "normal" can Prove other's "failure". So ask ur mom careful next time tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Sep 3 2012, 09:27 AM
fantasy1989
post Sep 3 2012, 09:25 AM

4,593 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:19 AM)

Just be prepared.
dont even give a fark to them ..i also not always talk with my UNCLE cousin ...btw ..now i also earning money already ..so my dad + my salary around 5 figure ..my grandma/uncle recently plan to suck money from me ..but too bad ..i wont whistling.gif (give tonne of reason then say tak ada wang)

and ya ...recently my uncle wife purposed to my dad to support his son further study doh.gif ...if really happen ..shitstorm coming ...my elder sister sure rage 1

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Sep 3 2012, 09:26 AM
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 09:26 AM

194 posts

my bf very cincai, i also very cincai. both sets of parents know our income. they just worried only cos my bf n i like buying stuff, they scared we go bankrupt! hahahahaha!
heavenly91
post Sep 3 2012, 09:28 AM

1,717 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:24 AM)
cannot chase her out of house la. after she comes live with me and kacau my romantic time with my bf  cry.gif
Leechers..

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Sep 3 2012, 09:24 AM)
out of my 7 retard relative family I got, already produce 6 morons cousins.  sweat.gif
Life sux.

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:25 AM)
dont even give a fark to them ..i also not always talk with my UNCLE cousin ...btw ..now i also earning money already ..so my dad + my salary around 5 figure ..my grandma/uncle recently plan to suck money from me ..but too bad ..i wont  whistling.gif (give tonne of reason then say tak ada wang)
and ya ...recently my uncle wife purposed to my dad to support his son further study  doh.gif  ...if really happen ..shitstorm coming ...my elder sister sure rage 1
Really thick skin @@
debbierowe
post Sep 3 2012, 09:28 AM

so fast 6 stars di...
1,107 posts

i think its important to let our parents know our salary la... after all we are their "product" they want to gauge how is their product worth in the market also tongue.gif
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 09:32 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(debbierowe @ Sep 3 2012, 09:28 AM)
i think its important to let our parents know our salary la... after all we are their "product" they want to gauge how is their product worth in the market also tongue.gif
i think most (unfortunately not all) parents r being concern only. to make sure ur children r spending within their means and do not require a lecture on financial planning.
xsan
post Sep 3 2012, 09:32 AM

Ouh Emm Gee I Can Edit This Nao
1,020 posts

yes..
but when Aunty/Uncle ask told i got bigger salary whistling.gif
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 09:35 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Sep 3 2012, 09:25 AM)
ur "normal" can Prove other's "failure". So ask ur mom careful next time tongue.gif
ya lor. told her already. she very blur blur sometimes. too innocent, dont know how to filter stuff.
fantasy1989
post Sep 3 2012, 09:36 AM

4,593 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Sep 3 2012, 09:24 AM)
out of my 7 retard relative family I got, already produce 6 morons cousins.  sweat.gif
sweat.gif brace yourself

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:28 AM)
Leechers..
Life sux.
Really thick skin @@
thick face level ICI ...and my uncle wife also retarded 1 ...never feel ashamed when taking money from OTHER people husband shocking.gif

and yes ..she did REFUSED we shift back to my grandma house that time when my family having problem

PS: that house is under my name and they dont even have 1 house ...ada wang then beli kereta and spend like boss ...0 planning ..i wondering why my uncle wife willing to follow that junk doh.gif

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Sep 3 2012, 09:40 AM
debbierowe
post Sep 3 2012, 09:37 AM

so fast 6 stars di...
1,107 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:32 AM)
i think most (unfortunately not all) parents r being concern only. to make sure ur children r spending within their means and do not require a lecture on financial planning.
hate to say this but got to say this, mostly chinese parents. most my malay friends, since secondary school already didn't ask for allowance from the parents. and when in uni, i was with most scholars, and those gov scholarship department can be really painful to deal with, sometime 3 months also not yet give us living expenses, chinese will always get the emergency aids from parents while my malay friends they will never asked. i asked them how they survived? they said 'boleh punya, sudah biasa, hari hari makan 1 kali saje"
SUSsharpex
post Sep 3 2012, 09:39 AM

148 posts

i only my parent know my basic income, which 1 year ago. After that i never tell them the increment i got even its >RM900.

But i did up the amount token of appreciation to them every month.
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 09:40 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:28 AM)
Leechers..
most stuff she is ok actually, quite nice & fun. only her financial planning suxs. sometimes i worry for her. almost mid 30s, single, no house, no car, no savings. if one day anything happens to her parents or their house (touch wood), i dont know how she is going to handle it. sweat.gif
Boldnut
post Sep 3 2012, 09:44 AM

2,202 posts

one of them, hutang mai dad moneh pun tak bayar balik, even nearly/almost got my dad(when young) kena sue bankrupt from bank. cos my dad retard become his LOAN guarantor, now somemore wanna backstab stuff infront of my grandparents lolz

some people are have sooo amazing attitude lol.....

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Sep 3 2012, 10:12 AM
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 09:44 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(debbierowe @ Sep 3 2012, 09:37 AM)
hate to say this but got to say this, mostly chinese parents. most my malay friends, since secondary school already didn't ask for allowance from the parents. and when in uni, i was with most scholars, and those gov scholarship department can be really painful to deal with, sometime 3 months also not yet give us living expenses, chinese will always get the emergency aids from parents while my malay friends they will never asked. i asked them how they survived? they said 'boleh punya, sudah biasa, hari hari makan 1 kali saje"
ya i agree. she lives with her parents (her parents quite comfortable middle class), they got two maids (i really dont understand y u need 2) to do all the housework, she shares "community" car with her younger sister (that's y always gaduh besar at home, everyone fighting for the car), all household expenses paid by parents, her salary is for clothes and cafes. good life actually, i jelly tongue.gif
dasherzx
post Sep 3 2012, 09:45 AM

189 posts

dont know my parent's past, present and future. same with my parents about me biggrin.gif
debbierowe
post Sep 3 2012, 09:46 AM

so fast 6 stars di...
1,107 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Sep 3 2012, 09:44 AM)
one of them, hutang mai dad moneh pun to bayar balik, even nearly/almost got my dad kena sue bankrupt from bank. cos my dad retard become his LOAN guarantor, now somemore wanna backstab stuff infront of my grandparents lolz

some people are have sooo amazing attitude lol.....
relative hutang is unrecoverable one... sweat.gif

my uncle also asked my parents to borrow RM8k to him, my parents asked my advice. i just told them, i cannot say "yes" or "no" since you guys r the elderly.
I can only tell u one thing , u must be prepared those money you will never get back once u lend to them.
Exiled_Gundam
post Sep 3 2012, 09:51 AM

550 posts

Haha my parents only knew about my true income just recently when I'm applying for house loan. I didn't tell them the actual amount last time, otherwise they will ask where's most of the money went since I spent little on food, clothing and transportation. The rest goes to my hobby tongue.gif Which I know they won't approve whistling.gif
WannaGetBuffed
post Sep 3 2012, 10:13 AM

982 posts

Shouldn't u be married by now?
Boldnut
post Sep 3 2012, 10:13 AM

2,202 posts

QUOTE(debbierowe @ Sep 3 2012, 09:46 AM)
relative hutang is unrecoverable one...  sweat.gif

my uncle also asked my parents to borrow RM8k to him, my parents asked my advice. i just told them, i cannot say "yes" or "no" since you guys r the elderly.
I can only tell u one thing , u must be prepared those money you will never get back once u lend to them.

already said, I already "strangerzone" them. I trust my best friend more than them lol.

peinsama
post Sep 3 2012, 10:14 AM

Au fait
725 posts

well.....

im not going to tell my mum im a mercenary..so no.
kenji1903
post Sep 3 2012, 10:15 AM

3,784 posts

my parents only know my salary when i started to work... i stopped telling them when they kept restricting and telling me how to spend my money... giving me their financial advices, etc and expecting me to comply doh.gif

i think keeping a certain amount of secrecy especially on money is healthy... good for everyone...

family members tend to jelly if they know what you spend your money on... and will kinda pissed off when you spend your money more on yourself and rather than on them...
rayng18
post Sep 3 2012, 10:17 AM

1,481 posts

My siblings and I dun mingle with my aunties/uncles or cousins from both sides since grandparents (both sides) passed away, only my mom will occasionally chat with her sisters. All my cousins are well off so nothing to compare so its like (river water don't disturb well water (hor sui pat farn cheng sui)
kenji1903
post Sep 3 2012, 10:39 AM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Sep 3 2012, 08:41 AM)
fat hopes! depends on the parents lo. my parents r ok if i earn less than my cousins since my grades always bungkus compared to my cousins. i was a very "ponteng sekolah" kind of child.  whistling.gif
when you get older, there's nothing else to compare so the kids will be the best item to show off doh.gif

my parents always favor my younger bro more because he's earning aussie dollar... they seldom boast about me (which i think is good), but they are not as proud of me as compared to my younger bro and sis cos both also not earning in Ringgit doh.gif
servo
post Sep 3 2012, 11:00 AM

255 posts

well... my dad told me right after i grad that i will no longer live in his house anymore and do not dare to ask him for money anymore. in fact, he says he expect me to give him and my mom allowances every month or so, or when i can...

so yes.. my parents knows how much i earn... other relatives... GTFO
pgsiemkia
post Sep 3 2012, 11:03 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Sep 3 2012, 07:45 AM)
My aunty and my cousin gaduh2 last weekend. My aunty asked my cousin how much she earns cos my aunty wants to see if my cousin cukup makan. Especially since my cousin 30+ years old still no car always gaduh2 with younger sis to use family car. My cousin gave my aunty dirty look and said "non of ur business". My aunty rage and complaint to my mom. Then my mom feel serba salah cos last week my mom told my aunty that I tell my mom everything- how much I earn, how much bonus I get, how much my bf earns, how much bonus my bf gets. I tell her cos I know she just wants to see if me n my bf are financially stable. She's not the kind relies on her children's money.

Not currently cos she shares it with her other kakis and they compare and kutuk if low..

SUSash tray
post Sep 3 2012, 11:04 AM

Yes, I let my parents know how much I earn, but before I tell them, I divide what i actually earn by 10
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 11:07 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(WannaGetBuffed @ Sep 3 2012, 10:13 AM)
Shouldn't u be married by now?
not ready yet la tongue.gif
funnybone
post Sep 3 2012, 11:08 AM

958 posts

I made the mistake of telling my mom how much I earn.....now i get bambooed every day and night asking me to get married fast and put more into investments...
Even ask me to cut down my drinking and don't mingle with mainland china chicks......headache everyday now doh.gif
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 11:09 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(funnybone @ Sep 3 2012, 11:08 AM)
I made the mistake of telling my mom how much I earn.....now i get bambooed every day and night asking me to get married fast and put more into investments...
Even ask me to cut down my drinking and don't mingle with mainland china chicks......headache everyday now doh.gif
hahahahahaha, she just wants to see fat grandchildren running around the house sweat.gif
Renekton
post Sep 3 2012, 11:10 AM

589 posts

My parents are disappointed with my pay sad.gif cos my siblings earn much much higher
jack~daniel
post Sep 3 2012, 11:12 AM

833 posts

i warned my wife not to tell anything about my financial status, later her mom will tell all her friends and show off how good her son in law
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 11:13 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(Renekton @ Sep 3 2012, 11:10 AM)
My parents are disappointed with my pay sad.gif cos my siblings earn much much higher
join the gang. i earn about 1/5 of what my brothers earn. dont sweat over it. ur life is ur life, their life is their life. as long as ur income is legal, nothing 2b malu about smile.gif
stinger82
post Sep 3 2012, 11:14 AM

288 posts

if u tell your parents your income, dont be surprised if they boast around to your relatives.

TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 11:14 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(stinger82 @ Sep 3 2012, 11:14 AM)
if u tell your parents your income, dont be surprised if they boast around to your relatives.
my parents not that kind la rclxms.gif
FormalCat
post Sep 3 2012, 11:21 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(funnybone @ Sep 3 2012, 11:08 AM)
good la. that means you have earning power for a good future already rclxms.gif good for you that your mom is telling you about investment. A lot of people have to poke in the dark and figure out themselves.

QUOTE(Renekton @ Sep 3 2012, 11:10 AM)
Parents are like this. In school/college always trying to make you into a trophy child. I feel this is wrong. When I kena this sort of treatment I gaduh with them for 2-3 days. House like want to fall apart. After a while they realised what they were doing, comparing people with other people, and they stopped doing it. It's not easy but when the time comes you need to tell them that you are not a trophy child and ask them if they are going to give you moral support or not. When your mind is free of these things, you can progress better in life.
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Sep 3 2012, 11:22 AM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

I did tell my parents how much I earn and I used to update them about my increment but not anymore after they stop asking me.
TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 11:27 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(uNeVErwaLkaloNe @ Sep 3 2012, 11:22 AM)
I did tell my parents how much I earn and I used to update them about my increment but not anymore after they stop asking me.
they know u richfag already so they stopped worrying rclxms.gif
kenji1903
post Sep 3 2012, 11:39 AM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Sep 3 2012, 11:27 AM)
they know u richfag already so they stopped worrying  rclxms.gif
not sure but i think my parents are asking cos they think i earn more than i tell them doh.gif

it's like they are worrying i'm not giving them enough instead of worrying whether i have enough for myself doh.gif
Monya Meow Meow
post Sep 3 2012, 11:43 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 3 2012, 10:39 AM)
when you get older, there's nothing else to compare so the kids will be the best item to show off doh.gif

my parents always favor my younger bro more because he's earning aussie dollar... they seldom boast about me (which i think is good), but they are not as proud of me as compared to my younger bro and sis cos both also not earning in Ringgit doh.gif
Earning AUD but spend in AUD so nothing much to compare about.
Moreover, the tax is a killer...

This post has been edited by Monya Meow Meow: Sep 3 2012, 11:43 AM
Renekton
post Sep 3 2012, 11:44 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Sep 3 2012, 11:43 AM)
is it 40% now?
Monya Meow Meow
post Sep 3 2012, 11:45 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(Renekton @ Sep 3 2012, 11:44 AM)
is it 40% now?
Depending on what bracket you're in.
The max is 46% if I recall hmm.gif
kenji1903
post Sep 3 2012, 11:46 AM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Sep 3 2012, 11:43 AM)
most people including my parents only think converting aussie dollar to ringgit, wah... 3.3x, a lot of money sweat.gif
kenji1903
post Sep 3 2012, 11:47 AM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Sep 3 2012, 11:45 AM)
Depending on what bracket you're in.
The max is 46% if I recall  hmm.gif
they'll deduct max first then rebate back depending on your claims and income bracket... forgot max how much... it was 40% 7-8 years back laugh.gif
Monya Meow Meow
post Sep 3 2012, 11:48 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 3 2012, 11:46 AM)
most people including my parents only think converting aussie dollar to ringgit, wah... 3.3x, a lot of money sweat.gif
That thinking is kinda valid if your bro or sis sends money back home.
If they make a living here in OZ and spends in AUD then not much diff seriously.
Predator10
post Sep 3 2012, 11:52 AM

421 posts

need to tell amount? just tell her whether u're stable or not thats all..

TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 12:07 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 3 2012, 11:39 AM)
not sure but i think my parents are asking cos they think i earn more than i tell them doh.gif

it's like they are worrying i'm not giving them enough instead of worrying whether i have enough for myself doh.gif
serious???!!! shocking.gif

TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 12:08 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(Predator10 @ Sep 3 2012, 11:52 AM)
need to tell amount? just tell her whether u're stable or not thats all..
"stable" got dif interpretations ma. whistling.gif

taitianhin
post Sep 3 2012, 12:18 PM

This is
1,322 posts

sometimes let them know...sometimes not... i got multiple income source...and i change job n got increment q often...so they only know my past pay...
Exiled_Gundam
post Sep 3 2012, 12:32 PM

550 posts

Haha some friends I know have parents who will insist of sending back more money if income increase...
vinesh22
post Sep 3 2012, 12:57 PM

Eat.Fly.Lift.Party.Love.Sleep
546 posts

I usually let my mom know everything.
Dad is a fukken richfag, still working after 35years, in O&G summore, so yeah, you can imagine.
They've never actually asked me for my income though. But even if they did, I'd have no second thoughts on letting them know. Heck, my dad has even sat my brothers and I down and told us what to do in case either he or my mom pass away suddenly, that was years ago, but he still reminds us from time to time, wtf..
kenji1903
post Sep 3 2012, 01:32 PM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Sep 3 2012, 11:48 AM)
That thinking is kinda valid if your bro or sis sends money back home.
If they make a living here in OZ and spends in AUD then not much diff seriously.
it still beats mine if i give RM300 vs his AUD300 or her SGD300 doh.gif

although we are giving the same based on income, mine fail big time due to exchange rates doh.gif
kenji1903
post Sep 3 2012, 01:34 PM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Sep 3 2012, 12:07 PM)
serious???!!!  shocking.gif
last time they tell me need to finish paying up their property first...
now they keep telling me don't buy so many properties...

you say leh? doh.gif
Monya Meow Meow
post Sep 3 2012, 01:51 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 3 2012, 01:32 PM)
it still beats mine if i give RM300 vs his AUD300 or her SGD300 doh.gif

although we are giving the same based on income, mine fail big time due to exchange rates doh.gif
Yeah as I said, one on one should be about the same but if exchanging all to RM then of course you're at a huge disadvantage sad.gif
hmalaya
post Sep 3 2012, 01:59 PM

108 posts

in small town, aunties like to compare their kids 'achievement' be it meeting at kopitiam, pasar or road side...

school time...how many As
uni time...go which U
work time...how much salary

better keep the figure to urself...

Scar_face
post Sep 3 2012, 02:02 PM

521 posts

i tell em..i even tell them if they need extra money just feel free too ask me..i know i earn normal2 only, but i'm the only one left who dont have family..so i think i can survive with few hundred left if i give most of my salary to my parent and of coz they dont ask unless they really need it
FLampard
post Sep 3 2012, 02:04 PM

577 posts

hahaha i tell u, if ur relationship with ur family is good. then ok la. in my maternal family, thats the opposite. my mother dun want let other siblings know much about her earning, else u see those ppl come borrow money or come kacao kacao..
kenji1903
post Sep 3 2012, 02:26 PM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Sep 3 2012, 01:51 PM)
Yeah as I said, one on one should be about the same but if exchanging all to RM then of course you're at a huge disadvantage  sad.gif
too bad lor... parent's gave me that feel sweat.gif
Monya Meow Meow
post Sep 3 2012, 02:40 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 3 2012, 02:26 PM)
too bad lor... parent's gave me that feel sweat.gif
Give your parents RM600 instead of RM300 then tongue.gif
kenji1903
post Sep 3 2012, 03:02 PM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Sep 3 2012, 02:40 PM)
Give your parents RM600 instead of RM300 then  tongue.gif
i'll give if i can but now memang difficult lar... i need to plan for my retirement...
gundamsp01
post Sep 3 2012, 03:06 PM

gunpla procrastinator
864 posts

parents/grandparents yes, others no

yet still saying: "why so little?! must aim higher & earn more!"
titanz
post Sep 3 2012, 03:20 PM

35 posts

tell the "lower amount"....dun let them know the REAL amount
ar188
post Sep 3 2012, 03:23 PM

9,188 posts

hi ah beth. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Sep 3 2012, 03:24 PM

9,188 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Sep 3 2012, 11:07 AM)
not ready yet la  tongue.gif
always not ready, dunno when only ready beranak.. biggrin.gif
takr
post Sep 3 2012, 03:25 PM

38 posts

My wife told her parents - lo and behold they started calculating our epf and even tried to budget our salary.. Then start pressuring us to build house on their land.. Then pressure us to pay their investment properties.. When that failed, start comparing us to their friends sons and daughters..
So nowadays I make it a point not to divulge our financial situation.. You'll never know what people and their agendas are.. Even people closest to you
patienceGNR
post Sep 3 2012, 03:31 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,022 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Sep 3 2012, 07:52 AM)

Typical elders. Everything also want to compare.

I earn peanut or I earn big sum also nobody cares in my family (that include relatives). I think you should watch the world burn by telling your aunt you earn RM3000 (example) while your cousin earns lesser than you.

TSBeth79
post Sep 3 2012, 03:32 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 3 2012, 03:24 PM)
always not ready, dunno when only ready beranak..  biggrin.gif
hi ar188! wub.gif

if have also, just have one only. one also damn expensive to feed nowadays. little bloodsuckers, hahahahahaha rclxms.gif
lucifah
post Sep 3 2012, 03:36 PM

St. Fu
7,932 posts

pass me a copy, would you

and please include my name is your will eh, bro... hahaha
Monya Meow Meow
post Sep 4 2012, 07:27 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 3 2012, 03:02 PM)
i'll give if i can but now memang difficult lar... i need to plan for my retirement...
Must be pretty tight for you I'd imagine hmm.gif
So fast plan for retirement? How old are you lolz!
spunkberry
post Sep 4 2012, 07:29 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

discussing starting salary, I think it's okay. other than that, that is personal information

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Sep 4 2012, 07:30 AM
samlee860407
post Sep 4 2012, 07:58 AM

4,624 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 3 2012, 11:39 AM)

some might troll and BS here with your comment, but i understand how you feel smile.gif
SUSPepper
post Sep 4 2012, 08:48 AM

427 posts

good reason sometimes not disclose it to anyone, coz sometimes ppl mindfucuk by family members their eyes kena blind by money, hear and see too many case liao fight coz of mooney no more family to be liao.

if parent ask, i just say enough eat liao can watch movie everyweek got 5 figure in bank ken liao, no need say so much

see a case got one sister very rich millionnaire from toto but hide the fact and money in bank from aunties and unkers and only gib parents 10k each, everyday still go work, money go invest no tell everyone only give a little hint but never say too much coz if pipu hear you has many money they turn into a wolves.
kenji1903
post Sep 4 2012, 09:47 AM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Sep 4 2012, 07:27 AM)
Must be pretty tight for you I'd imagine  hmm.gif
So fast plan for retirement? How old are you lolz!
sort off cos planning for a kid next year onwards...

need to plan as young as possible... calculate backwards then you'll get shocked how much you actually need sweat.gif
kenji1903
post Sep 4 2012, 09:49 AM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Sep 4 2012, 07:58 AM)
some might troll and BS here with your comment, but i understand how you feel  smile.gif
*brohug* rclxms.gif
grumpydrive
post Sep 4 2012, 09:53 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Sep 3 2012, 08:07 AM)
+1.. LOL

INB4 - My younger sister like to brag on how much her gwailo husband earns and how "rich" her father-in-law is. doh.gif.

This post has been edited by grumpydrive: Sep 4 2012, 09:55 AM
Monya Meow Meow
post Sep 4 2012, 10:14 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 4 2012, 09:47 AM)
sort off cos planning for a kid next year onwards...

need to plan as young as possible... calculate backwards then you'll get shocked how much you actually need sweat.gif
Ah ok if you're planning for a kid then I guess it changes everything.
All the best man!
kenji1903
post Sep 4 2012, 11:01 AM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Sep 4 2012, 10:14 AM)
Ah ok if you're planning for a kid then I guess it changes everything.
All the best man!
same to you bro thumbup.gif
JerryTeh
post Sep 4 2012, 11:24 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 3 2012, 09:11 AM)
my income is BIG, im no sensitive
QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Sep 3 2012, 08:48 AM)

relative? NO  ...even grandma i also didnt say liao ...she is blood sucker ...sucked lot of money from my dad then just dump the money to my worthless cheongster uncle (he married)
peri peri, big income always scare of leeches tongue.gif

0.0416sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:40 AM