Worth to buy SSD to stop the Diablo lag?, Or just buy a 16gb thumb drive?

Quazacolt
post Aug 31 2012, 10:47 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Aug 30 2012, 11:00 AM)
I guess I could try to disable Microsoft Security Essentials and see what happens later tonight. I'm running MS Essential & Avira AV.
disable both. antivirus are useless if you're not completely stupid to avoid viruses smile.gif

Added on August 31, 2012, 10:48 am
and seriously, why can't you just read this?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2401493

if got money = ssd
less money = thumb drive.

period.

Added on August 31, 2012, 10:49 am
QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Aug 30 2012, 02:42 PM)
no such thing la... jump to new area pakai ssd pun still have loading time...
ada kaitan. because of dynamic loading where the game starts loading files when you're approaching exits/entrances etc.

if it happens that the file is not seeked by the hdd in a timely matter, lag. if you're fighting elite and it does this, you die, free repair bill. if you play on hardcore, you flip table, quit game. make new thread in LYN, cry about it. etc.

Added on August 31, 2012, 10:50 am
QUOTE(kuaLe_AGX @ Aug 30 2012, 04:36 PM)
@TS

instead of buying SSD why don't u buy a pair @ single 2GB RAM 1st.

upgrading from 4GB to 6/8GB for modern OS/program/games can gave very different result
before suggesting ram upgrade, do you know what is TS's ram consumption? if he is only using 2gb ram, he add 100gb ram also does nothing.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 31 2012, 10:50 AM
Quazacolt
post Aug 31 2012, 10:22 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(clautee @ Aug 31 2012, 12:48 PM)
Try verify the problem before jump into conclusion...
For stuttering suspect, check your response time of D3 mpq files.

In order to that (for window 7), go start>all programs>accesories>system tools>Resource Monitor. Then either at Overview/Disk tab, check Diablo III.exe and observe the response time (ms) of MPQs files. Ideal reponse time is 5ms and below. If you have way larger ms than 5ms, u shud try the flash drive method linked by Quazacolt few posts before mine. RM30 can get one already...
this post sums it all as opposed to everyone jumping into conclusions smile.gif
thumbup.gif
Quazacolt
post Sep 1 2012, 04:23 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(wira4ce @ Sep 1 2012, 03:42 PM)
my respond time is 1.  rclxub.gif
1 what? 1 ms? 1 ms is damn good. 1second is 1000 ms which is... lol hdd going to gg?
Quazacolt
post Sep 2 2012, 02:32 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(I<3LYN @ Sep 1 2012, 08:07 PM)
I believe the improvement wont be significant for usb thumb drive and ssd anymore.

since 1.0.4 i had noticed there is a black screen before you enter a game, at the top left corner displays a line of text "buffering..."

I am guessing that they pre-load some of the mpqs into the memory or reference points of the mpq data.
never had that issue.

Added on September 2, 2012, 2:33 am
QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 1 2012, 09:11 PM)
I did the thumb drive and the problem remains. I think I'll just jump to SSD.
best if you do proper troubleshooting before jumping the gun on SSDs.

what IF ssd doesn't solve it? what then?

Added on September 2, 2012, 2:33 am
QUOTE(wira4ce @ Sep 1 2012, 09:40 PM)
yes indeed, 1ms. running on sdd + 16 gb ram.
that's good then smile.gif

Added on September 2, 2012, 2:34 am
QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 1 2012, 09:54 PM)
Yeah, I also factor in slow window performance besides DIII laggy to make that decision.

I haven't format my PC since Jan 2010.
i never had antivirus installed, never format pc since 2007 (my pc is 5years old now, going to 6 on 2013 march smile.gif )

Added on September 2, 2012, 2:35 am
QUOTE(clautee @ Sep 1 2012, 11:50 PM)
AFAIK, only one antivirus software is allowed in your OS for optimum performance.
personally, screw AV programs completely. 0 antivirus programs in pc = best smile.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Sep 2 2012, 02:35 AM
Quazacolt
post Sep 3 2012, 11:21 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 3 2012, 10:52 AM)
I don't simply jump the gun and go for SSD just to solve one game problem. I am on the fence on SSD because my want to get rid of other lag caused by HDD, and my HDD is close to 4 years which means there is a potential failure coming up.

Diablo III lag pushed it for me to go try out the SSD, after trying out all the options from RAM disk to disabling two anti virus.
if you can afford, and getting ssd not just for d3, sure by all means go ahead then smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Sep 3 2012, 05:31 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 3 2012, 01:09 PM)
I'll go for broke and just get the SSD as well as do fresh install. I think this video alone showed the kind of problem I am having.
yeah and it is a fact that thumb drive solution solves it. so it could be very much something else (eg: other programs, such as antivirus occupying HDD seek) causing it, and/or your thumb drive solution is applied incorrectly.

surely, if it is the example i mentioned about antivirus (or other programs) programs causing the hdd seek ssd will solve it for good. the bigger problem comes when it doesn't.
either way good luck on that. if it solves it, good for you smile.gif

Added on September 3, 2012, 5:32 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 3 2012, 05:25 PM)
continue buying new components until the problem goes away  thumbup.gif
hahaha confirm for best troubleshooting method thumbup.gif

i guess i am a bit too used to corporate IT troubleshooting that works on a budget... (and by budget i mean rm0)

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Sep 3 2012, 05:32 PM
Quazacolt
post Sep 7 2012, 09:02 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 7 2012, 01:40 AM)
Holy crap! Diablo III runs like a dream and I did not see the stutter that I had when I was on HDD. Game run buttery smooth! The 128GB SSD was worth the money! No need to turn off anti virus! PC loads faster too!
glad it fixes your problem entirely then, grats on your new SSD smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Sep 7 2012, 09:07 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 7 2012, 05:41 PM)
Please dude, read the rest of the thread. You missed out on the spec I wrote down, as well as various tricks (anti virus removal, thumb drive trick, defrag, etc).

The SSD investment was worth it, and I get better windows performance because of it.
nvm la, issue solved liao can tutup thread la. be happy with the SSD thumbup.gif

0.0211sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:32 PM