starsssss
1,557 posts

why my 5100 always backfocus? ><

Added on August 28, 2012, 4:13 pm
QUOTE(b0r1nG @ Aug 28 2012, 12:26 AM)
D800 is RM9250 with GST

without GST it should be around RM8780!!!

Tempting!!!
whr u checked it? btw hw much is D700 is Spore?? sometimes old camera, old tech works better than new tech ><
n when d600 is out, dno what new problems might surface later..

This post has been edited by f5calvin: Aug 28 2012, 04:13 PM
f5calvin
post Aug 29 2012, 01:43 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

To those who gonna sleep, good nite!

Celine by Calvin Kohlz, on Flickr

Good morning to those who just saw this post after waking up~
haha.
f5calvin
post Aug 29 2012, 01:20 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Aug 29 2012, 12:52 PM)
The super bright areas on the right is stealing away all the attention from the girl...

Are you metering on the wrong area ?

What's the exposure of this photo...
lol..i dun think u can make the area dark without making the girl look like silhouette..i used spot meterin on the girl's face..
Exposure 0.006 sec (1/160)
Aperture f/2.8
ISO Speed 900
Exposure Bias 0 EV
f5calvin
post Aug 29 2012, 04:43 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 29 2012, 02:26 PM)
wow.....ISO 900?! just shutter 1/60 or 1/80 la

you spot meter on her face but the side of her face still blown out

you should be able to recover the shadow area if you use matrix metering, fill the dark area to half of your frame, shoot -0.3 or -0.7 underexpose in manual mode, check in-camera histogram if no black and white clipping in the histogram then should be fine

and shoot NEF
er..no nid afraid noise..D700.. drool.gif
i shot RAW.. er..i tried all the metering..seems others were like black. so the background has to be white already..cz the sky memang white..

QUOTE(MrAkay @ Aug 29 2012, 02:28 PM)
Hey guys need your opinion. Im doing mostly weddings and stuff and right now i have a 2470 lying around not in use cos i got 35 edi. Should i sell n buy 85 or keep? I am so confused i tell you
24-70 is the lens i love best on a FF..well cz can shoot a lil wide..n can shoot a lil zoom..convinient n high performance.haha.
i think dun sell lar..i heard some other selling 2470 then got 28mm f/1.4.. now regret adi..

Added on August 29, 2012, 4:45 pm
QUOTE(MrAkay @ Aug 29 2012, 02:28 PM)
Hey guys need your opinion. Im doing mostly weddings and stuff and right now i have a 2470 lying around not in use cos i got 35 edi. Should i sell n buy 85 or keep? I am so confused i tell you
btw..i saw ur photos..35mm colours are reaaally sweet..i like it..bright! like washed with Breeze or Top..

This post has been edited by f5calvin: Aug 29 2012, 04:45 PM
f5calvin
post Aug 29 2012, 05:23 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 29 2012, 05:08 PM)
i can take and sell so i can change to more decent body  whistling.gif
lol agito.. who knows u buy more n more models with it..haha
f5calvin
post Aug 29 2012, 08:21 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Aug 29 2012, 05:54 PM)
Shooting underexpose on the subject will affect the overall subject image quality, muddy detail/noise, color, etc.

For such situation, since it's a planned shoot (I supposed?), better use reflector or fill-flash.
Can experiment with reflector and Fill-Flash, see the different outcome, from there you can gain more experience and so on.

Experiment and trying to different things can help to understand and learn more things instead of sticking to one technique. I got a friend who refuse to use flash for similar situation, after shoot the photo, we compare and I also show him different photo taken without flash, with flash and different exposure. The flash is just acting as a fill-ins the dark/shadow areas, like a Fill Light.
it's a small competition plus photoshooting..yeah fill flash would work best..get a lightbox n shoot.haha..thx for tips n tricks~ thumbup.gif
f5calvin
post Aug 29 2012, 09:03 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Aug 29 2012, 08:35 PM)
I viewed this Nikon School : Guide to Creative Lighting

Wow, I didn't know the Speedlight can do so many lighting magic...

Part 1:-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lUY66-RqhKM...=5&feature=plcp
PRT 2:-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9KpI4Sl9bc...=4&feature=plcp
great tutorialS!
f5calvin
post Aug 30 2012, 12:45 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

so isit recommended? J1? hw much isitt?
f5calvin
post Aug 30 2012, 01:22 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 30 2012, 12:56 AM)
good thing about small sensor is their large depth of field can take close up of food without blurring the food

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

something for your morning when you wake up
saw u taking some of http://www.facebook.com/TcFang 's photos..my relative..small world.. rolleyes.gif
f5calvin
post Aug 30 2012, 01:31 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 30 2012, 01:26 AM)
Can intro her to me? Single and available here laugh.gif
lol..she looks vy different durin cosplay..haha.
f5calvin
post Aug 30 2012, 07:45 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(0163119779 @ Aug 30 2012, 07:39 PM)
Dx...Well I'm actually got enough money for the 17-55(I had funding "bullent" in 2 years) but the problems is I still a student and how ppl look at a student that using big and professional lens?? sad.gif
i think u'd better get a lens that'll suit FX as well..who knows u'll upgrade it?
er..better get the primes..50mm 1.4? or 35mm 1.8g? cheap n u'll like the bokeh u'll never have in zoom lenses..haha.
i hear some ppl say 50mm 1.8g has better color than 50mm 1.8d..
ur choice is either 50 or 35 lar..
f5calvin
post Aug 30 2012, 09:33 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(0163119779 @ Aug 30 2012, 08:00 PM)
Hrmm...I didn't plan go for Fx in future 10 years...What I think is gear doesn't means everythings...
Who knows in 2 years to come FX become like rm4000?
bt for me, 17-55 isnt really great after all..it's okay, bt not too great.why? cz u cant get nice bokeh like prime lens..n if u want landscape, u cant go super wide angle.
so..lets say rm3000.. jz have a 1855 kit lens or 18-105mm (if u havent sold it). and get 35mm/50mm prime. then get wide angle lens maybe 11-16mm? only thing lagging is super zoom lens..haha..i dun use the lens so nvm..btw i start to like the 18-105..maybe like it more than my tammy 1750..cz the extra zoom.

ONLY way to prevent from FX bug is avoid seeing sharp and bokeh-ish picture.. later u'll ask urself, why i cant do that?? lol

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Aug 30 2012, 08:07 PM)
I also have the same thought n say won't upgrade to ff when I first bought my d5100...
But now I already change my mind n regret all my lens were for dx only...
same here..when i bought d5100 my uncle say i'll outgrow it..din believe it..bt now i think wat he said was true..maybe cz i handle his d700 adi.
f5calvin
post Aug 30 2012, 09:39 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 30 2012, 09:10 PM)
10 years? give you 5 years max la whistling.gif
just like me using d70s already bising wan get new bodeh  sweat.gif
D70s bising nvm lar..bukannya D300s..i wonder those using D300s regret buying or love it..
my hope is D600 will be like 5k++ and don't have problems since it's expected to be cheapest Nikon FF camera..
be like D700..great ratings n satisfaction..haha..
f5calvin
post Aug 30 2012, 09:44 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 30 2012, 09:37 PM)
FX isn't sharp because of FX... more like because FX glass are usually higher grade than DX... how many pro grade FX lens compared to pro grade DX lens?
true oso..bt it's damn weird..i dno it's my camera or what..D5100 on 24-70 cant give sharp images. i seriously think it's body problem since the same 2470 works well on d700.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 30 2012, 09:37 PM)
Not only FX can sharp and bokeh-ish smile.gif
DX also can do that. With correct lens. Wanna see some sample ? Ask celciuz. He shot alot with his D90 wink.gif
I found a comment at NR interesting.
ya la..bt anyhow oso lose to FX ma.
bt oso true lar..if nt why isit called FF ?
f5calvin
post Aug 30 2012, 10:00 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 30 2012, 09:49 PM)
your setting on D5100 is it ?

anyhow lose to FX on what ? Which part ?
shoot RAW also like that..
as far as i noe, lose to fx in DOF on the same lens lets say 35mm f/1.4..
f5calvin
post Aug 30 2012, 10:13 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 30 2012, 10:04 PM)
24/1.4G - 6.7k
35/1.4G - 4.8k
85/1.5G - 4.6k

brows.gif
That's without a doubt for DOF la. But still can produce creamy bokeh ma.
ya..can lar..haha..lens oso mahal ma..
btw why 50mm 1.4G is so much cheaper than those 3 lenses? it's only 1.8k.
f5calvin
post Aug 30 2012, 10:19 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 30 2012, 10:17 PM)
Because 50mm f/1.2G has yet to announce lo tongue.gif
lol..i think cz it doesnt have those nano coating.. and those ED thingy..
f5calvin
post Aug 31 2012, 09:54 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 31 2012, 06:37 PM)
anyone wanna sell their AFD nifty fifty ?
hw much is the price of used one less than a yr?
f5calvin
post Aug 31 2012, 10:03 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 31 2012, 09:54 PM)
300 ?
den ask my fren wanna sell o not..haha..he usin it..bt on motor-less body.
f5calvin
post Aug 31 2012, 10:14 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 31 2012, 10:06 PM)
Thanks bro. Do update me wink.gif
if he selling 300 u take? btw the lens wif me now..haha..

0.0502sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:41 AM