Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread v18, many people wanking for JB
benny888
Sep 14 2012, 06:48 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(drumhitz @ Sep 14 2012, 05:10 PM) Hi all experts... been using stock rom with GO launcher for a while..decided to root and flash kernel (still considering which one to use).. not really wanna flash custom rom.. my stupid question is this.. if i root now and flash kernel, will I still get OTA update for JB when stock rom released? Im deciding whether to root now or root after i got JB OTA... thanks guys.. No. OTA only possible on stock rom n stock kernel Root is still OK
benny888
Sep 14 2012, 06:49 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(renishi @ Sep 14 2012, 05:28 PM) how do i enable it? i need to call or activate it through atm? it keep block my card >> not debit (after initial purchase success, subsequent purchases are all denied) Contact bank n request activation of your card for online purchases. Activation is immediate
benny888
Sep 14 2012, 11:03 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 14 2012, 10:47 PM)  Source: http://www.androidauthority.com/over-half-...ilities-114885/PS: this app was developed by DARPA For the record, my S3 using jelly bean leak rom with the installed apps is immune to there vulnerabilities  I noted you are dead serious n concerned about such stuffs having installed already several such related apps in your phone You must be a VIP so concerned about your phone security For me all these are superfluous stuffs. If I lose my phone or even hacked no worries as I has zero confidential stuffs inside except contact address n tel nos
benny888
Sep 14 2012, 11:15 PM
Gadget Freak
Simply put anything you transact through internet is never safe. That is why I never do bank transactions on my phone No matter how much security controls you put in it can be hack sooner or later I don't even bother to use all those security password apps to protect one data. Don't put such stuffs in phone than no worry about it getting hacked You can be preventive but there is never a guaranteed you will be 100% safe The phone is the worst tool to put such stuffs as it is easily lost or stolen If you need decode the description so that only you know what it means eg in my previous old Nokia I will put a contact name and tel no as my bank account number n if number too long I split it into 2 as a postcode. Only I know which contact name is my bank. I am amazed so many users just happily key in directly their bank name n account Nos in phone n protect it with those password apps thinking is safe
benny888
Sep 14 2012, 11:46 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(AsTiGaTe @ Sep 14 2012, 11:33 PM) one question, how do u buy or make purchase of apps in play store???? or use all free apps??  Through my Mac at market.android.com And I pay for every single paid app n NEVER use a single pirate crack app. So I don't believe in even using those security apps which I think maybe necessary for those who download such This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 14 2012, 11:49 PM
benny888
Sep 14 2012, 11:59 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(jcksn81 @ Sep 14 2012, 11:55 PM) Uncle Benny, Mind to share currently which Window Mobile phone is the strongest on the market ? Sorry long time never touch windows mobile. Last was HTC hd2 Guess should be Nokia lumia series but advisable to get the newer win8 version due next month or later. Present models ALL CANNOT upgrade to win8
benny888
Sep 15 2012, 12:02 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(jcksn81 @ Sep 15 2012, 12:00 AM) Thanks for the info ... Lumia 920 wat price now ? May be want to have a try on Window Mobile also ... Hehe No idea but guess around 1.8k Not available yet here This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 15 2012, 12:03 AM
benny888
Sep 15 2012, 12:04 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(jcksn81 @ Sep 15 2012, 12:02 AM) I c ... then better wait 1st ... 920 is win8 mobile
benny888
Sep 15 2012, 12:19 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 15 2012, 12:16 AM) my bro live in Singapore (study) ask me which better, either LTE or international 1, don't know how to answer so the update is different with international version right ? Get LTE best of both world. It will still work on 3g/HSPDA in Msia Rom n update is definitely different
benny888
Sep 15 2012, 12:24 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(YouDontKnowMyName @ Sep 15 2012, 12:07 AM) hey guys is CM10 supported on S3? i always can't seem to find international galaxy S3 listed on the supported devices list for CM10. Only always see US variants of S3  Try Recommended http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1881437Or http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1797109Or http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1873674
benny888
Sep 15 2012, 12:27 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 15 2012, 12:21 AM) aiyo after my bro finish study, still need to work at there study left 1 year, then work at SG but normally GSM (international version) will get faster update right ? Unfortunately true that LTE update slower Since he work in spore more sense to get in spore If LTE look for coverage of 4g as different telcos different n limited coverage
benny888
Sep 15 2012, 12:28 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(jcksn81 @ Sep 15 2012, 12:26 AM) can edit meh ?  Of course you can edit it
benny888
Sep 15 2012, 12:35 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 15 2012, 12:32 AM) thanks you 2 last question, korea also using that quad core + 2gb ram of s3 right ?? if yes once korea release new firmware then can flash it since Samsung is korea company, update shouldn't slow compare to international version  Careful Korean phones uses different type of GSM/LTE from most Asian countries Check n reconfirm before update
benny888
Sep 15 2012, 11:24 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(jcksn81 @ Sep 15 2012, 10:52 AM) damn... i still can't edit it after press dat button ... any sifu can help here ... That shows you do not have full root , only partial rooted Re root your phone and reflash your rom
benny888
Sep 15 2012, 12:59 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 15 2012, 12:28 PM) I just noticed this Yeah the above is for tablet, but from the description it points out some performance improvements. so was wondering about smartphone launchers like nova, adw etc... Does that mean if i install a third party launcher it will remove the touchwiz ? or will it just overlap on it ? How does this work ? also will it improve my performance vs using touch wiz ? Update: nevermind found out the answer myself My next question is What's the best way to stop touchwiz using ram and all that if running another launcher?Is the only possible solution to this a ROM which doesn't use touch wiz at all ? Such as super nexus ? No need to use such big bold letters next time. It is shouting mode Just use titanium backup freeze the tw launcher This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 15 2012, 01:00 PM
benny888
Sep 15 2012, 01:04 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 15 2012, 01:02 PM) you mean install a third party launcher e.g. Nova, and then use titanium backup to freeze touchwiz ? is that what you meant  Yes
benny888
Sep 15 2012, 06:50 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(ph0bic @ Sep 15 2012, 06:32 PM) hi guys..i'm facing this problem..there are some apps i cannot download from the pay store..it gives me this message "Error processing purchase. [DF-BPA-09] anyone face the same problem as i am? currently running on wanamlite 3.4 with siyah kernel... help pleaseeee Go to settings/apps look for playstore n Google services framework select clear data n restart phone If still have similar error last resort remove your Google account n key in again
benny888
Sep 16 2012, 08:34 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(p3psi892 @ Sep 16 2012, 08:23 AM) If you do factory reset the very first time it will wipe your internal sd clean. Subsequent will not Advisable to setyour titanium backup to external sdcard as default is at internal sd. Do this at menu/preference/backup folder n search device Before that create folder titaniumbackup at external sdcard first
benny888
Sep 16 2012, 11:30 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(G K Lai @ Sep 16 2012, 11:27 AM) Hi all sifu, what is the difference/benefits of this E-Warranty thing? I thought should register our phone at Samsung Malaysia website? I'm confusing... Many thanks in advance! E Warranty is just an additional service As long as you have register your phone and even did not , but have the official receipt , your warranty is still honored The advantage of registering is you need not show proof of purchase during any warranty claims
benny888
Sep 16 2012, 04:54 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(YouDontKnowMyName @ Sep 16 2012, 02:44 PM) new iphone got thunderbolt meh In my opinion that is a piece of dumb ad by Samsung It will only appeal to non tech or non knowleageable users You don't openly compare software with opponent hardware features -really dumb