5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Worth to build own house ?, rather than buy super expensive house ?

TSsk1l
post Aug 24 2012, 09:13 AM, updated 14y ago

151 posts

Anyone here ever thought of that ?? What would the cost of building own house be vs buying super expensive house ?

im thinking :

land cost
design house cost
need to get some approvals from local municipal council
hire contractors to build it

what would the cost difference be like ? build own house vs buy those already made ones.

hope ppl can contribute their experience here.

xecton
post Aug 24 2012, 09:35 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

Sure, why not?

Best part is, you get control over your house design. Freaking cool man.

I wanted but couldn't do it because any place worth living in that has empty land cost over 1 million.
lck*G9
post Aug 24 2012, 10:14 AM

2,026 posts

you know cost depends on the amount of raw materials which also equivalent to the size of your house, right?

then the complication of interior design which also contributes to the workmanship and raw material also plays a part in your cost too, you know right?

overall, it would be cheaper if compare to buying from developer. at least you get to control the financial but the only thing tough will be the time. you need to ask yourself if you have the time to monitor, if not you'll need to engage a contractor to do everything for you. again it all boils down to money also.
TSsk1l
post Aug 24 2012, 11:02 AM

151 posts

anyone got an indication of what the cost will be like ?
rayng18
post Aug 24 2012, 11:45 AM

1,481 posts

u sitll have to consider all other paper works such as submission to local council, architect fees, interior designer, raw material, labour. Quite tedious unless u have contacts
incubus_skj
post Aug 24 2012, 12:03 PM

oh mai gotto
1,750 posts

might take years for your house plan to be approved.

and that is after months and months of deliberating how you want your house to look like

and that is after you are able to find vacant land with a reasonable price on a good neighborhood.
TSsk1l
post Aug 24 2012, 12:27 PM

151 posts

i hope we get a reply from someone here who has gone down this road. would be nice if that person can share the experience.
joedpa82
post Aug 24 2012, 12:35 PM

586 posts

how we do it in sarawak.

1. buy land.

2. build house.

3. live in house.

that is all.
acbc
post Aug 24 2012, 12:38 PM

9,050 posts

Why not? U can control the following:

1. Design
2. Cost of materials
3. Workers
4. Last minute changes

Main advantage is cost. U pay around the same as read built houses but with better materials and quality. However, getting approval from the bank is very difficult. Best if u have friends in the construction industry.
lck*G9
post Aug 24 2012, 12:47 PM

2,026 posts

you can't even tell what kind of budget you have or what kind of home you intend to design. so how can anyone give you any indication?

i love to have a 10,000 sqf bungalow on a hilltop overlooking klcc with start of the art green technology where all my roofs are solar paneled, all fully controlled using remote, centralized air condition for entire house including bathroom, etc. do you also love that?

be realistic about it when you want to be serious.
woopypooky
post Aug 24 2012, 01:29 PM

1,292 posts

QUOTE(sk1l @ Aug 24 2012, 11:02 AM)
anyone got an indication of what the cost will be like ?
it will be like 30%-40% cheaper than ready made house. assuming you hire your own architect, engineer,contractor. Downside is that you need to have cash to pay them within 1-2 years time. that means cash of 70% of your house value to pay them.

This post has been edited by woopypooky: Aug 24 2012, 01:30 PM
jchong
post Aug 24 2012, 01:41 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(sk1l @ Aug 24 2012, 09:13 AM)
Anyone here ever thought of that ?? What would the cost of building own house be vs buying super expensive house ?

im thinking :

land cost
design house cost
need to get some approvals from local municipal council
hire contractors to build it

what would the cost difference be like ? build own house vs buy those already made ones.

hope ppl can contribute their experience here.

I hope you realize that your question is very open and it's hard for people to give you an answer.

In general building your own house will have some cost saving compared to buying ready made one. This is because when you buy a ready made house the developer's profit is factored in already.

Main thing in building your own house is location. Can you buy an empty plot in your desired location? The land cost can vary a lot depending on location. Some people buy a land with a house on it and demolish the existing old house.

The design and approvals can be handled by the architect. Usually the architect fee will be a small % of the construction cost.

Construction cost can also vary a lot depending on what materials you want to use.
jchong
post Aug 24 2012, 01:43 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Aug 24 2012, 01:29 PM)
it will be like 30%-40% cheaper than ready made house. assuming you hire your own architect, engineer,contractor. Downside is that you need to have cash to pay them within 1-2 years time. that means cash of 70% of your house value to pay them.
How do you get figure of 30-40% cheaper?
TSsk1l
post Aug 24 2012, 02:22 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(lck*G9 @ Aug 24 2012, 12:47 PM)
you can't even tell what kind of budget you have or what kind of home you intend to design. so how can anyone give you any indication?

i love to have a 10,000 sqf bungalow on a hilltop overlooking klcc with start of the art green technology where all my roofs are solar paneled, all fully controlled using remote, centralized air condition for entire house including bathroom, etc. do you also love that?

be realistic about it when you want to be serious.
let us not go too far. assume we are looking at a standard double storey house 22x75.

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 24 2012, 01:41 PM)
I hope you realize that your question is very open and it's hard for people to give you an answer.

In general building your own house will have some cost saving compared to buying ready made one. This is because when you buy a ready made house the developer's profit is factored in already.

Main thing in building your own house is location. Can you buy an empty plot in your desired location? The land cost can vary a lot depending on location. Some people buy a land with a house on it and demolish the existing old house.

The design and approvals can be handled by the architect. Usually the architect fee will be a small % of the construction cost.

Construction cost can also vary a lot depending on what materials you want to use.
yea it is general thats why im asking here and thats why i hope someone who went down this path can provide answers and advice coz when you look at how fast property prices went up, it doesn't look logical that it was due to material cost.
azarimy
post Aug 24 2012, 03:15 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

If u r talking about the exact same terrace house design, then id say the price is more or less the same. In a housing estate, all the infrastructures like road, water/electrical supply, sewerage, vehicular access and all that are shared.

If u build from scratch, the building material/cost may be cheaper, but thne u might need to build ur own roadacess and all that.
lck*G9
post Aug 24 2012, 05:28 PM

2,026 posts

QUOTE(sk1l @ Aug 24 2012, 02:22 PM)
let us not go too far. assume we are looking at a standard double storey house 22x75.

my take will be less than half mil excluding the land.
yeezai
post Aug 24 2012, 05:41 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

building own house requires cash ...while buying house u will owe bank...but building are more cheaper
jchong
post Aug 24 2012, 06:00 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(sk1l @ Aug 24 2012, 02:22 PM)
let us not go too far. assume we are looking at a standard double storey house 22x75

I don't think I've heard anyone building a double storey terrace house from scratch. Firstly, very rarely you see anybody sell a vacant lot 22x75. Normally vacant land is larger and for bungalow.

it doesn't look logical that it was due to material cost.

It's not only material cost. There is also land cost, especially for new land acquisition.
jchong
post Aug 24 2012, 06:06 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(lck*G9 @ Aug 24 2012, 05:28 PM)
my take will be less than half mil excluding the land.
Best way to estimate construction cost is by the built up area x construction cost psf. Typical 22x75 link house is 2000-2100 ft2. Check the cost with contractor, but yes definitely under half mil.
jchong
post Aug 24 2012, 06:07 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Aug 24 2012, 05:41 PM)
building own house requires cash ...while buying house u will owe bank...but building are more cheaper
You might be able to arrange for construction financing from the bank. It will be similar to normal housing loan.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:04 PM