Hobbies Bank Notes Collection, NO SELLING!!!
TSHKNP
Nov 10 2005, 03:04 PM, updated 18y ago
Hi All, I found some collection of paper money passing down from my grandfather. Some money and coins are really old and full with historical value. I was wondering, where can I verify the value of these money.  Muzeum? Money Collectors? Any link and contacts that I could have to check? Please help. Regards, HKNP This post has been edited by jhcj: Jul 28 2008, 12:13 PM
TSHKNP
Feb 7 2006, 03:54 PM
I was talking about paper money that was issue at January 1940, Rm100 notes without numbers, decolored Rm50 (color not same with normal notes).... and so many more...
TSHKNP
Feb 7 2006, 11:14 PM
it depends. If your "pokok pisang" money is normal 1...it only worth a little... but if your money is with those Japanese surrendering notice printed in red near the pokok pisang 1... then it might worth more... I have a few...  :hehe"
TSHKNP
Feb 8 2006, 02:40 PM
agreed ... anyone collecting paper money here... that can provide a way to verify the value of these artifacts??
TSHKNP
Feb 8 2006, 03:43 PM
Haha banana money.... My mother used to told me that when the Japs surrenders, those British throws the money from a plane in boxes and she used to pick them up to burn in the stove to help start fires... hahhaha
Imagine If I have a box of it now...mauahahaha
TSHKNP
Feb 9 2006, 09:25 AM
That is the purpose of this thread... I need to know the value of the collections before I get to sell them to avid collectors...
Any one can help.... any place in KL that have this kind of service?
TSHKNP
Feb 9 2006, 09:51 AM
picture uploaded
TSHKNP
Feb 9 2006, 01:31 PM
1st January 1940, already 66 years liao
TSHKNP
Feb 9 2006, 03:04 PM
ANy1 interested to collect those square syilling ... I have 1 bucket of it ... will post the picture soon...
TSHKNP
Feb 10 2006, 09:22 AM
Well, I try to contact Muzeum Negara last time... Instead of selling out, they ask me to donate to the Muzeum....  How ironic of them...
TSHKNP
Feb 12 2006, 01:32 PM
Well you can always ask for the local stamps and coins collectors and sees if they interested in collecting yours. For my case, I have found some collectors overseas that are interested in collection my stocks...
TSHKNP
Feb 15 2006, 12:20 AM
julchin if you manage to grab hold of the book... be sure to share it here... might need to know the price as well... maybe we can search the book together and see who got it 1st ...
I have a older book dated 1995/96 pricing .. later I bring it back and see
TSHKNP
Jun 16 2006, 10:00 AM
well, just to heat up the thread a bit.. hahah here is a wrongly printed note RM 100... agong head
TSHKNP
Jun 27 2006, 11:02 AM
yup... hey the 1st edition 1.. i currently have rm1, rm 5 , rm10 , rm20, rm 50 and rm100... rm1000 and rm500 is too costly .. hahah i doubt any 1 will keep them hehehhehe
TSHKNP
Jun 27 2006, 12:10 PM
I have stamps collection too..... 6 album of it.... 1st day cover also got.. stop for so long liao... sigh...
I have coins collection too... form square quaters to silver coins... Queen Elizaberth datuk to her father to QE2 also got.. quater sen, half sen, 1 sen.. alot lah.. dunno why my datuk keep them all...
found them under the staircase from old old kampung house where they use to build a small store room under the stair case.. 1 time near new year , me and my mom go clean up that place... found an old Duckham oil can.. those 20 litre 'tong' heheh.. jack it open .. walaa like treasure... full of coins... square 1 ... round 1 heheh .. then I start collecting the historical information about these note and coins.
Nice to meet u too... keep this thread alive...
TSHKNP
Jul 12 2006, 05:03 PM
yup thats what I am searching on... and authentication body that an verify the true value of the money. If we can get the certification, the an auction can be taken place to attract more interested party to join the auction.
I have made calls to Muzeum Negara and what those "fella" told me is that they are interested only when we wanted to donate to them....blekkkk...
the Malaya money that I posted up earlier on found a buyer from US .... roughly 100 USD... cheaplek... I am not selling.. hehehe