Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread v18, many people wanking for JB

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 4 2012, 01:33 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Sep 3 2012, 05:20 PM)
according to the peeps in xda doing the comparisons.. only in certain situation that the Sony is slightly better than Samsung. Sth like the type of noise introduced.

in daylight, no difference.
hi farscope, wanted to ask you something.

read your site but it doesn't have a shoutbox to converse icon_question.gif

Anyway, i like procapture but i noticed in my video recording this stats when playing with media player classic, to get the info on the video recording

CODE
General
Complete name                  : my video.mp4
Format                         : MPEG-4
Format profile                 : Base Media
Codec ID                       : isom
File size                      : 138 MiB
Duration                       : 1mn 9s
Overall bit rate               : 16.6 Mbps
Encoded date                   : UTC 2012-09-02 05:23:42
Tagged date                    : UTC 2012-09-02 05:23:42

Video
ID                             : 1
Format                         : AVC
Format/Info                    : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                 : High@L4.0
Format settings, CABAC         : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames      : 1 frame
Format settings, GOP           : M=1, N=30
Codec ID                       : avc1
Codec ID/Info                  : Advanced Video Coding
Source duration                : 1mn 9s
Bit rate                       : 16.5 Mbps
Width                          : 1 920 pixels
Height                         : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio           : 16:9
Frame rate mode                : Variable
Frame rate                     : 29.096 fps
Minimum frame rate             : 9.463 fps
Maximum frame rate             : 38.760 fps
Color space                    : YUV
Chroma subsampling             : 4:2:0
Bit depth                      : 8 bits
Scan type                      : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)             : 0.273
Stream size                    : 137 MiB (99%)
Source stream size             : 137 MiB (99%)
Title                          : VideoHandle
Language                       : English
mdhd_Duration                  : 69579

Audio
ID                             : 2
Format                         : AAC
Format/Info                    : Advanced Audio Codec
Format profile                 : LC
Codec ID                       : 40
Bit rate mode                  : Constant
Bit rate                       : 128 Kbps
Channel(s)                     : 2 channels
Channel positions              : Front: L R
Sampling rate                  : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode               : Lossy
Stream size                    : 1.03 MiB (1%)
Title                          : SoundHandle
Language                       : English

Looking at the stats it says the bitrate is 16.6 mbps which is pretty much the standard bitrate for the S3.

However the Cam Mod by HyperX can get 1080p with 30mbit rate

1080p superfine: 30 Mbit / fine: 24 Mbit / normal = 19 Mbit

720p superfine: 19 Mbit / fine: 15 Mbit / normal: 10 Mbit

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1691145

So doesn't that mean for video recording cam mod is better than procapture ? hmm.gif

But apparently cam mod isn't yet supported for jelly bean
hi hyperX
i'm unable to install the camera mod on my s3
i've tried several times but still installation aborted anytime
i use dragon ics rom
thanks in advance for your replay

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 4 2012, 01:36 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 4 2012, 04:33 PM

4,458 posts

after some reading, the crashes for the latest jb leak on wanamlite is suspected to do with the touchwiz interface.

before some users using launchers, and other roms like omega, which uses the same jelly bean leak base, aren't having this freezing issue :/ hm. .....

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 4 2012, 06:21 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(tweikiang @ Sep 4 2012, 05:51 PM)
Any eternity warriors 2 player here?
How to enter my friend room? i can't find it..
Thanks in advance. smile.gif
meh got bored of that game.

i think turn based game is better hmm.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 4 2012, 06:33 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 4 2012, 06:31 PM)
lol, then should I download or not
hand itchy as keep release leak JB instead official =_=
don't get wanamlite DLI1, you will regret.

stick with the wanamlite RC4 jelly bean, it's rock steady nod.gif i'm using it right now with 50+ apps and none of them crashes.

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 4 2012, 06:52 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 4 2012, 06:36 PM)
thanks you 2 suggestion, so now forget about it haha
will try checkrom, else use supernexus
btw the supernexus camera not so good
furthermore, the wanamlite RC4 you mean is base on what version ??
GT-I9300_WanamLite.XXDLH8.V3.0.RC4.NO-WIPE

Changes log:
Updated base to XXDLH8
Hidden WiFi-Direct icon on the status bar
Repacked LH8 kernel with usual tweaks (Insecure)
Improved Speed (Lower cpu up_threshold)
Added Jelly Bean AOSP keyboard

Review:
-More stability with apps and the launcher
-Wifi speed is back to normal
-Whenever the wifi is used, Wifi direct icon shows up on statusbar
-The LED does not turn green when charging is complete
-No wifi direct menu in settings

http://www.xdafileserver.nl/index.php?dir=...wanamlite%2FOLD

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 4 2012, 06:57 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 5 2012, 07:22 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Sep 5 2012, 03:57 AM)
Rough idea from me for who doubt about screen size and said the best smart phone screen size is just 3.5 inches:

Added on September 5, 2012, 4:02 am
shocking.gif
Maybe:
- new design to stop selling the sued Galaxy S design.
- Jellybean
- upgrade spac for jellybean: CPU and RAM
that torture test is insane shocking.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 5 2012, 09:39 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Sep 5 2012, 09:13 AM)
I would love this thing like a love song! I find s3 is little too big for me to operate with 1 hand. Can never type message with single hand =( I hope they have 1 hand operation keyboard like the 1 in galaxy note. Quite troublesome when 1 of u hand is occupied and u can't reply important message or call them back
whenever using the S3 i never type using 1 hand. In terms of handphone typist, i'm pretty much at the newb level laugh.gif

If use 2 hand, 1 to hold, and the other to type, i feel comfortable with the S3. But for experience handphone typists, i can't comment on whether they can do 1 hand typing on the S3 nicely or not.

But for me personally i like the S3 size. It's just perfect.

If the screen was any bigger, it would have verged more into the tablet form factor range in terms of size. That i would think would be inconvenient for easily fitting into my pocket, or using it as i normally would for a handphone.

Added on September 5, 2012, 9:47 amAnyway just wanted to share my review of the Wanamlite v3.0 RC4 jelly bean.

It simply works with no freeze or lockups.

my rating for smoothness i rate it 7.5 out of 10. But keep in mind i have over 4 dozen apps installed, and like a dozen of them running as background processes. This is why i use an automated task killer to keep them in check laugh.gif As such that would affect the smoothness for my S3 because i run lots of apps. So for the basic user i am sure the smoothness would be better since they typicall use fewer apps than i do.

Greenpower wifi management works perfectly on it, meaning when my screen shuts down, greenpower properly turns off wifi after 1 minute as i set it to.

Using betterbatterystats, after 8 hours of my phone being unplugged, the deep sleep was in the 85% + which is good.

regarding battery drain, i won't go into which wanamlite version is the best, but for this one the drain seems acceptable.

Overall if it works, and battery drain isn't an issue, then i consider that stable enough for me to use as my primary driver.

So i'll be sticking with this until the official rom comes out :} which i hope wanam will then port it to his wanamlite release.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 5 2012, 09:50 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 5 2012, 10:24 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(tkyong1 @ Sep 5 2012, 09:51 AM)
Hi guys,

Need your help on MMS receiving issue.

I have just bought Samsung Galaxy S3.

The Scenario:

I could not receive MMS, the Samsung sales guys and customer service guy said i must turn on the MOBILE NETWORK - USE PACKET DATA in order to receive MMS.

After that I forgot to turn it off, and noticed all my phone credit were gone the next day. cry.gif

Q1: What is happening here? Is it the Mobile Network eating my phone credit?

Q2: Why we need to on the Mobile Network just to receive MMS? I recall my old Nokia no need to do that.

Q3: What happen if every time i forgot to turn it off? doh.gif

Q3: What is the alternative way to send and receive MMS?

Need your expert advice asap.

Many thanks, guys.
Go to usage management > data usage. And untick mobile data.

So whenever you are using the internet, it won't use your phone credit. I too also learned the hard way cry.gif

However if your on umobile, you don't need to worry about it because they got unlimited internet usage for their data plan Rm28 monthly package
http://www.u.com.my/prepaid/unlimited-mobile-internet

But seeing as i am on Maxis, i disable it, and just stick to wifi for when i'm at home, at starbucks or outside mcdonalds.

Here is a list of APN and MMS for the different telcos in Malaysia if you haven't set that up yet in, more settings > connectivity > mobile networks > access point names
http://sgmfm.blogspot.com/2012/02/mobile-a...ternet-dan.html

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 5 2012, 10:29 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 5 2012, 11:28 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(adzyan @ Sep 5 2012, 10:54 AM)
the best answers to all ur question.. go subscribe data plan for prepaid. I'm using prepaid maxis is RM68 for 3gb/month. no need to turn off mobile network.. when i at home it's automatically connect my wifi unifi. i'm just leave wifi on n mobile network on. easy!!!
the question though is the hidden costs .....

For umobile when you exceed your monthly allotted cap, you don't get charged extra. your download/upload speed however get throttled, but at least you aren't getting charged extra.

For maxis they will charge you for exceeding your cap i believe. Which is why i don't like using Maxis for Data plan rolleyes.gif

What happens when you exceed Maxis mobile internet data plan bandwidth monthly quota ?
*Any additional usage will be charged at RM0.10/ per 10KB.
http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/mobile/br...earch/index.asp
Now lets contrast this to umobile's RM28 monthly data plan package
Data Service:
By subscribing to the Plan, you will enjoy unlimited data usage but you will still be subject to our Fair Use Policy. In addition, if you exceed 500MB at any time, your data speed will be reduced to 64kbps until the Plan expires.

Be very wary of Hidden costs especially when it comes to internet mobile data plans as you can easily exceed bandwidth caps especially when streaming video, music, torrent and other bandwidth intensive activities.

Maxis Rm68 for 3gb of monthly bandwidth quota, after which you get charged per kb used ..... doesn't seem like a good deal when compared to umobiles 500mb cap but is unlimited data usage although is throttled.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 5 2012, 11:37 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 5 2012, 11:42 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(TunYau @ Sep 5 2012, 11:33 AM)
I am using digi last month pass my 3gb quota and no cap still speed at 1mb....
No extra charges also for digi
Digi's comparable plan to umobiles is the Rm30 data plan
http://www.digi.com.my/prepaid/3ginternet.do

But this is what digi says about their fair usage policy
Excessive Usage
5.3.1  Each customer's total usage per month shall NOT exceed the quota permitted by the respective package (total upload and download usage). This is to ensure that no individual hogs the bandwidth at all times.

5.3.2  DiGi reserves the right to reject the said application or charge for any additional data volume transmitted from what is already allocated or throttle the speed upon exceeding the usage limit allocated.

Seems they don't want you to exceed the quota, but what happens if you do ? Do you get charged extra ? Or will they throttle you and if so to what speed ? hmm.gif

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 5 2012, 01:19 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(youloke @ Sep 5 2012, 12:57 PM)
Guys..today theres a new JB leak..but is xxdlh8
are you sure ?
http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/articles/378486/2...ileunpacked.htm

Seems this leaked out a while back :/

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 5 2012, 01:20 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 5 2012, 03:22 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Sep 5 2012, 02:55 PM)
do you guys use Zram? Any advantage from it?

I having bad experience while using it.. first time enable Zram my phone lagged heavily after waking it up from few hours of deep sleep then i disabled it.. after a few days i feel like to giv it a chance again so enabled it, this time kernel panic and phone reboot itself..
zram was suppose to solve resource sharing issues. sadly it didn't solve the issue and made things worse by eating even more battery usage because of it being inefficient.

Everybody recommends that zram feature be disabled, google it up if you want to know why hmm.gif

Don't simply play around with settings especially like that unless you read more about what it does.

Added on September 5, 2012, 3:23 pm
QUOTE(N33d @ Sep 5 2012, 03:13 PM)
so envy you guys can try the leaked jb rom..
my hand is super itchy and wanna join the party but currently using YES, every mb counts..  sad.gif
can't you download using your home internet and then transfer it over to your phone using airdroid ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 5 2012, 03:26 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 5 2012, 05:06 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Sep 5 2012, 03:35 PM)
i dont have home broadband internet in rented house.. that's why i am on YES.. else i wont even look at YES  sweat.gif
oh like that ah shocking.gif

maybe can try starbucks or mcdonald ? free wifi laugh.gif

Added on September 5, 2012, 5:09 pm[Leak] i9300XXDLI2 (JB 4.1.1) ota + radio + kern
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=1871035&page=2

apparently they released a newer leak ;D

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 5 2012, 05:09 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 5 2012, 08:36 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(youloke @ Sep 5 2012, 08:09 PM)
Xxdli2 modem abit poor..using malaysia stock modem..
i was planning to ask this ....

so whenever updating to new rom with the latest jb leaks, should we be downgrading the modem to a Malaysian one ? Or does it not make any difference ? But if so, what exactly ? hmm.gif

Because i am using Wanamlite v3.0 RC4 jelly bean. I'm using the stock modem that came with that rom.

Not sure if i ought to have changed the modem or not hmm.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 6 2012, 10:44 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(youloke @ Sep 5 2012, 09:32 PM)
Different firmware modem is designed to suit different country..so..dxlh1 is malaysian one..so might get better signal..lol
Ah i see. So which modem firmware do you recommend ? Is dxlh1 the latest ?

And can i use it with Wanamlite v3.0 RC4 ? hmm.gif

And when you mean better signal does that also include Wireless N signal ?

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 6 2012, 10:44 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 6 2012, 05:33 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 6 2012, 05:29 PM)
is DLH8 @@
earlier i recommended the dlh8 wanamlite rc4 you lul at me cry.gif

but see even sammy re-release DLH8, that speaks for itself brows.gif

Anyway i thought there is an even newer rom xxdli2 ? i'm not even going to bother trying. the xxdli is still too fresh in my mind (yes it was that bad shakehead.gif )

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 6 2012, 05:34 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 6 2012, 05:56 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 6 2012, 05:36 PM)
lol but now DLI2 is the best leak version mar, so download lor

any idea how to flash ???
backup using titanium and cwm recovery
then flash it and wipe ?
or just flash over ?
from my experience upgrading/downgrading from these jelly bean leaks coming one after another....

you need to

1. backup !
- titanium backup use to backup apps with data. Don't backup system.
- backup your contacts to google, samsung or sim card

2. factory reset using this method
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...84&postcount=15

3. boot into recovery mod using CWM and do the following
-factory reset
-clear cache
-clear dalvik

4. install rom.zip file. once it says complete, then reboot

5. your now using the latest jelly bean leak. recover your apps and contacts .... re-setup everything back again (wireless settings etc etc...)

QUOTE(ph0bic @ Sep 6 2012, 05:54 PM)
hi guys..other than titanium backup what apps do u guys use to backup and restore apks and data? cuz i'm getting tired restoring apps in titanium (u know..every single time must press install for hundreds of apps..) is my backup root is any good? just need ur opinion for this ^^
i'm using the pro. i just hit recover all apps. I just tick off the ones i don't want to recover, or better yet i remove the ones i won't bother recovering, because if you don't use it why keep it.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 6 2012, 05:58 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 6 2012, 06:00 PM

4,458 posts

Iphone 4s
Accelerometer, gyro, proximity, compass

Samsung Galaxy S III
Accelerometer, gyro, proximity, compass, barometer

STMicroelectronics details pressure sensor in your Galaxy S III, can tell when you're mountaineeringuser posted image
If you're the sort to tear down your Galaxy S III, you might have noticed a mysterious STMicroelectronics LSP331AP chip lurking on the motherboard. While we've known that it's a pressure sensor, we now know that it's a new generation -- new enough that ST is just getting to explaining the technology to a mainstream audience.

The piezoresistor-equipped MEMS chip tracks altitude through atmospheric pressure with an uncanny knack for precision; it can tell when you've crossing between floors, which could be more than handy for future iterations of indoor navigation. Don't worry if you're an extreme sports junkie that might push the limits, either.

The sensor can do its job at the kinds of pressure you'd normally see when 32,800 feet high or 5,900 feet below sea level, which should keep it working even if you're checking your phone during a climb up K2 or a HALO skydive. We don't know if anyone beyond Samsung is lined up to use ST's pressure sensor in their devices, but we wouldn't be surprised if it becomes a mainstay for smartphones and outdoor gear in the near future.

Source:
http://www.engadget.com/2012/09/06/stmicro...r-galaxy-s-iii/

Just goes to show samsung is going all out to compete with apple on the smartphone market share. ngom ngom ngom biggrin.gif

Now that Samsung has raised the bar on tech offered, Apple is going to have to match suit =^-^=;

There is even an APP on googleplay market that can detect metal as well
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...ira.metal&hl=en

Although i am not sure whether the S3 supports this feature or not :/

Anyway who knows, eventually maybe the smartphone would have evolved into a full fledge tricorder

In the fictional Star Trek universe, a tricorder is a multifunction hand-held device used for sensor scanning, data analysis, and recording data.

Three primary variants of the tricorder are issued in Star Trek's Starfleet. The standard tricorder is a general-purpose device used primarily to scout unfamiliar areas, make detailed examination of living things, and record and review technical data.

The medical tricorder is used by doctors to help diagnose diseases and collect bodily information about a patient; the key difference between this and a standard tricorder is a detachable hand-held high-resolution scanner stored in a compartment of the tricorder when not in use. The engineering tricorder is fine-tuned for starship engineering purposes. There are also many other lesser-used varieties of special-use tricorders.

The word "tricorder" is a portmanteau of "tri-" and "recorder", referring to the device's three default scanning functions: GEO (geological), MET (meteorological), and BIO (biological).

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 6 2012, 06:16 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 6 2012, 06:16 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(ph0bic @ Sep 6 2012, 06:13 PM)
wow thanks..so right now i'm trying to figure out how to link my maybank debit card to google wallet...hehe..
Malaysia support google wallet yet meh hmm.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 6 2012, 06:27 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 6 2012, 06:19 PM)
no lar need to add debit / credit card into google wallet in order to purchase apps from google play
ah ... i c hmm.gif

no wonder i did not know about this *cough cough rolleyes.gif

*changing subject quickly icon_idea.gif

Did anybody else notice this youtube demonstrating how to use the MHL adapter to give the Samsung Galaxy S3 HDMI output ?

In that guy's example he connected the S3 to his HDTV via HDMI using the MHL adapter.

But i was wondering what other uses could you make use of with that hmm.gif

The only thing i could come up with was maybe pairing a S3 with a HD500 for live streaming on the go icon_rolleyes.gif

I think this is very viable because apparently the S3 does indeed support HDMI 1.4 despite not having an HDMI port. You have to use the S3 MHL adapter for that.

The Processor: Samsung Galaxy SIII has has Samsung’s new Arm-based processor Exynos 4 Quad. The 1.4 Ghz quad-core chip is based on the ARM Cortex A9 and enables more tasks in a shorter period of time claims the company.

Samsung claims that it is the first quad-core processor built on the High-k Metal Gate (HKMG) low-power process technology. Other features of the processor include a video hardware codec engine for 1080p/30fps video recording and playback and an HDMI 1.4 interface.

Source:
http://onvab.com/blog/samsung-galaxy-s3-facts-features/

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 6 2012, 06:40 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:24 AM