How To Change Rim PCD, Any explaination - in Malaysia

TSs@ni
post Aug 27 2012, 04:53 PM, updated 6y ago

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,843 posts

I'm wondering, how people change the rim PCD?
If it is enough space, its ok, to drill more holes.
like this:

but what if we needs to change at the existing holes?
good exemple is 5holes pcd 112 to 5holes pcd114.3
like this:

how much does it cost in Malaysia?
any recommended workshop?

pics are from google. if u r the owner, kindly let me know to remove it via pm.
this is for information purposes only.

low yat 82
post Aug 27 2012, 04:59 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

most of time people jus use spacer to convert d hole..rather than change d hub/disc brake set..... d price u can search at mudah.
budakhops
post Aug 27 2012, 05:27 PM

1,519 posts

just send ur car knuckle to engineering shop to change the pcd...
TSs@ni
post Aug 27 2012, 06:13 PM

2,843 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Aug 27 2012, 04:59 PM)
most of time people jus use spacer to convert d hole..rather than change d hub/disc brake set..... d price u can search at mudah.
yes, i know that alternative, but the question is to change the rim pcd.. this is just my curiosity..

QUOTE(budakhops @ Aug 27 2012, 05:27 PM)
just send ur car knuckle to engineering shop to change the pcd...
same reply as above tongue.gif

Alan
post Aug 27 2012, 06:30 PM

413 posts

I don't think is good to drill hole on the existing rim, as the structure is weakened, when u run over a brick/hole, scare the drill hole part will crack. Some more the rim is not tested with extra holes (manufacturing/design reliability QA).

Drill holes at your own risk...

But, the material is pretty strong, what drill bit you use to drill through it ar?
farique
post Aug 27 2012, 06:51 PM

8_8
2,147 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Aug 27 2012, 04:53 PM)
If it is enough space, its ok, to drill more holes.

I dont think its possible. Why on earth you would want to do that?

you can do either the 2 options people have replied above.

I think its stupid to drill the rim for a new hole just to fit your cars PCD. How are you gonna drill them holes? Hand drill? LOL

If you still insists on doing that (drilling new holes on the rims), then go ahead. but dont come here complaining you broke your rims after one pothole drop.
TSs@ni
post Aug 27 2012, 07:26 PM

2,843 posts

QUOTE(Alan @ Aug 27 2012, 06:30 PM)
I don't think is good to drill hole on the existing rim, as the structure is weakened, when u run over a brick/hole, scare the drill hole part will crack. Some more the rim is not tested with extra holes (manufacturing/design reliability QA).

Drill holes at your own risk...

But, the material is pretty strong, what drill bit you use to drill through it ar?
QUOTE(farique @ Aug 27 2012, 06:51 PM)
I dont think its possible. Why on earth you would want to do that?

you can do either the 2 options people have replied above.
I think its stupid to drill the rim for a new hole just to fit your cars PCD. How are you gonna drill them holes? Hand drill? LOL

If you still insists on doing that (drilling new holes on the rims), then go ahead. but dont come here complaining you broke your rims after one pothole drop.
Nope, i personally dont want to do it.

I myself a mecha person, learnt material science etc, but i still wants to ask this question laugh.gif

Anyway, seems that nobody ever attempt to do it? Based on the non constructive reply i received here tongue.gif

Anyway, thanx for ur time smile.gif
low yat 82
post Aug 27 2012, 08:16 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Aug 27 2012, 06:13 PM)
yes, i know that alternative, but the question is to change the rim pcd.. this is just my curiosity..
same reply as above tongue.gif
got simple solution dun wan....

edited:

yup, can b drill. take ur rim to rim factory.............. http://www.jrdwheel.com/main/3134/index.as...801&Accid=10156

This post has been edited by low yat 82: Aug 27 2012, 08:20 PM
mao2
post Aug 27 2012, 08:53 PM

118 posts

can.. those time when jap rims is still dirty cheap.. people drill hole on rims to fit.. coz those time most of car in malaysia are 4lugs.. in which 5 lugs rims is kinda easy to get.. so they drill another 3 holes to accommodate the 4 lugs.. sure it compromise the strength of the rims in the screw area~ seems those things are never being done again as there are alot of cases where the rim fail on them while at high speed
alpha33
post Aug 27 2012, 09:42 PM

1,010 posts

seen my friend's nissan cefiro A32.
His is a 5 lugs rim. but magically, there is one hole that has another hole drilled onto it.
making his rim suitable for 4 lugs.i am not sure of the pcd, but the rim have a total of 6 lugs.
TSs@ni
post Aug 27 2012, 09:51 PM

2,843 posts

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Aug 27 2012, 09:42 PM)
His is a 5 lugs rim. but magically, there is one hole that has another hole drilled onto it.
making his rim suitable for 4 lugs.i am not sure of the pcd, but the rim have a total of 6 lugs.
Ohh only touch 1hole... Ic ic ok noted bro..
drewn123
post Aug 27 2012, 10:23 PM

102 posts

just give a call these ppl, i think they have the solutions to your problem:-

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/cha...14-139-7-a.html

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/cha...cone-cheap.html

FYI, I'm just pointing you to the right direction icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
mao2
post Aug 27 2012, 11:31 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Aug 27 2012, 09:42 PM)
6?i think it is more than 6 holes.. if ur talking about 5 to 4 lugs.. the only possible way is using 1 hole out of 5.. in which need to add 3 more holes.. and to do that u need to have the same pcd as such 5 holes pcd 114.3 to 4 holes with the same pcd 114.3.. 5x100/4x100.. my current rims is also 4/5 holes of pcd 114.3.. they usually address it as 9 holes as it accommodates 4 and 5 holes with the same pcd but actually it only hav 8 holes..

Attached image(s)
TSs@ni
post Aug 28 2012, 11:14 AM

2,843 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Aug 27 2012, 10:23 PM)
just give a call these ppl, i think they have the solutions to your problem:-

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/cha...14-139-7-a.html

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/cha...cone-cheap.html

FYI, I'm just pointing you to the right direction icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
tq sir.

QUOTE(mao2 @ Aug 27 2012, 11:31 PM)
6?i think it is more than 6 holes.. if ur talking about 5 to 4 lugs.. the only possible way is using 1 hole out of 5.. in which need to add 3 more holes.. and to do that u need to have the same pcd as such  5 holes pcd 114.3 to 4 holes with the same pcd 114.3.. 5x100/4x100.. my current rims is also 4/5 holes of pcd 114.3.. they usually address it as 9 holes as it accommodates 4 and 5 holes with the same pcd but actually it only hav 8 holes..
that looks ugly laugh.gif

well, i will write a conclusion soon enough tongue.gif
Alan
post Aug 28 2012, 11:27 AM

413 posts

6?i think it is more than 6 holes.. if ur talking about 5 to 4 lugs.. the only possible way is using 1 hole out of 5.. in which need to add 3 more holes.. and to do that u need to have the same pcd as such  5 holes pcd 114.3 to 4 holes with the same pcd 114.3.. 5x100/4x100.. my current rims is also 4/5 holes of pcd 114.3.. they usually address it as 9 holes as it accommodates 4 and 5 holes with the same pcd but actually it only hav 8 holes..
Amazing, 1st time seeing this shocking.gif 2 holes are almost joined le.

alpha33
post Aug 28 2012, 11:51 AM

1,010 posts

yea!
something like this.
but he only have one hole sharing with the other.
not as many holes as in photo wor.
donno why was that so, but from rough eye, it can fit 4 lugs ..hm...
SweetTooth
post Aug 29 2012, 07:40 PM

2,650 posts

For 5x112 to 5x114.3, there is also the option of using wobble nuts (dun laugh)

Many Fiat owners use this due to their uncommon PCDs (98mm i think), but I'm not sure if they can be sourced here in Malaysia
netmatrix
post Aug 29 2012, 08:20 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,735 posts

The fastest way is by using this. An add on adapter.

The hard way is this, drilling new holes on the hub.

The other alternative is to use the whole new hub assembly from donor car. That does not need adding spacers or drilling the hub. Other alternatives is buying the correct wheels so u do not need to get headache about this. laugh.gif laugh.gif
farique
post Aug 30 2012, 10:26 PM

8_8
2,147 posts

man.. doh.gif

drilling one single hole WILL NOT make the rim fit to your hub PCD. Read on about PCD and you will know why.

why would you want to go though the hard way?

just get the PCD converter already. Problem solved.
TSs@ni
post Aug 30 2012, 10:50 PM

2,843 posts

QUOTE(farique @ Aug 30 2012, 10:26 PM)
man.. doh.gif
drilling one single hole WILL NOT make the rim fit to your hub PCD. Read on about PCD and you will know why.

why would you want to go though the hard way?

just get the PCD converter already. Problem solved.
Did u read the whole replies?

Tq sir
farique
post Aug 30 2012, 10:54 PM

8_8
2,147 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Aug 30 2012, 10:50 PM)
Did u read the whole replies?

Tq sir
and your point?
SleeplessEyes
post Dec 18 2020, 07:10 PM

2,429 posts

Has anyone done conversion from pcd 114.3 , 5 lugs to pcd
120 5 lugs (BMW rim)

I saw shopee got sell PCD converter , I think what the converter do is from pcd 120 to pcd 114.3
But I want the other way round .

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Dec 18 2020, 07:11 PM
TSs@ni
post Dec 18 2020, 07:39 PM

2,843 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Dec 18 2020, 07:10 PM)
Has anyone done conversion from pcd 114.3 , 5 lugs to pcd
120 5 lugs (BMW rim)

I saw shopee got sell PCD converter , I think what the converter do is from pcd 120 to pcd 114.3
But I want the other way round .
https://m.mudah.my/view?ad_id=87420453&shar...&share_to=other

Sorry ya mudah link.

And this is old old old thread. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

I will close it soon
SleeplessEyes
post Dec 18 2020, 11:22 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Dec 18 2020, 07:39 PM)
Sorry ya mudah link.
And this is old old old thread. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

I will close it soon
No worries, you dont need to feel bad about this.

Cause i didnt want to simply create a new thread, so even though its like 8 years old thread its still relevant.

Thanks for sharing anyway, I will search also in Mudah
TSs@ni
post Dec 18 2020, 11:31 PM

2,843 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Dec 18 2020, 11:22 PM)
No worries, you dont need to feel bad about this.

Cause i didnt want to simply create a new thread, so even though its like 8 years old thread its still relevant.

Thanks for sharing anyway, I will search also in Mudah
Most of the beer owner wanna use 114 since the Japan wheels are plenty in Malaysia.. U sudah terbalik ni.. All the best hunting for 1.

0.0251sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:38 AM