Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread v18, many people wanking for JB

angkhian
post Sep 9 2012, 10:10 AM

313 posts

hi guys, need help. Am new to Android.
I rooted my phone and then had kitchen app checkrom installed.
I tried to flash the stock kernel, then everything went well, until I chose to reboot and install. Suddenly my phone screen went black, notification and keypads light are up.
I thought had to wait for 5-10 mins, so I did. But after some time, still no response. I tried removing the battery, but it still wouldn't boot. What's wrong? Did I brick my phone?

Thanks sifus!
angkhian
post Sep 9 2012, 10:26 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(byut74 @ Sep 9 2012, 10:24 AM)
Try to reinstall stock firmware usung odin
Yes, I'm reinstalling the firmware. Fingers crossed. How long do I need to wait?
angkhian
post Sep 9 2012, 10:39 AM

313 posts

Need help, tried everything to factory reset. Phone is turned on, but screen is still black and notification lights are up. How?

Added on September 9, 2012, 10:50 amSo does that mean something wrong with my phone? Bricked is it? Should I send it back to Samsung Centre? But it's still rooted? How can I go about this? Thanks in advance. I'm so worried now.

This post has been edited by angkhian: Sep 9 2012, 10:50 AM
angkhian
post Sep 9 2012, 04:09 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(adfy @ Sep 9 2012, 11:07 AM)
Can you enter recovery mode by pressing button home + vol up + power at the same time and hold them until show some screen?
Yes I can. But when I try to reboot after wiping all cache, it still can't boot up the screen. Anyway I have sent to the Samsung SERVICE Centre. Waiting for them to check. Hopefully they don't know I rooted it..

angkhian
post Sep 9 2012, 04:43 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(Zhao @ Sep 9 2012, 04:24 PM)
doesnt matter if you root or not, samsung 1st step in checking malfunction is flash stock rom.
been there twice with two rooted phone, the 1st thing they ask, do you backup your files. As we will factory reset it.
Means they will be able to fix it?
I don't care what's inside or not. Nothing much since it's a new phone.
I just don't want an empty shell at the end of the day.
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 10:52 AM

313 posts

Hi, to follow up on my case, Samsung called back and said that because my warranty has void, they need to charge me RM750 to change the motherboard. Should I proceed or just take the phone back? According to them, my phone cannot even be turned on thus they can't help me. Is it true? Or they are just trying to scare me?
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 11:09 AM

313 posts

So I should take the phone back? The last time I tried it can be forced to download mode. I think I flashed the wrong rom..any ideas? Advices?
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 11:13 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Sep 11 2012, 11:11 AM)
what is the problem wit ur phone?
I rooted it. Then the next day I tried to flash the stock kernel via the KitchenApp CheckRom. Then I could not get the phone to turn on. It's on but the screen turned black. Took off battery etc but cannot work.

Added on September 11, 2012, 11:15 amSo I should take the phone back? The last time I tried it can be forced to download mode. I think I flashed the wrong rom..any ideas? Advices?

This post has been edited by angkhian: Sep 11 2012, 11:15 AM
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 11:21 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(ranc79 @ Sep 11 2012, 11:18 AM)
if it's the problem of flashing.. and since still can go into download mode.. y don't u just flash the rom again and see? shouldn't send it to the sc at the first place if it's your own flashing problem.. flashing rom really voided the warranty..
I am quite new to Android so I wasn't sure. I flashed the Rom using the Kitchen App. Is there a chance to restore using Odin?
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 11:28 AM

313 posts

Okay, I call the Samsung centre in 1u to take back my unit. Hopefully they sincerely helped me. Not trying to cheat me.
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 11:36 AM

313 posts

Any of you staying in PJ? Maybe we can meet up?
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 11:45 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Sep 11 2012, 11:38 AM)
try the one near federal highway. they provide better service i assume. i went there on saturday morning at 9am, i was the 2nd customer. the guy asked whether i needed the phone on the same day, i said yes. he then tried to squeeze time to repair my phone and i got it back on the same day at 1pm (they work half day on saturdays).

also i had no prove on my problem as it happens occasionally, but still he fixed it for me on the spot. very impressed with their service and attitude.
I
head to that SC and try ur luck, i think it should be fine.

P/S: i unrooted my phone and used triangle away to reset the binary counter. however i have a tonne loads of Root apps on my phone they didn't seem to bother though.
Thank you. I will try to restore it first. If all fails, I will go to that SC. Thanks wink.gif
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 11:48 AM

313 posts

If my screen is black, how do I install the triangle away thing?
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 12:24 PM

313 posts

I will try, thanks very much.
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 01:21 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(prem87 @ Sep 11 2012, 12:36 PM)
how long would they take to fix your phone tho if they were to change your motherboard?
3 days.

Added on September 11, 2012, 1:22 pm
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Sep 11 2012, 12:59 PM)
First..see if you phone can go into download mode or not..?
- power off your phone.
- use three buttons combo (vol down +  power + home button)
If can..then flash any official firmware.
If cannot..then try use usb jig (dont know whether can be use on S3 or not) to force your phone into download mode.

If still cannot after you try all this then had to bring to service centre edi.
Sorry, where can I get the official firmware?

This post has been edited by angkhian: Sep 11 2012, 01:22 PM
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 01:28 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Sep 11 2012, 01:24 PM)
it shouldn't take so long.

www,sammobile.com.

search for your device and download
Thanks. I hope the SC didn't lock my phone as I told them I want to take it back first. Maybe they will make it impossible for me to repair on my own so that I pay them.
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 01:34 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Sep 11 2012, 01:29 PM)
kinda pity seeing you  sweat.gif

where you staying man? PJ? if you can come down to shah alam or we can meet somewhere in the middle, i sure help you. as long as the download mode is still there, you are saved,

did you tell them you are flashing? if yes, then that why they provoke you say warranty void,
Yeah, first time doing this and I'm jammed. I didn't tell them anything. Just said I couldn't get my screen to on, and then the fella just kept my phone and said will send the phone to SC for me. After 3 days called me and say Samsung quoted them RM750 for change of motherboard. Apparently they found out that my phone has been rooted.

Added on September 11, 2012, 1:35 pm
QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Sep 11 2012, 01:32 PM)
is that an official SC service center? are u able to contact them directly?
as i know, i wanted to contact the service center on Federal Highway, the only way is to call to the call center and they will check my phone's status and see whether it is up for collection. i couldnt contact the SC directly
I send to the Samsung Shop in 1U.

This post has been edited by angkhian: Sep 11 2012, 01:35 PM
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 01:39 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Sep 11 2012, 01:36 PM)
hah, how the hell they can say that if they cant even turn on the phone? that must mean they turn it on, do you have the phone in your hand right now? or is it in their hand? grab it back first, and then try to make it go to download mode, volume down + home + power button, if can get into that mode, everything going to be alright,

if you cant go into that mode, then lets take it to the federal highway SC, lets not go to these shopping mall shop, i couldnt tell if they really samsung SC or just shop with samsung letters
Yes I read that if the screen can't turned on they won't be able to detect. But apparently they can access the download mode. So that's how they found out. That's why I'm trying to get the phone back first.
The phone is with them now. Can only get back on Friday the latest.
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 02:25 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Sep 11 2012, 02:18 PM)
no wonder
its a sep shop
take back ur phone first
the other way around
They said going to send to SC for
Me, that's why.
angkhian
post Sep 11 2012, 05:55 PM

313 posts

Update: I called Samsung store @ 1U, they told me they are still waiting for Samsung SC to send the phone back. Takes about 3-4 days. I told them that I need to collect the phone back ASAP..and even volunteered to go collect myself from the SC in Federal Highway. I am afraid that the Samsung SC will blacklist my IMEI (will they do that?) and maybe do something to my phone which will prevent me from even entering download mode and to repair it? I don't know..a lot of negative thoughts going in my head.

and if Samsung SC has filed a report to this case, if i am able to reset the binary counter, and bring it back there, do you think they will still fix it for me?

This post has been edited by angkhian: Sep 11 2012, 05:58 PM

0.0501sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:39 PM