Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.17

Calvin Seak
post Aug 28 2012, 12:01 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 28 2012, 11:29 AM)
I thought the GST only applicable if you're flying to Singapore?
Hahaha yeaa Need to take flight! lols all the best for your camera hunt!
Calvin Seak
post Aug 29 2012, 04:58 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(MrAkay @ Aug 29 2012, 02:28 PM)
Hey guys need your opinion. Im doing mostly weddings and stuff and right now i have a 2470 lying around not in use cos i got 35 edi. Should i sell n buy 85 or keep? I am so confused i tell you
Keep the 24-70! Zooms are much more practical when it comes to events/weddings!

Unless you're talking about pre-wedding photos you can give me the 24-70 =p
Calvin Seak
post Aug 29 2012, 05:25 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(MrAkay @ Aug 29 2012, 05:11 PM)
Yeh man. Its like $3k for used one on ebay
Iv been using it for awhile doing events/weddings but i find the 2.8 is not
Wide enuff haha. And i generally like working with primes better. Dunno why i ever bought 2470 in first place haha
Aiseh Haha you need the 14-24 =p

35mm 1.4 is a fine lens!

DSC_1041 by Calvin Seak, on Flickr
Thin DOF!

DSC_6324 by Calvin Seak, on Flickr
Creamy bokehs!

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Aug 29 2012, 05:26 PM
Calvin Seak
post Aug 29 2012, 10:51 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 29 2012, 08:39 PM)
the photo seems soft on my U2410 hmm.gif
Shot wide open, and jpeg and i usually use neutral for most snapshots ;D cheers!

Added on August 29, 2012, 10:54 pm
QUOTE(stan001 @ Aug 29 2012, 08:35 PM)
I viewed this Nikon School : Guide to Creative Lighting

Wow, I didn't know the Speedlight can do so many lighting magic...

Part 1:-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lUY66-RqhKM...=5&feature=plcp
PRT 2:-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9KpI4Sl9bc...=4&feature=plcp
Haha thanks for sharing wink.gif

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Aug 29 2012, 10:54 PM
Calvin Seak
post Sep 6 2012, 06:13 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

Omg la i broke my 16-35 lens hood.. lucky lens and camera no problem
Calvin Seak
post Sep 22 2012, 08:37 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

Woo hoo back from Korea! Awesome trip! 2 weeks and a half there bumping around Hahaha! Pic spam soon ;D
Calvin Seak
post Sep 23 2012, 12:13 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Sep 22 2012, 11:42 PM)
Welcome back boss. Been there shooting film or digital? laugh.gif
Shot with both! Make the best of both worlds haha!

Flying off to indonesia now, will post pictures anf experiences when i get back!

Calvin Seak
post Sep 23 2012, 07:22 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Sep 23 2012, 06:41 PM)
Btw does anyone here use Billingham bag (the one kai from digitalrev using if you didnt know). Seen it up close in one of the shops here in kl and i kinda like it laugh.gif
Is it the hadley pro??

looks really small! I dont think it can even fit a dslr!

Added on September 23, 2012, 7:24 pm
QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Sep 23 2012, 06:59 PM)
How much is the Speedlight SB-910? icon_question.gif
I got mine for rm1650 i guess! Cant really remember but around there

Added on September 23, 2012, 7:28 pm
QUOTE(MrAkay @ Sep 23 2012, 10:11 AM)
guys, i need to fine tune my AF lah, any reconmendations on which one to get? or just download from internet better?
Have a read!

Click Me

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Sep 23 2012, 07:28 PM
Calvin Seak
post Sep 24 2012, 09:49 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Sep 24 2012, 08:53 AM)
oh i thought we were talking about the noctilux hahaa
M. the latest M comes with focus peaking.

on the other hand, i have no experience with the ais f1.2 lens.
however, my 1.4g is fantastic.
if you can push the budget a little bit more, go for the carl zeiss 50 macro lens
but it's a f2 lens
You are really a carl Zeiss fan! Haha because of your poison i also got one but its lovely to use!
Calvin Seak
post Sep 24 2012, 10:29 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 24 2012, 10:36 AM)
What zeiss you're using ?

Btw, 135/1.8 is super lovely drool.gif
35Mm 1.4 :biggrin.gif
I love. It veey much!!

Added on September 24, 2012, 10:31 pm
QUOTE(seather @ Sep 24 2012, 09:47 PM)

reporting from Seoul  rclxm9.gif
Waaa i miss seoul now ;( feel un-safe in jakarta right now, in seoul can just carry ur dslr out n just shoot everything!!

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Sep 24 2012, 10:31 PM
Calvin Seak
post Sep 26 2012, 12:14 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

Waaa the 24mm is such a fine lens! Im a sucker when it comes to wide angles... I <3 it!!
Calvin Seak
post Sep 27 2012, 01:23 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Sep 27 2012, 09:03 AM)
i finally order my 1st MF lens few days ago.. gonna give it a try... but on a cheap russian glass. . .
Woo hoo! Hope you love it!
Calvin Seak
post Sep 28 2012, 05:05 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(ruxyn_tang @ Sep 28 2012, 01:08 PM)
owh! biggrin.gif okay thanks. hehe
If you need I have a few biggrin.gif
But im from KL/PJ
Have to dig them out cause I dont know where I left them Hahaha!
Calvin Seak
post Oct 1 2012, 11:55 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

Korea 2012 biggrin.gif

Gyeongbokgung Palace by Calvin Seak, on Flickr

CAL_2967 by Calvin Seak, on Flickr
Calvin Seak
post Oct 1 2012, 05:55 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(kennexionz @ Oct 1 2012, 01:55 PM)

I am starting to miss that place.... haha been there last year Autumn maybe later nanti I spam photo pulak hehe... later this month will be going to Shanghai.. hope can get some nice scenic shots terĀ  biggrin.gif
Im already missing it! Haha I was there close to 3 weeks! Made some korean friends along the way! Promise them I would come next year haha!

Added on October 1, 2012, 5:56 pm
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 1 2012, 04:18 PM)
i miss the snow storm lol...consider lucky for malaysia who never experience snow but not lucky for local korean

Omg snowstorm..! Haha Did you go skiing while you were in Korea?

Added on October 1, 2012, 5:56 pm
QUOTE(gnome @ Oct 1 2012, 04:26 PM)
Wow pretty sunny there. When i was there last year the weather was abit gloomy or maybe because its autumn season laugh.gif

sorry for the bad quality, link from fb album tongue.gif
Actually this place nothing much to shout about haha! I love Ihwa village alot!

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Oct 1 2012, 05:56 PM
Calvin Seak
post Oct 1 2012, 07:50 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(kennexionz @ Oct 1 2012, 06:29 PM)
Hahaha... was there for 9 days with 8 of my friends... love the autumn weather!! so cool n dry!! walk long also wont feel sticky.. went to 3 places during that visit... namely Seoul, Jeju and Seoraksan(Sokcho)I know that feeling.. Seeing your pics.. make m miss my trip there so much... till I dug up m photos to relive my trip ter!! haha!  biggrin.gif

Share some pic here ^__^ (warning... alot of images)

Nice pictures!! Now I miss korea even more! I didnt get to go to jeju, waiting to go with my gf.. Wanted to climb seorak but due to typhoon It wasnt recommended sad.gif Even booked a hotel at seorak there!

Added on October 1, 2012, 7:50 pm
QUOTE(ifer @ Oct 1 2012, 07:49 PM)
Yeah I am going to the talk. And I advice those who have a passion in photography to go too, especially to those who owns awesome gears. Don't just shoot and upload it on facebook. That you don't need those full frame and nano coating. My phone can do that.
See you there!

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Oct 1 2012, 07:50 PM
Calvin Seak
post Oct 2 2012, 12:58 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(MrAkay @ Oct 1 2012, 10:25 PM)
ohhh okay, seoul dulu. how much did it cost u guys for the trip?
Cost me 14k.. But I bought alot of stuffs!
Calvin Seak
post Oct 2 2012, 10:58 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Oct 2 2012, 01:14 AM)
Whoa that is alot sweat.gif

btw boss any photos from M7? tongue.gif
From Korea? Ada ada.. But haven't collected yet! Two weeks worth of work waiting for me so kinda busy Haha!
Calvin Seak
post Oct 2 2012, 05:01 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Oct 2 2012, 03:09 PM)
Hahaha make sure to share some of them here once you got them develop okay? thumbup.gif

btw i still have the portra's i bought from you. 1 roll havent used yet, one in my camera but only used 2 exposure laugh.gif
Don't be afraid to underexpose it to 1600 ISO!!

03 by Calvin Seak, on Flickr

Lols.. a lil out of topic.. will show the pics in the film section later hehe

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Oct 2 2012, 05:13 PM
Calvin Seak
post Oct 3 2012, 12:44 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Oct 2 2012, 10:46 PM)
jst saying ma.. hahaha recently all my jobs require in raw mode.. but also got one in jpg mode.. so far they happy with results. i guess is sometimes the results canot meet our own expectations as we know it can be better
Hahah you always kacau me.. wait la you come KL, then its my turn! =p

Added on October 3, 2012, 12:45 am
QUOTE(gnome @ Oct 2 2012, 10:42 PM)
Relax guise. That's from a film. He using iso 400 film but pushed it to iso 1600 that's why noise (or grains) count abit high. Then again heard Kodak Portra 400 is very very good in term of grains size when pushed to 1600 or 3200! maybe scan problem kot sweat.gif
Im slowly trying to shoot jpg again, before this was crazy with RAW because easier do to editing for work related but zomg space running out fast! icon_question.gif  laugh.gif
Hahaha yea dont worry about it man! Looks normal no haze too, just more grains!

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Oct 3 2012, 12:45 AM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0516sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:45 PM