Oil & Gas Career v4, Technical Sharing & Career Opportunities

akib_mullen
post Sep 2 2012, 01:55 AM

691 posts

Hi guys,

I'm a recent graduate in Bac in Eng (Chemical-Gas) and i still din get any job opportunities.

Trying to do some add in value in my CV, i got 2 options:

1. Pursue my edu in Master in Engineering (Gas) which i already had the offer
2. Go for enhancement programme which will take 6 months more or less. There are some programme offered (which i think is suitable for ong ind):
i.Steam Engineer
ii.Welding Engineer
iii.Calib & Instr Tech
iv. PCN-NDT Inspector
v.Engineering operation and maintenance
vi.Vibration technology and management
vii.safety and health officer
viii.PCN welding inspection
ix.panting and corrosion inpector
x.API inspector
xi.Engineering operation and maintenance

for the first option, i think i'm gonna pass coz it will took me 1.5 to 2 years. for the second option, which course that are preferable? suggestions? Or i forget about both options and waiting for a job offer while tanam anggur? *sigh
akib_mullen
post Sep 15 2012, 06:24 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Sep 13 2012, 12:01 PM)
I'm looking for a young fresh graduates to work in a worldwide reowned MNC O&G Company.

Please send me your resume to carloz28@yahoo.com

Pre-Reqs are as follows

1) Degree in Petroleum/Mechanical/EE Engineering or equivalent
2) CGPA must be above 3.0
3) Experience in O&G industry(not necessary in field) are preferable but fresh grads can apply
4) The job requires the candidate to work in the office and in the field, so you will be exposed to both management and technical working environment
5) Most important, candidate must be able to work intensively at the rig, not afraid to get their hands dirty and able to work at odd hours
6) You will be require to travel extensively on a short notice.
7) YOUR expected salary. (Very important!)

Good basic salary and field bonus assured.

You can send me your resume through PM or mail me at the add above.
Closing date for applications: End of Sep
I sent my resume thru ur email biggrin.gif
akib_mullen
post Sep 19 2012, 05:29 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(mamat_py @ Sep 18 2012, 11:42 AM)
Hi there,
anyone who has been working or currently working for TL offshore mind to share their basic salary+benefits+offshore allowances offered the first time you guys entered the company?as i got an offer from them as an engineer but no salary mentioned yet because they require me to do medical checkup first before issuing the contract...
care to share how did u apply? thanks smile.gif
akib_mullen
post Sep 29 2012, 12:34 AM

691 posts

Quick question here, I'm still din get any jobs so far, and I'm considering to take Master in Petroleum Engineering. But from what I heard experience is more important, plus I heard company afraid to take Master students, izit true? So should I just wait for a job or continue study? Need advise here, thanks
akib_mullen
post Oct 10 2012, 12:37 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(susiesia @ Oct 9 2012, 06:53 PM)
hi everyone, im a chemistry student who has just graduated. and I want to pursue my study in MSc petroleum engineering (coursework) either in UTM or UTP. but i have several questions regarding to their course.

1. Since both of them offer almost the same courses, which university is better in terms of their lecturers or courses? ( UTP is much more expensive)

2. Normally would it be a problem to work in the O&G company bcoz I only have a master's degree in petroleum engineering but a non engineering background degree?

3. Is UTM Msc petroleum engineering a competitive course?

Thank you for your kindly reply.
potential coursemate detected brows.gif
i've already applied for utm coursework. If no jobs offered until the day of registration, I def go for Master. Agree with bro azreil, PE dept in UTM quite an established. A lot of programs conducted by PE undergrad students (any ppl can join,if not mistaken). They quite close with SPE stuff also, I think.
akib_mullen
post Oct 19 2012, 06:16 PM

691 posts

Hi guys,
Just now I received a call from Air Energi, ask me to come to interview in KL. The person offer me a job as an wireline engineer for Welltec company, if I'm not mistaken (at outside that time, cant hear clearly). So I wanna ask if Air Energi is recruitment agency for Welltec?
akib_mullen
post Oct 20 2012, 09:13 PM

691 posts

guys,
what is the difference between petroleum geoscience and petroleum geophysics?
then, 1 more, petroleum geophysics = petrophysics?
nid enlightment please
akib_mullen
post Oct 21 2012, 08:04 PM

691 posts

Tq bro azraeil and ICDeadPeople for the answer. Basically we can say here P.Geoscience is much general than P.Geophysics izit?
I'm planning to take P. Geophysics but currently trying to search for more info regarding the course.

akib_mullen
post Oct 21 2012, 08:08 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(pdot4 @ Oct 21 2012, 05:18 PM)
assalamualaikum and good day in rainy day.... can i ask anyone opinion??? do anyone had heard of company name welltec oilfield service??? i get an interview as wire line engineer?? what does wire line engineer do?? does wire line engineer must go to offshore?? what kind of questions it will ask in the interview??? cuz this is my first interview so i quiet nervous....how much salary as for wire line engineer who just graduated???
I assume sum1 called u before asking to come for interview?
I got a call also, but I'm not sure the date and time for the interview
He asked me if I am interested but I said that I will reply to his email, but still no answer from him
IINM he said the interview will be held around next week, Tuesday if I'm not heard it wrongly
Can you clarify this matter to me?
akib_mullen
post Oct 21 2012, 11:38 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(pdot4 @ Oct 21 2012, 10:43 PM)
yup, the interview will be held on this tuesday... i just said i interested when he first time call me...then he said he will inform later about where and when the interview season will happen....

Added on October 21, 2012, 10:46 pm
yup by on9 application....maybe after this they will reply to your application...be patient and always pray....
Thats what made me worry, he said Tuesday but he din give the details. Need to ask him tomorrow.
Btw, the person is not from Welltec? Looking at the email the person is from Air Energi
akib_mullen
post Oct 22 2012, 08:50 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(pdot4 @ Oct 22 2012, 12:28 AM)
yup...he from air energi...is he a middle man who work for welltec??? when he call you first you did not give the answer then you answered him by using email???
haha right, coz that time I am in the middle of something and it was so spontaneous.
I said I cant made my decision that time and I gonna give my answer when I call him back, instead he asked me to reply in email.
Now I'm quite regret to said so sad.gif
akib_mullen
post Dec 17 2012, 04:45 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Dec 17 2012, 04:21 PM)
I graduated from Local public U at Skudai only.. Used PTPTN loan..  wink.gif
UTP? so glamour.. I'm not qualified..  brows.gif
same lah, hehe