News Y500FHD i7,GT750@2999/SLI@3899;Y400 GT750@2499 V1, Thread closed & continue to V2 ^^

storm88
post Nov 21 2012, 01:08 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

Y400 coming soon early December
storm88
post Nov 23 2012, 06:03 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(minzisme @ Nov 23 2012, 07:00 AM)
the extra graphic card is removable,as u can replace it with optional dvd player/bluray player or cooling fan,maybe more replacing items coming out..you can also leave it blank if you wan
the problem is come without the 120w adapter,as 170w is too heavy
i had bought a y500,but the supplies told me that ac 170w adapter is ouf of stock,does it mean,i dun have any ac adapter in my incoming y500=.=(as devour telling us 120w ac adapter is not inside the box)

Added on November 23, 2012, 6:07 am
thank for ur information
but i got few questions
If i wan to bring Y500 out for school,or anything else,will i be able to take out the external graphic(which is inserted)and leave it blank,so that it is no so heavy?
And if there is a need.can i replace it with others cooling fan,harddisk or others odd drive?
just recheck with my stock. it's 170watt

Added on November 23, 2012, 6:03 pm
QUOTE(xD4rever @ Nov 23 2012, 05:35 PM)
it come with win 8 or win 8 pro?
Win 8 NON PRO

This post has been edited by storm88: Nov 23 2012, 06:13 PM
storm88
post Dec 7 2012, 12:55 PM

5,595 posts

Y400 avail next week
storm88
post Dec 7 2012, 01:14 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 7 2012, 02:07 PM)
Indicative price?  rclxms.gif
Ultrabay GPU standard or optional?
Is Lenovo Malaysia replacing Y480 with Y400?
SRP RM2799
storm88
post Dec 7 2012, 01:49 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 7 2012, 02:18 PM)
RM100 more than Y480. If specs stay the same, still worth it looking at the improved design  hmm.gif
erm..
well it has enhanced cooling, and windows 8
so... donno whether worth anot la.
but i will have some unit coming insoon
storm88
post Mar 15 2013, 10:18 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(JohnnyBoy92 @ Mar 15 2013, 09:11 AM)
o..interesting. Lets c can find or not  brows.gif . I like the upcoming Watch Dogs and Splinter Cell Blacklist  drool.gif
can i use msata for both OS and caching?  hmm.gif If possible, 60gb enough for it?
mSATA can't do caching and direct storage at the same time.
storm88
post Mar 15 2013, 11:52 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Arjun Raj @ Mar 15 2013, 11:25 AM)
i can't brain this  rclxub.gif

do you even know what is caching? Caching is just taking the files you always use and put it into the msata. e.g . OS files for faaster boot up

while installing the OSin there is just installing the OS in there, so much faster boot up compared to caching and if you have a msata with big storage then you can even install games and all with this method
abit add on

Caching drive basically it doesn't store any frequent used files. The bigger file size it still goes back to your conventional hard drives.
storm88
post May 1 2013, 11:32 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Apr 30 2013, 08:54 PM)
guyyss!!
i wanna ask something laa..  icon_question.gif

RRP for Y400 GT750M DOS is how much?? got 1 supplier (senior member) said RM2499..!?
i thought RM2499 is for freeDOS, while RM2799 is for DOS  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

one more, that supplier (senior member) also said there only 1 Y400 GT750M variant in Malaysia which is with DOS..
freeDOS is not officially for Malaysia..??  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

P/S : refer my attachment below~
it's obvious that "supplier" is totally out dated.
Like me, (Lenovo Premium Reseller) got the info directly from LENOVO Malaysia about the GT750m Y400 DOS info two weeks ago ady laugh.gif

But yet there are still customer ask me "Is this AP unit ka? other seller say this is not malaysia unit" i LOL+LOL
storm88
post May 1 2013, 11:54 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ May 1 2013, 12:51 PM)
Any info on the upcoming new Y500 with GT750m/GT750m sli? specs & ETA?  brows.gif  brows.gif
GT750m soon, very very soon.

GT750m SLI no info yet.
storm88
post May 4 2013, 02:15 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ May 4 2013, 11:10 AM)
TS, update on Y500. refer my post and seller, storm88.
Y500 spec follow up:

Y500 SLI model (New SKU)
I7 3630QM, 4G DDR3 1600MHZ, GT750M (built in), 500G HDD, 15.6" FHD, 120W+170W, GN37 SLI ADAPTER SRP : RM3799

Y500 SLI model + DVDRW (New SKU)
I7 3630QM, 4G DDR3 1600MHZ, GT750M (built in), 500G HDD, 15.6" FHD, 120W+170W, GN37 SLI ADAPTER, ULTRABAY DVDRW SRP: RM3899

Y500 Basic Varient(New SKU)
I7 3630QM, 8G DDR3 1600MHZ, GT750M (built in), 1TB HDD, 15.6" FHD, 120W ULTRABAY DVDRW SRP: RM2999

storm88
post May 4 2013, 02:33 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ May 4 2013, 03:20 PM)
the DVD-RW comes separately so i can remove the GN37 and install it right?

and thanks for providing Y500 specs. biggrin.gif
yap correct smile.gif
storm88
post May 4 2013, 03:19 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(hamuza1809 @ May 4 2013, 04:08 PM)
how much is the ultrabay GT750M? and is it available?
Available but price not available yet.
But should b around RM7xx
storm88
post May 7 2013, 11:22 AM

5,595 posts

Hello guys,

I recheck the info given by lenovo last week and found i made some mistake.

here's the correction (Color of red is the corrected area):

Y500 SLI model + DVDRW (New SKU)
I7 3630QM, 8G DDR3 1600MHZ, GT750M (built in), 1TB HDD, 15.6" FHD, 120W+170W, GN37 SLI ADAPTER, ULTRABAY DVDRW SRP: RM3899

Y500 Basic Varient(New SKU)
I7 3630QM, 8G DDR3 1600MHZ, GT750M (built in), 1TB HDD, 15.6" FHD, 120W ULTRABAY DVDRW SRP: RM2999

The Y500 with RM3799 price tagging is the previous model which i have found i have been mistaken.
Now all above given infos are triple checked and confirm Valid by official

Sorry guys for the wrong info given earlier

This post has been edited by storm88: May 7 2013, 11:27 AM
storm88
post May 7 2013, 01:00 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(garfieldcrazy @ May 7 2013, 01:25 PM)
1)So now there is only 2 variants in instead of 3?
2)Did you manage to fish out when will it arrive stock in MY?
The Y500 will have another 2 models. yeap smile.gif
When coming? we don't know...But i was told stock arriving limited and most likely offered to authorized re seller only.
storm88
post May 7 2013, 06:36 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ May 7 2013, 06:51 PM)
yup you can extend whenever u like but as i know if u extend your warranty before your current warranty expired, you can get normal price of warranty, but if u extend warranty after the current warranty ended, the price will higher

pls correct me if im wrong notworthy.gif

warranty usually for faulty gpu, keyboard, dead pixel......
This applies on dell only. Not on lenovo cool.gif
storm88
post May 7 2013, 06:57 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ May 7 2013, 07:42 PM)
oh, thx, lenovo cant extend warranty??
Lenovo can extend max to 3 years
storm88
post May 8 2013, 12:50 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(SuperVelocity @ May 8 2013, 10:32 AM)
Was comparing Asus G-Series laptop and Y500, anybody mind to explain to me whats the difference for the graphic card? GTX and GT???
GTX660 vs GT750m

basically both of them are same thing, means same kepler gpu (for now)

both also runs on GDDR5 2G of memory.

Gi would say they are almost same performance
storm88
post May 9 2013, 05:51 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(cjlee6 @ May 9 2013, 02:54 PM)
Guys sorry for the newbie questions but I need your help here. I am about to purchase the Y500, can anyone please confirm for the RM2999 variant or the any of the other variants, is boost enabled on the 750m gpu? The Y500 650m gpu boost is disabled..... Also why is it that the Y400 is priced about the same as the Y500 seeing that the latter has a bigger screen and (somewhat) better features eg. More ram + 1tb harddrive. Thanks in advance.
well, we don't really know.
you had to ask lenovo already why they give such a spec laugh.gif

For the models, use abit of your time to study yourself at the first page. all info is overthere;)
storm88
post May 9 2013, 07:11 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(cjlee6 @ May 9 2013, 07:10 PM)
Hi thanks for your advice. Really appreciate it  smile.gif My questions are based of the first post on the first page. For instance:

Y400, i7-3630QM, GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, ODD (swappable), 2 yrs warranty

Y500, i7-3630QM + GT750M(GDDR5) + 1920x1080@RM2999, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

I noticed that if I add another 4gb of ram + 500gb of hdd for Y400, the price exceeds the stock Y500 model. I also went through the benchmarks in the first page and noticed that the Y400 is indeed boosted to 1058mhz in Furmark test.

However, I am not sure if these test results can be applied to the Y500. I guess my biggest concern comes from the fact that the Y500 is "cheaper" than Y400..... hmm.gif  If anybody with a Y500 can verify the benchmarks that will be of great help thanks! thumbup.gif
500-> 1TB cost isnt very high
4G - > 8G, cost arond RM50 more
Full HD screen, i don't know the cost so no comment.

the rest seem the same, so the gap seem logic
storm88
post May 13 2013, 06:37 PM

5,595 posts

CONFIRMED!! biggrin.gif

Y500 Single Display Model : Arriving to our store this week
Y500 SLI Model: Arriving to our store this week