Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread v18, many people wanking for JB

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 04:48 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Sep 14 2012, 04:43 PM)
hi, would like you guys to recommend some good rom for me , i don like samsung stock rom as i don need touchwiz. i like plain vanilla ICS / JB (preferable) feel like gnexus current jb... which rom is suitable for me in this case?
hm i see....

well from what i've seen....

people who want to keep touchwiz, but don't want the bloatware, and want the fixes for bugs for a stable rom, tend to opt for WanamLite. They have ICS (rock stable) or Jelly Bean leaks (kind of stable).
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1705866

For people who want the FULL NATIVE android experience, there is AOSP Super Nexus ROM. Also like the name suggests the intention of this rom is to also provide a similar experience like on the Nexus series of smartphones.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1817345

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 14 2012, 04:50 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 04:54 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Sep 14 2012, 04:49 PM)
errr.... i only read few page ...that is for s2 right?
i updated post with the s3 version of aosp super nexus nod.gif hit f5.

Anyway the reason why i like wanamlite's version is because

1. keeps touch wiz
2. uses stock samsung kernel (most apps prefer roms based on stock for compatibility)
3. wanam is a top developer and is famous for releasing his updates very fast after leaked or official roms are made available.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 14 2012, 04:56 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 04:57 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Sep 14 2012, 04:56 PM)
okokok thanks ....
anyway there is so many roms for s3.... i suggest you do some self research over here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1566

cool.gif

PS: to use custom rom you need to do a few things

1. root your S3 (google the guide for CF-ROOT + Odin3 method)
2. decide on which rom you like and download it onto your phone.
3. Boot up phone into CWM recovery, and do the following
(a) factory reset
(b) clear cache
© clear dalvik

then proceed to install zip located on your internal SD. When it says completed the install and asks you to reboot, do just that.

After using the quick setup (skip the settings when possible) when starting your phone, perform the manual factory reset using this method
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...84&postcount=15

Reboot your phone, do the quick setup again (do it properly this time).

Enjoy thumbup.gif

And later when you do the same process again when upgrading your rom to a newer version, or to a different rom from another developer, make sure you also additionally backup your apps using Titanium Backup, and proceed to sync it to your Dropbox nod.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 14 2012, 05:02 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 05:06 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Sep 14 2012, 05:02 PM)
ya...my experience is flash rom not that much...so far i only flash 2 device : gnexus and tab 7 +... and all was stock rom...  s3 was a vy vy vy nice phone in terms of spec... but i don like those samsung bundle program... i get use to nexus interface already... so i think why not let me use gnexus with s3 spec...it should b cool then...
another question here... normally those stock rom it will gv u OTA update if got any... if i flash to those custom rom, how do i do update if there is a fix? need to download a flash again or got OTA also ? don't laugh at me if this question was too funny...
well not everyone should be expected to know everything. With that said, i'm not 100% sure regarding the OTA matters, as i haven't really investigated about it much sweat.gif

Whenever there is an update i usually update the rom manually myself. For app updates, e.g. googlemaps, streetview the phone does sometimes show in notifications there is an update and asks you to update, if that is what you meant by OTA ? hmm.gif

To check for app updates i use this "Changelog Droid"
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...logviewer&hl=en

For rom updates i check back to the XFA rom threads every now and then using Tapatalk
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...e=search_result

Franco kernel has an updater app. But this seems to be for kernel only, not the entire rom doh.gif
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...e=search_result

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 14 2012, 05:10 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 05:12 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Sep 14 2012, 05:08 PM)
r the bold parts the same?
no not the same.

From what i've seen, when i try to use factory reset in CWM it says it skipped it. So i don't think that works atm probably because the CWM i am using isn't fully supported yet on Jelly Bean (i suspect).

So that is why i do the factory reset using the linked suggestion which i can confirm works 100%. But then all your phone data will be gone including titanium backups stored on your phone which is why i suggested sync your backup to dropbox (except for CWM which is still accessible).

Added on September 14, 2012, 5:14 pm
QUOTE(drumhitz @ Sep 14 2012, 05:10 PM)
Hi all experts... been using stock rom with GO launcher for a while..decided to root and flash kernel (still considering which one to use).. not really wanna flash custom rom..
I like Siyah kernel unfortunately it doesn't yet support Jelly Bean roms yet. Gokhanmoral said he will work on a Jelly Bean siyah kernel once Jelly Bean has been officially released.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 14 2012, 05:14 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 05:28 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 14 2012, 05:18 PM)
You can set your backup default at external sd
Menu/preferences/backup folder search whole device
Before doing this create titaniumbackup folder in ext sdcard
yep this should work.

i personally though haven't tried backing up this way because i don't have an extsd card. But yeah for keeping backups that is probably the better/faster choice than syncing to drop box nod.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 05:40 PM

4,456 posts

Well what exactly is it you want to backup ? for myself ....

1. apps ... (titanium backup)

2. pictures/videos from my cam (i use dropsync which does 2 way syncing)
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....dropsync&hl=en

3. Contacts (Samsung or google account, you can export/import contacts to backup and recover).

4. APN and wireless settings (titanium backup)

also like the other person suggested for titanium backup, if you got a ext sd, backup to there.

But if you don't have ext sd, then backup to dropbox using dropsync or the official dropbox app. Samsung Galaxy S3 users get 50 GB of storage space for 2 years.

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 07:45 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(AsTiGaTe @ Sep 14 2012, 07:39 PM)
hi guys, now im using WanamLite Jelly bean UBDLI1 V3.4 Android 4.1.1. i did hard reset.so no apps, i did back up already, can i just get the apps by restoring it in cwm?or it will reset the rom?
.... i hoped you backed up using titanium backup TO EITHER dropbox or an external SD card.

If you did, then you can easily restore the apps using titanium backup select restore apps only. nod.gif

If your referring to nandroid, then i don't know about that sweat.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 07:50 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(AsTiGaTe @ Sep 14 2012, 07:45 PM)
so is there any chance it will restore my previous stock rom or is there any other way?
if you want to revert back to stock there are a few methods don't worry.

method 1:
Use mobile odin

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...eodin.pro&hl=en

pros:
easy and best for those who want an easy way to revert to stock.

cons:
need to pay for it ...

method 2:
Use odin3 (pc version)

pros:
free

cons:
need to use mini usb to do this.

QUOTE(AsTiGaTe @ Sep 14 2012, 07:45 PM)
p/s my titanium back up also dont have.so i must download it and install it and restore so i can get my apps .rite?
yes when you factory reset by using the phone code method, it will also delete titanium backup app.

So what you need to do after booting up your phone is to, access googleplay and download titanium backup and install it. This is the first and only app you need to install back.

Once done, use titanium backup to recover your applications only.

Personally i don't recover system as well, because i am afraid it will carry over outdated files that was replaced in the newer rom. As such i only recover

1. applications with data (do not confuse this with system data which is something else separate)

2. contacts

3. APN and wireless

that is all sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 14 2012, 07:54 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 08:14 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(AsTiGaTe @ Sep 14 2012, 08:05 PM)
well somehow, i went to cmw, and restore my back up.and it did bring me to my previous rom.not in wanam already...now gonna flash again wanam to try download titanium and restore apps.
i wanted to share with you of something that has been on my mind lately concerning wanamlite.

wanamlite is good, it's just that it doesn't have that neat touch screen button for menu like the Super Nexus rom has hmm.gif

The million dollar question is, do you mind using a physical button for menu (s3) or a virtual touch screen menu button (like the nexus) hmm.gif

I think this is the single KEY difference between wanamlite and super nexus rom. One is sticking very closely to the original software (although they do remove bloatware and add some improvements here and there although not getting too carried away with that like some roms do), and the other makes one significant change that is actually in my mind starting to make a whole lot of sense hmm.gif

QUOTE(AsTiGaTe @ Sep 14 2012, 08:05 PM)
well somehow, i went to cmw, and restore my back up.and it did bring me to my previous rom.not in wanam already...now gonna flash again wanam to try download titanium and restore apps.
haha silly me, i forgot to factory reset and wipe cache this time, somehow it did booted and can function.its on wanam and all the apps are there.didnt  factory reset and didnt wipe as well.something not recommended rite?  sweat.gif
well i wouldn't recommend doing factory too often just because setting up your phone again does take time even with the convenience of titanium backup.

It's recommended to do when upgrading/downgrading roms just to be sure your phone isn't bugging up because you skipped factory resetting.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 14 2012, 08:18 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 08:19 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(nanamizuki @ Sep 14 2012, 08:15 PM)
guys pls help...i installed papago x5 and put the data files on the phone's space edi but it still detect i got no data files when i launch the app...any help??? thx
...is that original paid app your using ? hmm.gif i thought paid software should be straight forward when installing it.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 08:23 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(AsTiGaTe @ Sep 14 2012, 08:18 PM)
i actually dun really use the physical button, so super nexus has more effects in terms of graphic?and display?
well my point was, there is a difference between using a physical button and a touch screen button for menu .... you try it after a few hours which you think feels better.

If i use physical it will wear out more and more i use it. Also it requires more actuating force to actuate the button to register ....

compared to the touch screen virtual button which has NO WEAR AND TEAR (unless you consider screen usage does wear out AMOLED because it is using organic parts, which doesn't count since your still using your screen regardless ) and it is much smoother to actuate the menu button with a quick tap.

This is the Key difference i was referring to.

When i first got my S3 i didn't think it a big deal, but now i'm starting to question this after my regular usage of the S3 for the past few months now hmm.gif

Added on September 14, 2012, 8:24 pm
QUOTE(thana146 @ Sep 14 2012, 08:20 PM)
Zello walkie talkie application is cool... Anyone using it?
This one ?
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...loudtalks&hl=en

Nope but seems like a good idea hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 14 2012, 08:24 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 08:50 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(AsTiGaTe @ Sep 14 2012, 08:31 PM)
i think i need time to explore more, so which rom are u recommending to me? to me since the day i use my n73 till the menu button worn out.i never dare to play with menu button alot since it is the most important button and if its spoilt its hard for anything, in this case s3 menu button is important for task manager and qucik exit.so i dun wish to risk my button. yes of course the screen is protected with screen protector plus it will be tap gently on that screen, so hardly it will tear out or spoil.

i tried dead trigger on high setting.it lags.
notification wise.its very detailed.got details of the email on it.part of email's detail.
for now i strongly recommend using wanamlite to get you started. it sticks closely to the stockrom but with improvements such as removal of bloatware.

But you already said you didn't like the touchwiz..... then there 2 options:

1. use a launcher which replaces the touchwiz (you can find launchers from googleplay)

2. use another rom which doesn't use the touchwiz. super nexus opts to use the original google android look and experience.

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 09:31 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Sep 14 2012, 09:25 PM)
main reason for me using the on screen button other than the wear and tear, is the multi ask button/ recent app button. instead of having to hold down the home button, i get fast access with one click
oh yeah... your right.

i forgot to mention this.

actually some of the samsung galaxy s3 reviewers note this particular issue on the S3 when comparing to say the Nexus which uses a touch screen menu button rather a physical one.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 14 2012, 09:34 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 09:36 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Sep 14 2012, 09:32 PM)
i really cry hard when i saw we got no strong AOKP support,,, WHY TEAM KANG... WAAAAAAAIII
i know right .... this is one of the main reasons why i still use wanamlite despite the benefit of the super nexus rom touch screen menu button sad.gif

wanamlite has lots of support and he tends to do releases way more often. Most other developers usually take fixes from wanam's releases.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 09:41 PM

4,456 posts

QUAD VS DUAL CORE SAMSUNG S3's !!! Fight biggrin.gif

Technically if the software is quad core optimized, it should work more efficiently aka faster and use less power.

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 09:50 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Sep 14 2012, 09:47 PM)
whut up with the internet speed, so different  blink.gif
i suspect.... both devices are using the same internet line ....

so when you run this test, both devices will fight for bandwidth ....

i think a proper test would be one where each took their own separate turn, rather than doing simultaneously to get a more accurate result.

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 10:47 PM

4,456 posts

Source:
http://www.androidauthority.com/over-half-...ilities-114885/

PS: this app was developed by DARPA
The Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency is an agency of the United States Department of Defense responsible for the development of new technologies for use by the military.

Source:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DARPA

For the record, my S3 using jelly bean leak rom with the installed apps is immune to there vulnerabilities nod.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 14 2012, 10:50 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 11:21 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 14 2012, 11:03 PM)
I noted you are dead serious n concerned about such stuffs having installed already several such related apps in your phone
You must be a VIP so concerned about your phone security

For me all these are superfluous stuffs. If I lose my phone or even hacked no worries as I has zero confidential stuffs inside except contact address n tel nos
That is the thing. You = not same as other people.

Different people got different uses for their phones. Some have important stuff on it, some don't. Some don't particularly care about their security, whereas some do.

As such apparently it's not useful for you personally fair enough, but we shouldn't say then that nobody else has a valid reason to use it since i don't .......

if anyone finds it useful, good for them if not then no loss. This is the reason i bothered to post it in the first place for those who may find it useful for them.

Totally agreed with Xaectorz's suggestion for you to follow
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 14 2012, 11:04 PM)
ignore it then whistling.gif
My point is, this isn't such a big deal that needs to be debated or even create an issue out of does it ? sweat.gif

my 5cents..

With that out of the way, does anybody have any other security app to recommend to me ? hmm.gif other than avast mobile security, adway, and anti spyware which i am using right now.....

i installed openvpn for android app because i wanted to set it up so i am connected between my android smartphone and my QNAP TS-659 Pro II NAS securely. Unfortunately the setup involving CA cert was a bit complicated, and from my testing it didn't work :[ i probably botched up a step or 2.

There was this other app call pdroid which has a good firewall that doesn't use much resources at all. But i haven't yet gotten around to using it yet. I'm not sure if it supports jelly bean as of it hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 14 2012, 11:29 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 14 2012, 11:50 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(tashfinsheikh @ Sep 14 2012, 11:34 PM)
I have installed Plan B and Lookout just to be safe now, once kena stolen now want to be safe, learned my lesson

last time lost my S3 and until now cannot find it and Samsung is not helping to even lock it for me  sad.gif

Samsung customer support is haih, no good only  sad.gif
from your experience how easy is it to set that up ?

In avast they have the same thing, but once i've setup it's too secure ..... later i wanted to update rom a bit troublesome to deactivate and reactive it all again sweat.gif

QUOTE(AsTiGaTe @ Sep 14 2012, 11:37 PM)
LOL!!! i just flashed v3.4 UBDL1 few hours ago. shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
so many leaks make head spin rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 14 2012, 11:51 PM

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0408sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:30 PM