4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

News Y500FHD i7,GT750@2999/SLI@3899;Y400 GT750@2499 V1, Thread closed & continue to V2 ^^

Eclipse123
post Apr 22 2013, 12:59 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Apr 22 2013, 12:40 AM)
no no..first 2 years under Lenovo, next 2 years (3rd & 4th year) under Thunder Match..
Thunder Match warranty cover after Lenovo warranty over..get it?  biggrin.gif

oh, for Lenovo warranty extension, maybe u can go to Lenovo service centre..
just in front Thunder Match (same level)..

Thanks man for your info smile.gif
Eclipse123
post Apr 22 2013, 01:14 AM

340 posts

Another question guys, should i have my windows 8 installed in my ssd if i want fast boot up speed?

Or i can just install in my hdd and still have fast boot up speed?

And also does this apply to all the other programnes?
Eclipse123
post Apr 22 2013, 01:55 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 22 2013, 01:49 AM)
Yeah, that's why people spend a lot of money getting a bigger capacity mSata SSD/SSD smile.gif

By the way, you won't get 80GB of usable storage actually. You'd just get around 93% out of it (the rest used for backup,etc), so in the end you'd get around 74.4GB. Windows OS usually takes less than 20GB and the rest are for applications. Not sure how many applications do you have installed in your computer hmm.gif

Also bear in mind, modern high graphical games nowadays eat up a lot of space, for example Tera Online/Guild Wars 2 eat up 25GB each while something like Battlefield 3 eats up around 20GB. I'd say, with a 80GB mSata SSD, you can probably install at most, 1 big sized game. I suggest you to go for 128GB mSata SSD instead smile.gif

One more thing, from what I hear, it's best not to use up all the space in your SSD (where the OS lies in) to ensure a more optimum performance..
Thank you bro. But is it more difficult to install your OS in ssd? Why most retailers insist me to install it in my hdd?
Eclipse123
post Apr 22 2013, 02:25 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 22 2013, 02:15 AM)
Yeah no problem one but best to have all installed in the SSD smile.gif For me, I'd install the heavy applications in the SSD such as Photoshop CS6, Lightroom 4, Photomatix Pro (all picture editing programs tongue.gif ) and some games into the SSD. If it's filled up already, then would have to put the rest of the programmes into the other HDD. For myself, I'd probably target something like a 180GB/240GB tongue.gif since right now my C drive is already occupying somwhere around 180GB++ sweat.gif
You can try looking here:

http://blog.laptopmag.com/triple-your-spee...-in-your-laptop

Anyway, in the mean time you guys can check this out tongue.gif

QUOTE(efariz @ Apr 22 2013, 02:22 AM)
alright bro..thanks for your time..guess i will buy 80gb mSata first..
just to install OS & important software..
haha..thanks once again.. notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
i think im getting the 120gb for my new y400. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Eclipse123
post Apr 22 2013, 01:51 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Apr 22 2013, 12:21 PM)
SLI improves fps, while SSD improves loading time
Can any sifu here confirm with me if windows 8 can support ssd?

Im in lowyat now and the promoter told me i cannot install ssd becaus e windows8 cannot support it.
Eclipse123
post Apr 22 2013, 02:56 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Apr 22 2013, 02:30 PM)
Lol, ignore such a noob promoter.
There is impossible Windows 8 not support SSD.
Thank you bro biggrin.gif
Eclipse123
post Apr 22 2013, 03:47 PM

340 posts

Hi all sifus, another important question.

The extra slot that y400 has, is it only for mSATA ssd or normal ssd?

Promoter telling me i can only slot in mSATA if i dont want to sacrifice my HDD

128gb mSATA cost me rm450 sad.gif
Eclipse123
post Apr 22 2013, 09:26 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Apr 22 2013, 09:16 PM)
Y500 with GT750M still no available here yet?
It's not here yet, only the Y400/GT750
Eclipse123
post Apr 22 2013, 10:10 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Apr 22 2013, 10:00 PM)
Any insider leak you gorek from the lowyat resellers?  brows.gif  brows.gif
New Y400/freedos & Y500/GT750m?
A lot of shops didn't have stock today for Y400/GT750M when i buy.

Most of them replied me with "Y400/GT750M shipment will come with new Y500/GT750M, mid may or early june" but i dont know how reliable is that. icon_rolleyes.gif
Eclipse123
post Apr 22 2013, 10:53 PM

340 posts

Guys, i have a few questions here.

Are software warranty important? Because if i were to install an intel mSATA ssd, i think it would void my windows warranty according to the salesman today.

How am i going to install my OS into my mSATA if i dont have a backup CD or what so ever? Sorry, i'm a complete newbie.
Eclipse123
post Apr 22 2013, 11:01 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Apr 22 2013, 10:57 PM)
will void Lenovo warranty.??  shocking.gif
i don't think so, because u didn't touch the HDD, just adding mSata & reinstall the windows inside mSata..it just affect the windows key which has been installed in your bios..so u need to backup the key before reinstall it onto mSata..
Computer stuff very pening la. rclxub.gif

I don't know, that's what the lenovo salesman told me. Is there any lowyat resellers that can do a good job for me if i get mSATA from them?

Lowyat promoters are becoming very unreliable or maybe i'm just a newbie, thats why i trust everything they say. doh.gif
Eclipse123
post Apr 22 2013, 11:41 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Apr 22 2013, 11:35 PM)
The salesman is BSing, add mSATA SSD will not void the warranty if you dont break anything when DIY. Perhaps, you can ask the reseller to help you.

can help to post screen for gpuz, 3Dmark11, Hwinfo temperature reading and Furmark stress with gpuz & Hwinfo running. Thanks.  notworthy.gif
Bro, i will post those once i get a grasp of my laptop.

I'm really a newbie and i'm already 19. BUT ITS NEVER TOO LATE TO LEARN! icon_rolleyes.gif
Eclipse123
post Apr 23 2013, 10:54 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(Wz10 @ Apr 23 2013, 10:50 PM)
Lol yeah, I know. But how often would I need to change RAM and what not? + the cash saved could be used to pay for my future next gen console! Only thing I don't like about the Z400 is the colour which I'll probably place a sticker over.
but mind you that many complained about the hot touchpad and keyboard of Z400.

Your call, but i got the Y400 and it's pretty beast. flex.gif

I was also contemplating between y400 and z400, chose y400 and never looked back rclxm9.gif
Eclipse123
post Apr 23 2013, 11:23 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Apr 23 2013, 11:17 PM)
Z400/GT740m is a good choice at 2k for casual gamer.  biggrin.gif
Y400/GT750m is best suites ur gaming needs.  thumbup.gif
ytlay, are you waiting for Y500/GT750 sli? brows.gif
Eclipse123
post Apr 24 2013, 11:07 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Apr 24 2013, 10:56 PM)
haha
actually
y500 is hard to decide
why?
got haswell coming soon lol
worry later buy y500 haswell model come out
then gg lo xD
I think this way...

There is always a new generation of GPUs and processors coming out.

For sure you wait until you die also got new one.

So buy when you think the time is right, and of course buy when you need icon_rolleyes.gif
Eclipse123
post Apr 25 2013, 12:58 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Apr 25 2013, 12:45 AM)
Thanks for the lengthy reply, I guess being involved in the multimedia industry I do require some big screen (perhaps a 24' - 27' screen) so I think the 15.6 inch screen will certainly helped a lot for my work and gaming needs.  laugh.gif
Wow I have to see it myself to believe then, PC Expo in May anyone? laugh.gif
What's with this Maxwell eh? Any brief intro before I do a google search? sweat.gif

I'm having some problem deciding whether to replace my current laptop that I borrowed from my brother with a desktop or a laptop.

Currently this Acer laptop fits my need just ngam ngam but when it comes to my gaming needs, it somehow lacks behind. (520M lol) That's why it's hard to decide between desktop or laptop now.  doh.gif
I cant educate you about hasswell.

But if you need your computer on the go, definitely go for the Y500 biggrin.gif

Y400 if your budget is tight! icon_rolleyes.gif
Eclipse123
post Apr 25 2013, 08:30 PM

340 posts

I should stop reading this thread to prevent heartache.

Seeing freedos version of Y400/GT750M only at 24xx, i could've used extra money for ssd upgrade.

But oh well, life goes on.

Saving for new msata ssd thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Eclipse123: Apr 25 2013, 08:31 PM
Eclipse123
post Apr 25 2013, 08:33 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(eternalpulse @ Apr 25 2013, 08:32 PM)
of course alot cheaper bro, the mo del they offer is with freeDOS, yours comes with win8, so sure got big price difference  smile.gif
whats the difference between freeDOS and the win8 version? hmm.gif
Eclipse123
post Apr 26 2013, 12:06 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(hong823 @ Apr 25 2013, 10:26 PM)
Thank you for the information. If new y500 has no touchpad loose click issue, i might be consider it. But i afraid that the same issue come out again in new y500. rclxub.gif

I didnt see any y400/gt750m/freeDOS in lowyat, most of them r y500/gt650m. Maybe there is some stock hiding somewhere in lowyat which i didnt notice.  smile.gif
the lowyat system that i got from resellers are...

Even if they have stock, they cannot sell to you because its not keyed into the system yet
Eclipse123
post Apr 26 2013, 03:48 AM

340 posts

Guys, if i were to get this...

Y400 Removable HDD F450 RM450

How much space am i getting for RM450?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0495sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled