Source
i wonder what is the widest aperture, F0.1? laugh.gif
amduser
post Aug 29 2012, 02:26 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Aug 29 2012, 01:20 PM)
lol..i dun think u can make the area dark without making the girl look like silhouette..i used spot meterin on the girl's face..
Exposure 0.006 sec (1/160)
Aperture f/2.8
ISO Speed 900
Exposure Bias 0 EV
wow.....ISO 900?! just shutter 1/60 or 1/80 la

you spot meter on her face but the side of her face still blown out

you should be able to recover the shadow area if you use matrix metering, fill the dark area to half of your frame, shoot -0.3 or -0.7 underexpose in manual mode, check in-camera histogram if no black and white clipping in the histogram then should be fine

and shoot NEF
amduser
post Aug 29 2012, 11:58 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Aug 29 2012, 08:35 PM)
I viewed this Nikon School : Guide to Creative Lighting

Wow, I didn't know the Speedlight can do so many lighting magic...

Part 1:-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lUY66-RqhKM...=5&feature=plcp
PRT 2:-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9KpI4Sl9bc...=4&feature=plcp
very informative video!! only watched a few mins, gotta download it and finish it tomorrow
amduser
post Aug 30 2012, 12:56 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Aug 30 2012, 12:41 AM)
hi a pic spam from me with my J1, very satisfied with the output in a very dim lighting condition and shooting with ISO3200. PP'ed with LR, level adjusted quite a bit but kept others minimal. very satisfied with the color and white balance, didn't adjust anything except add wee bit of vibrancy and clarity. biggrin.gif

good thing about small sensor is their large depth of field can take close up of food without blurring the food

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

something for your morning when you wake up
DSC_6586 by K_S16, on Flickr

This post has been edited by amduser: Aug 30 2012, 01:01 AM
amduser
post Aug 30 2012, 01:26 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Aug 30 2012, 01:22 AM)
saw u taking some of http://www.facebook.com/TcFang 's photos..my relative..small world.. rolleyes.gif
Can intro her to me? Single and available here laugh.gif

amduser
post Aug 30 2012, 01:54 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Aug 30 2012, 01:31 AM)
lol..she looks vy different durin cosplay..haha.
Can say everyone also look different during cosplay
amduser
post Aug 30 2012, 10:06 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Aug 30 2012, 08:54 AM)
Kiut brows.gif intro lah brows.gif
next time go cosplay events and hunt her down laugh.gif
amduser
post Aug 30 2012, 12:08 PM

5,542 posts

tomorrow who got go merdeka perade?

amduser
post Aug 30 2012, 02:26 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Aug 30 2012, 02:20 PM)
Might go, nothing to do for tomorrow.
but dont know can get good view or not, i wanna go since i never went there before, but the problem is i dont know how to go there and parking is a problem doh.gif

amduser
post Aug 30 2012, 03:27 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(hackerzx @ Aug 30 2012, 03:09 PM)
planning to go Dataran tomorrow..what the best time/place there? this is my first time smile.gif
i think most likely you will be sniping across the field sad.gif
amduser
post Aug 31 2012, 12:30 PM

5,542 posts

just back from dataran merdeka, stand in media zone without media pass like a boss laugh.gif

but i have to say that some photojournalist has very bad attitude, got one guy simply push me away to get the front row position vmad.gif
amduser
post Aug 31 2012, 12:50 PM

5,542 posts

they look like mat rempit more than bodyguard

This post has been edited by amduser: Aug 31 2012, 12:50 PM
amduser
post Aug 31 2012, 01:04 PM

5,542 posts

but too bad, the moment he lost is not by me but by himself who keep adjust the camera settings and playing with his flash biggrin.gif
amduser
post Aug 31 2012, 02:36 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 31 2012, 01:25 PM)
Lens firmware ? blink.gif
Celciuz told me nifty fifty that he bought like kena cheated tongue.gif
Not gonna get nifty fifty. Probably stick with my plan than.
You using nifty fifty ?
i thought is because his lens got problem that time? hmm.gif
amduser
post Sep 2 2012, 01:21 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Sep 1 2012, 09:38 PM)

ISO 3200, F2.8, 1/125s

Thought I tried ISO 3200 at MVCC but soon regretted  cry.gif doh.gif

Should have use FLASH instead hmm.gif, maybe high iso really not practical to use for portrait.. unsure.gif
i dont see anything wrong in the picture, the hair details is there, shadow details retained, eyes is in focus and sharp, skin color is fair and smooth, eyes got catchlight, the HP board and hair contrast is a bit low but pp can save it

still can be save during pp if you are shooting raw and people just look at the girl most of the time, so as long as can see the face gao dim already whistling.gif
amduser
post Sep 2 2012, 09:29 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Sep 2 2012, 06:54 AM)
Of course can be done using FX. smile.gif

Added on September 2, 2012, 6:58 am
I m not a PP guy tongue.gif, I wanna always try to get it right SOOC and minimize PP work if possible.. sweat.gif 

Somehow, hearing your comment, makes me feel better.. tongue.gif

Btw, did u go to ASABAN festival? Never been there, dunno the venue lighting good or not?

http://www.asabanfest.com
your SOOC is already good and it is properly exposed, white balanced is off, i assume you use auto?

PP is just to enhanced what is there, not to save a bad image

i'm going to asaban festival later, it is in an indoor basketball court, expect your picture to have green tint without custom white balance

This post has been edited by amduser: Sep 2 2012, 09:30 AM
amduser
post Sep 2 2012, 09:37 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Nogol @ Sep 2 2012, 09:33 AM)
This is nice smile.gif

Guys, what picture styles you all use? For video and photography on your Nikon.

I can't trust my D7000's LCD. The colour looks nice on camera, but when I transfer to my PC, it looks hell... sleep.gif" (Or maybe I just didn't check the colours on my camera.)

If I use standard, it looks to plain on PC, if I use vivid, the colours looks too strong some times.
i shoot NEF so the picture style doesn't really matter, for video i dont know since i hardly do video, maybe just left it at standard or neutral
amduser
post Sep 4 2012, 12:31 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Sep 3 2012, 11:07 PM)

IT Fair at Mid Valley, used the high iso  doh.gif ...maybe it's time to buy BIG flash. tongue.gif
what is the ISO for that picture?

you are using nikon body why you worry about ISO? doh.gif
amduser
post Sep 4 2012, 12:56 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Sep 3 2012, 10:41 PM)
Just in case anyone want to win some monay

planning to join, maybe take part in landscape only

QUOTE(gnome @ Sep 4 2012, 12:38 AM)
/inb4 agito's D70s post laugh.gif