Oil & Gas Career v4, Technical Sharing & Career Opportunities

incogsizz
post May 10 2013, 10:10 PM

Hi everyone, I’m currently searching for internship placement in oil and gas field. Since I’ll be having my internship after finishing final sem, I aim for a good company as a start so that I could secure a job later when I'm officially graduated. Any suggestion on companies that I can apply for and exposure that I could gain throughout internship (based on the old timers experience biggrin.gif ). FYI, my background is civil eng (majoring in offshore oceanography)

Your input is utterly helpful icon_rolleyes.gif

Thanks….

incogsizz
post May 12 2013, 06:07 PM

[quote=abgkik,May 12 2013, 02:47 PM]
No different in between local and overseas grad.. The advantage of overseas grad only on their English.. But if they langsi, they die..

abgkik, since u r the old timer here, can u advice other quality that a company will look other than good in english? Does having strong technical knowledge governs everything and I was informed that working in oil n gas company reckons you to be at site (i.e. high risk environment),so would the employer considers a girl to be working at that kind of environment?
incogsizz
post May 16 2013, 07:37 PM

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 12 2013, 08:06 PM)
ha ha ha.. I'm not old timer la.. Just sharing.. my experience is peanut icon_rolleyes.gif
other than good in english.. communication skill, emotional and self control are part of quality that we'll look..
technical knowledge in theory will not govern everything..  hands on technical knowledge is essential.. join graduate trainee in oil & gas is one of the path to gain your hands on..

Site.. There are many type of 'site'.. dun worry about that.. all risk are in control.. unless if you are working at confine space or commercial diver, potential hazard is very high.. 
There is one girl working under my supervision here at Shipyard as Naval Architect..  wink.gif
Thank you abgkik for the advice. For a beginner, normally ppl treat u like a junior and they'll be afraid to assign you with technical tasks. Is there any tips to gain ppl's trust on your competency and commitment towards work? Wow, are u a proud sv having to guide a girl junior? we are fussy over small things sometimes nod.gif
incogsizz
post May 18 2013, 01:52 AM

QUOTE(abgkik @ May 17 2013, 08:39 AM)
In our working environment,  junior/graduate trainee will experience 'hands on work' regardless any gender..  start with small task.. under our supervision in safe environment.. previously have 3 juniors, 2 male and 1 female.. now left 1 male and 1 female..
So the sv will particularly guide juniors in both technical and hands-on work (mentor+manage) hmm.gif Cool!! Does ur company offers any vacancies for new graduates? Maybe the junior left to explore other field, prolly because he gained sufficient experience from u already,thehehehe rclxms.gif
incogsizz
post May 18 2013, 01:59 AM

QUOTE(Dagger69 @ May 16 2013, 08:03 PM)
Focus on doing it right the first time. Dont assume things. Anything you are not sure, ask.

I hate it when people say they know but when comes to completing the task, cannot perform well.
Yup, a good start-working tip. Thank you very much nod.gif Better to show your action and finish the task rather than the "nonsense fine wording" talks (i've experienced before when doing group projects) doh.gif

0.0250sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:39 PM