News Y500FHD i7,GT750@2999/SLI@3899;Y400 GT750@2499 V1, Thread closed & continue to V2 ^^

-kytz-
post Apr 16 2013, 02:56 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Apr 15 2013, 11:23 PM)
HDD bay is hardisk slot and ODD bay is optical disk drive slot.   biggrin.gif
Generally, HDD slot come with sata3 port which will speed up the SSD. ODD slot come with sata2 port which will slow down the SSD like HDD speed.  sweat.gif
You need to make sure Z400 come with sata3 port to enjoy the speed of SSD.    nod.gif
Ehh laptops nowadays come with SATA3 for the HDD?

Btw, not exactly a requirement to need SATA3 for the SSD. Even on SATA2 it's an incredibly fast already, same goes to desktop PCs nod.gif smile.gif

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/sata-6...3gbps,3110.html

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 16 2013, 03:20 AM
-kytz-
post Apr 16 2013, 02:57 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Apr 16 2013, 02:24 AM)
Malaysia set won't have SSD and 16GB RAM lol?
Can just add yourself. Ram and HDD are easily changeable/upgradable smile.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 16 2013, 02:48 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Eclipse123 @ Apr 16 2013, 01:46 PM)
Budget from parents only max 2.8k.

Still need to topup myself for ram upgrade and ssd. sad.gif
Personally, I'd wait for Acer's offering, waiting for something like a i7, GT750M, Full HD Matte IPS display combination. Currently, Acer only has this, GT750M> GT740M (Lenovo Z400) > GT730M. Perhaps Acer might refresh their V3-571G-736b8G1T with a GT750M...who knows smile.gif

V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8

I don't know about the Y400 but the older brother, Y480 suffers from BAD viewing angles.

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 16 2013, 02:48 PM
-kytz-
post Apr 16 2013, 06:51 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(mafiosojdm @ Apr 16 2013, 05:57 PM)
You would wanna check out this, which pretty much owned brows.gif  V3-571G-736b8G1T with a GT750M.
IdeaPad Y500 Laptop - Dual Graphics - 59371963 - Dusk Black

Lenovo have release the dual Nvidia GT750m (SLI version, Nvidia GT 750m + Nvidia GT 750m)

I already place an order for mine  rclxm9.gif  cant wait to get mine on hand now
Price should be very gooding also bro, should be close to RM4k or so (RRP of Y500 is RM3799). The Acer goes for RM2799 smile.gif

QUOTE(mafiosojdm @ Apr 16 2013, 06:42 PM)
Yeah, well but Lenovo Malaysia really no discount... event on PC fair  dry.gif
They told me RM 3,799 for an old model 650M SLI so disapointed, while AP agent sell US spec 650m (incld ssd + higher ram + high hdd) at RM 3,299 hmm.gif

I was putting a very high hope on PC fair, but I end up go back with nothing  doh.gif

I think for 750m SLI local Malaysia set will cost over 4K or very near to 4K ( 3,999  blush.gif )
QUOTE(efariz @ Apr 16 2013, 06:47 PM)
me too..i was sooo disappointing when Lenovo didn't do any promotion & discount for most of their notebook range..they still sell it using RRP..

SOOO FRUSTRATING! they should use the PC Fair platform to promo their product, at least give some price reduction, not sell using RRP  mad.gif
You guys first time going to PC FAIR ah? Most if not all laptops there sell at RRP. The "promotion" you get is some freebies or extended warranty usually doh.gif sweat.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 16 2013, 07:04 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Apr 16 2013, 06:56 PM)
not first time laa..i have been to few PC Fair all around KL/Selangor..but quite disappointing coz no discount what-so-ever..if not mistaken there are few other brand selling their notebook with discount (less that RRP) like MSI (if not mistaken laa)  wink.gif

if got '20 free items' freebies, no thanks la..coz its just a waste freebies, we can get it for less than rm50..just my opinion  biggrin.gif
I've been going to PC Fairs, IT Fairs, etc for many times already and 99% if not 100%, the laptops are usually sold at RRP + some freebies and extended warranty as such. If you want cheaper price, you have to go to your local shops or maybe Lowyat Plaza/Digital Mall.

Honestly speaking, I just go to those fairs for the "experience" lah, see see and try try stuff on display and sometimes there are good deals for certain accessories, like the Eneloop rechargeable batteries during the last fair brows.gif brows.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 22 2013, 01:24 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Eclipse123 @ Apr 22 2013, 01:14 AM)
Another question guys, should i have my windows 8 installed in my ssd if i want fast boot up speed?

Or i can just install in my hdd and still have fast boot up speed?

And also does this apply to all the other programnes?
The fundamental reason to get an SSD is to install your OS in the SSD, else it'll defeat the entire purpose of getting one smile.gif If you have extra space, you can install your games in it so that loading times would be much faster smile.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 22 2013, 01:31 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Apr 22 2013, 01:26 AM)
same with mSata right?
means i have to install my OS (win8) onto mSata to boot faster?
how about apps/software? need to install in mSata too or can install at HDD?
Yup, the main reason of getting an SSD is so that applications and loading times will be much faster and more responsive (due to the fast read/write speed). To do this, the OS and applications has to be installed in the SSD. Installing them on a conventional HDD will defeat the entire purpose of getting an SSD smile.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 22 2013, 01:32 AM
-kytz-
post Apr 22 2013, 01:49 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Apr 22 2013, 01:35 AM)
0oo..means in order to achieved greater speed, need to install all OS & software onto mSata/SSD..
so need to have large mSata/SSD capacity la..?? aiyaaa..

u think mSata 80GB enough for it.??  sweat.gif
Yeah, that's why people spend a lot of money getting a bigger capacity mSata SSD/SSD smile.gif

By the way, you won't get 80GB of usable storage actually. You'd just get around 93% out of it (the rest used for backup,etc), so in the end you'd get around 74.4GB. Windows OS usually takes less than 20GB and the rest are for applications. Not sure how many applications do you have installed in your computer hmm.gif

Also bear in mind, modern high graphical games nowadays eat up a lot of space, for example Tera Online/Guild Wars 2 eat up 25GB each while something like Battlefield 3 eats up around 20GB. I'd say, with a 80GB mSata SSD, you can probably install at most, 1 big sized game. I suggest you to go for 128GB mSata SSD instead smile.gif

One more thing, from what I hear, it's best not to use up all the space in your SSD (where the OS lies in) to ensure a more optimum performance..

-kytz-
post Apr 22 2013, 02:15 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Apr 22 2013, 01:55 AM)
hurm..if i install OS & essential software onto mSata and game & general software install onto regular HDD can right??
coz i'm planning to buy mSata & just install OS & important software onto it.. tongue.gif
i just planning to use mSata for win to boot faster..hehe  rclxms.gif
Yeah no problem one but best to have all installed in the SSD smile.gif For me, I'd install the heavy applications in the SSD such as Photoshop CS6, Lightroom 4, Photomatix Pro (all picture editing programs tongue.gif ) and some games into the SSD. If it's filled up already, then would have to put the rest of the programmes into the other HDD. For myself, I'd probably target something like a 180GB/240GB tongue.gif since right now my C drive is already occupying somwhere around 180GB++ sweat.gif

QUOTE(Eclipse123 @ Apr 22 2013, 01:55 AM)
Thank you bro. But is it more difficult to install your OS in ssd? Why most retailers insist me to install it in my hdd?
You can try looking here:

http://blog.laptopmag.com/triple-your-spee...-in-your-laptop

Anyway, in the mean time you guys can check this out tongue.gif

-kytz-
post Apr 22 2013, 05:27 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Eclipse123 @ Apr 22 2013, 01:51 PM)
Can any sifu here confirm with me if windows 8 can support ssd?

Im in lowyat now and the promoter told me i cannot install ssd becaus e windows8 cannot support it.
The promoter BS-ing again. Hear a lot of these kind of things already, usually I just smile and ignore only. If got mood, then only taruh the fella laugh.gif

QUOTE(CliffrisonJr. @ Apr 22 2013, 02:05 PM)
z400 vs z500. Which one is better in term of performance? hmm.gif
Should be pretty similar. GT740M should be slightly faster than GT645M.

Personally, I think the very low PPI on a 15.6" is quite unbearable. Heck, even 1366X768 on a 14" don't look nice for me. Guess I'm kinda spoilt since I was pampered by a 15.6" Full HD laptop before laugh.gif

-kytz-
post Apr 22 2013, 05:46 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(CliffrisonJr. @ Apr 22 2013, 05:34 PM)
The difference very obvious is it? hmm.gif
For me, I don't like it lah haha, even 720p on a 7" Asus Memopad don't look that nice tongue.gif Anyhow, you go and see for yourself lah as this is quite subjective smile.gif

Do take a look at the Acer V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8

15.6" 1080p screen and the awesomeness of IPS brows.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 25 2013, 07:20 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Apr 25 2013, 07:13 PM)
New Y400/GT750m/freeDOS is available for sales today.  thumbup.gif

Check it out at garage sales and Lenovo authorised resellers.  brows.gif
Grab it fast fast before too late.  rclxms.gif

Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M, 8GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD is selling around RM24xx.
RM2799 dropped to RM24XX ?? shocking.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 25 2013, 07:25 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Apr 25 2013, 07:23 PM)
Ops... sorry  sweat.gif    should be freeDOS.  biggrin.gif
Edited.
I almost fainted laugh.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 25 2013, 08:29 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(hamuza1809 @ Apr 25 2013, 07:05 PM)
hahahaha, LOL  drool.gif i added an extra rm 175 for another 4 gig's of ram, totaling 8 gigs installed. btw, does in stalling the msata sdd void the warranty? i'm really curious as i'm planning to store my OS and some apps into it, and i heard that it saves up a lot of space as it isn't as big as the normal ssd or hdd  cool2.gif
You kena tipu liao. 4GB notebook ram is about RM80-90 only sweat.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 27 2013, 05:41 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Apr 27 2013, 05:38 PM)
New Z500T touch/GT740m & Y400/GT750m/freeDOS available for sales in garage sales.  thumbup.gif
Grab it fast before too late.  brows.gif
More details in post#1.

Z500T, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2499, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty, Dark choco
Y400, i7-3630QM, GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB, freeDOS, red backlit, 120w psu, ODD (swappable), 2 years
You need to get Lenovo swappable HDD bay and not normal caddy bay as it can't fit it.
u can swap HDD with normal SSD and use HDD as external hardisk. Else get mSATA SSD.
Can Y400's swappable ODD be used with Y500's ultrabay GPU?
-kytz-
post Apr 28 2013, 12:24 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ahinigami @ Apr 27 2013, 11:54 PM)
Hello guys, regarding the latest Y500 GT 750m variant, I read from HERE that the latest Y500 will have a matte screen instead of the glossy screen in the older variant.

Any news regarding the Malaysia unit screen type?
Matte screen? That's AWESOME news!! thumbup.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 28 2013, 03:54 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ Apr 28 2013, 02:04 PM)
what the different between matte and glossy?
Matte vs Glossy

Glossy vs Matte

http://images.anandtech.com/reviews/mac/re...ro/DSC_7440.jpg

Enough said.

-kytz-
post Apr 28 2013, 04:13 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ Apr 28 2013, 04:05 PM)
Y400 is glossy right, the glossy thing will interrupt a bit when play daylight ...but it must be pros and cos right?
I don't know about Y400...

Glossy
Pros: More vibrant, looks crispier
Cons: Tons of reflections, the slightest bit of light is reflected on the screen, you see YOURSELF when looking at the laptop doh.gif doh.gif , not so good legibility under intense light as compared to matte, receptive to flare, etc (go google)

Matte
Pros: Hardly any reflections, a lot easier on the eyes due to less reflections of the lights in the surrounding, if any, better legibility under intense light, in conclusion IMHO, better and nicer experience using a matte screen display (for computer/laptop!)
Cons: Less vibrant, less crisp compared to Glossy. Some might say more "dull" but I guess it's subjective because Glossy screens are very prone to reflections/flare which really makes the user experience kinda terrible

In the end, it's just my user experience only. You've gotta find out yourself on which you like icon_rolleyes.gif

-kytz-
post May 11 2013, 02:37 AM

12,573 posts

Y500 is a little warm huh? Keyboard and touch pad area.... *tried today at LYP*

Also, no Intel graphics chipset right? Which means the laptop is always running on the GT750M hmm.gif A little disappointed to be honest since Nvidia Optimus (switch between discrete and integrated) can greatly improve battery life and reduce temperatures
-kytz-
post May 14 2013, 04:08 PM

12,573 posts

Y500 with GT750M confirm matte or glossy display? hmm.gif

0.0464sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:29 AM