QUOTE(b0r1nG @ Aug 28 2012, 12:26 AM)
where did you get this price from?cathay?
wonder how much will the E cost?
Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.17
Aug 28 2012, 01:00 PM
4,637 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Aug 30 2012, 02:52 PM
Aug 30 2012, 03:43 PM
Aug 30 2012, 10:36 PM
Aug 31 2012, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(Bliz @ Aug 30 2012, 10:47 PM) I am talking about optical quality, lousy photographer also good enough to differentiate between lousy and good lens oh ya?can give few example of lousy optical quality? as i do interior and architecture photography, i don't like the 16-35 f4 lens because of the barrel distortion. but i don't call it a lousy lens. |
Aug 31 2012, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Aug 31 2012, 01:58 PM) @ifer, you can correct the barrel distortion using photoshop. but you have to remember that you will probably need to do each and every photograph. as for the 16-35mm lens, zoom it at 16mm and the distortion is so bad that it looks almost fish eye. once you have corrected the distortion, your 16mm angle becomes more like 18mm and above. then what's the point of getting this lens? i rather use the rm 300 18-55mm lensspeaking of interior and architecture, is distortion really that bad that must be killed on sight? Im curious, my friend want to go into architecture photography I have not much experience or interest on that. I always assumed its how ' correct ' the clients want the building to be? My friends thinking of getting the tilt shift lens. My thinking is if can get jobs once a month, why not .... but if once ayear....? Whats a relatively decent starting lens for architecture photography ? tilt shift lens is fantastic. but it's expensive too. i assume your friend is using nikon. nikkor has only 24mm PCE lens as the widest. this lens is a fantastic lens. however, canon has a 17mm TSE lens. sometimes due to the space, you just need a wider angle tilt shift lens. so, if your friend is serious in doing architecture/interior photography for a living, change system to canon. by the way 17mm TSE is about rm 8800 and 24mm TSE is 6500. but then again, i have heard that samyang are coming out with a 24mm tilt shift lens soon. nikkor 14-24 is nice but it has a little bit of distortion too. and of course you couldn't shift the lens when you needed it to. |
Sep 2 2012, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Aug 31 2012, 08:03 PM) @ifer correcting them in post can get pretty accurate. it all depends on the the photographer's eye.correcting barrel distortion on buildings in post, how 'accurate' is that? as compared to a lens with minimal barrel distort. haha my friend using canon 1Ds.. im not sure how serious he is, but he has has been talking about it for years. So if i wanted to do a some architecture photography my 1755 would be sufficient for a start ? on a side note, today I was given an extra flash from 1988.. lol ... SB-24 amazing, it still works! But no optical trigger, drats! if you friend was using the 1Ds, then it's a plus point as he get to use the 17mm TSE... probably one of the best L lens. the 24mm TSE is fantastic too. just remember to get a super sturdy tripod (Gitzo series 3 at least) and a hot shoe spirit level and your friend can start to make some moneyyyy |
Sep 3 2012, 04:52 PM
Sep 5 2012, 08:24 AM
KTCY, get the samyang version of f1.4
it's as good, considering the price that you pay |
Sep 5 2012, 05:04 PM
was brain storming on nikon club yesterday and realise that the KL members are not really active when it comes to outing and walk around and stuffs.
any nikon club members here? have you been to any outings before? if not why? what do you hope to see in the future? |
Sep 6 2012, 01:33 AM
hmm... okok will put in you guys' ideas.
by the way, medium format is not nikon so i can't bring those out hahaa |
Sep 6 2012, 10:00 AM
Sep 6 2012, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 6 2012, 10:29 AM) do you see nikon promoting sigma lenses?or nissin flash? QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 6 2012, 10:43 AM) i think nikon malaysia wont go for all this stuff. nikon club in penang, terengganu and another state which i have forgotten are super active.from the initial post already, they wonder why no one want to come. lagi la not many ppl will come if do archi, macro etc compared to shooting model wannabes according to stats, the least active is currently kl hahaa so they are scratching their heads now |
Sep 10 2012, 10:37 AM
Sep 10 2012, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 10 2012, 10:42 AM) nikonrumors.com rumoured it at USD 1500one thing that caught my attention is the 16 bit colour processing. why didn't they put it in the d800/e and d4? why this? if really 16 bits colour processing and rm 6000 hor, i no need to think edi. terus buy 5 units hahaa one small thing that irritates me is dual SD card slots. what am i going to do with my CF cards now? |
Sep 10 2012, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 10 2012, 12:29 PM) No idea. Test on entry level FF before have it on new FF 2 years later ? i welcome the small body. the dual SD card slots is a small matter. i just have to buy new cards and sell off my CF. but it is still irritating hahaaANd yes, dual SD card. Body is D7000 body on the 16 bit colours. some said it still capture on 14 bits but process at 16 bits. well, 16 bits process is still wayyyy better than 14 bits process... few more days to go |
Sep 10 2012, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 10 2012, 03:23 PM) what is 16 bit process? what is 14 bit porcess? okD70s is what bit process? sRGB is what bit process? will it affect on what ? print? or actually won't affect web display like the user like me only upload to fagbuk. (FB) this applies to tonality of your photographs actually. and since tonal is affected by 2 main 'colour', brightness and darkness 8 bits mean 2 to the power of 8 = 256 this 256 refer to 256 tones per channel. camera has 3 channels. RGB 14 bits mean 2 to the power of 14 = 16384 means you now have 16384 different tones per colour channel. this also means your tonality is smoother that 8 bits DSLR technology is at 14 bits and medium format digital back is 16 bits. you guys must be saying that 14 bits to 16 bits is only 2 bits.. pfffttt how much difference does it make? let's see 16 bits mean 2 to the power of 16 = 65536 means now you have a freaking 65636 different tones per channel. i hope it's easy to understand hahaa |
Sep 10 2012, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 10 2012, 05:04 PM) ohhh thanks sifu. the only cameras that capture 16 bits and process 16 bits are the digital backthen which model is capture 14 bit, process 16 bit ? D600? capture 16 bit, process 16 bit ? d800 + d4? capture 14 bit, process 14 bit ? all old dslr? japanese dslr currently is 14 bits, 14 bits. but d600 rumours is 16 bits pulak... it will be the first japanese camera. |
Sep 11 2012, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 11 2012, 11:00 AM) nikon announcement in 2 more days...gonna be very interesting since they say will announce DSLRs, ie. plural. for sure one is D600...wonder what the others are. QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 11 2012, 11:16 AM) i want a D400 actually. but they are welcome to name is as d7100 but the power pack punch of a supposedly d400. |
Sep 12 2012, 09:20 AM
| Change to: | 0.1396sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:55 PM |