Living Social Voucher scam?
TSrosamundwo
Aug 31 2012, 12:07 AM, updated 14y ago
How to deal with this situation: Happen to my cousin sis wife "We bought 2 vouchers from LivingSocial (for Samara Beauty & Spa, Plaza Damas) and when we called for appts, we were told by a lady, Rgeena that weekends were all full. I told her that the vouchers will be expiring on 23 July 2012, she told me that the management have decided to extend till end of August 2012 and was given an appt date on 26 August 2012 @ 3.30pm. I tried calling them the week before our appt date but no answer. We went on the appt date and found it CLOSED !!!! There were many other vouchers slipped into their glass door..!!! This clearly shows that the merchant has the intention to mislead and delay thereof causing the expiry of the said redemption period. I have asked LivingSocial to look into this but they said they are not liable as the vouchers has expired !!!!! Like that we consumers are at their MERCY ??!!! The posts below shows that are many who was conned too.. Please share this out... https://www.facebook.com/pages/Samara-Beaut...2?sk=info"
[+]
Aug 31 2012, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(rosamundwo @ Aug 31 2012, 12:07 AM) How to deal with this situation: Happen to my cousin sis wife"We bought 2 vouchers from LivingSocial (for Samara Beauty & Spa, Plaza Damas) and when we called for appts, we were told by a lady, Rgeena that weekends were all full. I told her that the vouchers will be expiring on 23 July 2012, she told me that the management have decided to extend till end of August 2012 and was given an appt date on 26 August 2012 @ 3.30pm. I tried calling them the week before our appt date but no answer. We went on the appt date and found it CLOSED !!!! There were many other vouchers slipped into their glass door..!!! This clearly shows that the merchant has the intention to mislead and delay thereof causing the expiry of the said redemption period. I have asked LivingSocial to look into this but they said they are not liable as the vouchers has expired !!!!! Like that we consumers are at their MERCY ??!!! The posts below shows that are many who was conned too.. Please share this out... https://www.facebook.com/pages/Samara-Beaut...2?sk=info"the fuk?
TSrosamundwo
Aug 31 2012, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(+ @ Aug 31 2012, 12:10 AM) What do you mean "the fuk" Added on August 31, 2012, 12:13 amCan she complain to Tribunal Pengguna for both Living Social and also its merchant This post has been edited by rosamundwo: Aug 31 2012, 12:13 AM
ryanlaw86
Aug 31 2012, 12:18 AM

QUOTE(rosamundwo @ Aug 31 2012, 12:07 AM) How to deal with this situation: Happen to my cousin sis wife "We bought 2 vouchers from LivingSocial (for Samara Beauty & Spa, Plaza Damas) and when we called for appts, we were told by a lady, Rgeena that weekends were all full. I told her that the vouchers will be expiring on 23 July 2012, she told me that the management have decided to extend till end of August 2012 and was given an appt date on 26 August 2012 @ 3.30pm. I tried calling them the week before our appt date but no answer. We went on the appt date and found it CLOSED !!!! There were many other vouchers slipped into their glass door..!!! This clearly shows that the merchant has the intention to mislead and delay thereof causing the expiry of the said redemption period. I have asked LivingSocial to look into this but they said they are not liable as the vouchers has expired !!!!! Like that we consumers are at their MERCY ??!!! The posts below shows that are many who was conned too.. Please share this out... https://www.facebook.com/pages/Samara-Beaut...2?sk=info"actually its kinda normal ... living social is just a platform ... something the sellers use to advertise their stuff ... cant go against platforms, because they cannot check the authenticity of each and every merchants that uses that service
TSrosamundwo
Aug 31 2012, 12:20 AM
So that means, consumer bought from Living social and unable to use the the service
then we consumer are at the lose if we purchase from Living Social and also other similar sites?
This post has been edited by rosamundwo: Aug 31 2012, 12:21 AM
kids_4ever
Aug 31 2012, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(rosamundwo @ Aug 31 2012, 12:07 AM) How to deal with this situation: Happen to my cousin sis wife "We bought 2 vouchers from LivingSocial (for Samara Beauty & Spa, Plaza Damas) and when we called for appts, we were told by a lady, Rgeena that weekends were all full. I told her that the vouchers will be expiring on 23 July 2012, she told me that the management have decided to extend till end of August 2012 and was given an appt date on 26 August 2012 @ 3.30pm. I tried calling them the week before our appt date but no answer. We went on the appt date and found it CLOSED !!!! There were many other vouchers slipped into their glass door..!!! This clearly shows that the merchant has the intention to mislead and delay thereof causing the expiry of the said redemption period. I have asked LivingSocial to look into this but they said they are not liable as the vouchers has expired !!!!! Like that we consumers are at their MERCY ??!!! The posts below shows that are many who was conned too.. Please share this out... https://www.facebook.com/pages/Samara-Beaut...2?sk=info"Refer to my LINK here.. I'm having the same problem with livingsocial too.. I'm giving them 7days if i still not getting my refund i will bring this matters to malay mail hotline. You should bring up this matters & make a fuss on it. 1 word livingsocial is a penipu scammer. I will stop buying voucher from them ever. I very fed up with their tactics & i'm not gonna let this go until i get my refund back. This post has been edited by kids_4ever: Aug 31 2012, 12:29 AM
empyreal
Aug 31 2012, 12:28 AM
thats what you get for buying stuff from the ghost from the ring
TSrosamundwo
Aug 31 2012, 12:28 AM
In fact, this really does have bad image for Living Social Malaysia. Consumer pays so much for service and they are not making sure it's delivered to consumer.
How can we use and trust living social again?
Added on August 31, 2012, 12:30 amI've contacted edwin wang, Living Social malaysia CEO on this, but i duno whether he'll reply on this matter or not.
EDWINWANG79@GMAIL.COM
This post has been edited by rosamundwo: Aug 31 2012, 12:30 AM
kids_4ever
Aug 31 2012, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(rosamundwo @ Aug 31 2012, 12:28 AM) In fact, this really does have bad image for Living Social Malaysia. Consumer pays so much for service and they are not making sure it's delivered to consumer. How can we use and trust living social again? You can have a check at their fb. 10 out of 10 comment are bad toward them. I advise just stop buying from livingsocial & trust only groupon. They have better service & customer care service. They will refund no matter what as long as there are cancellation at either party. I hate when they talk about voucher validity is over so they cant do refund. Bunch of crap & nonsense. I'll not letting go of my case unless i get back my refund. I hate being cheated.  Thanks for providing the e-mail. I should forward my case to him also =) This post has been edited by kids_4ever: Aug 31 2012, 12:34 AM
TSrosamundwo
Aug 31 2012, 12:34 AM
QUOTE(kids_4ever @ Aug 31 2012, 12:32 AM) Yes, i understand how u feel. Is the trust, ti's not about money. Being cheated is not a good feeling.
aronliew
Aug 31 2012, 12:35 AM
kesian...how much u guys lost?
kids_4ever
Aug 31 2012, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(rosamundwo @ Aug 31 2012, 12:34 AM) Yes, i understand how u feel. Is the trust, ti's not about money. Being cheated is not a good feeling. Agreed and their customer care team are sucks to the max. Instead of helping they will push all the blame to you back.
kids_4ever
Aug 31 2012, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(aronliew @ Aug 31 2012, 12:35 AM) kesian...how much u guys lost? Not much actually. It's not about the money it's about dishonest of livingsocial & i dont like to be cheated. I hate their team also who instead of helping they will push all the blame back this is wut trigger my anger. I can let this go but i wouldnt because even i want so i wont untung this kind of penipu scammer pocket.
TSrosamundwo
Aug 31 2012, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(kids_4ever @ Aug 31 2012, 12:38 AM) Not much actually. It's not about the money it's about dishonest of livingsocial & i dont like to be cheated. I hate their team also who instead of helping they will push all the blame back this is wut trigger my anger. I can let this go but i wouldnt because even i want so i wont untung this kind of penipu scammer pocket. If they keep on cheating other consumer, then it won't stop. There are more and more new consumer who doesn't know about this.
WhiteMaker
Aug 31 2012, 06:29 AM

I have similar problem as well. My situation is that I pay for ice skating voucher, I cancel and re-purchase again for some reason, but they double charge me and they claim they only charge once. The thing is, once I made payment, they instantly deduct money from my bank account but living social keep insisting that they process first before accept payment =( I wouldn't trust living social anymore
cempedaklife
Aug 31 2012, 07:09 AM
Kids_4ever case is different from TS. For kids_4ever case, definitely it's livingsosial fault.
For this case, can't blame entirely on livingsosial.
AmpangKia
Sep 1 2012, 07:31 PM
Actually we can't blame living social... About my case my vouchers deal were cancel by the two parties without us as consumer being notified... If I wasn't aware about it they would just wait until the voucher expired and they are off from the business? It's totally customer service department fault but not living social fault?
Yeah it is the consumers fault because we shouldn't use those unreliable website which sell shitty voucher offers without knowing when the deals are gonna cancelled without notice...
So we have to stay cautious yeah??? End of story... KThxBye...
DM3
Sep 1 2012, 07:47 PM
i think isolated case lar, i fan of groupon n also living social for some time and no problem faced
xerox1234
May 2 2013, 11:01 PM
Just wonder if anyone success to get REFUND from LivingSocial? I am having similar issue with LivingSocial. I bought the voucher and not able to get the service, no response from the Merchant however LivingSocial refuse to refund. They said I can only get Refund if agreed by the Merchant however the merchant did not response to me at all. Any advise?
SUSLuckyDucky
May 2 2013, 11:05 PM

QUOTE(kids_4ever @ Aug 31 2012, 12:32 AM) You can have a check at their fb. 10 out of 10 comment are bad toward them. I advise just stop buying from livingsocial & trust only groupon. They have better service & customer care service. They will refund no matter what as long as there are cancellation at either party. I hate when they talk about voucher validity is over so they cant do refund. Bunch of crap & nonsense. I'll not letting go of my case unless i get back my refund. I hate being cheated.  Thanks for providing the e-mail. I should forward my case to him also =) groupon not any good either though as of today, just my 2 cents
lozenges
May 2 2013, 11:09 PM

QUOTE(xerox1234 @ May 2 2013, 11:01 PM) Just wonder if anyone success to get REFUND from LivingSocial? I am having similar issue with LivingSocial. I bought the voucher and not able to get the service, no response from the Merchant however LivingSocial refuse to refund. They said I can only get Refund if agreed by the Merchant however the merchant did not response to me at all. Any advise? Usually groupon will just return the money to ur groupon acc without asking a lot of question.... But living social is a bit different....sometime will they will not refund unless u complain to consumer Good luck
xerox1234
May 2 2013, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(lozenges @ May 2 2013, 11:09 PM) Usually groupon will just return the money to ur groupon acc without asking a lot of question.... But living social is a bit different....sometime will they will not refund unless u complain to consumer Good luck Yes, they are. I did had refund from groupon and other platform however NOT living Social. I had sent many email to them but they never response. Really frustrated with LivingSocial and will ban them. For sure I will lodge a case to consumer tribunal and I will spam their Wall with how they scam me.
SUSfuzzy
May 2 2013, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(LuckyDucky @ May 2 2013, 11:05 PM) groupon not any good either though as of today, just my 2 cents Groupon have been awesome. We had an issue with the hotel because they did not respond to our request to change the booking date for the rooms we booked, Groupon straight refunded the money to us. It totaled around 2k, yet they never tried to shy away from paying back.
D10yrspain
Jul 5 2013, 09:03 PM

I just want to inform everyone please do not believe in Living social promo on photoshooting, they are scam. For those that already got their pic taken will not get their pictures unless they were willing to pay extra for postage even though they said you can pick up yourself. Furthermore, NO ONE seem to prove that their picture received via postage. The company seemed to be closed down already, phone can't be reach. Just hope that your picture that has been taken do not end up at some website without your consent.
Good Luck!
Famch
Aug 31 2013, 01:20 PM
To this day, LS is still doing this no refund thing to customers. I just had a bad encounter and my case was unexpired vouchers with the wrong outlet printed in them due to computer technical glitch. See link below for more details: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2942485/+0#entry62867324As far as I know the merchant don't get the money if the voucher is not returned by the merchant to LS. In fact, the merchant won't know you bought the voucher until you present it to them and they get their money when they present this voucher to LS for payment. So what LS told someone here that they need to get consent from the merchant before redunding is all bullshit.
wlcling
Aug 31 2013, 01:39 PM
brb imagining cousin sis wife...
agheng
Oct 4 2013, 11:07 AM
Hi All, Please log your complaint on National Consumer Complaint Center. http://www.nccc.org.my/v2/index.php/ingin-...n-e-aduan?fid=1Everyone log to teach Living Social a lesson. I have logged mine: State their address and phone number. Lot 27-6, The Boulevard,Mid Valley City, Lingkaran Syed Putra, Kuala Lumpur Log it under section: Advertising & Marketing
vin_ann
Oct 4 2013, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(rosamundwo @ Aug 31 2012, 12:28 AM) In fact, this really does have bad image for Living Social Malaysia. Consumer pays so much for service and they are not making sure it's delivered to consumer. How can we use and trust living social again? Added on August 31, 2012, 12:30 amI've contacted edwin wang, Living Social malaysia CEO on this, but i duno whether he'll reply on this matter or not. EDWINWANG79@GMAIL.COM what? a CEO cant afford to have his own company email address??? sound fishy!
funnybone
Oct 4 2013, 11:34 AM
Boycott that spa........
fashionables
Nov 24 2013, 03:20 PM
Has anyone had any success getting a refund from Living Social? Living Social has CHEATED me with the FAKE and incorrect products they sent me. And claimed they sent me the right products despite the proofs! Real scammer! They either don't reply or they just keep saying they sent you the correct thing.
jutaria
Jan 6 2014, 09:31 AM
Living social is SCAM
I bought 2 water bottles in OCt 2013.
Till now, they never send at all.
Please beware if anyone want to buy from them.
see their replied...
On Tue, Dec 10, 2013 at 3:49 PM, LivingSocial <my.help@livingsocial.com.my> wrote: Hi,
Thanks for contacting us!
As we recheck our system on your item's advertisement,please be informed its fine print states, delivery begins on 28 November 2013 and may take up to 8 working days for arrival which is by 9 December 2013.
Please be informed this is only estimated date and there may be some delay due to unforeseen event.Do be on the look out as it may arrive within this week.
Thanks for LivingSocial!
Consumer Services | LivingSocial | help.livingsocial.com.my
ref:_00DA0HjId._500F0IRRaq:ref
This message was sent by LivingSocial Malaysia, Lot 27-6 The Boulevard. Mid Valley City, Lingkaran Syed Putra, 592000 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
azbro
Jan 6 2014, 09:38 AM
Wah..until now company still exist..I wonder how many ppl kena Scam by them..must have earn millions oledi
This post has been edited by azbro: Jan 6 2014, 09:38 AM
unknown warrior
Jan 6 2014, 09:43 AM
Huh I wonder why you say they're a scam?
I bought before from Living Social, so far they checked out alright to me.
The Vendor redeemed it without any problems?
jutaria
Jan 6 2014, 09:59 AM
If you paid and didnt get the goods, will you say they are SCAM? You disagreed cause you were so lucky that they sent you the goods.c QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Jan 6 2014, 09:43 AM) Huh I wonder why you say they're a scam? I bought before from Living Social, so far they checked out alright to me. The Vendor redeemed it without any problems?
unknown warrior
Jan 6 2014, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(jutaria @ Jan 6 2014, 09:59 AM) If you paid and didnt get the goods, will you say they are SCAM? You disagreed cause you were so lucky that they sent you the goods.c  I think it boils down to each respective vendor, you can't blame living social directly. But one thing though, I think you can pursue that vendor who cheated you. I redeemed legoland voucher + hotel room through living social, the Hotel accepted my vouchers and gave me my lego land tickets. Mind you I got about 5 tickets.
kamisama
Jan 6 2014, 10:41 AM

living social = no after sale service, bad customer support groupon = with after sale service, good customer support
kenviro
May 9 2014, 05:41 PM

Yeah, my personal experience with Living Social is pretty bad too. I had a legitimate case to request for a refund, but they refused to refund to me. And it wasn't a big amount, only RM10.
jeocity
Jun 1 2014, 11:42 AM
Recently i bought something from them. In the voucher itself stated they will refund within 24 hours of purchase. When i email them for a refund, they keep saying it is against their refund policy. Ended i told them if i do not get refund i will complaint to consumer tribunal. Than only they refund to me. If you have a valid reason, complaint to consumer tribunal but make sure you keep all the email, voucher etc as evidence
pandah
Jun 1 2014, 11:47 AM
from 2012 problem till now?
better avoid the company
AyamBlend
Jun 1 2014, 03:54 PM
Livingsocial ?
KInda hard to get a favourable reply from them and prepare for the ignorance.
Been SOME stories with them, just rmb, play smart and harsh to the customer service . Thats all .
YOU JUST HAVE TO REMEMBER, YOU PAID THE MONEY TO LS , NOT THE FKING MERCHANT(S). Your creditcard statement saying its billed to LS, but not any ABC/bcd COMPANY. If you need to care for the ABC, i dont need an agent aka postbox known as LS, an agent only know to push responsibilities to the buyer/seller/credit card/system/etc.
Just stand strong and against with the bullshit came from their end. Put yourself into another situation, is LS gonna care what happen to your side if you have any problem for no showup / unredeemed voucher ? Are they gonna care your abang-adik, parent grandma who caused you no show up and allow you for a refund ?
I'm sure you know the answer, then why care for them ? Anytime when you lost your tolerance, just report police / consumer board will do. Then you will know how "flexible" they could be.
This post has been edited by AyamBlend: Jun 1 2014, 03:55 PM
lozenges
Jun 2 2014, 12:15 AM

The service provided by this company never improve....if they disagree with your request...they will ignore your email
michlove
Jun 10 2014, 11:30 AM

I bought something from Living Socials too and it mentioned there 3 days delivery...today is the 4th day, and I'm still not receiving anything. They have a bad customer service too. If I still don't get a reply from them today, my complaints are going to the Consumer Affairs.
P/S, I am never buying from this platform again. I only trust Lazada and Lelong Group Me now......
Amummizleow
Jun 24 2014, 08:06 PM
Wow didn't know that company is so horrible that many other than me is having problem with them. About a year plus ago I bought an item from them however after having waited for a month the item was not delivered. When I called them only found out that they claimed they cannot find my transaction and my payment. I have emailed them but they do not bother to reply. Very impatient d I called them and was informed they are still waiting for reply after ducking week plus. I really lose my patience. After that only they said they will refund. Got to it for more than a week only got my refund.so slow and bad service. Lately I have again purchased an item which clearly mentioned delivery within 3 dAyss but a week has passed the item was not even delivered and processed. Drop them 3 emails only reply to me darn it. They proceeded to cancel my purchase without consulting me first and promised to refund. After a week still don't see the amount being refunded to my account. Scam people?
melonrazer94
Jun 24 2014, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(+ @ Aug 31 2012, 12:10 AM) whats wrong, u homophobic?
meow2
Jun 24 2014, 08:15 PM
QUOTE(Love & Money @ Jun 24 2014, 08:12 PM) Businesses make money from cheating, not from providing products/services. many businesses use this technique or at least use some of these technique